Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dalston Hall Holiday Park And Golf Club

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Dalston Hall Holiday Park And Golf Club
Dalston
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA5 7JX
Tel: 01228 710165
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50 x Hardstand Super Pitches & 10 x Tents
Open: 1st March To 5th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy Wilson 10 reviews from this member

Great Site for visiting the Borders and the North Lakes.

Shown to pitch and told where everything was and asked to come to reception to pay when settled in.

All pitches are hard standing and fully serviced. Free golf and fishing on site, although river did not appear to be very accessible.

Modern free showers that work with a swipe of the hand, no button to press.

Site never appeared overly busy, we were there for 2 weeks, including a bank holiday, which was a bit busier.

Site states adult only, however, that wasn't our experience. Was surprised that they had a children's playpark on an adult only site, but at the bank holiday weekend there were children running and cycling about. So don't expect there to be no children if you visit.

There is a clubhouse, open at the weekend, in the evening, serving meals.

Certainly a site I would return to.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 66 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. The staff are friendly and helpful. It was not overly busy considering it was a bank holiday. Perhaps because it is outside the Lake District. But everywhere we visited in the Lakes was no more than 1hr drive to join in the pandemonium of the Lakes on a Bank holiday.

There are only 2 showers in both the ladies and gents, but never had an excessive wait. The showers are top notch and no need to keep the button depressed.

The site is clean and tidy and well laid out. The pitches are hard core so rock pegs needed and a spanner to get them out!

There is 'free' golf on site but learners such as myself, it can work out costly in balls (lol)

I will definitely return to this site and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ceymore 1 review from this member

Absolutely loved it from the friendly greeting on arrival until leaving with a smile.

The staff/family are all great and the food was excellent and well priced what more could you want. The bus stop at the entrance was very handy, pity Brenda forgot her bus pass (5. 50 fare to Carlisle, that's her anniversary present sorted now) and I had a couple of hours solitary golf which was a bonus. Toilets and showers perfect and spotless and the site was very well kept. There is a kids play area which probably gets well used at times but not many kids when we were there.

Lots of walks and a footpath to Carlisle apparently but I gave that a miss. It's a walk or bus into Dalston which has at least one pub/eatery that I saw so that's a must for next time.

Free fly fishing on the river so may have a go next time.

All in all we loved it and will most definitely be returning.

( I am in no way connected or related to anyone at this holiday site but mention of a free Guinness was uttered at sometime or other. Just joking but just in case. )

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 29 reviews from this member

We had a great stay here for four days on our way to Scotland.

Paul was very friendly and helpful.

We also had an evening meal in the clubhouse that was served hot and tasty.

We also walked into Dalston a couple of times to catch a train one way to Whitehaven then Carlisle the other way.

There is also bus that stops out side the camp gates.

We would definitely stop here again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

As soon as we arrived we were approached by one of the very friendly family who run the site who were always working hard somewhere tending to what was obviously their 'pride and joy'.

All the grass is immaculate, the 'state of the art' toilet block with brilliant touchless controlled showers were always pristine.

Now that would be good enough for most to rate this site highly, but it is the extras that show that these people have a great attitude to running their site, and that they respect their visitors.

A free nine hole golf course.

Great dog walks where the owners very thoughtfully cut a path through the meadow of what was once the other nine holes of the golf course.

A walking or cycle path to either Carlisle (5 miles) or Dalston (2 miles). The butchers in Dalston is also highly recommended.

One of the highlights of our two weeks in England and my wife son, two Springers and I all loved it!

This site is also perfect as a stop midway from Scotland to England or vice versa.

They also do meals at the weekend although we could not stay to sample this.

Sites that show that the people running it care and respect their customers always get extra marks from me as I think it adds to the feel, 'atmosphere', or whatever you want to call it, so it has to be a ten.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fmt3 2 reviews from this member

We got a very cool reception when we arrived in our rented, but brand new van. We were told vans didn't quite give the right image. My young son went to use the facilities at the toilet block and I found out later he was quizzed by, I can only presume, one of the owners as to what he was up to!

Late the following evening, a large group of males were allowed onto the site and proceeded to pitch their tents with high levels of noise and swearing! Guess what? In a van!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RobOwen 2 reviews from this member

For a second break during the May half term we chose this site for 2 adults, a 9 year old boy and 2 young and lively Dalmatians. For this sort of break we look for locations where we remain on site, have somewhere for our son to play and make friends and have some sort of facility to exercise our dogs within easy reach. Dalston Hall ticked all these boxes, and more.

The family running the site are always on hand and made us very welcome on arrival. We were able to choose any vacant pitch, which were all pretty level. The layout was not overly crowded although there were a number of empty pitches, which added to this impression. There was electricity, water and grey water drainage on each pitch, although sharing a bollard between 2 pitches did mean that you might require in the region of a 5-6 metre drain hose if you wanted to pipe waste water to your drain if it was the wrong side of your vehicle.

The gravel circulation road was suitable for children's' bikes, but not scooters, etc. That didn't detract from the fun my son had and he quickly made several friends for the duration of our 3 night stay. He enjoyed the playground facilities (it seems to be a base to meet up and even provided shelter during a heavy rain shower).

The facilities on site were well kept and never seemed overly busy. The showers were a delight and powerful. The small golf course didn't personally hold any interest for me, but seemed a welcome distraction for some visitors. The club house bar was open on the Friday & Saturday night, offering food from 6. 30pm to 8pm. We didn't eat there, but checked it out for prices, etc. The most expensive item on the menu was a gammon steak at 9. 95, so pretty reasonable prices for some standard pub-type fare. The 10-15 tables were well occupied by a mix of static owners, campers and tourers.

The arrangements for dog walking are the best we have ever experienced. Some 100 yards or so from the pitch we were able to let our dogs off their leads and use a woodland path which led down to a 40 acre pasture which was formerly part of the golf course. It is left as grass meadow now and a perimeter path is mown to allow an easy route to follow, but allowing dogs to run free through the entire field. It is secure with a boundary fence along the adjacent, lightly used railway line. Waste bins are provided on the site boundary.

A stile from this field leads to the path to nearby Dalston village. A fellow holidaymaker thoroughly recommended the Bluebell Inn there for food as well.

A site that is about 90 minutes from home and one we will divinely return to.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

We all enjoyed our short stay here. A warm relaxed welcome, a notable absence of signs saying what not to do, grounds well maintained. Away from the busy road, so it was quiet. Our hardstand was fully serviced; pitches widely spaced and with CCC discount we thought the 22 pn was fair. Toilets are quite posh, and we liked the 'en suite' wet rooms. There's a massive lower field for the dog walk (formerly part of the current golf course) where she chased pheasants & ducks. We didn't use the free golf course as it needed welly boots due to very soft ground, but greens & tees were well enough tended. The overhead gantry stayed padlocked during the day, a bit of a nuisance finding someone to open it for the Motorhome to come & go: it's an extra security measure for the seasonal 'vans, however.

There's a hotel in the adjacent old Hall off the same drive, but we didn't go into it. Dalston has a pool, pubs & a small shop (the site doesn't stock any food). You can catch a bus into Carlisle, it's hourly & very expensive (11 for 2 single tickets) - the taxi back was cheaper. You could, if you wanted to, keep on that bus to pretty Wetheral instead; or walk off-road on the Cumbria Way to Carlisle beside the quiet railway & the river; and there's a cycle route on the local C-roads but the main B-road into Carlisle is probably too fast for cycling or walking safely: there's no pavement.

All in all, a site we'd be happy to come back to.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenmark 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for three nights on this immaculately kept site. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, toilet/shower blocks spacious and very clean, plenty of hot water. The grass is very well maintained as are the flower beds. Long dog walk within the site and lovely village only a twenty minute walk which has two pubs both serve food. Carlisle only a short drive away and there is a bus stop outside the site if required. Nearby outlet village and also visited Gretna Green which was only a twenty minute drive.

Plenty of other attractions not far away which we didn't get chance to visit.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pete-allan 1 review from this member

Great site. All super pitches. Lovely walk on site and not far to stroll in to Dalston village. Village has all your shopping needs and a pub. Club also on site. Discount for CC and C&CC members!

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!