Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New Mills Marina Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > High Peak > New Mills Marina Caravan Park Reviews

New Mills Marina Caravan Park
Hibbert Street
New Mills
High Peak
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK22 3JJ
Tel: 01663 741310
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 10 Reviews
                10/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 From the booking request to arrival to leaving everything was perfect.

The warden is so helpful and friendly, she keeps the loos and showers immaculate. Good sized pitches on hard standing with views over the marina. Washing up area under cover with plenty of hot water. Washing machine and dryer also available.

The Swizzles factory is over the road, lovely aroma of ' refreshers' all afternoon.

The mix of boats, campers and cottages works well, plenty of room for everyone with several beautiful outside spaces with tables and benches on the grass.

We stayed a night in transit, will be back for a longer stay as really one of the best Cl's we have used. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 76 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a decent site in this area, preferably small, and with a good electricity supply and hard-standing, given the time of year. This site suited our needs perfectly and has been well-described by previous reviewers.

It was our first caravan trip with our new rescue dog and there were many good dog-walks straight from the site, in both directions along the canal towpath and in the country parks in the town, which were much appreciated.

The site is just off the main road into New Mills, so access is very good, but the immediate area is industrial - not the most picturesque, but when it's going dark at 4pm, the views are not that important! Looking over the moored barges and the canal was pleasant however.

The site was secure, quiet (no road or factory noise) overnight and we enjoyed our stay, and would use it again as a base in this area. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Olga Gee 1 review from this member

 Only just discovered this gem of a site. We have recently returned from this CL and it was our second visit this year because we like it so much.

We liked.

The views of the barges sailing past and the friendly bargees who live on the marina ( John, Ralph and others whose names I didn't get )

Walks along the tow path,

Proximity to the railway station

Walks into and around the little friendly town.

Cleanliness and tidiness of the site.

Spotless toilet and shower block.

Last but not least, the new warden, Sean. What a man, so pleasant, helpful and obliging, thank you Sean !

I really wanted to keep this site secret for myself, I Like it so much ! 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Opal0313 26 reviews from this member

 Had 4 nights here over the New Year period. Arrived to a warm welcome but was not told where anything was (never found the recycling bins). One member of our party tried to find the toilet. They went through a door that looked like the toilet block but they were greeted with a unfriendly person who asked what they were looking for and was told you're not allowed in here your toilet is the next door down. Apparently one door is to rooms that is solely for the people on the canal boats that they pay for. The toilet block for pitches are two shower suites that consists of two rooms with toilet shower and sink in them. Trouble is they are used by both the people on the CL site as well as the people (who don't pay for the other suites) on the boats making them very busy. There were 20+ boats moored. If two people are having showers you can't use a toilet! They were always kept very clean but not very warm only a towel rail in one suite to keep a large area warm. The location is lovely next to a busy canal. The town of New Mills has shops but only one pub does food and that was only in the daytime and Thurs Fri & Sat nights. There are some great walks and plenty to do. We found a fantastic pub The Navigation Inn which was about an hour's walk along the canal the food staff everything was brilliant we enjoyed it there so much we returned a second time for a meal on New Years day. We enjoyed our stay here & would definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyman62 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Very clean and well maintained by Terry, Sally and Ian. All stone base but awnings will go up so long as you have strong pegs. Showers & toilets immaculate. Good walks from the site and good pubs within easy walking distance along the towpath. The canal is very busy, but the site is VERY quiet. WiFi is available but patchy and public. Washing and drying available at very reasonable cost. Well recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 This site is excellent on the banks of the canal overlooking the narrow boats. Great toilet/showers. Lovely site managers so friendly and helpful. Plenty of walking around and two train stations that gives access to loads of places if you don't fancy driving. Loads of eating places and the pubs we went in we got a warm welcome. Had good days out in Whalley Bridge, New mills and Buxton. We'll be back 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Djwake 4 reviews from this member

 A very nice site right on the canal marina. Friendly and helpful wardens and excellent facilities. Good site security. New mills is a very nice little town which has developed its industrial heritage extremely well. We recommend a visit to the local heritage centre and the Torrs, where you will find a delightful 'millennium walkway'. There is a lovely walk between New Mills and Hayfield called the Sett Valley trail, and of course the walks by the canal are great too. We recommend walking to Whaley Bridge and taking the train back. Also, the locks at Marple are lovely as is the aqueduct and the surrounding countryside. The Peak District is on the doorstep and is completely gorgeous. Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Travellinglouis2014 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for three nights, and it was most enjoyable. It was in mid-winter and we had snow one morning, and we were the only people on the site.

The facilities are excellent. Well maintained and very clean, they are shared with the boats.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly.

The canal towpath is opposite the site so you have to go down the road and back up to it, but well worth the effort.

The walk to Whalley Bridge and back is very nice, or you can catch the train there, and walk back or vice versa, itís about 4 miles.

Would also recommend a walk into New Mills and follow the Millennium Walkway, steeped in history and quite exciting as the river was almost in flood when we walked over it.

The station is almost next to the site.

Itís the only site I have been on where hand sanitation gel is provided next to the toilet waste emptying point!

It was a bit chilly a couple of mornings in the showers, but as I say it was very cold one night in particular.

The test of any site is would we return? A definite yes. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: K8tiej 1 review from this member

 Little gem of a site located in great area for walking. Very secure pitches with electric gates to marina area (code needed) and further barrier to the 5 very generous pitches. All hard standing with views over narrow boats and countryside beyond.

Grassed areas well maintained and new planting around edges. Covered wash-up area with plenty of hot water. Shower/toilets for campers only, not general marina clients (they have their own) with key entry. One fitted out for disabled visitors with large tiled wet-room area, the other a generously sized shower room with proper shower with plenty hot water and generous hanging pegs and shelf for shoes etc.

Very clean and well maintained.

Wardens were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, a delight.

New Mills town easy walk with Millenium walkway, Goyt valley and Torrs walks well signposted as well as walks along canal towpaths in both directions. Plenty pubs, shops and take aways within 5 mins.

Trains to Manchester from nearby station taking just 30 odd minutes.

Great little site 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vfrostron 2 reviews from this member

 Great, secure location, lovely views, lots of interesting things happening on the marina itself.

Easy walk into New Mills where there are plenty of nice shops, banks, pubs, visitors centre and eateries.

Don't miss a walk into the gorge and along the Millennium Walkway, suspended above the river.

Very easy walking or cycling along the canal towpaths, and access via the old railway line into Hayfield.

Site has all new, heated, toilet block with washing up facilities at the side. All hard standing pitches with picnic places at 2. Very friendly and helpful wardens who live on a barge in the marina.

Free wifi availability, but strength varies on pitches, tv good.

If you want to treat yourselves for breakfast, try Gioia Mia cafe bistro, 41 Market Street, highly recommended and friendly owner, also does Tapas evenings (not tried). 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is New Mills Marina Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New Mills Marina Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is New Mills Marina Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near High Peak      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - 12v / 240V Avtex Freeview Play Full HD TV with built-in satellite decoder worth £379!