Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Green Frog Campsite Fishery And Cafe

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat > The Green Frog Campsite Fishery And Cafe > Reviews

The Green Frog Campsite Fishery And Cafe
Hammerlands
Moffat
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG10 9QL
Tel: 01683 221220
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/02/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianarayner 59 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights recently. Had a wonderful stay. Cycled around 25 mile from site on quiet roads and then took a trip to the Grey Mare's Tail waterfall and hiked up to the loch above.

Think we paid £19 pn inc EHU. On the Sunday night we ate at Hugo's which is a lovely Tapas bar/restaurant in town.

The site is a bit basic but has a cafe, (which we didn't use), and also fishing. Showers are £! for up to 4 minutes however you need at least £2 for a decent hot shower. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Site seems a work in progress but overall we really liked it.

We were due to arrive between 6pm and 7pm and received written confirmation that arrivals after 7pm aren't allowed access even though paid in advance (no exception for road delays etc).

Three areas- The Circle is 6 hardstanding pitches with grass areas between and electric @£19 (despite info re not going on grass a motorbike with a tent was pitched up on the grass next to pitch 5 and bike was ridden on grass to park by tent).

The aire with electric has 9 pitches on gravel, not the best aesthetically but does the job@£15

Aire without electric - pitches on gravel with some grass@ £9

Then there is a separate tent area too.

Loos /showers as previously reviewed. With several tents on site too some queues first thing.

Fishing lakes are lovely for few minutes walk around but only accessible from 9-5.

Garden centre seemed to be just a few stands of plants in pots.

Easy 10 minute flat walk in to town.

Based on proximity to motorway and price its an excellent option and we will use again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dogshome 9 reviews from this member

 Positives, it is convenient stop off on the way up the M74, access is easy as the whole site is flat. It is cheap, we paid £17.50 for a pitch with electric although two weeks later on our return it was £18.

Toilets are clean, 2 male 2 female, although unfortunately shower and toilet are combined so if two people are showering and you want the loo not all is lost though because if it is during the Green Frog's cafe their toilets are open.

The cafe is all right but my wife and I weren't wowed by the offerings. It is a reasonable walk into Moffat and there are plenty of eateries.

Downsides, those people who said it is a lovely site! It is a gravel carpark, perfectly adequate for overnighting. There is a green area that takes around 7 units and the only area that allows awnings, which would be more pleasant for a longer stay.

I don't appreciate on booking in a long lecture on the site rules and the dire consequences if they are broken, it sets you off on the wrong foot.

The barrier is obviously somewhat problematic as we were given very stern instructions that it is our responsibility to ensure no one tailgates so you are expected to stop block the road and wait until the barrier was down.

The barrier took some time to descend by the way. Final downside and most importantly we felt the units were all too far close together.

This was not a case of cramming extra people in the pitches are all very clearly marked. My estimate was less than 12' making the whole area a serious fire risk if any accidents were to occur. It is because of this that we won't be using the Green Frog site again 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Diane4868 1 review from this member

 We love this site and have stayed more times than I can remember.

Good amenities-we have stayed on grass and hard standing. Couple that run it are very friendly and helpful. Hubby loves the fishing and I like walking around the (conveniently)close shops.

Nice relaxed but secure site. Will be back again once you're open. 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Very accessible no frills site with basic facilities. Cheap and cheerful.

Warmly welcomed at reception on arrival and given our pitch number and info about rules and regs etc.

We chose non ehu aire and likened it to an overspill carpark but it was perfectly adequate. Proximity to Moffat is very good and an easy 10 minute walk.

The facilities were ok, I imagine they must be heavily used as I'm led to believe they are less than 2 yrs old. I think they could do with a regular deep clean as there was area's in the cubicles that looked like they hadn't seen a cloth or cleaning agent for months.

The chemical waste area had a nasty whiff also but with the current heat wave and dry weather, I wonder if that didn't help.

Breakfast was lovely in the on site cafe and very good value for money.

Overall, we would visit again as the positives far outway the negatives. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patric 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site within walking distance of Moffat.

Peaceful site with clean facilities.

On site café serving snacks and hot meals.

Lovely walks around fishing lakes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Delzer 39 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night on journey down south.

Toilets very clean but only 2. Wouldn’t like to be here when it’s busy.

Showers are £1 but never used them.

Lovely cafe with lovely home bakes.

Nice short walk into town. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jojam 3 reviews from this member

 Do not go by the pictures of the site it is nothing but a car park. Great location off the motorway for a 1 night stay.

Toilets need a scrubbing brush.

The whole area needs weedkiller which is amusing as it's a garden centre, not to mention a lawn mower.

The area with awnings have no space to park next to your van and I'm sure if measured would not be the regulated 3 or 4m apart.

The grey water disposal is in the middle of the car park.

Stay off the grass how many times in the rules messaged to you in advance and told on check in I lost count.

Cheap site unfortunately not as described and certainly not cheap and cheerful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DeeJenn 1 review from this member

 Peaceful, extremely pleasant site.

Very close to town centre and great breakfast menu.

We will definitely be back!

Very warm welcome from reception.

Dog friendly throughout the site 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Popely 1 review from this member

 Superb clean site. Very organised and excellent booking, contact and detailed communication.

Great position, short walk to walk into Moffat town centre.

Quiet and beautiful surroundings.

Will most definitely be calling again 
via mobile


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Green Frog Campsite Fishery And Cafe child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Green Frog Campsite Fishery And Cafe?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Green Frog Campsite Fishery And Cafe dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Moffat      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement