Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kelling Heath Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling Heath Holiday Park > Reviews

Kelling Heath Holiday Park
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7HW
Tel: 01263 588181
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: 10/02/2024 to 10/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
                9/10 from 185 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Kelling Heath, having travelled with my daughter and her husband and children for Easter.

What a lovely site! Barely left it, with far too much to do on site. Beautiful indoor swimming pool, steam room and sauna.

Loads of walks around for the dog.

Really friendly staff and extremely well kept. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Vokf 1 review from this member

 I had a lovely stay, the site was nice and quiet, and at one point, I was the only van on the field.

The shower block was spotless with nice hot water.

Good facilities, a small shop, bar and restaurant. The outside pool was out of action (but it's a bit cold to hit an outdoor pool!).

I didn't use the inside pool/gym, but that appears to be well equipped.

I did walk and explore the local area, lots to see and it's close enough to enjoy the sea.

I'm not a fan of busy sites and know this is extremely popular, so very pleased I could get booked in during a quiet off-season time.

No issues at all, and look forward to returning! 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 13 reviews from this member

 2nd time staying in the red squirrel area (dogs allowed section).

Pitch was a great size, toilet/shower facilities were fantastic - especially the family bathrooms.

Playpark close by to our pitch and had been upgraded since our last visit a few years ago.

All half term activities were booked up but I did keep struggling for time to call and book so by the time I had the chance they were all full - it would have been easier with the facility to book online.

Everywhere on site was kept really clean and the 10pm quiet time seemed to be followed by all which is great when you have children to get to sleep.

Love the fact that dogs are welcome in the bar and a designated section of the restaurant.

The shop is very well stocked and not extortionately priced.

We didn't use the health and fitness suite on this occasion as we do feel it is expensive for such a basic swimming pool (£20+ per adult and £10+ per child for a 3 day pass). We used the pool last time but for over £60 for the 4 of us it just isn't worth it or value for money.

The restaurant is looking very tired and has a very limited menu but is handy to have on site.

Lovely walks and cycle tracks on site. We saw deer and lots of other wildlife while exploring the campsite.

Great location near to so many things to do - we visited Wells, Cromer and Sandringham this time.

Also, The Ship Inn just down the road in Weybourne serves really nice food.

Overall we would return and it has many more positives than negatives however pitches are considerably more expensive than elsewhere. For us the main advantage of Kelling heath is having access to a lot of facilities with our dog. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blakeys7 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights for a Caravan and motorhome rally.

Nice fully serviced pitch no 318.

Price was good as it was a rally. Otherwise, it can be quite expensive.

Quite level.

Clean facilities.

Plenty to do on site

Restaurant are bar, all dog friendly.

My only gripe, limited menu choice and bar/restaurant staff could work a little harder to clear tables etc.

Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maggie5 10 reviews from this member

 Wonderful place! They are doing their best to reinstate natural heathland and their accommodation is deep within mature trees

There are several ponds and even a hide for one of them. The steam train runs along the northern edge and you can arrange to get on at the tiny halt!

The site is a couple of mikes from the coast and within easy reach of several bird-watching sites, as well as Sheringham and Cromer.

They have a ‘village square’ with restaurant and bar, shop and an outside swimming pool as well as a beautiful indoor one in the fitness centre and in summer at take-away food facility. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sspath 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, beautiful countryside, exceptional washing facilities, spotless.

The communal social settings were not required by us and I was worried would be intrusive, but in fact they did not affect our choice of a secluded peaceful stay in a lovely environment. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mmich2 2 reviews from this member

 We felt that the cost of a pitch is far too expensive considering all the below in need of improvements:

The Wi-Fi is dreadful and can only be used while sitting in the main square.

The toilet facilities are in need of improvements.

Showers are only warm, the shower head is way to low and cannot be adjusted, very little pressure.

The facilities are getting clean in the morning between 8am-10am (very long queue), this could be done easily in the afternoon or earlier in the morning when not so many guests want a shower a/o use the toilets.

Automatic flushes do not always work especially when little ones use the toilet.

Don’t forget your torch, tree roots are very dangerous on the path to the toilets no lighting either.

To get water you have to go along way.

North Norfolk is wild and beautiful 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janice 2 reviews from this member

 Well kept site staff helpful and plenty of walks and cycling routes in the middle of the country side.

The only downside is the showers you need to be at least 6ft tall 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jellyisland 1 review from this member

 We have been back here several times now, always with the plan to go and visit local area.

There is so much to do on this site we rarely leave!

Fairly costly as sites go and swimming now costs a little extra.

The kids (all pre-school) love it, walks, parks, messing about.

Latest visit was atrocious weather but even so we had an amazing time. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 27 reviews from this member

 Let's get the obvious negative point over and done with first. There's no getting away from the fact that this site is extremely expensive. Our stay, in April-May, for 2 adults and a touring caravan, on a grass pitch came to £38/night. The one and only time we've paid more for a pitch than that was when it had a private hot tub. This one only had EHU. (Fully serviced pitches are also available, but these are even costlier. )

However.

This really is a site that you could stay on for a week and not leave. There's something to keep you occupied if you're aged anywhere between about 5 or 105. From miles of walking/running and cycling trails - explore one in early morning or late evening and expect to see a muntjac deer cross your path - to tennis courts, table tennis and petanque tables, to an indoor pool and gym (at extra cost). We didn't use this but it looked lovely and clean.

A 'village centre' houses a well-stocked shop, a bar and restaurant and a separate venue from which take away pizzas can be ordered. At Rose's insistence, I must give a special mention to the bacon baps, served on toasted pretzel rolls, which she said were the best she has ever tasted (and she's tasted a few)! And if you do want to venture a bit further, the site has its own stop on the Sheringham-Holt steam railway.

It would be a shame though if you weren't to leave the site, because you'd miss out on what the surrounding area has to offer. The villages of Sheringham and Holt are beautiful, the gardens and walks at the National Trust-owned Sheringham Hall - just a few minutes drive away - are spectacular and it's worth making the effort to visit either Wroxham or Horning (about an hour's drive) and hiring a little motor boat for an explore of the Norfolk Broads. I can't remember the last time I felt so relaxed and contented.

The sad thing was that the Government-imposed restrictions in place at the site of our visit hinder a site such as this more than most others. They weren't allowed to open their toilet and shower blocks (though these looked clean and modern from the outside) or serve food or drink indoors. And whilst the staff really were doing their best to operate an outside table service, they could do nothing to prevent the weather from being unseasonally chilly, or raining, or both, which quickly made you feel cold and your food even colder. I can't possibly justify marking the site down for this, but would love to be able to return and experience it when it's operating normally.

Better start saving, I guess. 


Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Kelling Heath Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Kelling Heath Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kelling Heath Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Kelling Heath Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement