Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tax Farm Certificated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Tax Farm Certificated Location
Farley Lane
Farley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5LQ
Tel: 01629 582687
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/03 To 1/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonjudwen 9 reviews from this member

Booking process was simple, owner was very responsive with return emails. The site has stunning views, love the 2 tiered layout. Easy access to either cycling or walking routes. Close to major towns and Chatsworth.

At £19 a night including elec and awning is more than I usually pay for a pitch, but this was a fully serviced pitch if I chose to use the facilities. Most peaceful and would definitely return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madrilleno 7 reviews from this member

Shhh.

Keep it quiet. Don't tell anyone. This is my favourite site, and it's so good I struggle to get a booking sometimes.

We had a fabulous long weekend, with glorious weather.

The owners are really helpful and only a phone call away.

If you're looking for a basic site, with stunning views in a beautiful area, try Tax Farm. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 238 reviews from this member

A lovely site with views to die for, clean and tidy, good recycling. A steep slope up, especially from the lower tier, but we had no problems. Make sure you follow the caravan friendly route to the site; there are many steep and narrow roads around.

£17 per night is more than we are used to pay for a site without loos or showers, but it's worth it for the view alone. We would return if in the area.

There is a decent Sainsbury's in Matlock for fuel for you and your car.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kaybow90 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site!

Massive fully serviced pitches, in a beautiful rural location. Amazingly friendly owners who are happy to have a friendly chat.

Can't recommend this place enough, we absolutely loved it.

We'll definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SCXXXhorpe rover 1 review from this member

Superb Site.

This caravan site is the ideal place to relax and absorb the beautiful Derbyshire scenery. The caravan pitches are laid out on 2 levels giving all caravans fantastic views. All pitches are service pitches with water tap and waste drain at each position making life easier without filling water container and emptying waste. Chemical disposal point on each level with refuse recycling points which are emptied regularly by the owners Joolz and Tim who are very pleasant and happy to supply information on local places of interest when requested.

We particularly enjoyed being able to watch the stars on a clear night due to the lack of light pollution in this beautiful tranquil spot.

We would recommend this site

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suepasierb 1 review from this member

We had a fabulous few days at Tax Farm - amazing location and views to die for. We have a large motor home (8. 5 metres) and the pitches were so large we could park sideways to fully enjoy the view. Hard standings with water, electricity and waste area - thanks to owners Tim and Joolz for being so helpful and friendly - we will be back

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheila and Roger 4 reviews from this member

Very steep incline to pitches, if you've not got a 4x4 don't even attempt this site.

Small pitches on hard broken sandstone, not much room to manoeuvre.

Pitch black at night, and dangerous for both dogs and children due to sudden drops.

Owner does not want guests walking down to farm and they couldn't even be bothered to stop and welcome us when passing in car. We felt very isolated.

On the plus side, you have great views.

Management response: I am truly disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'd like to address your concerns as I'm sure potential visitors reading your review would like things clarifying too.

We have photographs and a video on this site and links to our website with extensive information plus aerial views so you can get a real feel for our CL before you book.The sloped access is described clearly and it is by no means only accessible by 4x4s. The majority of our visitors tow with a standard drive car. Those beautiful views are so because you are on the described hillside …no dangerous drops ..but grassed slopes beyond the level hardstandings. ( see photographs of the site) We are inspected by the CAMC annually and if these things you describe were true our inspector would clearly not allow us to operate.

The hardstandings are not hard broken sandstone but MOT which we chose for hardwearing properties and blending in colour wise with the rural surroundings. Some room for improvement here, but we are working on it.

Our visitors come for the rural bonuses of a farm CL with dark nights and no light pollution to enjoy views of the stars, Milky Way and even Northern Lights on occasions! Installed lighting is disallowed under our planning conditions as we are in an area of outstanding natural beauty. A torch/awning light is sufficient and usually expected and preferred by guests booking a farm CL as opposed to a club site.

Our pitches are hardly small …( see the review from the 5th wheel visitors) and the returning guests with twin axles! But we would have gladly helped you if you had you rang us to say you were having manoeuvring difficulties.

We discourage guests from coming down to the farm yard as we have large operational machinery ( as advertised, we are a working farm) because I care for my visitors safety but this is clearly explained in your welcome pack where I provide contact numbers for any immediate help you require.

Many of our visitors also appreciate I do not come knocking at their vans for payment and introductions as their van is their own private space on their holiday but if they do want to chat, they come to me when I give them a friendly wave, as I did to you, whilst I am doing the utilities by the vans. You showed no signs of wanting to speak to me...even on the second wave before I left the side of your van...so I left you in peace. We run a CL because we are proud to share our gorgeous area and meet many wonderful visitors who come out to meet us on our regular utilities run! We leave it to our guests. It's their holiday. I respect their privacy.

We have escorted in lost visitors in from 2 miles away, taken a single visitor to our local pub with us, helped with awnings, repaired small mechanical problems, loaned water barrels, electric cables…etc. This is not the action of someone who ‘cannot be bothered’ with their guests. Thankfully all my other reviews describe me otherwise. We love to meet our guests..after all we are sharing our home!

I realise we are not going to please everyone but we also welcome many visitors, who appreciate our location who come back again and again because the way we do things suit them. We have also improved immensely with constructive feedback from our guests. That's how we get better!

Our CL was obviously not for you but I just wish you had chosen to speak to us about your concerns when you clearly had the opportunity and we could have maybe helped a little with at least some of your comments. You rang us to say you were cancelling the rest of your booked week with no mention of anything here but that you had been invited by friends to another site! We try to help our guests as much as we can but airing concerns when you've gone makes it almost impossible….however, as many of the points other than the speculations were factors of a hillside working farm, I think the early departure to a different location was perhaps the only option. I sincerely wish you much happier trips in your van.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madrilleno 7 reviews from this member

We visited Tax Farm in March 2016. The site is basic but excellent. The views from the pitches are fantastic, take a look at their website and you will see what I mean. The photographs of the pitches and views are 100% accurate - no crafty camera angles, just honest images. We will be using this site as our local regular weekend away this year. Each pitch has its own water supply and grey waste disposal, along with EHU, so if you have the necessary pipework and adaptor kit, you can connect your water and drains directly. There is also a toilet waste disposal point on each level. It is a good walk to and from the local pub, 2-3km with some steep sections, but to be honest, we were quite happy to stay on the site.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clackers04 1 review from this member

What a lovely site we found to visit. We travelled from Norfolk to stay for 7 nights and arrived to a beautiful location. The weather was very wintery infact snow! But we managed with no problems at all. Good hard standing pitches with everything we needed. Views were lovely, and Matlock is very easy to get to, just around 3 miles away.

The site is a working farm but we were welcomed with our dog, there was even an allocated poo bin especially for dog owners which was nice to see.

Views even in Winter are spectacular, we looked over the valley and at night could see the distant lights of what we think is Matlock, very pretty.

Would we return? Absolutely yes!

Owners very friendly but at the same time happy to leave you to enjoy your holiday in peace.

Roll on the next Peak District holiday! Keep up the good work :)

Mr & Mrs Lemmons and Bonnie the dog!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sab1 14 reviews from this member

One of the best CLs we have visited. Terraced hardstandings where each unit has its own water and drain, with toilet points on each level with eco fluid available if needed. Fantastic views of sunsets and cloud scapes. Having large dogs the nearby forest walks were great. Be aware of the cattle grids down the lane- they seemed only partially filled in when we visited.

I was very impressed by both the website and map/walk info given by the owner who was very helpful. As a fairly new site the hard standings were wearing in well. The slopes are steep and need care, the working farm traffic does wear the access to this site.

Well done Tax Farm.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019