Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Nicholas Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Birchington > St Nicholas Camping Site > Reviews

St Nicholas Camping Site
Court Road
St Nicholas At Wade
Birchington
Kent   (Browse area)
CT7 0NA
Tel: 01843 847245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 33 Reviews
                7/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gogs176 3 reviews from this member

 Facilities were filthy. There is one toilet shower and small washbasin, all in the same room which were old and dirty.

The washing up sinks under a small roof but open were all full of leaves and dirty.

The charge was £15 without power in cash ONLY.

There were swings for kids but no sand in the 'pit'.

All I can say is that the grass was cut. I will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrsmason 1 review from this member

 The location is lovely and rural but easy for the A299 although the sliproads are treacherous. I don't know if this site is still operating in 2023.

I just wanted to say a little bit about the couple who run the site as the reviews are so harsh, although true in many respects.

The site is run by a pleasant, very elderly gentleman with poor mobility. He leaves campers to site themselves and comes around for fees on a sunday morning. If paying at other times it is best to phone him as it takes a long time for either of the couple to get to the door.

A few of the other campers that stayed whilst we did allowed their children to play in the toilet and shower facility unsupervised, making a terrific mess. The facilities were cleaned by the owner each day but I had to clean them again several times after other people had left them. Regrettably the mown grass did make it's way into the shower/toilet but was not difficult to wash away with the hose provided.

Plenty of paths for dog walking but beware of many points of access to the Thanet Way that is a very fast dual carriageway road. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve Rose 3 reviews from this member

 Nice location but although the site was well situated the pitches in fact the whole area were covered in clumps of cut grass which walked in everywhere. People arriving just parked wherever hoping for the best as the owner could not be found. By mid Saturday the place was packed with tents tourers and motorhomes like sardines. I would give a higher star rating to an M25 layby than I would to the 2 showers in the block and 1 disabled block all of which was full of grass. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camper-van 1 review from this member

 Location is good and easy to find, unlike the site owner on arrival, knocked on the farmhouse door and got no answer, this was 2 in the afternoon so not late, just found a place and set up, did not see anyone running the site till the 9:30 AM shouting by the farmer demanding his money no card only cash, had I been able to get to sleep before 3AM that wouldn't normally have been a problem, when questioned about the noise policy he simply said I couldn't hear anything.

Toilets and showers well dated and in need of replacement.

As already mentioned by others, if your into it, you can party on till the wee hours as loud as you like and no one seems to care. So if you want a good nights sleep then you have no chance.

Expensive for what it offers, out of season £21. 50 for 2 adults per night, which on a site with decent facilities and a decent nights sleep is OK but not for this site.

Sorry if it sounds harsh, but that's how I saw the place, was my first visit and won't be going back, 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon Walton 2 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed for a short break having visited the site a number of times during the past few years. The site was not particularly busy and we had plenty of choice of pitches. Whilst the facilities are basic, the toilet block was generally clean with plenty of hot water in the (free) showers and at the washing up sinks. There is also a small children's play area. The site is close to Birchington and Minnis Bay which are both worth a visit along with the surrounding area.

We use the site as a base for beach days and cycling. I thoroughly recommend this site! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ivorf 2 reviews from this member

 I used this site on a car-based camping / cycling trip to Kent (June 2015). The location is great for cycling as the village of St Nicholas At Wade is at the end of a spur on the Viking Way cycle route. * The village itself is charming and, I suspect, rather ancient. One big plus point is that you can walk from the site to the village in about five minutes, which is handy if you want a drink with dinner and don’t want to drive anywhere. There are two pubs, one opposite the other, and they both offer food (although I tried only one of them). If you want a wider choice of restaurants, Minster is a short drive away. I didn’t try any of the places there, but it seemed to have a few restaurants / takeaways.

A previous review mentioned that the site had limited toilet / shower facilities. This is true, but it was not an issue when I was there as there were only two other tents and a handful of caravans. Another point mentioned was road noise. This could be a problem if you are a light sleeper, but it didn’t bother me too much.

Overall, I found this a pleasant little site – perhaps not a destination in its own right, in my view, but very well located and actually in a village. I would be happy to use it again as a stopover or as a base when touring that part of Kent.

Note for cyclists:. The Viking Way route signage for cyclists when heading from St Nicholas At Wade towards Minster needs some improvement. Also, the “official” route seems to include a short stretch of busy main road. A local cyclist suggested that this could be avoided, so a careful study of an OS map could be useful for anyone not familiar with the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maltheman 5 reviews from this member

 Our first outing in a newly purchased touring caravan, phoned for booking, park up on the left advice, wow what a site, plenty of room and the faculties clean and functional only us and one other tourer although a tenter and a camper van turned up later and had a non noisily bar b q that all ere invited to

Electrical hook-ups worked superbly, water was very close as were disposal points

All in all as experienced 1 year tourers who use caravan club sites this modest site cannot be faulted on price, location or facilities

We will be going back as it is so central and useable, big thank you to the site owners, you have it just right 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Thebullbok 8 reviews from this member

 Having arrived on Sunday 31st August, (with prior arrangement), at 12pm - to find no one there. Tried knocking and phoning, but no response. A fellow camper suggested to park anywhere. Plenty of signs for tents and caravans, so made the assumption that I should be over with the caravan parking. As there were no caravans there, thought it would be ok.

Next morning, the owner came to see us. Was moaned at for parking in the wrong place. Apologised to him and said that I would know for next time to which the reply was 'If there'll be a next time'!

So not a great start.

Having used the facilities on the Sunday, we noticed they hadn't been cleaned that day. There was only us and two other units, who both left on Sunday evening.

The facilities would be excellent if they had been cleaned. Gents had a long urinal and three toilets, four sinks and two showers. Ladies, I believe, had the same, (except no urinal). There is also a disabled toilet/shower with baby changing facilities.

There are two washing up sinks and one clothes laundry sink.

There are plenty of EHU's and a chemical toilet disposal.

We stayed until Friday 5th, and the toilets/showers were not cleaned for the entire time we were there, which was very disappointing.

The busy A299 is very noisy during the day, but this gets easier from early evening.

There is a children's play area. Unfortunatly, it's located right near the entrance gates and the sandpit has been used by the local cat/s as a latrine.

I don't like giving negative reviews, and maybe it had been a long season for the owners or maybe they have staff in busier times - but we shall not be returning to this site for the reasons mentioned above. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sdavey69 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic well maintained site. Would definitely go back again. We went for 2 nights whilst our teenagers enjoyed a concert nearby. We arrived and nobody was around to check us in, but on the advise of other campers we chose an unreserved pitch and set up. Next morning the owner came round to collect our fees. There are 2 nice looking ( but untried) pubs very nearby and a post office. Our seven year old enjoyed the play area. My only criticism would be that the toilets/showers were a bit dated. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ed86 1 review from this member

 This was the first site my dad took me to over twenty years ago. I recently continued the tradition in July with my son and again six weeks later with my son and father. On both occasions we all had a lovely time. The washing facilities are clean and in good working order and quite basic.

The site was exactly as I remembered. Flat, open and easy to keep eyes on your children when playing in the playground. Even though I think it is the same climbing frames from when I was a child.

The local village has two lovely pubs which both serve great food at reasonable prices. The only downfall of our experiences on both occasions is the management have no issues with noise from other campers which can be quite excessive till 3 am.

Aside from the lack of sleep and the management not dealing with these problems, not a bad place. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Nicholas Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Nicholas Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is St Nicholas Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Birchington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement