Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dunroamin Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Lairg > Dunroamin Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Dunroamin Caravan Park
Main Street
Lairg
Highlands   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jono4 6 reviews from this member

 I drove past this site as I couldn't find the site I was actually trying to stay at. As I was tired I checked in despite knowing the reviews weren't great. The welcome was at best poor, office full of signs telling you what not to do. The price amazed me at 17 for my ridge tent, my dog and me, but when I raised this I was told it was the price. I had paid 12 the previous night for excellent facilities elsewhere.

The site only had 2 tents on it that night which meant lots of space. But the site is quite run down and the facilities block was far from good. There was no hot water during the night there, the toilet cubicles were not clean and were not cleaned while there. The shower needed a 20p to run it.

Great location, but poor value and poor facilities. I won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smitgla 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on a tour of the highlands- I do agree with previous reviews that it is a one night stop over. We were the only 2 motorhomes on site which meant there was a lot of space for the kids to play- however this would not be the case if the site was full. Toilet block is basic but clean with only one shower. I did object to having to pay 20p when we'd paid over 20 to stay. There was no mention of the charge on the website, in the brochure leaflet or even when we checked in. I didn't have a 20p piece but luckily my fellow campers did-as I'm sure the warden would not have been happy being woken at 6. 30am for change. At check in, it should have been mentioned, at least to even ensure you had a 20p. The website also says the restaurant is open every day - and yet it was closed on the day we were there. Also there was one washing machine, which was broken. On the up side there was wifi available for a fee. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Declan Lawlor 2 reviews from this member

 We were passing through from John O Groats to Lands End raising money for The Army Benevolent Fund, with out first night at Dunroamin Caravan Park. Lovely staff and great facilities, a warm shower was very welcome after 102 miles of cycling! Thank you for allowing us to stay one night free of charge.

Piece of advise to others thinking of staying here. Bring a midgey net! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 38 reviews from this member

 First appearances could put you off this site, it is a bit dated but as we found it is good location. Cafe and small shop at the entrance. Local shops and a lovely Loch side cafe within easy walk. Lovely local walks and the interest centre is on the other side of the Loch. The toilet block is very dated but clean. We used our own shower. For its location it served us well on our tour of Scotland. The motorhome service point took a bit of finding as it was a drain channel that ran across the approach road !, better than nothing I suppose. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarahholroyd 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights. Grass pitch with electric hook up. Good dry flat ground. Facilities are clean but basic. Only one ladies shower which did not cause a problem but I imagine might be awkward if it is busy. I object to paying 20p for a shower when I have paid 19 per night for a pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Corbetteer 1 review from this member

 The site is kept quite tidy, even though the facilities are a little on the tired side. Those facilities were very clean.

No hard standing, just grass pitches.

One major disappointment and concern was I arrived at this site on the 19th of July and stayed for 15 with electric.

I returned 4 days later to be quoted 18. I queried why the cost had increased and I got a blank expression. I informed them that I'd not be paying that and left. The only reply I got was 'Okay'! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Somersetarcher 12 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and efficient reception. Clean facilities, 20p for 6 minutes in the shower (read the instructions, I put 2x20p and only got 6 minutes!).

Shop and cafe/restaurant on site - try the breakfast - the best black pudding in Scotland. The camping area is a little soggy after rain but level and quiet with no vehicles allowed on the field. The ducks provided constant entertainment, rushing over in search of food at every opportunity.

We had a meal at the restaurant which was very enjoyable and good value for money, I can recommend the haggis. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 I agree with the previous posting, this is a 1 night stay site, We stopped for 1 night on our way up to Durness. Friendly reception. Pitched on level grass but very water logged so limited as to how much we could space ourselves away from other units. The site does have statics around the perimeter with the toilet block in the centre.

Shower x1 in female, money needed. Toilets basic but clean. Outside but under cover washing up area.

Handy for restaurant - adjacent to site (did not use) shop, hotel bar just down the road. Fuel over loch in village.

If you walk back to the loch and turn South there is the Ferrycroft visitor centre signposted with adjacent woodland walks. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Peter Knox 6 reviews from this member

 Efficient and friendly check-in. This is a town site rather than countryside, so no great views out. Hookup, full toilet facilities all present, all ok. Flat grass pitch.

I don't think I would have been happy to stay at this site for long, for one night it was ok though.

Not the cheapest site we visited. I would look for an alternative site next time, a bit too much in the town for me. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement