Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beecraigs Country Park Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Linlithgow > Beecraigs Country Park Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Beecraigs Country Park Caravan & Camping Site
Beecraigs Country Park
The Visitor Centre
Linlithgow
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH49 6PL
Tel: 01506 284516
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 36caravan pitches; 12camp pitches
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

We decided to spend a few days here on our way up to the Highlands and we were not disappointed. The site is split into small areas, around 5 caravan pitches in each one, the pitches are huge in comparison to the majority of club sites we stay on. The facilities at the site are excellent, a visitor centre, cafe, information readily available, a fully equipped laundry and free Wi-Fi. The toilet and showering area is excellent, the showers are like entering a small changing room containing a seated area, toilet, shower cubicle, hair and hand dryers.

Around the park there is an animal attraction comprising of various fields of farm animals and red deer, numerous colour coded walks, mountain bike tracks and trout fishing available at a discounted rate at the nearby lake. Walking around the wooded areas early and late in the day I was fortunate to see a barn owl and roe deer on numerous occasions with many species of other birds around all day. The site is ideally placed to travel the few miles to visit the Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel or travel out to take the park and ride into Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 240 reviews from this member

Lovely! a bit of a challenge to get to; it is not signed from the M8. If coming this way, initially turn left at the roundabout then you will see a sign at the next roundabout. The road, once you have left the town, is winding and hilly, but it's worth it. Booking in at the visitor centre was easy. If you need a Sky tv signal, ask to go in Cherry Hollow, easy to find the signal here. There are a number of separate pitching areas all named after trees, level hardstanding, huge pitches. There is also an area for tents. There is a café at the visitor centre but we didn't try it.

It cost us less than £21 per night, no problem with that, more in high season.

Great loos and showers as already said.

Linlithgow has a smallish Tesco for supplies.

Do go and see the Kelpies and the Wheel at Falkirk.

The weather wasn't great so we didn't try the walks from the site, but there is a decent enough dog walk around Linlithgow Palace.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DundeeIan 11 reviews from this member

We booked this site via a booking enquiry and had a reply within 24 hours. As it was low season we could pay on arrival. I put the postcode into the satnav and it took a horrible route up single track roads, we found best road was to come in from Linlithgow. The site is spacious with large level hardstanding pitches. The toilets and showers were among the best we have seen with the showers more like a bathroom with lots of room, toilet and sink with no buttons on the shower, hurrah. Plenty of wooded walks and bike rides and a MTB park as well. Steep hill to climb from Linlithgow if you are walking, a bit of a hike coming back. Linlithgow palace was very nice and a number of pubs and cafes in the town. Blackness castle and Bo’ness railway worth a visit.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Petjanjess 2 reviews from this member

Well what can I say other than FANTASTIC. This is one of the times were you say to yourself, should I really tell other people or keep it to yourself.

Like previous people we ended up staying longer than intended.

Very spacious plots all hard standing.

They are busy building new visitors centre at entrance, this will make reception lot easier to access.

Fantastic location for visiting kelpies and Falkirk wheel. Linlithgow a very nice town lovely pubs and restaurants. Good supermarkets available. It's a 2 mile walk into town but all on paths away from road.

Staff really helpful lovely walks in area and fantastic views.

Facilities fantastic all clean and well kept. We had no issues with hot water it was available for all time we were there. Did not use laundry facilities etc but did check them out and all looked good you can even pay a deposit, returnable, to loans iron.

We will be back soon as possible.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidhb 1 review from this member

Stayed here 3 nights. Very impressed with location and facilities. A small campsite. Shower, toilet and washing facilities were excellent and kept clean. The only issue I had was one noisy group. I am finding this an increasing problem on many sites - people who just want to use foul language, barbecue and consume alcohol into the early hours of the morning. I did ask them nicely to quieten down and they did apologise, but continued. A warden patrol late at night might help prevent this.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nprance 6 reviews from this member

What an amazing site in a beautiful setting with excellent facilities and set in a brilliant location with really helpful staff. This site is a real treasure.

We only intended to stay 1 or 2 nights but extended our visit to 4 nights allowing us to visit many of the surrounding areas in particular Linlithgow and the Glen Kinchie distillery - well worth touring.

Not only are the pitches set out in a fan style making it very spacious for everyone, all units thus look out on to a fantastic tree setting, it's a lovely forest site with superb walks, their own deer, cows and sheep.

Bathrooms and all facilities are kept immaculate and have extra heating you can switch on if you wish. The laundry was good too. A site we enjoyed staying at and could not fault. If only we lived closer to visit more regularly but if we venture this far north again, we'd definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 33 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this lovely spot. Set in woodland it has many great walks (and geocaches, my my hobby). The facilities are excellent and the pitches large and flat. The only problem we had was watering our motorhome. The water taps are all fitted with a device that prevented use of a hose longer than a few feet. We asked at reception and they blamed Scottish Water who gave such low pressure that this anti-back syphon device had to be fitted. (We over-rode it by winding a tape dog lead around the device to plug the overflow). We will send a review to the site to backup our complaint 9as requested by the lady in reception).

Despite this, still a site we will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie65 27 reviews from this member

We visited Beecraigs for a 4 night stay in out tourer over the May bank holiday weekend. It was the first time for us at this site and it definitely won't be the last. Despite one or two very minor niggles this site is absolutely fantastic, especially considering it is a council run facility.

The site is situated in the heart of a large country park just outside Linlithgow. The approach roads to the site all take you up a very steep hill with some sharp bends, so bear this in mind if a novice at towing. Staff at the visitor centre were exceptionally friendly and helpful re the booking.

Access to the site is through 'swipe'card operated barrier for which you pay a deposit at the time of booking, this is returned to you at then end of your stay. The restaurant at the entrance to the site has shut down completely.

The pitches are HUGE! Very generous hardstanding pitches. There are about 6 'cul de sac' bays with about 6 pitches in each area, so about 36 or so pitches in total. We stayed in the Hazel bay, which, along with the one next to it, felt the least overlooked by the trees, and the most open. There are lovely views over to one side of the site, with mainly woodland around the remainder of the perimeter. There was a beautiful tent pitch area with its own shower and toilet block. Pitches all have hookup although there are no serviced pitches, but plenty water, waste and disposal area nearby.

Toilet and shower blocks were very good, the usual laundry and washing up areas. 2 out of the 5 showers were not working whilst we were there, which was a bit disappointing. The shower cubicles are fantastic though, like your own ensuite, with shower, toilet and wash hand basin, bench and hooks. Plenty of room and a good sized shelf above the sink. Although the shower and toilet block does not close for cleaning, the cleaner is in at least a couple of times a day, it does say that hot water is available only between the hours of 7am-10am, and 6pm-9pm! This makes the availability of hot water even less than, if say, the block was to shut for an hour or so! A good selection of tourist information in the laundry room.

There is a small play park on the site itself, and, much to the extreme delight of our children, and the in laws children, ranging in age from 14 through to 5, the park rangers had obviously created a whole range of dens, wooden seating areas made from logs, bower type constructions, all dotted around in amongst the wooded areas that sat behind the pitches. They LOVED this! This was such a great idea, the kids just had the most amazing time exploring in the woods and discovering the little areas. I really had to stop myself from pointing out the irony of their comments to one caravanner who, about 9pm, came out of their van to tell the kids to get out of the woods as he could hear them playing and that meant he couldn't hear his TV! (Quiet time on site is 10pm -8am and mine are all in their beds by 10!). Well done to the wonderful park rangers for such ingenuity.

There is a great wee visitor centre with loads of local info, it also sells lovely venison and various condiments and locally produced honey. Further along from the visitor centre is a beautiful walk around Beecraigs Loch. About another 10 mins walk from the site is a huge play park with a brilliant range of play equipment, flying fox, climbing frames, etc. The kids loved this.

Linlithgow itself is a nice wee town, plenty of shops, cafés, supermarkets. It is definitely NOT walking distance from the site though.

Great base for visiting Edinburgh or, as we did, the Helix Park just outside Falkirk, to visit the Kelpies. Well worth a visit.

Really liked this site and, apart from the 2 broken showers, it was as near to perfect as you can get. Would be beautiful in the autumn. 9/10 definitely.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Louise_D 6 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we have ever been on. Very nicely set out so that you are not overlooked and very large gravel surfaced site. The shower rooms are better than some en suites in hotels. All the facilities were spotless and maintained to a very high standard.

The reception is now at the park centre which is just past the entrance to the site and on the right. The shop there sells fresh and frozen venison from their own farm. As it is in a country park there is plenty of dog walks starting at the campsite.

Linlithgow has all the shops you would need and is worth having a wander round.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vhairi 1 review from this member

Absolute cracker of a site. Well kept and maintained. Pitches are spacious and level. BBQ facilities on site. Facilities are immaculate. A must for people who enjoy being outside and enjoy walking. Good restaurant on site however fish and chips a must from Golden Chip in Linlithgow. Don't be put off that the site is council run. In my opinion it is far superior to many private sites. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Brilliant that the site is open all year.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019