Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thetford Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford > Thetford Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Thetford Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
High Ash
Hilborough
Thetford
Norfolk   (Browse area)
IP26 5BZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 16/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 8 reviews from this member

Our first outing in our new caravan so thought we would go local. Lovely quite site no toilet or showers which was what we wanted for our first outing thinking if we can cope three nights and use only the vans toilet and shower we will be able to cope with most things and we loved it.

Back to the site review it was easy to find and is kept lovely, when we arrive told to find a pitch and let them know what number we picked, we choose a hard standing pitch and when I say hard I mean hard good job I had rock pegs and a lump hammer with me as you I needed them to put my awning up.

This is a lovely laid out site ideal for walking into the forest and spotting the wild life, the downside to the site no bus stop near and a long drive to the nearest village.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

We visited the Thetford Caravan Club site during the early May bank holiday weekend. The site was pretty much full as you would expect but due to its relatively small size and nicely spaced pitches it didn't feel busy.

This is a very quiet site set in an outcrop of the wider ranging Forestry Commission Thetford forest. You can wander straight out of your van into the forest in all directions with only the Thetford / Swaffham road bordering the site some way to the East. This is perfect for walking your dogs or for going for a spin on your bikes.

Be aware that the site had no facilities, as such the prices are reasonable, £33 for two nights for a family of four.

We live locally and were giving our new van a run out, so in some ways are not best to comment on local attractions. The biggest draw around for us is the Thetford Forest Forestry Commission High Lodge centre just outside Brandon, about 15 minutes drive away. Here you can take your own bikes or hire bikes with a number of marked trails. There is also Go Ape, Segway hire, a café and various marked walks. Otherwise the local market towns are fairly small and there is not a lot of other attractions around.

There are no play facilities, other than of course, the expansive forest. The site is perfect however for a quiet weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 215 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Site just off the A1065 Swaffham to Brandon road between Hilborough and Mundford. Watch out for a WW2 tank on a plinth, site is situated down the road behind this memorial.

This site is in a forest setting as the name implies with many tall pine trees. Non-members are accepted but not tents. On this site you have to have your own facilities as the site does not have a toilet block. There are 83 pitches in total, 37 of them being on hardstandings the rest on glass. The hardstandings are in an arc from reception along one side of the site. Some of the grass pitches are in natural glades amongst the trees. Electric points, rated at 16 amps and using CEE17 blue connectors, are conveniently placed to pitches. Fresh and waste water points, as well as chemical disposal are placed at regular intervals around the site. The motorhome service point requires you to reverse in with emptying drains on both sides, however they still require heavy drain covers to be removed to access the drain points. The site also has a storage facility. There appear to be some seasonal pitches on this site. According to the handbook TV reception is poor although we were able to use our satellite dish but this will require choosing your pitch carefully to allow a clear view of the sky. There is site wide WiFi which works reasonably well given the remoteness of the site, time can be purchased online. At the front of the site there is an information hut and at reception some essentials can be purchased. There are no specific play area for children although with immediate access to the forest areas older ones will no doubt enjoy that. This site is quite remote from habitation so without your own transport the only other options are walking and cycling, there is no public transport within easy reach. The site is very restful if you want some R&R or perhaps would be a good stopping off point when going to the coast. If you can make use of the mid-week discount sites fees are very reasonable, in fact cheaper than many CL’s.

There are many options for walks from the site. For the less active the Desert Rats Memorial and circuit of the old training ground might be ideal. For shopping Swaffham is probably the best bet with both Waitrose and Tesco supermarkets. The site is within the area known as Breckland

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadgrannyS 4 reviews from this member

This site was just as we've come to expect from Camping and caravan club sites, very clean facilities, friendly helpful wardens, good pitches, good recycling. The track leading into the site was not as bad as we thought it would be from other reviews, its fine. Beautifully situated by the forest and although near a busy road there was no noticeable noise, there was more noise from the overhead jets but being with 2 plane enthusiasts we rather liked it. Walking was fabulous from the site. Cycling a little more challenging as some roads unsuitable but through the forest we reached The Chequers in Thompson. Although they weren't yet open they made us welcome and made coffee. The chef came and chatted and got his maps out to tell us another way home. Cycled then to the Dog and Partridge for lunch. Friendly welcoming and decent enough lunch. If like us you leave your motorhome on site public transport is limited and there are no buses on saturday

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulaWebster 2 reviews from this member

WOW! this is by far the best site we have visited. On arrival we were informed we could drive/walk around and choose our own pitch, then let them know which pitch we had chosen. We choose the first little break in the trees on the left as we drove in. There was room there for about 10 vans but there were only two others on arrival.

The site is spotlessly clean and very quiet. This is an ideal site for adults who just want some peace and quiet and time to relax.

The managers were super friendly and gave us some great advice on bike rides, local attractions, pub lunches etc. They ordered us a paper every morning too.

We went off on amazing bike rides and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and peaceful surroundings.

Two caravans arrived the next day, both with well behaved children.

There are no toilet/shower facilities on this site but that wasn't a problem at all because we just used our own in the van.

The services on the site were very clean and bins constantly emptied.

We cannot wait to return to this lovely site, where the only sounds you hear are animals and birds.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dean95 15 reviews from this member

First time been to this CL site and well impressed. Site really kept clean and tidy. You are allowed to find own pitch, we found a lovely spot which was a sun trap, so peaceful. This site has a memorial to the dessert rats that trained here from 1938 to 1944, if you walk round the woods etc you can read all about them. There is some lovely woodland walks and while we were here we saw 3 munjac deers, so peaceful. You have swaffham, thetford, brandon all within 7 to 10 miles each way. We went into brandon which had several shops plus aldi and a small tesco, they also have a factory warehouse shop, plus several other shops, cafes, etc. We only went to brandon as rather relax in this lovely forest as we were lucky while we where there from Saturday to Monday the sun shon. The feel to being surrounded by this lovely forest made you feel like you was on a different planet, so nice. The wardens are really friendly and helpful, they keep this CL site spotless. We didn't want to leave, but we will be back and next time for longer

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Saulannett 2 reviews from this member

Lovely back to basics campsite. My first stay at a caravan club site and they appear to be very well maintained. This site has very basic facilities - chemical disposal, taps and electricity. But what they do have is very nicely looked after.

The site is in a stunning setting right in the Thetford Forest. You are surrounded by nature and there are deer roaming free and loads of birds and interesting animal sounds throughout the night.

I was alone with two children and there didn't appear to be many others kids around - a bonus for some and a little more hard work for others who might value the distraction. Also a surprise considering it was the height of school holiday season, but I suppose many families would be put off by the lack of facilities etc.

Anyway, its a perfect site for getting away from it all and my kids loved making dens in amongst the trees. Also great if you like walking or cycling as there are many beautiful footpaths in and around the forest from right on your doorstep. Unfortunately, being alone with two young ones, I was unable to do either! But will def try to bring bikes next time I'm with my partner.

Nice staff in the main, my only complaint would be the unnecessary requirements for rule abiding - they seemed a little put out that I hadn't paid by the 1pm cut off for the next nights stay. I could understand this if very busy but they were barely half full and had very few bookings for the next day! They also won't let you have fires at all, or bbq's under a certain height/ground clearance. Small complaints really as in the main its a lovely stay and very relaxing and beautiful!

In conclusion, if you are looking for a beautiful woodland setting, being surrounded by nature, a quiet and laid back site, and to be away from the crowds (it was barely half full at the peak of August holiday season!) then this is the place.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan54 3 reviews from this member

We have been here several times as its close to home its a very well run site, the pitches are of good size and the site is very well looked after. Wardens are very helpful no toilet block they did try but warden said they could not get planning permission,

Its in the middle of thetford forest lovely walks from the site, there are boards as you walk around telling you about the Dessert Rats and about the 2nd world war.

Not far is Thetford, Swaffham or Mildenhall small market towns there is a Tesco and Sainsburys in Thetford not ideal for children.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Numbnuts 3 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights and found the site to be a really nice place to be. On arrival the warden proved to be friendly and helpful. We were left to chose our own pitch so we had one in one of the small wooded glades, we were lucky not to have an immediate neighbour throughout our stay so had plenty of room and peace.

The warden was quick to offer help when my jockey wheel clamp failed and even took one off his own van to let me use. Thanks also to the other van owner who also came over to help

The site has no toilet block and therefore no tents but that was fine by us as we find sites like this tend to be a lot quieter and so this again proved to be the case. Very soon after 9pm the site suddenly gets very quiet and peaceful so we found it easy to sit and relax with a good book and a beer!

We liked the area very much and the walks or cycle around the woods were enjoyed by all, we would recommend a walk to the fenced off field in the woods, especially around dusk as you may be lucky to see the nightjars displaying their courtship dance.

One word of warning don't use this site if you enjoy a lay in every morning, the dawn chorus has to be heard to be believed!

All in all a great site, good for families and dogs etc, we will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chloe99 8 reviews from this member

We love love love this site. It is perfect for doglovers and families in that there is so much space and it offers total tranquillity. It was about full when we visited - there's a choice of hardstanding pitches as well as some lovely little grouped grass pitches in the trees. The site has no toilets etc, not a problem for most outfits these days and it's everything a basic site should offer. The wardens are totally dedicated and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble even though they were kept very busy. The dog walking is amazing, you can walk miles without seeing a soul (other than deer and the occasional adder basking in the summer!). Just watch out for ticks, get some Frontline on your dogs a few days before you get there as the forests are tick heaven!

We have been to The Covert many times and we'll be back again!

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019