Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Green Frog Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

The Green Frog Caravan Site
Hammerlands
Moffat
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG10 9QL
Tel: 01683 221220
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Arcadia 11 reviews from this member

We have been before and really liked this site but found that since they have added the shower/loos and covered a huge area with rough hard standing it now feels more like a car park and has lost much of its charm. Despite this £7. 50 for a night without EHU is still great value.

Really easy to access lots of dog friendly cafes and pubs so we will still use on route to other destinations.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cyfareddol 4 reviews from this member

We were lucky to use this site because the nearby 180 pitch site was full.

As other reviewers say it has basic facilities for water and effluents but no other facilities except a w. C. During shop hours. The van parking area feels spacious and is quiet.

It's an easy walk into Moffat which is a pleasant and busy town. We didn't use the on site cafe but I went fishing for a few hours. The two pools had very clear water and there were plenty of fish. The charge for fishing was surprisingly low and I had the pool to myself. The site has everything we wanted, close to town, fishing, dog walks and quiet. Overnight without ehu was £5. 00, fishing was £7. 50.

One of my favourite sites.

Difficult to rate for facilities because here it depends what you're looking for.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Arcadia 11 reviews from this member

Fabulous cl with easy access to town. Food in dog friendly cafe was delicious and several dog friendly pubs and another dog friendly cafe on the right hand side of the main st. Definitely be back to this lovely place.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

Stopped over on our way to Scotland, basic small site, not toilets on site however available in the café during opening times, very reasonable price. Great café and garden centre with a 10% discount for campers, great fishing for those who like it. Lovely to walk around the fishing lakes with the dogs. All in all a good stopover place. We will definitely be stopping again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter1474 5 reviews from this member

Great basic site, right next to a fantastic café also called the Green Frog. It is difficult to get at times as it is so popular by returning Tourers/Camper vanners.

Facilities, Electric, Fresh water, Chemical waste Disposal point, waste water disposal.

Cost, £5 per night. £4. 50 for EHU

Between this site and the town of Moffat is a CC&C site charging double+ per night. OK it has showers

For the location it is no wonder this gem is always popular.

10% discount when you purchase food in the café.

3 Chip shops in town, a good number of first class places to eat and drink. Never been to a place like it for GF food, every place seemed to cater for GF except the chippies but that is to be expected.

For TV reception, stand at your hitch, face the café/fishing pond entrance, and then point your aerial to 10, o'clock.

It is a 5 van site, so will work from any pitch. Not any club related btw.

Invermill the last reviewer obviously did not like the place, the two ponds are regularly cleared of weed, there is a gate next to the main gate for Fly Fishers to use for leaving as the main gate is closed at 5pm when the café closes, you can if you want fish all night. BTW, the ponds are well stocked.

I do not work for them btw, but they do not shout out their own praises loud enough.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Invermill 3 reviews from this member

Typical CL site basic but functional. If you are going for fishing don't! Condition of Lake not good very weedy so cannot fish with a sinking line if fish are deep. Even using a floating line still problems with weed. Also says fishing closes at 9 but gates locked at 5 so you cannot get access to fishing. Overall a disappointing experience I will not be revisiting.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bev and Nige 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at The Green Frog caravan site for an overnight stay on way home from touring round Highlands and Islands of Scotland and what a lovely little find! The site is run by the owner of the garden centre and cafe who is very friendly and helpful. She welcomes dogs and children and has a menu full of reasonably priced meals and snacks, including a a good selection of homemade cakes. We enjoyed the most delicious Scottish breakfast that set us up for the day! There's a soft play area and the place was very clean and in a lovely setting. To top is all the site was only £5. 50 a night plus £4 for electric hook up, what a bargain! It has easy access and is within easy walking distance of Moffat centre. We prefer CL's and aren't bothered about shower and toilet facilities as we have those on board. The only down side for us was that we didn't have time to stay longer, we loved it! We'll certainly return and stay longer next time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georgemiller232 1 review from this member

Situated within walking distance of the town, which boasts an assortment of lovely shops and numerous eating places. Facilities on the site are adequate, with elsan disposal, fresh water and electric hookup, price very reasonable at £10 per night. There is a nearby Garden centre, 2 to 3 minutes walk, which has a cafe that serves breakfasts and lunches. If you like to be near a town this site would be good for a couple of nights stay


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2953 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019