Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Church House Inn And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > The Church House Inn And Campsite Reviews

The Church House Inn And Campsite
Main Road
Torver
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8AZ
Tel: 01539 449159  or  07858101035
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Efcbabe 2 reviews from this member

 Great location but the pub is closed for the whole year due to COVID.

One toilet only, but clean, and lots of sanitiser across the small site.

The car park is being used for vans / motorhomes as well as the caravan and motorhome club pitches (not many), with a few hookups.

No wash up / bathroom facilities or showers although the owner did say you can use one of the B&B rooms if you need.

Great walks from the site so no need to drive!

The pub across the road is open with lots of space outside if the weather allows! Serves meals too. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GordyHarrison 1 review from this member

 Friendly, helpful and patient owner who described the benefits of the site and the locality very well. However, there was no grey water disposal point and no hoses to top up water, which would be very useful.

The very friendly nearby pub did splendid meals, and a great choice of real ales - highly recommended. I will return - but with hoses!

By the way - I cannot submit my review without leaving a score for child friendliness so I gave 10 out of 10 even though I could not comment either way as there were no children on view. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carole 1 review from this member

 This was perfect for us. A lovely location with walks directly from the site. Not too many hardstanding pitches which meant each unit had plenty of space and privacy. A little bakery nearby, selling not only bread but sandwiches to take away.

The pub where the piches are located is not actually open at the moment as a result of the virus, but there is another fully functioning pub just over the road which also does meals.

Toilet facilities basic but adequate and clean. No showers but that didn't bother us, we could manage as we were only staying a short while and other vans seemed to have their own facilities.

We would definitely return to this site and hope to soon.

I have no experience of visiting with children so cannot rate this category, although there was a family there at the same time as us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Firecrest13 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed overnight. Lovely location with two pubs within walking distance. Church House Inn was very busy but the food looked lovely, will book next time!

Ate at The Wilsons Arms (as we have several times as fairly local). Food is always excellent.

No hook up but a toilet and shower block. Used toilet which was clean and perfectly adequate. Showers appeared to be equally clean but did not need to use them.

I would definitely go back to this site. It is quiet and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Several lovely walks to Coniston start here. Landlord(?) very friendly and helpful.

Bar staff work exceedingly hard and are perfectly pleasant. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Michael Parker 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site; Great surroundings, 5 level hardstandings, well spaced, good access and modestly priced. Sadly EHU s haqve been decomissioned.

Adjacent to a brilliant pub, traditional bar area, great welcome and excellent beer and food.

One toilet and one shower on site, both very clean and well maintained, looked to have been recently redecorated.

The Torver-Coniston footpath (along the old rail bed) passes immediately behind the site.

I might suggest to a previous reviewer that a smile and a pleasant word tends to elicit a good response from harassed bar staff. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Biggreenmonster 3 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here for three nights for a post Christmas break with our two boys. It is the first time we have used a Caravan Club CL site. Here are the positives:

Great location, lovely views, direct access to the Torver trail on which we cycled to Coniston village and back (lovely ride with beautiful views of lake and fell). A well kept small site at the back of the Inn, good level hardstanding. There is no electric hook up which we knew, so we took our own generator. We had a meal in the pub on the first night and the food was very good.

Negatives:

When I rang to make the booking for this site, I spoke to a lovely lady who was very friendly. I am not sure what happened to this lady, as on arrival we were given a very frosty reception from the lady at the bar after being made to wait whilst others were 'served' who had entered the pub after us, we were then addressed in a rather dismissive tone and just told to go and find a pitch with no words of either welcome or offers of information such as where the toilets were etc.

This frosty reception continued when we returned for our pre-booked meal and was no different when we paid on leaving! We are not sensitive people, and are quite happy to be left alone to get on with our holiday, but we would expect at least a basic gesture of welcome, perhaps a smile?! Instead we were made to feel like an irritating inconvenience, just a bit of extra income to them and no interest whatsoever in whether we were happy with the experience or not.

We had to ask where to find the toilet and shower and when we went to have a look after dark, we were shocked to find there was no light bulb in the toilet, the only one working was in the shower room and we could not find a switch anywhere for the main hall light! All the walls were covered in damp (there was no heating) and in the toilet the wallpaper was literally hanging off the walls! The overall impression was of total neglect.

Surely someone could at least provide a light bulb?! My children refused to use the facilities after seeing them on the first night. Its a shame because the shower and toilet were relatively clean and in good working order, they were just set in horrible surroundings.

Despite this, we enjoyed our holiday as the area is lovely, however we would not return to this site as why would you go back somewhere where you don't feel welcome? 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Church House Inn And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Church House Inn And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Church House Inn And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement