Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tax Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Tax Farm Certificated Location Reviews

Tax Farm Certificated Location
Farley Lane
Farley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5LQ
Tel: 01629 582687
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 01/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 82 reviews from this member

 We have little to add to all the other positive reviews for Tax Farm. We had 5 nights there in September 2020 and the site was full every night. There were some spectacular sunsets as well as a cloud inversion one morning!

The walk from the site into the wooded valley below isn’t through the farmyard as you might expect. You need to go back up the entrance road & follow the left track towards Tax Cottage – it is a byway/footpath. It does appear that you are trespassing when you come across the yard associated with the cottage but persevere.

There is also a nice walk above the site through Farley Woods with cyclable tracks & various offshoot footpaths. The easiest entry point is if you turn left out of the site onto the riad for about 300 yards and, opposite a small layby, is a footpath that will lead you in.

We would recommend this CL for a peaceful break with wonderful views from the two tiered hardstanding areas. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lucybe 1 review from this member

 We loved this site! The view was so lovely, we felt well and truly away from it all. The children were very happy with our little spot on the hillside. The directions to the site were spot on!

We were a little nervous about getting lost and ending up down tiny, narrow lanes, but we followed the directions and found it easily.

We enjoyed a long walk down into the valley and found a waterfall and lakes, it was beautiful and very quiet.

Thank you for a lovely break,

We will definitely come back again. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnjory 123 reviews from this member

 A superb CL. I feel I can do little better than agree with the previous complimentary reviews and refer you to their comprehensive website which we found to be representative and offer the following observations:

1) Be advised to follow the site’s ‘caravan friendly’ routes otherwise you may find yourself on an unsuitable road.

2) The site entrance is clearly marked, but DO NOT MISS IT otherwise you may find turning your rig around difficult.

3) Fully services pitches mean no water carrying if you equip yourself with a) a float valve for your water container so you can connect directly to tap, and b) extend your waste outlet pipe by approx. 3m directly into drain.

4) All pitches hard standings so you will need ‘rock pegs’ for your awning and you might find surface is somewhat abrasive on your groundsheet.

5) Dales views very nice but come at the expense of being exposed to any bad weather.

6) Exceptionally helpful owners.

7) Nearest provisions: Co-Op in Two Dales or Sainsburys in Matlock.

Personal recommendations:Pat’s Pie night, Wednesdays at the Thorn Tree, Matlock. The Farmacy micro pub, Matlock. Grindleford Station Café for proper food!

To sum up: a superb CL enhanced by fully serviced pitches and exceptionally helpful owners 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonjudwen 14 reviews from this member

 Booking process was simple, owner was very responsive with return emails.

The site has stunning views, love the 2 tiered layout.

Easy access to either cycling or walking routes. Close to major towns and Chatsworth.

At £19 a night including elec and awning is more than I usually pay for a pitch, but this was a fully serviced pitch if I chose to use the facilities.

Most peaceful and would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madrilleno 7 reviews from this member

 Shhh.

Keep it quiet. Don't tell anyone. This is my favourite site, and it's so good I struggle to get a booking sometimes.

We had a fabulous long weekend, with glorious weather.

The owners are really helpful and only a phone call away.

If you're looking for a basic site, with stunning views in a beautiful area, try Tax Farm. I can't recommend it highly enough. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 274 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with views to die for, clean and tidy, good recycling. A steep slope up, especially from the lower tier, but we had no problems.

Make sure you follow the caravan friendly route to the site; there are many steep and narrow roads around.

£17 per night is more than we are used to pay for a site without loos or showers, but it's worth it for the view alone. We would return if in the area.

There is a decent Sainsbury's in Matlock for fuel for you and your car. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaybow90 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site!

Massive fully serviced pitches, in a beautiful rural location. Amazingly friendly owners who are happy to have a friendly chat.

Can't recommend this place enough, we absolutely loved it.

We'll definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SCXXXhorpe rover 1 review from this member

 Superb Site.

This caravan site is the ideal place to relax and absorb the beautiful Derbyshire scenery. The caravan pitches are laid out on 2 levels giving all caravans fantastic views.

All pitches are service pitches with water tap and waste drain at each position making life easier without filling water container and emptying waste.

Chemical disposal point on each level with refuse recycling points which are emptied regularly by the owners Joolz and Tim who are very pleasant and happy to supply information on local places of interest when requested.

We particularly enjoyed being able to watch the stars on a clear night due to the lack of light pollution in this beautiful tranquil spot.

We would recommend this site 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Suepasierb 1 review from this member

 We had a fabulous few days at Tax Farm - amazing location and views to die for.

We have a large motor home (8. 5 metres) and the pitches were so large we could park sideways to fully enjoy the view.

Hard standings with water, electricity and waste area - thanks to owners Tim and Joolz for being so helpful and friendly -

We will be back 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheila and Roger 4 reviews from this member

 Very steep incline to pitches, if you've not got a 4x4 don't even attempt this site.

Small pitches on hard broken sandstone, not much room to manoeuvre.

Pitch black at night, and dangerous for both dogs and children due to sudden drops.

Owner does not want guests walking down to farm and they couldn't even be bothered to stop and welcome us when passing in car. We felt very isolated.

On the plus side, you have great views. 
Management response: I am truly disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'd like to address your concerns as I'm sure potential visitors reading your review would like things clarifying too.

We have photographs and a video on this site and links to our website with extensive information plus aerial views so you can get a real feel for our CL before you book.The sloped access is described clearly and it is by no means only accessible by 4x4s. The majority of our visitors tow with a standard drive car. Those beautiful views are so because you are on the described hillside …no dangerous drops ..but grassed slopes beyond the level hardstandings. ( see photographs of the site) We are inspected by the CAMC annually and if these things you describe were true our inspector would clearly not allow us to operate.

The hardstandings are not hard broken sandstone but MOT which we chose for hardwearing properties and blending in colour wise with the rural surroundings. Some room for improvement here, but we are working on it.

Our visitors come for the rural bonuses of a farm CL with dark nights and no light pollution to enjoy views of the stars, Milky Way and even Northern Lights on occasions! Installed lighting is disallowed under our planning conditions as we are in an area of outstanding natural beauty. A torch/awning light is sufficient and usually expected and preferred by guests booking a farm CL as opposed to a club site.

Our pitches are hardly small …( see the review from the 5th wheel visitors) and the returning guests with twin axles! But we would have gladly helped you if you had you rang us to say you were having manoeuvring difficulties.

We discourage guests from coming down to the farm yard as we have large operational machinery ( as advertised, we are a working farm) because I care for my visitors safety but this is clearly explained in your welcome pack where I provide contact numbers for any immediate help you require.

Many of our visitors also appreciate I do not come knocking at their vans for payment and introductions as their van is their own private space on their holiday but if they do want to chat, they come to me when I give them a friendly wave, as I did to you, whilst I am doing the utilities by the vans. You showed no signs of wanting to speak to me...even on the second wave before I left the side of your van...so I left you in peace. We run a CL because we are proud to share our gorgeous area and meet many wonderful visitors who come out to meet us on our regular utilities run! We leave it to our guests. It's their holiday. I respect their privacy.

We have escorted in lost visitors in from 2 miles away, taken a single visitor to our local pub with us, helped with awnings, repaired small mechanical problems, loaned water barrels, electric cables…etc. This is not the action of someone who ‘cannot be bothered’ with their guests. Thankfully all my other reviews describe me otherwise. We love to meet our guests..after all we are sharing our home!

I realise we are not going to please everyone but we also welcome many visitors, who appreciate our location who come back again and again because the way we do things suit them. We have also improved immensely with constructive feedback from our guests. That's how we get better!

Our CL was obviously not for you but I just wish you had chosen to speak to us about your concerns when you clearly had the opportunity and we could have maybe helped a little with at least some of your comments. You rang us to say you were cancelling the rest of your booked week with no mention of anything here but that you had been invited by friends to another site! We try to help our guests as much as we can but airing concerns when you've gone makes it almost impossible….however, as many of the points other than the speculations were factors of a hillside working farm, I think the early departure to a different location was perhaps the only option. I sincerely wish you much happier trips in your van.


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tax Farm Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tax Farm Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tax Farm Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3363 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement