Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lepe Beach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Southampton > Lepe Beach Campsite Reviews

Lepe Beach Campsite
Lepe Road
Beaulieu
New Forest
Southampton
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO45 1AD
Tel: 0330 1000842
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 28/05/2021 to 31/08/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Russell Bickerton 1 review from this member

 I really enjoyed our weekend away at Lepe Beach having received excellent advice from the site pre-departure. We hired the fire pits on offer and bought the dry logs which they provide to keep campers warm in the cool evenings.

The views from Lepe Beach campsite and the adjacent beach are truly wonderful. The Solent is a hive of activity with so many yachts on the water over the bank holiday weekend.

The site is very well run and noise after 10:30pm is minimal.

We took our own portable barbecue and charcoal which we used to cook a couple of nice meals whilst we were there.

Near by Lymington is a beautiful little place with great character and charm together with active Marinas for the sailors, and ferries to the Isle of Wight. We spent a lovely day there. The site is very well located for the New Forest and Beaulieu too.

The site supplies itís own tents set up ready to receive families too.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cryan 13 reviews from this member

 Currently here sat amongst the noise hoping we may get some sleep at some point! Loud music in tent next to us, loud machinery in fields behind us, huge groups everywhere with no social distancing evident on campsite or beach. Tents squashed in on top of each other despite being told to leave 5m. The whole place smells and there is excrement on all the banks of the fields (that's what happens when they charge £5 night for a toilet tent during a pandemic!)

We will be packing up and leaving early as this is just dangerous

Apparently there's warden patrols but not seen one yet in 2 days! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stephengale 5 reviews from this member

 Top Location. Where the New Forest meets the Sea.

The site is basic, with portaloos & showers but no hook up. Lovely views over the Solent and right next to the stunning Lepe Country Park.

On Weekends it gets rammed but there's plenty of space during the week. The site operates on a first come, first served basis. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Junglesim 13 reviews from this member

 This has the potential to be a lovely site for all ages. What it has going for it is its location, which is fantastic, and that the staff work hard to try to keep things clean and make for a relaxed nature. However, what lets it down is the inadequacy of the facilities for such a large field.

When the field becomes half full the facilities become over strained and cease working. Specifically, the water feeding the showers, washing up sinks and the toilets become little more than a drip.

A drip rather than a shower is better than nothing, when you canít wash your dishes that is frustrating but when one canít flush the toilet that is quite frankly disgusting.

If the organisers of the site could limit the numbers in the site or improve the capacity of the water flow then it would be a great site but sadly until that is done it is one to be avoided sadly. I really do feel sorry for the poor staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping4hols 1 review from this member

 Here we go. My very honest review. I was surprised that the field was different to my first impression - the main photo on the ad is of Lepe Country Park and not the actual camping field which is a farmer's field situated behind (a little misleading!)

I had also wrongly assumed that the 'shop' mentioned in the ads might sell water, bread, milk etc but it is in fact a gift shop for the Country Park so you need to be well organised with provisions! The ice block freezing was not available when we were there. We found a Tesco Express which was about 5 mins away in the car and worked fine for us.

So initially due to the misinterpretation from marketing info and bad weather conditions we did not get the best first impression. We arrived to the gate closed off, a field of thick mud and a few issues created by the weather! However problems were well managed by the reps on site. The sun came out the next day drying the field and giving us a wonderful view of the Solent.

It was peaceful and quiet with a nice campsite 'buzz'. We had plenty of space, hot showers and clean toilet and we did not experience some of the overcrowding in busier resorts. The location is really perfect for exploring the forest, the Country Park was lovely and the children loved the new play park. Beautiful scenery and very relaxing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osvic 1 review from this member

 Just back from two nights at this site. It was my first camp as an adult and parent. This site was lovely, we picked a pitch facing towards the Solent and without knowing it was opposite what was marked out as the road way so unobstructed view. The pitches are roughly 10 x 8 which was ok for us but we were at the outer limit with out 7. 02m tent. However we pitched with the wind behind us so could have pitched at a different angle.

This is an easy camp site with some pre-pitched tents and then the field opens up and you pick your spot. We arrived in the rain and the field was a little boggy. Sadly we had a a torrential downpour overnight and the day we came to leave the field was like something out of Glastonbury, not helped by people driving to the toilets!

The toilets and showers were basic, porta loos and wooden huts with shower cubicles. That said the water was hot and the loos clean so couldn't fault them

Firepits are available to hire and when the sun sets the lights of the ships passing make for a lovely evening. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campercarl 3 reviews from this member

 Yes is near the beach, but facilities are very very basic.

Basically imagine a large wheat field where a portion has been left fallow, grass allowed to grow, is about 4 inches long and quite stubbly. It is pretty flat so can pitch in any direction albeit is a bit undulating due to historical furrows, pitches are reasonably large, and they seem ok with you pitching how you want in groups. It's about 200m to the beach overlooking Isle of Wight and Portsmouth.

Fires are allowed off the ground, and no dogs too.

We are ok with basic, but a portaloo with no hot water doesn't quite do it. There are 4 washing up sinks with hot water (2 each end of shower sheds). No charging, no freezing facilities so you are a bit stuffed in keeping stuff cool or charging from anything other than your car. The previous review mentions an on site shop, but there isn't one, there is a shop at the beach cafe in the Country Park next door, which also has a new kids play area. Nearest Coop is 2. 5 miles away which is ok.

There are some new showers (4-5) which are like a row of sheds with a perspex roof to let light in.

Turns into a bit of a mud bath if it rains so bring wellies. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MattVane 1 review from this member

 This is a great site, as the description says, right behind Lepe beach itself. It has only started recently, and is not a full-time site so the wash and toilet facilities are not as glamorous or permanent as other Camping Unplugged sites like White Meadow (just down the road). Having said that, they were working, immaculately clean and well looked after by the staff, so what more do you want?

There is a small shop on-site and a great value cafe on the beach itself, with a fantastic play park behind. The pub has a fantastic authentic Thai menu back towards Langley (short drive, medium walk) and village full of shops past that. Gang Warily centre has another huge play park.

The site was very quiet and we saw lots of grouse and a couple of deer across the field. There is a pylon across the field, and the chimneys of Fawley in the distance, but the views of the sea more than make up for it! There is traffic on this stretch of the Solent day and night, and it was wonderful to sit in the evening by the fire and watch the lit ships glide past. We will be going again! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lepe Beach Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lepe Beach Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lepe Beach Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement