Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Combs Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Combs > Combs Valley Campsite > Reviews

Combs Valley Campsite
Owlgreave Farm
Combs Road
Combs
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK23 9UW
Tel: 07539 934246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last week for our last comping trip of the year.

There was 6 tents and a motorhome, 13 people in total.

We stayed on the front filed with views of the local reservoir opposite the site.

I would recommend the local pub The Beehive, which was very good.

Chapel-en-le-Frith is 2 miles away for shops, etc

The train line is right behind the site but I wouldn't say it was too loud.

I liked the site and will be back next year.

It was perfect for a quick weekend away as we are from Manchester so it was under an hours drive to the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DandB 19 reviews from this member

 What a great location, lovely view over the reservoir, and great local walking. You're also only the other side of "Ladder Hill" from the Goyt valley for more beautiful walking.

Only one toilet plus urinal in the men's toilets, and I'd echo what others have said about frequency of cleaning. Didn't have a problem with being too busy whilst we were there though, despite the facilities seeming to be used by other users staying in different areas around the farm.

As has been mentioned, the trains do run quite close by - 20 to 40m away for many of the pitches. During the day this wasn't a problem though, and they don't run overnight (but did start up again around 06:30am). There is also some noise from planes overhead as they descend to Manchester airport, about 15 miles away.

Communications with the site very good, with pitch number and wifi code being emailed before arrival. Some lovely landscaping separating some of the pitches too - someone has gone to a lot of trouble to create rock garden areas.

Despite my couple of negative observations, this is a lovely camp site and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geoffac 4 reviews from this member

 Great location with level and spacious hard standing at the top of the park.

Toilets and showers clean and well maintained - whilst we didnít struggle to get access when we wanted, I do wonder whether there are enough available at the peak of season.

Location is brilliant - overlooking Combs reservoir and with plenty of local footpaths nearby.

The local Beehive pub in Combs village is lovely too. Great food and a warm and friendly welcome.

Hadnít initially set out to stay here, but will definitely be back ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clappersgirl 11 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful location, overlooking Combs Valley and reservoir and miles of open country. It is half way up the valley side so has a birds-eye view.

There are 12 hook-up pitches, 8 on gravel and very level, and 4 on grass and not so level. There are also 2 wooden pods, plus another under construction, and a camping field with 2 large yurts. We visited the week after Easter so it was not too full.

I would imagine if it was fully booked the facilities would be severely stretched. There were, in the ladies, 2 showers, 2 toilets and 3 washbasins. The men's are similar but with 2 urinals and one toilet. There is also a separate disabled shower etc.

It was always warm in the shower block, with plenty of hot water. Push button showers so you cannot alter the temperature. Luckily it suited me. Hooks over the door but nowhere to put shampoo, soap etc but the floor, and the shower did get a rising tide of water while you showered but not quite out of the door.

My main complaint about the facilities is that from the Monday afternoon when we arrived to the Thursday evening there was no cleaning done at all. There were long black hairs in the shower drain, soap from the dispensers round the washbasins, bits of toilet paper on the floor and an overflowing bin.

Cleaning was done on the Thursday evening, but the floor had not been mopped and the bin had still not been emptied. Also there were no recycling facilities, just a big rubbish container, so our recycling was brought home with us.

It is a short walk downhill to the local pub, the Beehive, a friendly busy place with good, interesting food. They even serve breakfasts and have a little shop. Highly recommended.

A walk of about a mile towards Chapel-en-le-Frith alongside the railway line brings you to the station where you can catch a train to Buxton (excellent) or the other way to Manchester via various stops including Whaley Bridge which is a pleasant little town. We cannot recommend Chapel itself as most of it appeared to be closed. Four pubs and not one open at lunchtime (or at all)

Communication with the campsite was excellent by email. Confirmation of booking and payment, and an email to let us know our pitch number. Even an email when we got home hoping we'd enjoyed our stay. Which we had, but it would have been nice to have seen someone while we were there.

There is a building marked reception but this is out of sight from the actual site and we didn't need to visit it with already having our pitch. Hopefully someone would have been there if there had been a problem. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Suzanner 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite with superb views. The campsite itself is kept really clean and the toilet facilities are great too.

There are a few fields to camp in which are set on a slight hill but we were pitches at the top on pitch T1 with electric hook up and this was just a short walk to the toilets and wash up huts.

Dog friendly.

The only reason I have given the location 8 out of 10 is because we were right next to the railway line, but the train went past about every 50 mins (if that) and not through the night. You get used to it in the end, although the dog didn't.

Lovely stay and would definitely stay again with our camping group. Great value for money too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fw11do 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean and very quiet campsite,

Toilet block beautiful and warm,

Wi-Fi excellent, very dog friendly,

Nice flat pitches,

Would highly recommend, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: LSing 7 reviews from this member

 Very quiet location- the train line runs at the back of the site but no trains through the night.

Local pubs within walking distance as is the train station to visit larger towns.

Quaint Village and lovely views. Excellent amenities and flat pitches.

It snowed quite heavily when we were there but didn't spoil the fun even though buses and trains cancelled.

Beehive lovely log fire and good food. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 33 reviews from this member

 Great little site. Great views across valley.

Great walks nearby.

Great little pub in the village about 5 to 10 minute walk away.

Will definitely stay there again 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kathry 1 review from this member

 A great site. Beautiful location and excellent views. Extremely clean facilities. No pressure so felt really relaxed.

Only point is that there are a lot of electric fences. Meeting up with grandchildren there, we were really close to getting a shock off fences. Signing should be mandatory at least at the entrance.

Besides that we will definitely return. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Di clune 7 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site. Fantastic clean facilities nearby, can't fault location or site, horses in a field in front of tent and sheep behind, this is a working farm. Plenty of dog walking areas nearby, easy access to comb reservoir. 5 minute walk takes you to the nearest pub, serving superb food and refreshments. Nice location for easy access to many beautiful locations. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Combs Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Combs Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Combs Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Combs      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement