Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Sousta

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Remoulins > Camping La Sousta > Reviews

Camping La Sousta
28 Avenue Du Pont Du Gard
Remoulins
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30210
Tel: +33 4 66 37 12 80
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 236
Open: 02/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 We stayed 14 nights because our daughter and son in law flew in to Marseilles, we collected them, and had a tent which they erected on an adjacent pitch. We, probably, would not have stayed that long had it not been for the inability to move all the gear plus four people, to another site!

It's a large site. Lots of pitches of hugely varying sizes and shapes. Mostly very sandy, no grass, under pine trees. Though providing access to the river (and a beach), there are no riverside pitches.

You can launch your 'boat' from the beach, but that may mean a long drag from some parts of the site.

The reception area is modern, with a restaurant (variable quality food. I had an excellent salad one day and a pretty mediocre 'paella' on another (at least, they called it a paella!). Good bar, and daily entertainment (varying from karaoke, to bingo, to music groups). All shut up at about 11. 30 pm. So if you don't want the volume, get a pitch at a distance!

A swimming pool complex built more for cooling down and splashing about in rather than serious swimming.

The campsite staff were all wonderfully friendly and helpful.

Ablutions were fine, reasonably modern and spotlessly clean BYOP).

The main attraction, of course, is the Pont du Gard, that roman miracle of engineering which is now 2, 000 years old and the most complete aqueduct in the world. Walkable from the campsite. Don't pay to mpark your car for the son et lumiere show. Walk in for free.

Plenty of kayak hire places further upstream. They will collect you after your arrival at the destination. But. Beware. This is probably the busiest boating motorway in France. Makes the Dordogne kayak density look sparse! Plus much of the banks are thronged with bathers, sun-loungers - rock jumpers et al. If it;'s a peaceful paddle you want. This ain't it!

The Son et Lumiere show, I gather, is excellent. The new 'drone show' was a big disappointment.

There's masses to do in the area. Top of the list is probably a day's visit to Avignon, and, next, a day's visit to Nimes. Both abounding with things to see and do. Or just meander and enjoy the bars, restaurants and parks.

The nearest hotel. On the left, about 150 metres after leaving the campsite. Provides a very, very good menu, wine list and eatiung experience. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 35 reviews from this member

 Large shady site with pitches scattered fairly informally amongst the trees. We had a lovely secluded pitch down towards the river, though we had to hunt around a bit to find the EHU bollard and our longest lead was required.

Sanitary blocks are fine - nothing special, but clean and well-designed. There's a small shop on site, plus a bar/restaurant and a pool (we didn't use it).

One of the main attractions though is the direct river access with a small beach, which was ideal for launching our kayak to paddle down (watch out for several areas of shallows!) to the other main attraction: the Pont du Gard.

The campsite is within walking or cycling distance of the Pont du Gard (free entry you follow the Voie Verte), or of course via the river ;-)

They're a member of the ACSI scheme so good value outside of peak times. Reception, bar and shop staff were cheerful and friendly -

We'll definitely return here to explore the area more fully. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kittiwake 15 reviews from this member

 We had 5 nights at this site when the TdF was passing the campsite.

It's a biggish sprawling site in the woods with access to the river.

We had a spacious, shaded (very welcome in the heat!) pitch down near the river - not quite river frontage but pretty close!

Very mixed nationality wise with a handful of Brits. 4 clean adequate wash-blocks (mixed). No toilet seats but soap and loo roll. Busy bar & resto and shop more than adequate. Lovely take-away pizzas.

Nice big pool but no waterslides and lovely river beach and river for splashing around. Not particularly deep or fast but lovely to cool off in and mooch around on an inflatable.

We didn't do much off the site apart from watch the tour. Easy traffic free cycle in to Remoulins for supermarkets, restaurants etc and easy traffic free cycle to Pont du Gard which was stunning.

We had planned a cycle to Beaucaire on the voie verte but too hot/didn't get round to it.

Husband and I loved the site; the vibe, mixed nationality, sprawling woodland pitches, kids not so - the wIfi was expensive, the pool had no slides and the river didn't have any rapids apparently!

Would def come back when we've shed the children :) 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kalmo 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 11 nights. The site is situated in pine woods, providing shade. Easily walkable to the Pont Du Gard.

The pitches are informal, the only definition being the pitch numbers on the trees. Although large, you are not aware of this due to the trees. The site was well maintained. Facilities, which are unisex, are clean. There is a good outdoor swimming pool, which may be heated but you still need to be brave to enter.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Lots to do in the area from visiting sites associated with Van Gogh to Roman ruins.

Very happy to return here in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KIT1954 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night early June, large site most pitches are quiet shaded, there are a few more open but they are soon taken, facilities were clean and well maintained, free wifi round the bar area, the best thing about the site is its close proximity to the Pont du Gard, as previously stated there were concerts taking place whilst we were there but access to the Pont was possible until 5pm, music was audible during the evening and there was a firework finale but it finished at 11pm 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

 Hadn't booked, but they were able to fit us in. We had a large caravan so were quite a fair distance from the main area, and unfortunately, had little shade, but for not booking were happy for this.

Pont du Gard - fantastic light show every night in August, well worth the visit just for this.

Good price as we were on mains water so didn't use the toilet blocks, swimming pool chilly and closes at lunchtime.

Entertainment for children, archery, football and team sports. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Normandy40 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in our motorhome and two dogs. Lots of shade, pine trees mostly. Large campsite and no division between sites.

Lovely large pool which is closes at lunchtime 1-3. A student is there for supervision and they are very strict on no boardshorts or shorts of any kind. Men must wear swimming trunks. Large well kept lawn area around the perimeter of the pool area. They bake their own bread and croissants etc in the mornings. On site shop, pizza, bistro. Very friendly reception. 1 hour free wifi.

The best thing is the river Gard which takes 2-5 mins to walk down to depending where you are on the site. In summer it is shallow enough to walk across to the other bank (about waist height). The dogs loved it. A lot of people spend the day down there on the banks in sun or shade.

The few days we were there a music festival was on at the Pont du Gard, so not only was there no access to the Pont, there was loud music during the night. It was bearable but it may be wise to check before booking. As we have seen the Pont before we were not disappointed. We did drive around to the other side but it was going to be 19euros (approx) to get in.

Have to pay to fill up with water and the showers were too hot to use 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wanderer 69 reviews from this member

 We stayed just one night at this site in our MH in order to visit the Pont Du Gard which is just next door.

Reception was welcoming in English and we chose our own spot. The pitches are flat and of various sizes and set in trees with lots of shade. Be careful of overhanging branches when manoeuvring. WiFi is available, first day 1hr free then at a charge. Toilets were clean, unisex and some French, others English and showers were good. Water points are scattered around with push button taps. There is a motorhome service area but it needs free token from reception required to fill with water.

There is a swimming pool but we did not use it but looked nice, bar, restaurant, shop, boules, table tennis and a private river beach.

There is an easy walk, 10mins, to the Pont Du Gard but a slightly longer route to the top of the Pont avoiding the admission fee. In fact, at 16. 50 a night without electric hook up in Sept, it was cheaper than parking and admission to the Pont. Very nice site and we wished we could have stayed a lot longer. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Sousta child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Sousta have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Sousta?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping La Sousta dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Remoulins      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement