Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Velodrome

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Albert > Camping Velodrome Reviews

Camping Velodrome
Rue Henri Dunant
Albert
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80300
Tel: +33 6 42 58 71 64
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2021 to 11/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 11/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 20 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site a couple of times over the years, on this occasion it looked like some money had been spent on the facilities, .

Walking at our pensioners pace it takes about 15 mins to walk to the town centre. Once in the centre there are a good few places to eat, a few shop's and a very good museum depicting life in the trenches during the first world war.

This site is central to most of the places of interest in the battle of the somme. On our second night there was one hell of a thunderstorm the site and pitches stood up to the deluge very well, if we ever return to the Somme we would not hesitate to call again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Mightymary 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with group of friends from Burstner UK Owners Club.

The site has basic facilities showers with excellent hot water, washing up ditto, unisex toilets and some pitches are sloping. But perfectly acceptable.

The surrounding area is excellent for dog walking and cycling. Albert is a 10 minute walk away with museums, shops, cafes and restaurants and mainline station to Amiens and Arras.

We had 2 conducted tours around the battlefields which were organised by the tourist information centre in Albert. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights. Site is easy to find and well signed and on arrival we were greeted by a man and his daughter who spoke some English. They showed us where to pitch as we wanted to get a satellite signal and told us to go to reception at 5pm to pay. Cost for 3 nights inc electric was 58 euros.

The pitches are grass with low hedging around them and plenty of trees, and the site was well kept and clean. There is a mobile bread van comes every day so you can buy fresh bread. I canít comment on the showers as we didnít use them.

The town of Albert is a 15min walk and has a few shops and a square where you can get a drink, and of course the Somme Museum. As you come into the town there is an Aldi supermarket and plenty of fuel stations.

There is a vet a 20min walk from the campsite where we got our dogís pet passports done, they are called Delroisse-Petitprez Veronique, address 16 Chemin díAuthuille, 80300, Albert, phone +33 3 2275 1665. There is some kind of nature walk and fishing lakes as you turn left out of the site which we didnít use. We would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

 Nice municipal site, good size pitch and good facilities. Town is a pleasant walk away we arrived on a Sunday so everything was closed apart from one nice bar/restaurant.

Big advantage for us was the close proximity to the Thiepval memorial which was one reason for picking this site. Will be more than happy to use this site when next in this area 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TimandAngela 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for four nights and found the site ideally situated for visiting WW1 memorials and sites. Whilst agreeing with the previous comments about the facilities, we would certainly use this site again for its location. There are large supermarkets on the way in to Albert and a baker calls daily-there is also an excellent bread dispenser next to the office should you miss the baker. The site is within easy walking distance of the town centre and the Somme 1916 museum. While staying at the site, we walked into Albert and caught the train to Amiens. It is next door to two fishing lakes which make for a very pleasant evening stroll. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting the many war memorials in the area. The location of the site is ideal for this and makes for a short drive to visit all of the memorials.

We arrived mid afternoon whilst reception was closed, but were told by a fellow camper just to park up and return to reception early evening. Check-in was fairly easy with my very basic French and a bit of pointing!

Free wifi around the reception area was handy. The grass and hedges were well maintained. Toilets were ok, a bit basic but certainly not the worse we've encountered.

The site had a nice friendly feel and was open so most pitches get the sun (when it's out!).

I'd happily use this site again when we return to the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KarlFritz 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice looking campsite in good position for visiting Albert & the Thiepval Memorial to WWI.

However the campsite itself lacks any form of maintenance at the moment as there are 3 Showers which can be used by both Men & Women.

None of the showers have a complete set of doors to stop water coming out when you are inside scrubbing yourself down, so shoes can end up soaking wet!

The Toilets are in one long row while none have any seats.

While this is an ACSI site I am surprised that their 'Inspector' missed these points. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 594 reviews from this member

 The site is handy as a base for Albert and the surrounding Somme area. Good museum in the town.

Facilities are basic and the site a little run down.

Rates are very reasonable.

Overall, ok for a night or two. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Velodrome child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Velodrome?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Velodrome dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Albert      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3752 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement