Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandford Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Sandford Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JZ
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Captblackadder 3 reviews from this member

We chose this site as we were visiting with 3 children (12, 10 & 3) and love this part of the country. The main facilities were nice enough with the pools both inside and outside being the highlights (timed sessions at busy times).

However the touring end of the site was poor. The touring reception was a tatty glorified shed.

The toilet blocks were old and dirty.

I canít even put into words how disgusting the chemical toilet disposal point was.

Pitches were small with many seasonal units around - and the associated noise of late night parties, vehicles being revved around the park late at night.

We investigated the single washing machine on the touring site, but the laundry room was so filthy and smelly that we didnít bother.

Being the summer holidays, we expected it to be busy, and even accept with business comes a bit of noise, but we would never consider returning. For me, the touring side needs redeveloping with new roads, pitches being renovated and the amenity blocks knocking down and replacing with new facilities.

It does have to be said that not all of the ills of the site can be put down to the operators : for some reason people didnít seem able to use the huge bins (which were everywhere & a bit stinky).

Iím summary, a great location, ok entertainment and dreadful touring facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cloflow18 1 review from this member

Highly unsatisfied! On arrival we got to our pitch which was on a slope with ash coloured dirt sand. To be able to cook we had to prop up our cooking stand to make it level and to be able to cook. Our beds were on a slope so our bodies were at the end of our mattresses by morning. Very uncomfortable.

When we chose the campsite, it offered a 5 mins walk to a sandy beach which is actually 30mins in a car. A nature walk surrounded the camp this too was incorrect. The shower and toilet facilities are the dirtiest I have ever visited. I watched one cleaner use one mop the whole way through the showers and toilets without dunking back in water to clean and rinse. Also two cleaners put a sign up saying cleaning in progress. They then decided to got for a cigarette and came back 5 mins later to take the sign down without cleaning. Disgusting! Washing up sinks had no plug at all. On several occasions I had to put my hand in dirty water to scope out dirty left over food in the plug hole just to wash my stuff up. One good point the staff at the touring reception and nisa shop were very

Pleasant. I will never be visiting a park Dean resort again, as worst experience camping EVER.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Blueboy2018 1 review from this member

We left after the first week of our two week stay due to several reasons.

1/ Caravan smelt of dog

2/ Main club house was filthy. Chairs badly stained. Carpet worn, stained, sticky in places. Tables left uncleaned, not wiped down from previous users. Bad smell of rotting food one night. Only used club house 3 times due to these reasons.

3/ Loud piped music around pool so unable to relax. Pools had limited times to use.

4/ some staff pleasant, some indifferent.

5/ Caravan was tired and grubby in places. Had some loose wardrobe hinges making it diificult to open doors. The kitchen was well stocked but not all items were clean. Seating uncomfortable. Old used teabags littering the terrace.

6/ 5 minutes after arrival a nice chap arrived wanting to fill in a satisfaction sheet. This was before we had even unpacked or had a chance to look around! After questionnaire completed and he had left, we found we had no hairdrier and only 2 chairs on patio with 4 adults in residence. Plus all items in item 5. Took 2 days to get hairdrier and 3 days for additional 2 plastic chairs, one of which was broken. Oh Joy!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyace 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from Sanford Holiday Park. What a weekend. I feel a little deflated. Booked up via ringing Parkdean Head office because their web pages kept going slow so would assume that everything would be ok. Instead arrived at park to only 1 sign pointing out where to go on the large site, to be met in touring reception by your not on my booking screen mate. I will put you here and by the way there is no entertainment this weekend or kids clubs. Not mentioned on booking. But as caravaners we carry on like we all do. Got pitched up good sized pitch with good clean shower blocks and toilets. Onward to the facilities. Into reception to ask about breakfasts as we paid extra to have them included, only to find the touring reception had not booked us in and they had no idea what had gone on, ( not difficult, to say you have booked in on computer) but they managed it. After some time finally got sorted ( took 3 members of staff). In to the restaurant/ bar. Well no one in there could care less it seems, they walk around unhappy and unhelpful, even a simple question of what time is breakfast is like asking them to explain the theory of everything. Onto the evening 9. 30pm it felt like nearby monkey world had moved in kids screaming shouting groups in static vans having there own parties till midnight, 5. 30am still having thumping music going on no sign of security or staff, seems the park after 10pm is free reign. Morning and the park is like a bombs hit it rubbish everywhere not good. Been to Parkdean Resorts before in other regions and must say they put Sandford Park to shame, big improvements need to be made to bring the park to the others standard. I'm afraid to say we won't be going back. Shame

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Richpotts 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a spring get away with two young children in tow - 5 & 2 years old - and had a lovely time. The weather was pretty dreadful, but even so the accommodation was perfect, very clean and well maintained and lots of space (we had one of the newer 'Tyneham Caravans')

The site is spread out among lovely big trees and open spaces, and there's a main centre with a number of other facilities including a swimming pool, small softplay and big theatre (not cinema). The facilities are pretty good although the main pub/restaurant did have slow service and it was difficult keeping our kids sat waiting!

Very good location for Poole (we were there visiting friends).

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pipgood 2 reviews from this member

Visited in our caravan, daughter and young children in a static caravan.

We had star pitch, we thought rather small, couldnít park car on Pitch how they wished the cars to be parked not enough space.

This is a large park and was very noisy. Very little interaction with camp staff, no one I enforcing rules, speed limit, noise and movement of cars after midnight. It was hard for the staff to keep the facilities clean.

Not our style of campsite, but if you like an all singing and dance holiday park with campsite attached this will be ok for you

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeggyBank 2 reviews from this member

I spent four nights here with three children. It is a very spacious park, there are static caravans out front and the campsite is at the back of the park with its own separate check in area. There are barriers preventing unregistered cars from entering the site. There are a variety of pitches, our site had EHU and was very large. Ground was flat and I saw no evidence of moles as reported by previous visitors. Nearby is a horse riding school that provides pony rides- the kids loved this.

The facilities on site are very good- there are three shower and toilet blocks, heated and generally clean but can look a bit grubby when the weather is bad. The showers are hot and hairdryer use is provided free of charge. The shower drainage could be improved- I did see some drain specialists at work so hopefully this problem was being dealt with.

There is an entertainment complex with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. The outdoor pool is heated and clean, and lovely in good weather. The changing areas and toilet are clean and there are chairs and loungers provided next to the water. Upstairs in the entertainment complex is a soft play area, but I thought this smelt of beer. I had a meal in the restaurant, it was nice and the kids portions are large.

The spa shop is a little pricey but well stocked. I didn't bother sampling the evening entertainment, but the option was there. There was an amusement arcade if that is your bag as well. A short drive away are some lovely beaches.

My only real complaint is a couple of my neighbours were a bit loud after 11pm- a polite word sorted that out though.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patientpyeman 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights 2 adults and 3 children. Lots for the children to do, the outside pool was excellent along with all the facilities, although the shower blocks could now do with updating, but spotlessly clean. We were pitch 283, like most pitches very level. But unfortunately under a tree. As expected the site was very busy, which unfortunately meant lots of noise, even after the 10pm curfew. We stayed for 4 nights and only saw the warden once, more patrols later at night very much needed. Could also do with a childs play area in the camping section. All in all a very nice stay, but would seriously need to consider whether returning in high season.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshirerider 7 reviews from this member

Firstly we will start with the positives

The site is very well situated to Bournemouth, Weymouth and surrounding areas, we love it down here so this was a ideal situation.

We spent 8 nights here for our anniversary, and we paid £29 a night

The park itself was clean, toilet blocks were cleaned regular, we initially was put at the top of the park on open grass, however we liked the more individual pitches with verges, to which we were moved to no problem.

We had Sunday to Friday no issues at all, until Friday night when it was as if the site had changed completely

Loud mouths drinking there selves into oblivion, music thumping till early hours, and laughing shouting swearing, a lot of children up late shouting and screaming & running around

The next day I went to reception to complain, I was told that a family of 7 were evicted that day due to complaints, I told them I couldn't have another night like that as we were driving back 5 hours to Leeds on Sunday, I was assured it'd be much better sat eve

Ha, well it wasn't, again music thumping, people shouting just like before, we called security who did come but tbh made little difference. Then after midnight we heard fireworks going off, people shouting, car doors been slammed and driven round till early hours, then I open the window to find a woman urinating behind our caravan!

Now we're only young ourselves, and agree people are away to enjoy a holiday, but this was the worse weekend of disruption we have had in 8 years of touring. The total dis regard to other people, loud mouthing, people walking round with young children at midday with cans of Stella in there hands, was taking it too far, & tbh security could have done more. The next morning we were up at 6 due to lack of sleep, the site looked like a bomb had gone off, rubbish, cans etc thrown everywhere.

We shall be sticking to caravan club sites & smaller sites in future, which is a shame as it started so well!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona28 7 reviews from this member

First the positives. The pitches are a good size. There are facilities to suit most tastes. The Nisa shop caters for absolute essentials but is very expensive. The site was generally kept clean although some people had brought dogs which were not on leads and ran around. Dogs, being dogs, will widdle where they choose. The location is good for getting to places to visit in Dorset and we got easily to Corfe Castle, Maiden Castle, Upton Country Park and Wareham which is a lovely town.

The not so positives - I saw a review from 2013 about moles. Well, they are still there. It is a bit disconcerting when you go to the loo in the night and get back to find a new lump under your SIM. When we packed up to come home, we realised the extent of the digging. I complained at reception and was told it was being dealt with. I wonder if it's the same person who dealt with it in 2013.

The showers, especially in the block nearest the tent field, rely on patience and the ability to stand against the wall to get any water over you. The toilet flushes take ages to refill which means a lot of people go away leaving them unflushed.

As I said, the location is good so I would look for another site in the area to go back but I am not likely to return to Sanford Park.

They publicise that Park Dean are the best holiday site owners. I have no idea how.

Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2215 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!