Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bath Mill Lodge Retreat (was Newton Mill)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bath > Bath Mill Lodge Retreat (was Newton Mill) Reviews

Bath Mill Lodge Retreat (was Newton Mill)
Newton Road
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA2 9JF
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 211 Reviews
                7/10 from 211 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Unfortunately Newton Mill has now closed for development to become a luxury lodge Holiday Park. It is expected to reopen in August 2015 renamed to Bath Mill Lodge Retreat, with Lodges to rent only - no touring or camping any more.  


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lisalongmore 3 reviews from this member

 The layout of the campsite is great. The pitch was really spacious and we backed onto the stream. Really east, to walk into Bath (approx 2 miles). From the end of the campsite you walk thorough a wooded area, under the railway bridge, across the sports field, across the main road, down a path to the river. Then a lovely walk ( or cycle) along the river into Bath. The site is really good for dog walking too with plenty of space and areas away from pitches for off lead. The restaurant/ bar (about to be extensively refurbished)is a great addition to the site, with readily available reasonable price meals. Staff were really friendly and helpful. I was a little concerned after reading the other reviews about the state of the shower/ toilet block, and prepared for the worse. I needn't have, they were clean and more than adequate. The showers may need a little TLC ( I presume this is because they are about to undergo a huge redevelopment) but hand wash cubicles were great and plenty of space. Price was good too 23 a campervan for 2 adults, a dog with electric in June seemed really reasonable. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pnorvill 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the may bank holiday at 32 a night.

Friendly staff, good food, entertainment and close to bath for shopping etc.

However on the negative side, the urinal and toilet in the restaurant was out of order, but not closed off meaning people were using broken facilities and leaving it there ?? Toilet facilities on campsite were not that much better and are dated and dirty. Not good value for money. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crowlascraft 1 review from this member

 I love this site, and would dearly love to visit again, but we are told that the site is closing in a month or so to be filled with log cabins!

We loved the stream, along with friendly mallards that ate from your hand, woodpeckers, long tailed tits, squirrels, owls, still just outside the window, what more could we ask for? The dawn chorus wad wonderful, with the background sound of the stream.

The plot we had was stream side, between the bar and the toilet block and was well located for water.

The only thing that let it down was the cleanliness of the toilet block, the floor wasn't as clean as I would like in the shower cubicle, but the water didn't drain easily when I used it. There had been a lot of care and money spent on this block in the past, but the staff are understandably down as they are losing their jobs soon.

Didn't want to go home, and would come again if we could.

Was given an excellent rate of 15 a night, guess it was there winter rate so we stayed 6 nights. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hazzel 3 reviews from this member

 A very good site with easy access to public transport and to central Bath.

Staff (particularly one) very friendly and helpful.

Tidy site despite at the time really bad weather conditions, with the big storm arriving while we were there.

Due to the site being in a valley we were sheltered from the winds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jillyd11 1 review from this member

 On arrival we went to reception to book in and the receptionist was very pleasant. We were disappointed that there was no 'Welcome Pack' containing information about the site, the local area and facilities. The shower block and toilets were a little grubby and needed a little more care when they were cleaned. We went to the restaurant for a meal on two of the three nights of our stay. The staff were very friendly, and the food was very nice, but was let down by being served on cold plates. We had the 'special' on the second night and it was delicious. Very generous portions, but served on cold plates again. We felt that the site management could do much more to promote the restaurant, perhaps by placing an information board by reception. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrsmop42 2 reviews from this member

 A very well kept camp site, all the staff are friendly and very helpful nothing is to much trouble. Easy access to all pitches. Clean and well maintained toilet/shower block which includes a bath. Restaurant and bar relaxing food is excellent. There is a small playground which is well maintained. Bus stop is only a short walk from the site and buses run frequently to bath. Would stay here again and recommend to friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephen Newmarch 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4 nights mid August having turned up without booking, the site having been recommended by our neighbours at the previous site. Delighted there was availability, and 20 a night is cheap enough.

We were offered the meadow which is a super arrangement, no pitch boundaries so pitch where you like with consideration for others.

The meadow does lose the sun early as it is surrounded by trees and we camped next to the stream and were quite cold at night. Too quick to go for the aesthetics rather than practicality.

Toilet/shower block is functional and adequate and as previously commented on, a bit tired. The facilities at the caravan/motor home end seemed much more superior.

The bar-restaurant is lovely, much better than at a lot of other sites. Lovely Butcombe ales, but not cheap at 3. 50 a pint, as a northerner that was steep. Good pint though.

Very friendly staff always acknowledged us when passing. A very nice site overall well situated for some good days out 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SmileyRiley 2 reviews from this member

 Great Location with Cycle path at the bottom of the campsite which leads into Bath or Bristol. Nice easy ride or a pleasant walk into Bath. The number 5 bus stop was also just at the top of the site if you fancied a lazy day.

The Toilet/shower block at the top of the site really lets Newton Mill down! It was very dirty, shabby and really could do with being replaced! During our stay we found the other block which was in much better condition, so we would recommend you ask to stay at the bottom end of the site. Other than that Newton Mill was well looked after.

The Laundry room was very handy and in good condition.

The pub/restaurant on site was nice but just a shame it didn't open till 5pm especially on rainy days!

The shop on site was handy but didn't stock much and was over priced! However there is a costcutter near the bus stop which was very handy.

We would definitely recommend going on the Ghost walk in Bath city. It was a great night. Ian the tour guide was brilliant!

Overall we enjoyed our stay but couldn't wait to get home for a proper wash! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JSharp 9 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here on 3 separate occasions overnight, this summer and last summer.

The site is located just outside Bath and is a quick drive from the city centre.

The facilities here have been consistently good during all of our stays. They often stay remarkably clean considering how many people use them The showers are also free, which is very good for the price you pay. It's nice to see some extra basins in the toilet for shaving and family washrooms too.

We've always been put in roughly the same area on the top of the hill and find the atmosphere to be quiet and pleasant. The pitches are spacious too, so there's plenty of space for your car, tent, chairs, table, etc.

Despite my general dislike of large campsites, I have to say that this one has been very consistent and is obviously well managed and organised. We enjoyed our stay once again, as always and will definitely stay here again, should we find ourselves in the area for any reason. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bath Mill Lodge Retreat (was Newton Mill) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bath Mill Lodge Retreat (was Newton Mill)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bath Mill Lodge Retreat (was Newton Mill) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3732 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement