Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kelling Heath Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Kelling Heath Holiday Park
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7HW
Tel: 01263 588181
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: 10th February To 10th December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 162 Reviews
                8/10 from 162 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  162 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theothertwin 7 reviews from this member

4th visit here but first in school holidays. This site is very popular with family/friends groups who mainly occupy adjacent plots to take advantage of the open pitches and set up with their tents on the outside. It creates a very convenient arrangement for everyone to share meals etc.

There is lots of space for children to play in. Climbing frames, walks, fishing pond, and cycling. We found that the children buzzing around the site on their bikes have little or no road sense.

Not all of the attractions have a cost but the fishing sessions where children are taught about the pond life and how to fish in crystal clear water are excellent and should not be missed. Booking is essential and all the equipment is provided free!

The shower blocks are very well equipped with the latest electronic showers. Plenty of washing places for pots and pans as well.

If you like your plots neatly manicured wth nice hedges giving you privacy you will not find many of them here. You will have to get used to campers of all ages walking through your plot especially if it provides them with the shortest route to the hub of the campsite.

In our experience Security needs to be improved as we had a white van scouting around our area at midnight when all traffic movement is banned. Reception staff a little dismissive when we reported the incident to them the following morning. We did see security staff walking around the site early every evening but remained concerned about openness of the site given the number of bikes etc are left overnights. I recommend that you lock bigs etc up every night and not to leave valuable accessories outside if you can help it.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Basichendo 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here in the summer holidays but it still did not appear to busy. It's a much larger site than I anticipated (300 acres!)

Plus points:

- food in the bar and takeaway pizza place was good (pizza a little overpriced)

- loads of cycle routes

- good gym / indoor pool (extra but reasonable - £5/each pp each day)

- never queued for toilets / showers

- pond dipping free as was intro to fishing

- decent well stocked shop (emergency only as this was way too dear)

- helpful friendly staff

- good sized pitches and all seemed pretty level

- really good assault course for the kids

- seemed very relaxing (except Saturday night)

Improvement points

- more water points needed - expensive 'premium' pitch and the water taps were nowhere near

- launderette - each wash lasted 20 minutes! So two washes needed. More money for them

- no security gate. We found this really odd - huge site and literally ANYONE can come on unchallenged and help themselves.

- new toilets with digital showers / flush = style over substance, toilets often do not flush and it's grim.

All in all we really enjoyed the stay here.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phirrup 1 review from this member

Stopped here for a wet and windy weekend but still managed to have a really good time. The campsite is clean, the staff are friendly the food in the Forge is nice and the views from the top of the red section over weybourne are fantastic. The train is worth taking either to Sheringham or Holt.

The shower blocks Look new and they're very clean and modern. The pictures are well kept and there is plenty of space.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Swerve 7 reviews from this member

Stayed 8 nights in red area as we had dogs on premier pitch.

As with most reviews it is expensive, but we could not fault the site.

It is a large site but it never felt it even though height of season.

We used toilet block in yellow area as closer and never queued and always kept tidy.

The walks are great.

We tried both indoor (extra fees) and outside pools (included in price) both okay and clean.

We eat at pub on site one night and found menu a bit small and not much choice for the veggie wife.

We used The Ship at Weybourne -need to book this time of year- for our main meals a couple of nights and one lunch. Nice and dog friendly.

The pizzas in the Square were very good for a takeaway which we sat outside on the Square once and took back the other.

The service all round was excellent.

Glad we paid by phoning for premier pitch (not available to book on line) as very generous size and you not so packed in, as red area was the busiest, the yellow area, if you have no dogs, was a lot more spaced out.

The Square is a relaxed place and never had problem getting a table, you can also take your own food and drink to listen to music and nice it ends about 9pm as no loud merry holiday makers, just relaxing atmosphere, not our normal choice of music types but we still enjoyed.

Drinks in bar are more expensive than our locals but did find same prices in other local eateries were about the same.

There is only wifi in the Square area which was okay and did not miss it back at the van, made a nice change for our children to more than be on their mobiles all the time.

Although we have reluctantly decided to sell our caravan we would come back and use the statics or lodges on site, as they looked really nice and very well spread out.

Site is not far from Sheringham which is a nice small resort, try the Two Lifeboats for a good meal and beers.

All in all we were very pleased with the site and very relaxed after our break, worth the 5stars.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anne Bedder 4 reviews from this member

Having stayed three years in a row as the children just love north Norfolk, we felt that the cost of a pitch is now far too expensive.

The wi if is dreadful and should be all over the site as most people have I phones and emergencies happen at home as well on site.

The toilet facilities have been modernised but still great improvements can be made.

Showers are only warm and very little pressure.

There is not enough facilities when they decide to clean in the morning and this could be done in the afternoon when not so many people want a shower.

Automatic flushes do not always work especially when little ones use the toilet.

Tree roots are very dangerous on the path to the toilets as my granddaughter fell over twice quite badly so take a torch.

To get water you have to go along way.

Just a few gripes but over all north Norfolk is beautiful.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 14 reviews from this member

An element of shock and trepidation washed over me as I walked into the large reception of the ‘Village Square’. Yes, I knew it was a large campsite with lodges and lots of facilities, but not having visited their own website, I hadn’t realised how large. Ah well, it’s only for one night, let’s be open minded. So we followed the one-way system to our allocated pitch, the cheapest on offer, but we were not too disappointed. A nice large area, only marred by the large parched area left by previous long-stay awnings. So being a quiet mid-week stop, we took the risk of ignoring the detailed instructions of how to position the van (knowing we might be instructed to move), and itched closer to the neighbouring tent so that we could step out onto grass – still leaving at least 7m fire-gap!

I maintain that visiting this site when busy would not be my thing – far too many pitches, but when quiet, it has its plus points. Lots of great facilities in the touring area, lots of loos and showers, washing up points, water taps, motorhome service points. You can’t fault the natural environment in which Kelling Heath sits, and it’s well worth following on to the walking trails … but that’s not necessary, I spotted a Jay in bushes near the facility block !

Sadly we didn’t have time to try the health club and pool, - much of the sports facilities are not included in the pitch price, which in itself was very high already. We did nip into the bar area and considered having some food there, but the staff were so slack in their service that it would have taken forever … and we couldn’t even locate the full menu, just see the specials board. I suspect that during the week, the bars/restaurants are mainly used by regulars with lodges.

A great example of what large caravan parks ought to be, and worthy holders of a Gold David Bellamy award and Gold Eco Tourism mark, but too big and regimented still for me.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Techno kid 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic site. All the amenities you would want for a campsite including shop, pool, bar and restaurant, pizza bar which included takeaway, gym and fitness. The pitch was standard but very large. The toilet blocks were fantastic. So up to date and always very clean. Staff were all very friendly. Would definitely recommend this site and am planning to go back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beanie891 3 reviews from this member

5th time to Kelling and it's just as good. We don't tend to use the on site facilities much but the Saturday local producers fair, on site mini market and the table tennis are always good. Great base to explore the North Norfolk area which is just lovely. Yellow area is the best, the new showers are much better. All in all highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struts45 3 reviews from this member

This is one of the campsites our kids will have loads of memories of we love it.

Taken dogs every time so only stayed on the dog friendly pitches. Plots are great we have had tents and a caravan over the years on the pitches. Great size between each one.

They are clean and tidy plots even in busy times.

The toilet block and wash facilities are fantastic always clean and tidy.

The walks we have had are so good you can get lost in the fabulous walks and loose a day just exploring the kids and dogs love that. Great for bikes and hikes.

The pool is free outside which when the weather is nice would recommend and the tennis courts are good fun.

Evening entertainment is so chilled listening to live music outside is fabulous.

Over the years of going have seen it get a little bit more commercial how ever if it doesn't change this will stay a great place to make even more memories.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisam7409 8 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site. Plenty of walks. Great fishing for the children. Nice parks. The on site pub is very pricey and a bit fancy for campers that just want a nice simple pub lunch. Expensive for families generally. Expensive for dogs. You cant just pay for use of indoor pool you need a full gym membership. Mixed feelings. I think the site could be a lot more affordable family friendly.

Previous     162 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1617 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996