Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hidden Corner Camping Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Liverpool > Hidden Corner Camping Certificated Site Reviews

Hidden Corner Camping Certificated Site
19 Millbank Lane
Maghull
Liverpool
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L31 9AT
Tel: 0151 5310688  or  07908 508104
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Easter-31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Benmark10 14 reviews from this member

I stopped here with a friend as part of a motorcycle tour around North Wales and the Lake District. We were keen to take in a bit of Liverpool, but without staying in the centre.

The site fitted the bill perfectly. I chose it based on its proximity to Maghull North station, a 15 minute walk, which gets you into Liverpool Central in 25 minutes. Trains back run until around midnight at the weekends, so you can even take in a bit of nightlife from this site which is perhaps 12 miles out of the centre.

The area itself is quiet, and Maghull is very suburban. There is a shop perhaps 12-15 minutes walk away.

The site is small and immaculately kept. The owners are keen gardeners; borders are adorned with flowers and the lawn on the camping area is nice, flat, and in good condition.

This is effectively a smallholding. There is a small field of sheep on the property, and the owners keep chickens too. They sometimes have eggs to sell.

The site is divided into marked pitches. There isn't anywhere to "squeeze someone in" so I highly recommend you book this campsite rather than just turning up. The pitches are a good size though and will happily accommodate a largish tent or a motorhome. You may be pushing it with the massive tents that provide accommodation for entire families and their friends though.

Facilities are absolutely immaculate. 3 toilets which is sufficient. One shower which is coin operated (I think it was 20p for 4 minutes)

Toilet paper and handwashing soap is provided.

Overall I would certainly recommend this site for a few nights near Liverpool. I'm not sure it would be a great place for a large family due to its small size - there wouldn't be much room to play or run around. However for couples with 2 or 3 children who plan to go out and do things during the day (as opposed to just stay on site) I think it would probably still fit the bill.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirby68 1 review from this member

Lovely little campsite very quiet with a friendly couple running it. Very clean toilet and shower.

Bus stop just around the corner and train station about 10 minutes walk. Have already booked to go again this year.

Would recommend if you want a lovely place to stay.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Awfuldriver 7 reviews from this member

Lovely tidy quiet site handy for Merseyside and south western Lancashire.

Facilities are complete, compact and well kept and ideal for summer although one wc and shower between 12 pitches is not adequate imo. Hang a towel over the glazed toilet door for privacy but it will not afford seclusion from the washing up area over the wall. Toilet, sink and shower all in one room.

The grass was wet hence assumed the reason for not being mown. Owner required unit to be oriented at right angle to boundary fence although with our awning, the same space take would have been the result. Site ampage is low (3 / 5?) so go easy on the electrics.

Use low wattage gadgets or calor. We had two flip outs - not so good in near freezing nights. If you use your own in-van loo, shower, sink, - perfect but you may find queues for the facilities in busier times.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dagdfg 1 review from this member

Weíve just returned from this little gem of a site and Iím sure we will be returning again.

This is a small site set on a working farm. There are two fields. One has about four hard standings pitches and the rest grass all with hook up (about 12 if I remember right). The other field has no hook ups.

This last week was the busiest Iíve seen it with about a dozen vans and tents (only been twice)

The only issue I have found with this site is that there is only one toilet and one shower. That being said here was no queuing or waiting for the loo or shower. Although it would definitely benefit from extra toilets and showers.

The site is kept perfectly clean and tidy. There was absolutely no noise after 10, you could have literally been in the middle of nowhere.

Itís a ten - fifteen minute walk to the new Maghul north train station. About a ten - fifteen minute walk to the nearest pub that also does nice food. There are plenty of pubs around Maghul which you can wander between. There is a taxi firm that is cheap enough if you get too drunk to walk back.

The owners are very friendly and communication is spot on. We used email and paid by bank transfer. When we got there our pitch was clearly labelled. The pitches are a very good size with no swarms of midges to deal with.

Liverpool is a short train ride away. We got a pair of dayriders so we could travel as much as we wanted for just over £8 the pair ! Bargain. The trains are ever 15 mins and are nice and clean.

All in all the site is really nice. Could do with more toilets and showers but never an issue for us. Great transport links. No road noise. Peaceful and safe.

I wouldnít hesitate in recommending this site and will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theresa C 5 reviews from this member

We had a tent and a motorhome booked as 2 separate units (requested to be together though)this was no problem. We were given a corner area and had more than enough space.

We were told it was no problem to put up our gazebo either.

The owners were very friendly and helpful (gave us lots of helpful local information about buses, places to eat, markets etc).

There is only one toilet and one separate shower as well as one sink for dishes, however as there are only 12 pitches in total this didn't cause to much of a problem.

The site is very close to Liverpool and Southport, but is outwith both so is quiet. It's a farm site, within easy walking distance of a town where you can get something to eat.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and the location could not have been better - Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aestus 1 review from this member

It's an Ok site if you want somewhere close to Liverpool and Southport. Very secluded and quiet. A good, well drained grass field with 12 pitches around the perimeter and room in the middle for two or three large tents.

The facilities though are quite basic and not particularly clean. They are in a lean to at the rear of a stable, with one toilet, one coin operated shower and one dishwashing sink all in the one space and all shared by both the men and women.

This can be a bit embarrassing at times as the toilet block wall is open at the top. They are not the cleanest of facilities and really are only as clean as the last person using them. There was a hand towel in the toilet 'hung' over the dividing wall which was there when we arrived on the Saturday and not changed until the Tuesday. Hair and grass left in a corner of the shower for two days. There was sometimes a queue for the toilet which ran out of loo paper on the Sunday.

The owners are friendly enough but we did not feel comfortable approaching them over these issues, fearing being asked to leave the site, which was not feasible due to previously made commitments in the area.

If you're in a camper with your own facilities it's a great site, but if you rely on what's provided, just consider what the minimum standards are that you will accept.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dateactive 1 review from this member

A great find excellent site very friendly owners

Open throughout year, Quiet with clean toilet and shower. Good size field option of electric hook ups if required, Easy access to Liverpool via bus or trains a great find making visits to the area easy

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodburner5 1 review from this member

Very peaceful well kept site. Hosts are helpful and made us feel very welcome. Facilities are all new and therefore in good clean condition. Only 10 miles from centre of Liverpool. There is a bus service nearby but we did not need to use it so I cannot comment on frequency etc

Would certainly return for a visit - Anfield is only about 7 miles away. Site within very easy reach of motorway.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Liverpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4344 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019