Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Kelling Heath Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling Heath Holiday Park Reviews

Kelling Heath Holiday Park
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7HW
Tel: 01263 588181
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: 10th February To 10th December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 167 Reviews
                8/10 from 167 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Travelmate 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful place to visit we attended the special weekend for their beer festival meeting friends.

They are so friendly stayed in the red field as we have a dog which are made very welcome. We went to the restaurant asked about meal allowed in the bar which we had the same menu and able to take our dog in as well dog biscuits even supplied.

Showers are fantastic lots of space family ones which are ideal lovely to see the children riding bikes safely around the site. This is local to us and they give you discount if you return so we will definitely come back. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tripeaker 24 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Kelling Heath and even though it was unplanned until the day before arrival everything from booking to departing was really nice. We had to change our plans due to flooding at another site and the staff at Kelling Heath could not have been more helpful. We were with family in another unit with a dog so were placed on the Red area.

The pitches are all reasonably level and well marked out. Some have hard standing and have full facilities, water, EHU, drainage and TV point. Others are more basic but just as pleasant.

The toilets and showers modern and are kept clean and warm at all times. One thing we especially like is wandering off into centre which has a most excellent pub and very well stocked shop. There is a swimming pool and plenty of other places to chill out, which unfortunately we did not get the time to try, but from what we saw, all looked excellent.

The site makes a good effort to be environmentally friendly, which is nice to see. There is a great view- point from the site overlooking the sea, which is well worth seeking out. There is a platform for the train to stop which takes you into Sherringham or Holt, both are nice to visit.

We purchased a ‘Rover Ticket’ from reception, allowing us as many journeys as we wanted on the day for £20 per adult. It is more costly for the train when there are ‘Specials’ running which was the case during our stay.

The only gripe we had during our stay was not with the site, but with several fellow campers, who continually ignored the dogs on lead signs. Some dogs wandered free, completely unattended, on a regular basis and although not generally causing a nuisance on this occasion, that is not always the case!

Sherringham was very dog friendly with drinking bowls in the sea front pub and many of the shops. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cc7979 11 reviews from this member

 Super site and probably the best site we have stayed at in the UK. We stayed over a very wet Easter but still had a great time.

The site is large and we were probably the furthest you could be from the central reception area (10 min walk), but we had bikes so it was a pleasant ride.

Nice size pitches, our was private with hedges, although some in the middle of our area were less so. Toilets were a very good standard.

The site really is wonderful for cycling with a vast rolling heath land dotted with mini nature reserves / lakes and play areas for the kids. There is a definite focus on the environment in all aspects of how the site is ran, which is really pleasing to see.

The central reception area is very pleasant with lots of facilities. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was very good value. There is also an indoor play area here and arcade for the kids. During the day this is a run as a cafe / bar with some free craft activities for the kids - a great touch.

The indoor swimming pool is a very high standard and it is also a leisure centre / gym. Despite this all being excellent, one of the few downsides is how expensive it is to use. There was an offer on while we were there (the site was surprisingly quiet) so used a couple of times. At the standard price we would struggle to justify using it once. There is an outdoor pool which I believe is free, but this is only open seasonally.

There are other eating options with a pub and pop-up street food, but we didn't use. The shop was very well stocked, but pretty expensive as you would expect.

Also a call out to the cycle hire. We bought our own bikes, but the guy fixed my lads bike for a very reasonable price - superb service.

The site is well located for all the North Norfolk coast resorts with plenty to do.

Overall a great site that was reasonably priced at the time we visited (about £40 night / family five). The only negatives were the price of the indoor swimming pool and the fact that although we had plenty of space (due to it being quiet poor weather April) I would imagine feeling much more cramped if the site was busy judging by the pitch the layout. Can still highly recommend though.  


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Theothertwin 18 reviews from this member

 4th visit here but first in school holidays. This site is very popular with family/friends groups who mainly occupy adjacent plots to take advantage of the open pitches and set up with their tents on the outside. It creates a very convenient arrangement for everyone to share meals etc.

There is lots of space for children to play in. Climbing frames, walks, fishing pond, and cycling. We found that the children buzzing around the site on their bikes have little or no road sense.

Not all of the attractions have a cost but the fishing sessions where children are taught about the pond life and how to fish in crystal clear water are excellent and should not be missed. Booking is essential and all the equipment is provided free!

The shower blocks are very well equipped with the latest electronic showers. Plenty of washing places for pots and pans as well.

If you like your plots neatly manicured wth nice hedges giving you privacy you will not find many of them here. You will have to get used to campers of all ages walking through your plot especially if it provides them with the shortest route to the hub of the campsite.

In our experience Security needs to be improved as we had a white van scouting around our area at midnight when all traffic movement is banned. Reception staff a little dismissive when we reported the incident to them the following morning. We did see security staff walking around the site early every evening but remained concerned about openness of the site given the number of bikes etc are left overnights. I recommend that you lock bigs etc up every night and not to leave valuable accessories outside if you can help it. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Basichendo 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in the summer holidays but it still did not appear to busy. It's a much larger site than I anticipated (300 acres!)

Plus points:

- food in the bar and takeaway pizza place was good (pizza a little overpriced)

- loads of cycle routes

- good gym / indoor pool (extra but reasonable - £5/each pp each day)

- never queued for toilets / showers

- pond dipping free as was intro to fishing

- decent well stocked shop (emergency only as this was way too dear)

- helpful friendly staff

- good sized pitches and all seemed pretty level

- really good assault course for the kids

- seemed very relaxing (except Saturday night)

Improvement points

- more water points needed - expensive 'premium' pitch and the water taps were nowhere near

- launderette - each wash lasted 20 minutes! So two washes needed. More money for them

- no security gate. We found this really odd - huge site and literally ANYONE can come on unchallenged and help themselves.

- new toilets with digital showers / flush = style over substance, toilets often do not flush and it's grim.

All in all we really enjoyed the stay here. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TurboKerbo 2 reviews from this member

 Great site for families. Loads to do for the kids and the bar is also great for the adults.

The location is spot on if you like walking. The pitches are quite small so not much privacy but other than that highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Phirrup 2 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for a wet and windy weekend but still managed to have a really good time. The campsite is clean, the staff are friendly the food in the Forge is nice and the views from the top of the red section over weybourne are fantastic. The train is worth taking either to Sheringham or Holt.

The shower blocks Look new and they're very clean and modern. The pictures are well kept and there is plenty of space. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tibbetts 8 reviews from this member

 An amazing site with lots of facilities. Beautifully managed, everything you could need.

Swimming pool, shop, pub, sports facilities, views, walks, cycle routes, all fantastic. We have visited 3 times and have loved every minute.

My children always want to go to Kelling Heath. So many lovely places to visit and even a steam train which passes by the boundary of the site.

We love it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Swerve 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed 8 nights in red area as we had dogs on premier pitch.

As with most reviews it is expensive, but we could not fault the site.

It is a large site but it never felt it even though height of season.

We used toilet block in yellow area as closer and never queued and always kept tidy.

The walks are great.

We tried both indoor (extra fees) and outside pools (included in price) both okay and clean.

We eat at pub on site one night and found menu a bit small and not much choice for the veggie wife.

We used The Ship at Weybourne -need to book this time of year- for our main meals a couple of nights and one lunch. Nice and dog friendly.

The pizzas in the Square were very good for a takeaway which we sat outside on the Square once and took back the other.

The service all round was excellent.

Glad we paid by phoning for premier pitch (not available to book on line) as very generous size and you not so packed in, as red area was the busiest, the yellow area, if you have no dogs, was a lot more spaced out.

The Square is a relaxed place and never had problem getting a table, you can also take your own food and drink to listen to music and nice it ends about 9pm as no loud merry holiday makers, just relaxing atmosphere, not our normal choice of music types but we still enjoyed.

Drinks in bar are more expensive than our locals but did find same prices in other local eateries were about the same.

There is only wifi in the Square area which was okay and did not miss it back at the van, made a nice change for our children to more than be on their mobiles all the time.

Although we have reluctantly decided to sell our caravan we would come back and use the statics or lodges on site, as they looked really nice and very well spread out.

Site is not far from Sheringham which is a nice small resort, try the Two Lifeboats for a good meal and beers.

All in all we were very pleased with the site and very relaxed after our break, worth the 5stars. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anne Bedder 5 reviews from this member

 Having stayed three years in a row as the children just love north Norfolk, we felt that the cost of a pitch is now far too expensive.

The wi if is dreadful and should be all over the site as most people have I phones and emergencies happen at home as well on site.

The toilet facilities have been modernised but still great improvements can be made.

Showers are only warm and very little pressure.

There is not enough facilities when they decide to clean in the morning and this could be done in the afternoon when not so many people want a shower.

Automatic flushes do not always work especially when little ones use the toilet.

Tree roots are very dangerous on the path to the toilets as my granddaughter fell over twice quite badly so take a torch.

To get water you have to go along way.

Just a few gripes but over all north Norfolk is beautiful. 


Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kelling Heath Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Kelling Heath Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kelling Heath Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Kelling Heath Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3327 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020