Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meadow Falls

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Meadow Falls
Holme Head Farm Road
Thorton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 07894596523
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 28 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site, having stayed at a site around the corner on a number of occasions. The owners were very friendly and helpful and are obviously working hard to improve the site.

We stayed on one of the 5 hard standing pitches which were quite narrow, meaning stepping out onto wet muddy grass on a rainy day.

The facilities were always clean. Did not use the dog walk as the weather was wet and there wasnt an obvious path to the gate.

Great location to walk into Ingleton and Im sure well be back.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

We stayed at Meadow Falls last week with friends in their caravan. We were pitched on the hardstandings right by the entrance so very handy for the loo block! It wasn't as noisy/busy as it seemed as the road running next to the site was very quiet. As we were in a small campervan we could pitch right at the back of the hardstanding so people weren't walking right past us on the way to the facilities.

The hardstanding pitches have their own water/drain point which our caravanning friends were very impressed with, as they could plug in directly for an unlimited water supply - no Aquarolls to fill! Even in a camper it was handy for filling the kettle etc.

The facilities were clean and the showers well-designed with proper cubicle doors inside each 'room' so your clothes stayed dry. There was one shower in each gender's bathroom plus a separate unisex room with three separate showers, and we didn't have to queue. However there really weren't enough washbasins - only two in each bathroom, with three loos - so there was a bit of queueing at peak times with people needing to wash their hands while others tried to clean their teeth. There also needed to be a bit more space in the Ladies for putting your things down while using the mirrors - there was a tiny shelf that my washbag kept falling off, and no nearby hooks.

The water pressure was also rather odd in the facilities: so weak in the basins that you could hardly rinse the toothpaste off your brush, and so high in the washing-up sinks that you got a free shower while filling your bowl!

The Marton Arms is a 2 minute walk away and does very good food, beer and over 50 gins! Ingleton is about a 15 minute walk, with a nice chippy and good Indian takeaway (M Spice who deliver to site). We also went to the Wheatsheaf which was a good pub.

Overall a nice little site with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Would be perfect with more facilities but we'd still go back regardless.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich March 7 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay at Meadow Falls.

I will start with the negatives.

That was easy, there are none.

In a nutshell, if we could own and run and campsite of our own, Meadow Falls would tick all the boxes. It restored our faith in camping after a bad campsite in May '18.

Arrived around Lunchtime and were greeted by Dave, the owner. A very warm welcome and a wealth of local knowledge as well which we tapped into throughout our stay.

The site is easy to access from the road even for a large caravan I would imagine.

The site is very open, has a few hard standing pitches for Caravans etc at the top end then opens into a large field with a central windy access road within it. There is no set/marked layout to the site as such, Dave just knows where to put people, which works. We had a very large area to ourselves as did everyone else. Given it is high season it was nice to see that the comfort of campers was more important than maximising profit by cramming people in. Beautiful views of the countryside and Ingleborough peak. Various EHU points and a few places to get water from.

Facilities.

One large block which housed a gents toilet room (2 cubicles, 2 urinals, 1 shower, 2 sinks), ladies toilet room (3 cubicles, 1 shower, 2 sinks) and separate unisex shower room containing 3 shower cubicles. It also had the covered dishwashing area with 4 sinks.

Large shower cubicles with glass doors etc not those horrible shower curtains, push button HOT water in abundance. They were fantastic. Never queued once for a shower or to use the loo and they were kept immaculate by the owners and considerate guests alike.

There was a separate bath/shower outside for mucky dogs and mucky kids alike for use after walks in the hills.

There was a separate 'barn'. This contained a large dining table, chairs and a variety of games as well as a fridge, freezer and microwave. There to be used by all who needed it. They have laundry facilities as well, if you ask.

Quiet policy from 10pm which was on the most part kept to by users in the period we were there. Music off at 10 and reasonable level of conversation volume whilst sat around a campfire. Not unreasonable in the slightest.

There is a small, simple park area in the middle and loads of open space for kids to play football, run around etc. It is a very safe place for the kids to go on an adventure. 'Fairy Garden' area which our kids loved exploring.

Separate, gated and fenced off dog walk area to let the four legged friends run free. Ours loved it.

Location.

About 1 km walk out of Ingleton. From the site you can walk down the road to the start of the Ingleton

Waterfalls Trail. This is 15 for a family but so so worth it. If you fancy a swim you can in the pool at the top fall. Also from the site you can walk through the village to the start of the Climb up Ingleborough.

2 Co-op Stores in Ingleton. The one with a petrol station has a cash point and is a larger store.

Country Harvest which is very near the site does amazing meat and Bakery products and gives 10% discount to campsite stayers.

Seasons Bakery is well worth a visit.

Where did we go.

The Marton Arms pub (a lot). It is a 2min 35 sec walk from the site. Great food, lovely staff, 56 gins and 7 cask ales on tap. Wondrous.

Ingleton Waterfalls trail.

Climbed the Yorkshire 3 peaks, all within easy distance of the site.

White scar caves.

Bowland Wild Boar Park, Forest of Bowland. 1 hr drive through lovely countryside. 23 Family. Quite hands on and interesting.

Silverdale, West Coast, about 45 mins - 1 hour. Lovely unspoilt coastline.

Ingelton Open air swimming pool.

Nice drive out from the site through Deepdale and Dent and back through Kirby Lonsdale.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim+kate 8 reviews from this member

This is a great little campsite, glad I picked after a 10 year break from camping! The ground was free draining and the grass was a perfect length with all clippings collected. The toilet and shower block was clean with plenty of toilet paper and paper towels. Great barn with fridges and freezers with spare freeze blocks you could used while you're froze.

The location is fantastic a pub round the corner and Ingleton is mile away, be warned there are no cash points there at present.

Will definitely return but hopefully when it's less windy

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Brid139 1 review from this member

Just come back today from meadow falls, owners gave us a very worm welcome site still wet from all the rain but good drainage so soon dried out the next day. Next day the Dave the owner give us some great tips and places to go around the falls and caves couldn't be more helpful, the site is immaculate facilities couldn't be cleaner all in all very nice site, this is for families and couples a nice quiet site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 16 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site with a great atmosphere. Its obvious that the owners put a lot of thought and effort into creating a good camping experience.

The location is excellent, just outside Ingleton about 10 mins walk into the village. As its a bit of a tourist hub there are several pubs to choose from as well as cafes and other eating places. The well stocked Co-op is open till 10pm for supplies. A newly refurbished gastro pub is 2 mins walk left out of the site.

The site has great views. We had one of the row of hardstanding pitches with EHU at the top of the site. They are on a gentle slope so levelling blocks are advised. There is a little bit of road noise but we weren't disturbed by it. The facilities are well kept with free hot showers. The family barn with fridge, freezer and a microwave is a really good idea.

It is a little bit pricy at 25 per night for 2 adults with EHU (22 for camping with no EHU), however this is a small site and it is the owners' main business (they live on site) so it seems a fair return for the effort and care they put into it.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site, well placed for Ingleton and other places to visit.

Facilities are well maintained- the family barn with freezer is a great idea. 3 ladies loos, plus a ladies shower (think it was the same for the gents), and then 2 unisex showers as well. Covered washing up areas.

Lovely open pitches and a great children's play area in the middle- tyres, tunnels and slides.

When we stayed there was a lot, and I do mean a lot of rain! It was a bit tricky getting our trailer tent out (and we didn't want to mess up the grass too much for the owners) but he was brilliant and gave us a hand to get it out. I think I would be tempted to book for a hardstanding next time with our unit though.

We walked into Ingleton one day to do the waterfalls, had a trip on the Settle- Carlisle railway, plus a spontaneous trip to Arnside, it really is well placed for many attractions. We had two lovely meals out in local pubs, can heartedly recommend the Masons Arms.

We will definitely be back to try and see more of the area- we didn't do some things because of the weather.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doris 39 3 reviews from this member

We have been camping for 20 years, this camping is one of the best we have visited, the owners look after the running of site and take great care in their work. It rained lot on our 9 night stay but the toilets were clean and mud free every time we used them, showers were spacious and very clean. We saw the owners helping people wherever they could.

We also liked the fact that all the grass clippings were picked up so no grass being carried everywhere.

The site is very free draining so all though we had a lot of rain the site wasn't mud.

Great pub just round the corner food was great but a little expensive, well worth the treat

Ingleton falls down the road lovely walk

Thank for a lovely stay look forward to returning when we go back to Yorkshire

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patientkev! 8 reviews from this member

This is a lovely little site. Owners Welcoming and friendly.

Site is fairly level with great views.

The showers and toilets were spotless and over the busy weekend the owners were always checking, cleaning and making sure everything was OK.

There was a family room with games and a freezer.

We walked the Ingleton waterfalls trail which is well worth the effort.

You can hear a little noise from the road but it was quiet at night.

We would love to return the next time we visit the area.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vivjay67 1 review from this member

We love this site. It's one we keep coming back to. The owners are really friendly, the toilets and showers are immaculate and hot! David doesn't cramp people in so its too crowded - always room for the kids to play. What more could you ask for. We came here for our honeymoon April 2017, then came back again twice in the summer of 2017, and we are going back in July 2018.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!