Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hetton Hall Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Hetton Hall Certificated Site Reviews

Hetton Hall Certificated Site
Hetton Hall
Chatton
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 5SD
Tel: 07515 993542
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 49 reviews from this member

 This is a large sloping field with 12 flat-ish electric grass hook up pitches and room for many more additional tents. Great views, great walking straight from the site (St Cuthberts Cave is a couple of miles) and great wildlife.

However, very exposed if the wind gets up!

Whilst we were there the large industrial grain drying factory in the neighbouring fields was working full pelt - lots of noise and tractors until almost dark. The farmers were indeed "making hay whilst the sun shone". Good 4G EE coverage from the site.

Lindisfarne (busy) & Flodden Battlefield (quiet) both worth a visit.

There are two major drawback to this site from the point of view of tent campers: 1. It is expensive. We paid 50 for two nights: two adults, 1 car & 1 ordinary sized tent. No electric for us, though tents may have electric hookup if they wish.

2. The toilet/shower/handbasin unit - there is only one of each in a small freestanding portacabin type building with only one door. So if someone decides to shower for 10 mins then no-one else can use the loo! This would be an almost impossible situation if the site was busy with tent campers, especially if you have children in your party.

Overall, yes we would return to rural Northumberland but not to this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LesBev 1 review from this member

 Great site with clean shower/ toilet block. Lovely dog walk on site.

Do not exit the A1 until the Belford turn off with a caravan or you will get stuck facing a narrow bridge! Too small to get a caravan across.

The sat nav takes you this way but much better to stay on the A1! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally-Ann Holmes 1 review from this member

 Amazing camping holiday here for my family, all 4 Children loved it, aging from 17 years to 4 years old. From the breathtaking views from the camp site, to the beautiful walks. Whether you want a quite, peaceful break or to visit local villages, this location caters for all. The owners of the site were extremely helpful and accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Toilet block was immaculate, regardless of previous reviewis, we were here last week of July-early August -peak season - and we never had to queue for toilet or shower. We all really had an amazing camping holiday - we will definitely be returning. Definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hotash 2 reviews from this member

 Me & my partner both have mobility problems & the toilet/shower block was the size of 2 telephone boxes together, there is room to build a disabled shower block but some business people think of profit before people's disability needs. Our 18 month old daughter enjoyed running & walking round the field when dry, To book in you have to drive or walk to the owners house which is a pain, the field has a slope with good views of the hills but the caravan pitches are level. It's only 12 miles to Berwick & 25 minutes by car to Holy Island which is worth a day trip 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: ScubaScoobyDoo 17 reviews from this member

 This is a good site which I would recommend. However, it has a problem which previous reviewers have glossed over. There is only one toilet and one shower, both in the same freestanding unit. This becomes a major blockage when demand is anything other than low. Less of a problem for caravanners & motorhomes with own facilities. Be prepared to queue if the site is full. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kathyluv 1 review from this member

 We've just come back from a fab weekend at Hetton Hall campsite. What a gem of a site. We stayed there in our caravan with friends staying next door in their caravan & were the only 2 units on the site on Friday then joined by a camper van on Saturday. There is a Chemical toilet disposal point, drinking water tap & washing up sink. There is a very clean self contained portacabin with a loo, shower with constant running hot water (no button to keep pushing every few seconds) and hand basin.

The owners Louise & Miles were lovely, friendly & very helpful. There is a walk to St Cuthberts cave from the site & the views are stunning. It's a perfect place for star gazing too as there are no lights for miles. Stunning. We visited Seahouses & Bamburgh whilst there. Next time we go back we will visit Wooler (7 miles away).

There are local shops in Bedford (about a 5 minute drive) but we brought everything we needed with us. We did pick up Fish & Chips in Belford for Saturday night which were lovely.

We will definitely go back to this site. We've had a perfect weekend break. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wisaacs 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks in July and it was fabulous. We were the only unit for our first few nights then joined by a couple in a small caravan.

Complete peace and quiet with fab views and loads of wildlife (Grouse, partridge, hares and diving swallows). Lovely owners (Miles and Louise) were able to accommodate our request for EHU by running an extension from the house and are putting in electric hookup points (started digging the trench for the cable on the day we left). Good location for Bamburgh, Berwick, Seahouses etc. No pubs or shops within walking distance but not a problem for us. Fresh eggs from their chickens too!

Chemical toilet disposal point, drinking water tap, washing up sink and a really neat and very clean self contained portacabin with a loo, shower and hand basin. It's a small site so although only one loo etc. Don't imagine this will be a problem. Fantastic shower, loads of hot water, adjustable temperature and shower height and no coins or push buttons - bliss.

Field is a slope but levelled pitches have been cleverly crafted at the top and down one side to make the most of the views (hint if you want the evening sun use the pitches down the side). Can be a little breezy but that keeps insects at bay.

Walk from the site to St Cuthbert's cave.

No dog walk as such but field large enough to walk dogs in bottom section and lanes around the site so quiet they're very safe to walk. This is hunting country so you will hear the occasional gunshot which did make one of our gun shy dogs quake from time to time.

If it wasn't for the fact Northumberland is around 350 miles from us we would definitely go more often. Compared to other really busy sites we passed with tents and caravans on top of each other this was fab. We never actually used our firepit in the evenings but owners would have been happy for us to do so if it didn't scorch the grass.

Paid 18 a night including the electric. Great Value. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hetton Hall Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hetton Hall Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hetton Hall Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement