Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pen Y Fan Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Gwent > Pen Y Fan Caravan Park Reviews

Pen Y Fan Caravan Park
Manmoel Road
Oakdale, Blackwood
Gwent
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP12 0HY
Tel: 01495 226636
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 45 Reviews
                7/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rikaram 25 reviews from this member

 The site is well out of the way of any town in a quiet spot. There are a few small tent pitches which are flat. The shower / toilet block was clean and in reasonable condition but could do with being modernised. The staff were excellent and helpful beyond the call of duty. There is a pub on site which serves food but be warned: i was not able to get food because i had not booked and they said they were full. I needed cash and was told i needed to go into blackwood which is a couple of miles away. The pitch (1 person, small tent) was 9. 50 but you need tokens for the shower at 1 each. Much better to charge a bit more and keep showers free so there would be no problem if you couldn't get a token. A bit of noise from the pub later on but not too bad. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gryf 1 review from this member

 Came to this site in 2014 and sited my hobby van a little work needed to spruce my garden up but done in 1 day that was 3 years ago, I'm ready for season 4. This is a great place for the sun worshippers, when it comes out lol, as sun from early till late. The shower block spotless with nice hot showers. There's a shop on site that stocks most things and a pub that does lush grub. The town is 35 minutes walk and down hillingdon, wouldn't like to walk back but loads of taxis available. The staff on site are great, especially Amanda and marg at the reception. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ifilaikayou 2 reviews from this member

 We booked with our 6 and 7 year old kids for 2 nights and left after the first. What we thought would be a family friendly site wouldn't let us into the clubhouse with our children unless we were having a meal (despite only one other customer being in there). The play park must have left a lot to be desired as our kids much rather preferred not to play there. The site itself reminds me of a car park or a disused runway, all tarmac and no grass. The shop was a beaten up portacabin with items stored in padlocked cages. The toilets contained signs warning against the smearing of faeces (which was the final straw in our decision to leave early). The only positive was the attitude and kindness of the owners who were obviously embarrassed by the clientelle that they have recently attracted (partying until the early hours - the offenders being ejected early the next morning).

The owners have a great deal of work to do to turn things around here. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisamarie66 3 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to find and accessible. The grass was maintained well and there was a nice shower/toilet block. It appeared that there were not many touring pitches, mostly semi--permanent tourers in fenced off pitches with little gardens etc. We stayed for 3 nights in a tent, 4 people and I think their pricing structure is a rip off. Because we wanted electric the price went up from 6. 15 per person per night to 8. 15 per person per night. That equated to 8 per night for electric and only being in a tent we only plugged in our 12v coolbox and charged our phones at night. I don't spend that much electric at home with all the appliances a standard home has! My mum and dad came with us, in a caravan with a heater, water heater, electric kettle, microwave and were charged the same per person as us. With only 2 of them in the unit this equated to 4 per night for electric - how is that fair! The shop was self service and you left the money in a tin - very trusting if you ask me! Because this site is up in the Brecon Beacons do not expect nice weather, it rained constantly but when we got to Cardiff it was glorious sunshine! There is a couple of train stations within a 10 minute drive. There is nothing in walking distance. There is a pub/restaurant on site but we didn't use it so can't comment 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emdew-2008 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 10 day stay at Pen y fan and had a fantastic time. We are a large family with 5 older children one whom is disabled. We were greeted by the lovely warden who was a great help throughout. The toilet facilities were lovely and clean and warm, and the disabled bathroom the best ive encountered and even had a little changing bed which was great for changing my 11 year old son. The kids had a ball, meeting other kids and exploring the surrounding area and have already asked to go back in the summer. The shop was open 24hrs and well stocked. Looking forward to returning soon 😊 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Storm38 1 review from this member

 New to camping, bought a tent and went to this site as it is near us to try the tent. A lovely well maintained and friendly park, , toilet and shower block very clean. We enjoyed it so much ended up staying 3 nights! The pub on the site is friendly with lovely food and the warden is very helpful. Fab views and walks to the pond and wind turbines and not far from town centre. Would definitely go back. Enjoyed it so much would love to site a caravan there! It helped that we had fab weather. Loved going to the old ice cream van that has been turned into site shop, lovely touch. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josh2014 8 reviews from this member

 We came to this site as it is local to us just to test our caravan after it came out of winter storage.

The toilet and shower blocks are spotless and warm. The on site shop/van is always well stocked and the pub serves lovely food. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Only downside to the site is that they are always improving it and in some areas it looks like a building site.

With lovely walks around the lake and local surrounding areas and just a short drive to the local shopping centre it is very enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Louie28 1 review from this member

 Went to visit pen y fan caravan site just for a day and decided to book in for couple of nights to test out our caravan, toilet blocks always clean, site is lovely and clean, owners really friendly. The seasonal pitches Are a great size just pity there isnt loads more available for people to site as would be ideal the site shop is brilliant stocked well, lovely walking path, and near by pond beautiful in the sun. Only down side is pub not always open, park needs to be a bit bigger, maybe some entertainment a little water park would be a great asset to site. Over all would return plus hoping to put name on waiting list for seasonal pitch 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kirkos73 2 reviews from this member

 Came to this site as it is local and for me to try out our new caravan. As I live within walking distance of this site, I come here in the Springtime to see what improvements have been made over the winter months. The trouble with this Caravan park is that it is more of a building site rather than somewhere to camp or stay in a caravan. The site have been open since the late 80's and yet it has never looked any better. You would think that when holiday season approaches, that all the digging would stop.

This site has so much potential, if the owners could just relay the road in the site, upgrade the fences, a new play area for the kids and stop all that digging! (Especially in the summer, as it creates loads of dust. And you have diggers and 4x4s driving up and down the site. )  


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 We have moved our caravan to this site whilst his lordship is working there. So why did we?

Wardens are really nice people and very helpful

Site views across the valley give some peaceful moments

Site costs are very reasonable

Facilities may be a little on the dated side but are very clean and tidy, the hot water is well hot and plentiful in the showers and be assured you will come out clean

WIFI is being looked at by the site team but wasn't operational as of the end of October

Reception has lots of information

Its not far from civilization and there are all the usual supermarkets, shops, fuel etc are within a short drive

We haven't tried the on site pub but people tell us that is a worthwhile visit

The site is open all year round and has security barriers, CCTV etc and the site is investing in modifications and are installing accommodation PODS as part of their facilities

But that night time bleep is still there !

Overall;

We are very pleased with the site and wardens its a good site, watch the roads up to the site whilst towing. It would get a 10/10 but settled on a 9/10 till that bleep is sorted 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pen Y Fan Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pen Y Fan Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pen Y Fan Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gwent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement