Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sysonby Acres Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray > Sysonby Acres Leisure Park > Reviews

Sysonby Acres Leisure Park
Asfordby Road
Melton Mowbray
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE13 0HW
Tel: 01664 567846
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hrd195 5 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as it was walking distance to Melton Mobray, good point.

Nice welcome and choose your own pitch, good.

All grass, but it was very firm. Good

Quite modern facilities, cleaned regularly. Good. But if no one comes in the facility whilst in the shower, the lights go off not good in the darker months.

The main bad point is that the pitches are alongside the road the trees don't keep the noise down and as it is national speed limit and melton appears to have a lot of petrol heads, both cars and bikes, it can get a little noisy! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adenbo 13 reviews from this member

 Very nice site which is within close walking distance of Melton Town centre.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were in excellent condition. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rogerlorna 4 reviews from this member

 To say this site is poorly run would be a understatement, we arrived set up and went to the town when we got back there ere two caravans either side of us so close we could almost touch through the windows.

This could have prevented by the site having pitch markers in the correct place.

Toilet blocks are a long walk from the pitches and there are not enough fresh water stands.

Main problem for us was the horrendous noise from the adjacent road which is almost 24 hours. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Moeb 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Sysonby Acres but I am sorry to say it will be our last.

The site is lovely but the pitches are just behind a sparse hedge next to the busy A6006. The road noise was constant all day and through the night. Not good for children or light sleepers. Before arriving I checked the web site for COVID restrictions.

I noted that there was a restriction on the number of units to allow for social distancing. Whilst there were fewer units there was no extra metres allowed between the units. The next caravan to us was just barely 4 metres away.

There was no supervision nor information on pitching the units and despite raising this with the manager there was no response.

Very disappointed and as said earlier we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 47 reviews from this member

 Nice site with good facilities( Showers closed on our stay due to covid)

Only draw back is road noise but will not stop us using again. Good Value.

It's a 25min walk to town with bus outside Golf and Football Golf avail on site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Jackie1963 1 review from this member

 Very helpful and friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay.

Although it can be noisy as road directly behind pitches, it didn't really bother us but may be something to bear in mind if you have got young children. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barnsleyspud 7 reviews from this member

 Good location on the edge of town, overlooking a golf course. Possible to purchase coffee and ice creams.

Excellent staff, ehu and water, showers and toilets.

Would use again if visiting the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bobleonard 4 reviews from this member

 A very basic site. Just off the main road into Melton on the edge of the golf course. A line of grass pitches border the access road that runs along the hedge. First be aware this is a main road all be it a B road.

Certainly if you are coming from the Midlands it is likely that your satnav will send you this way. The road is de restricted at this point and appears to be a bit of a raceway with its associated noise.

The hedge does soak up some of the road noise but not all of it. Each pitch is of a good size with electric hook up and there are water stand pipes situated along the service roadside.

The facilities share the main golf reception area which include as far as the gents are concerned 3 showers and two toilets. H

owever when we were there they were 'unkempt'. My enquiry to the staff revealed they are only cleaned once or twice a week. Which is clearly not enough. They are open 24 hours with a security light at night. They do have grey water and thetford facilities on site.

There is also an outside sink unit for washing pots and pans but by the look of it, it hasn't been used for some considerable time. There is a small child's playground on site.

Ideally suited for a 15 minute walk downhill into Melton Mowbray and only a 4 taxi ride back. The biggest attraction is the cost to stay which at this time is 14 per night and falls to 10 in December.

We had stayed there for the very popular food festival, yet there were only 6 units on site. Overall a very very basic site. You get what you pay for. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Littlefizzal 9 reviews from this member

 Spent the August bank at this site.

We were in a party of 3 and when the first unit arrived they was a little concerned that the pitches we were given were to close together for us all to fit. When this was report to the reception they said just move the pitch numbers do that you have enough space.

The pitches are down the hedge row that runs down the side of a main road which had cars going passed nearly all night. Which could be a problem if you are a light sleeper. The site looks like a add on to a golf course which also offers foot golf which the kids thought was great.

There is a basic play park with goals. The weather on the Saturday was not the best it rain all afternoon and some of the night. I thought it would be very muddy when we got up the next day but the ground had drain and was just a little soft under foot.

Toilet block was clean with nice hot showers.

We had taken bike with us and it only took about 10mins to get into Melton Mowbray. We found a country park which was great for the kids as there was plant of open space and 3 different play parks. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bobleonard 4 reviews from this member

 Have passed this site many times en route to Melton Mowbray and always wandered what it might be like to stay there. Know Melton very well especially on Tuesday when it's farmers market day.

This site is about 15 minutes walk into town along a busy main road. The site itself is a little strange. It's on the site of the par 3 golf course where the grass pitches run along the side of the hedgerow bordering the site and running parallel with the busy road (de restricted road speed limit 60mph. ) So yes can be a little noises at times.

The first 25 pitches have electric hook up but there is plenty of room for wild campers. The facilities you actually share with those using the golf course which includes toilets and showers.

I didn't shower but felt the toilet area needed a damn good clean. I did bring this to the attention of the man in the office. There aren't any special facilities for grey water or thetford users.

There are however taps near pitches to draw water from. Yes it is basic, no it's not 5 star but it's in a great location and the tariff is very reasonably priced. We paid 14 per night which included electricity.

Also on the site is a child's nursery, so there is a little noise at times. The golfing reception area ( I don't think you could say clubhouse) sells a few essentials at reasonable prices and you can even get a book to read. Outside golfing hours the facilities are still accessible.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will no doubt be returning soon. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sysonby Acres Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sysonby Acres Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sysonby Acres Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Melton Mowbray      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement