Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House )

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Cheddar > Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House ) > Reviews

Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House )
Axbridge Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3DB
Tel: 01934 742610
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that this site, previously known as Broadway House Holiday Park, has now shut to touring caravans and tents. It is being redeveloped for Holiday Homes only. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pricey991 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights with 2 children and a baby. Upon arrival I was handed a map with our pitch circled and nothing else was said. I feel that more information could of been given upon arrival. We arrived at our pitch which was in row 7 it was a massive pitch and due to the weather it was quite muddy but manageable. The BMX track was superb and so was the skate park once we found it. The Bar needs to be upgraded it is very dated and the draught beer was not good at all, We only ate in there once and the food was very good. A few negatives - No baby changing in toilet blocks, amusements for kids very dated, Entertainment was awful, No highchairs in cafe.

Overall it is not that bad it is in a great location and we found some nice places to visit

A must is Cheddar gorge and Weston super mare also for a decent meal try the New Inn its 2 mins drive from the campsite 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayleighluke69 1 review from this member

 Myself, my husband and our 2 children came back today from spending 4 days at broadway house. It was recommended to us by a friend.

When we arrived we were happy with the look of the place straight away. The staff were very friendly when I checked in and she went through a few things with me including the swimming pool usage.

I booked online for the holiday which was cheaper than booking over the phone with them.

Our pitch was almost right at the top which at first I was a bit unhappy about but when we got there it was fab, we were a short walk away from the toilet and shower block and we could sit outside our tent and watch the kids in the park.

Our pitch was mostly hard mud where the tents had completely removed the grass and we were on a slope but it wasn't half as bad as some pitches we've been on.

I loved the fact that all the pitches were separated by trees, that was nice. We had an electric pitch and there was also a water supply which was very handy for muddy kids

We were able to get our tent a gazebo and our car on our pitch. Some of the pitches around us were smaller and some bigger.

The park was fab! The kids didn't get bored of it at all.

The toilets where ok. Yes they could do with updating but they were fine. I didn't feel like I didn't want to go into them.

We didn't end up using the pool as it wasn't the greatest of weather for us so we went out places instead.

You have to get a time slot for the swimming pool and you have to be quick about it as it gets full for the day quite quickly.

We didn't eat on site food and we didn't go there of an evening so I cant comment on that but we used the shop a few times and it was very reasonable.

The noise wasn't bad at all considering the campsite was quite full. It was nice to be able to chill outside your tent and nobody coming around shining torches in your face telling you to whisper.

We didn't go over to the bmx track as our kids didn't have bikes but we are going to go back soon hopefully and take bikes and scooters then.

Over all. Its the best camp site we've been too. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fruitbat99 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a a midweek break on the paddock pitches, which were water logged when we arrived, no grass just puddles of muddy water, Poor drainage on the pitches. Arrived to someone else pitching up there tent on our pitch, (on advice of the staff), had to wait for this to be rectified before we could put our tents up. Hardly any toilet seats on the toilets, the showers had clumps of hair in them and there were dead insects in the sinks, while in the shower.

One night when we had a lot of rain I asked a member of staff if we could have some wood chippings to put outside my mums tent as it was very muddy and slippery, I was told they don't supply things like that and there was a shop in town where I could buy some (at 10pm might I add!) Very poorly run site, really dissapointed. Shame as cheddar is a lovley place to visit, will be looking for other campsites around the area, Wont be coming back to broadway house again ! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie120 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from the Bank Holiday weekend at Broadway House, we occupied 6 pitches in total.

The weather when we arrived was damp and miserable so everywhere was soggy which is to be expected, our particular pitch was waterlogged, thank goodness it didn't rain the whole weekend, as I think we would have been flooded.

There were 8 children in total who enjoyed the pool, skate park, BMX track and adventure playground so no problems there.

Our biggest issue was the toilets/showers - disgusting state - the mop that was supplied to mop out the shower after you used it was black. You could have ended up putting more germs in the cubicle had you have used it. Hairs everywhere, toilet seats on the floor. We did not want to go in them at all.

The admin staff didn't seem to know what was going on regarding pitches either. One of the staff told us our pitch number when we arrived, which we went on, and 4 of our 6 pitches were in a row, later when we went to find out if our friends who were arriving the next day were by us, we were told that I should have been in a different area and they were next to us! We had tents opposite us and 3 transit vans, 2 of which were parked on the pitch next to us. The noise levels at night were supposed to drop after 11, but this wasn't the case. We were a large group but made sure we didn't disturb anyone, late at night.

We had paid 40+ per night and expected better! Unfortunately we will not visit again, purely down to the toilet & shower facilities, I have stayed on many sites and these have to be one of the worst I have been in. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gloucester 13 reviews from this member

 We visited midweek during school summer holidays following a Groupon offer.

Booking wasn't completely straightforward, admin on reception was a bit hit & miss, but we got there eventually!

Pitch wasn't huge, but we requested one near the park so probably could have had a larger one.

Toilets & showers close and clean. Had problems with hot water for washing up though & ended up using a kettle of hot water at the tent.

Pool was amazing & very welcome in hot weather. Facilities basic but adequate.

Prices in shop for coke & chocolate seemed reasonable.

Noise / silence times not closely adhered to with no sign of wardens, but noise wasn't excessive. Hand driers in toilets throughout the night were annoying.

We all got midge bites so pack your repellent!

Playground. BMX & scooter areas all great.

Entertainment was dire - think this is probably losing site money as we left bar area as kids were bored & noise was unbearably rubbish!

We would definitely return! Bring back the sun & I'll pack the car! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newcamper30 1 review from this member

 We went with a group of 12 people (including small children) for a weeks holiday. When we arrived we were told that the non-electric camping field was closed so we were all upgraded to electric hook-up free of charge. The pitches we were originally assigned were quite small so we returned to reception and were given larger pitches straight away.

The pitches were slightly sloped and not massive but we were able to pitch our tent (Vango Vista 800 DLX) and a gazebo next to it and have space for kids to play/people to sit and chill out. The car was parked on a friends pitch.

The weather was FANTASTIC so we were able to use the pool which was always clean and tidy. Its not huge but of a fair size.

We ate at the restaurant on site for 2 of the evenings. The food was great along with the service and it was reasonably priced.

The entertainment is a bit dated but they really do try! Brilliant with the kids.

The toilet/shower blocks were clean but are also dated and need changing.

The reception staff are fantastic - extremely helpful and a real asset.

There is noise around - lots of young children and its peak season so its to be expected. You don't see lots of wardens around but for us, the balance was just right. If I was being reminded of the rules every 5 mins it would have ruined the carefree camping holiday spirit!

I was told that they will be closing the park in Sept/Oct and having a complete overhaul. It does need this. However, I was also told that there will only be static caravans and lodges available from next year which is a shame as we would return. I hope this is a just a rumour and camping is available next season. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonylinds 1 review from this member

 We (family of four + dog) stayed for the week after the glorious weather mid July so it could have been better weather wise.

Facilities where very good although being rather muddy as our week progressed meant the normally very clean upper toilet block was rather mucky - a mop was provided but others I guess didn't or couldn't use it after they showered.

Washing up facilities where very good and we always had hot water. Let down again by the lack of camping etiquette shown by some by not cleaning up after themselves.

Agree with others that the track and scooter / skate park were fab as was the adventure playground and I didn't feel uncomfortable letting our 2 girls or 5 and wandering together.

The only thing that spoiled what would have been an excellent stay and overall rating was noise in the evening. The first night we had a couple of party's behind our tent and they were still talking & laughing loudly at gone 1am.

The other night was our last night, we settled down in the bar only to disrupted by a very rowdy and raucous group of around 16 adults who had come to celebrate a birthday. Whilst this in itself isnt an issue when you have 2 young children you do not want them to hear the kind of language emanating from this group. We left early as felt uncomfortable by this group. A few others made comments and the bar staff did try to calm them down without success. Needless to say this party drank all evening and although their pitches where quite away from our they were very loud and partied until gone 3am. Disappointed that a large group without children where allowed to stay as this is supposed to be a family site.

We will be going back although if the rumours are true it wont be back in a tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chickric 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit here and we stayed on one of the Paddock Pitches. We had Paddock 00 at the bottom of the hill and it was very large, if slightly slopped and had 3 hook ups and a tap.

We comfortably fitted our two large tents (Vango Salonga 900 + Vango Maritsa 700) plus cars and trailers and the kids still had loads of room to play. Very good value fro 360 for the week.

The site seemed quite nicely laid out with the pitches all screened with hedges, although some of the pitches did seem very small. I think there might have been some larger pitches towards the back of the site.

Toilet and shower facilities were ok, clean but dated, the main problems being that the showers didn't last very long before having to press the button again and some bright spark decided that the best place for the loo roll holders was on the wall behind the toilet at head height so you had to be a bit of a contortionist to reach it!

The playground was good and our older kids enjoyed going off exploring the woods behind the site.

Washing up facilities seemed quite few and far between, but perhaps we just didn't look.

There is a freezer for ice block outside the main toilet area.

As mentioned in other reviews, due to the BMX track there were lots of kids on bikes racing up and down the roads with no control (not entirely the sites fault)but we rarely saw a warden and it could be quite noisy quite late.

Didn't use the on site bar as it seemed very noisy and crowded.

Surrounding area is nice with Cheddar Gorge 5 mins away and a couple of big super markets not too far.

Don't know if we would stay there again, mainly because we had rotten weather which rather colours your opinion of whether you had a good holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonandthegirls 6 reviews from this member

 Site looked great online, but we left feeling somewhat disappointed. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, however the site itself left a bit to be desired.

The pitch was nicely hedged off, but very small with no room for the car if we'd put an awning up - this led to cars being parked up all over the place and gave the site an untidy look. It also had the feel of somewhere that had been taken over by seasonal users, rather than as a touring site, and this tends to lead to rules being ignored.

The toilet block felt very dated, and many of the cubicles in the gents had toilet seats missing so were of limited use. The clubhouse is too small for the size of the site, and didn't look appealing so we went elsewhere (Sidcot Arms, Brewers Fayre 5 mins away).

I have 2 small children and the levels of noise at night were intrusive, and made it hard for them to sleep.

The site itself is very well situated, but hasn't been maintained very well, and feels somewhat cramped unfortunately. Didn't have a bad weekend, but I doubt we'd return if I'm honest. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cheddar Woods ( Was Broadway House ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44972 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement