Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Marlie Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Marlie Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )
Dymchurch Road
New Romney
Kent   (Browse area)
TN28 8UE
Tel: 01797 330155
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 102
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 54 Reviews
                7/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (22) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Adrianday2018 1 review from this member

Waterlogged Pitches

Amenities were filthy and untidy

Electric hookup was located in a sealed off garden of a seasonal caravan which you needed to climb over to connect electric.

Pitched next to open bins which were overflowing and smelt disgraceful

Wanted a refund however only way to contact customer care is via email.

By the time I had a response from customer care it was too late to receive a refund.

Advise to stay away from this holiday park!

Be warned

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dundiving 1 review from this member

Stayed here more by accident, as we could not find the campsite we wanted.

Good Points First (wont take Long)

Check in: Pleasant Woman at the Office who Speedily Processed our booking.

Cheap, Very Cheap

Small shop, fairly well stocked

Bar Area: Smallish Bar/Eating Area, Very Pleasant Barmaid with an Infectious Smile. Nice Pint and Wine, Ordered Steaks and Trimmings for Myself and Wife, Reasonable Priced and Very Tasty.

As we were on our own, we didn't visit the entertainment center or the children's area

Bus Stop a few hundred yards away, and a short walk into Dymchurch and the Miniature Railway.

Dogwalk: Large separate field marked 'Casual Camping' semed to be used by most dog owners.

Bad Points, (this will take a bit Longer)

The Site is mainly set up for Static vans and homes and surrounds the touring pitch which is just a bit bigger than a football field. No Marked pitches, just park where you want to.

First thing we noticed was 3 widely spaced Caravans with multiple dog kennels surrounding them forming a 'barrier' and then when we parked up near to them, numerous small dogs on Long leads soon Shooed us away. It soon became obvious that they were 'Travelers' staying for the season.

We moved to a pitch next to a high fenced area, which we soon discovered (due to the smell) that it housed the Sewage pump. Move again another 10 yards.

The Water point was in the center of the field consisting of 2 stand pipes set against a concrete wall and base. The wall was Black with Mould, and next to it was a disused chemical toilet disposal point which although now fenced off, wa being used as a waste food disposal point, with the bowl now overflowing with rotting food, YUK !

Male Toilet Block: Toilet Cubicles showing severe wear and tear, hooks and roll holders torn from the wall, and loose toilet seats. The floor was permanently wet and the Vent fans not working resulting in a very smelly area.

Showers: After one look at the floor, I returned to the camper and got a spare towel to stand on. Again, damage to the cubicles with no sign of attempted repairs, water was Tepid, but sufficed

Sinks were almost clean but usable.

Women's Toilet's: My Wife said that they were clean and dry, No complaints.

Waste Bins: 2 large waste bins located next to the fresh water point, I only saw the emptied once during our stay, Emptied but Not Cleaned!

Noise: Numerous children belonging to the 'Travelers' running riot for most of the day and into early evening, thankfully quiet at night.

Hookup: Luckily we had a double length of power cable as the point was quite far away. The hookup box looked as though it had been hit by vehicles a few times as it was leaning over.

Swimming Pool: It seemed permanently closed, so no comments about it

I felt quite embarrassed for the Dutch and German tourist's who were near to us, who were quite gobsmacked at the state of the place, with one couple leaving after staying for less than an hour!

We have given the site 8/10 Value for Money because it was Cheap, Very Cheap.

We stayed for 3 nights, mainly due to our motorhome having some problems and awaiting on parts to arrive, otherwise we would have left after just the 1 night.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wood235 2 reviews from this member

Awful place, cramped with tiny pitches that are not fit for the job, lots of 'travelers' live on site permanently with many sign written vans about and very rowdy people. Dogs locked in caravans & continually barking whilst people are away in the clubhouse, then they return in the early hours waking everyone up! Avoid at all cost!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisChaos 1 review from this member

Nice Site, Great Staff

I spent 3 nights there with my two boys and our dog and found the site to be clean and well maintained.

The showers and toilet block were in good condition, the showers were really nice and hot, (& free)

The swimming pool though small was warm and staffed at all times and has a separate shallow paddling pool for non-swimming toddlers

The 'Top touring field' was not yet in use, as the season hadn't really got underway but when it is open there will be upto a 5 minute walk to the toilet block which may put some off.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I'd happily stay again

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lastic 1 review from this member

We have been to this site, many times, but this was our first in a static caravan, site is lovely, the acomadation we had the bronze, but still expected it to be of good standard it was not as clean as one would of thought or should I say I would of liked and on the last night we were there I was doing cleaning and a quick tidy around only find seat cushion had been burnt on the back of it by a previous holiday maker which I did report to the staff before we left, we had our dog with us and followed all rules regarding her, I must say dog areas were good even though other users didn't always clean up after their pets, Shower blocks very clean laundry block very clean and tidy, swimming was good size even though didn't use it this time, we also used the clubhouse but did not use dining facility as I thought it was expensive even though they do a discount offers scheme and although we did not have our grandchildren with us this time I think it would be very expensive if a big family were to eat there together there is a pub just 5mins from park that do great food and children were welcome, getting back to park the club house was very quiet not much going on there unless you like bingo, the weekend was slightly better having been here before I know later in season entertainment is better, all staff we came contact with were polite and helpful but I wont be going back to park to stay in static will go in our touring caravan next time or may be just upgrade to silver or gold

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jellybean78 8 reviews from this member

I was looking for a campsite for one night in the area, with my young family. The facilities (pool and play park) were appealing as weather was looking unpredictable so wanted somewhere to go if it rained. Marlie fitted the bill, as we were able to book for one night.

The park was easy to find, and we received a pack on arrival with entertainment passes and guide. Looked like a lot going on! A friendly guy on a quad bike showed us to our pitch. The pitches weren't marked out, but there was a space at the back of the non-electric area which looked great. We set up camp, then went out for the day. When we got back, there was another big tent virtually touching ours, which was a bit of a shock! The owner apologised and said that he'd been put there. Not ideal.

BBQs were allowed, so we fired ours up and had a nice evening. Unfortunately, the family the other side of us was a complete nightmare, shouting and swearing at their kids. They came back at midnight after spending the evening at the clubhouse and got more noisy shouting and swearing at those poor kids, complete disregard for anyone else. I know that's not the campsite's fault, but I'd say Marlie definitely attracts some seriously rough families. We wouldn't return on this basis, will look for zero entertainment next time which will hopefully help!

We didn't use the pool, but it seemed busy. Toilets and showers were clean and tidy and there wasn't any queuing. The park for the kids was good, and there was a bar and restaurant. Again, we didn't use them in the end.

Without wanting to come across as snobby, we're far from it, a lot of the other guests were the 'take your kids down the pub, get drunk and let them run riot' kind, which wasn't great for us having small children and wanting to enjoy the outdoor life, rather than a night out. Bear that in mind when booking!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 20 reviews from this member

This was my First visit to a Motor Home Area and was Pleasantly surprised by what is available to Use.

There is a swimming Pool various times for Adults and Children, A Play area and a Toilet and Shower Block and very clean and checked.

There are Laundry and wash up area all of good standard

In the evening there is entertainment in a Complex as well as A shop.

Close to New Romney a 15 min Walk 7 Pubs and eating houses of your choice, also a Bus stop at the entrance and extra local Attraction the Hythe and Dymchurch Railway a good day out

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magiceye 10 reviews from this member

Booked a couple of nights at this camp as the New Beach was not open for touring.

On arrival at reception we were made really welcome big smiles and signing in was a joy, we were then shown to our pitch by a Gent on a Quad, he gave us so much info, could have been your best friend from 40 years ago, a credit to the site.

Our pitch was near the ring road with hookup toilets/showers and water close by, things looked really good.

Very clean toilet block, pool with lifeguard on duty, showers were very clean and worked well, a safe play area was being enjoyed by children, we were impressed. It seems since some of these last reviews a lot of work has gone into making the site much better.

But, there is always a but! There we were about to get the table out and settle down to a drink on the grass, when about 8 kids started playing football in the central parking area, this was stated on the sign as the place to play, but that small centre area with some 12/13 year olds booting a ball as hard as they could did along with there loud enthusiasm not make for a peaceful rest after driving all day, the game started around 4:30pm and went on and on with some dropping out and other joining in, by 5:30 we had enough and retired into the motorhome, the noise and ball hitting the motorhome was enough, the parents? who knows where they were parked away somewhere, one kid kicked the ball and one of our dogs barked as it rolled by, cheeky git told me he was reporting it as a dangerous dog, (Jack Russell), You cant use kids as a football any more can you? otherwise I may have been tempted to join in for a minute or two.

We then had others in Caravans, tents and motorhomes pulling up to get on the field, it ended up with neighbours to close on both sides in the morning. But it was ok as the centre was available for football, which started around 09:30 am. The nights sleep was broken sometime in the early hours of the morning, with rather loud Parents and children coming home to there accommodation from a good night I would think, shouting, screaming and singing. We were going to stay to give it a chance but in the morning we had another close neighbour turn up. So we made the decision to call it a day and packed up and left the site a day early, a shame but not to return on those conditions.

I am very tolerant and believe that everyone should enjoy their time away, but not at others expense, so I would make some recommendations.

It looks as though quiet some work is going on at present, and has been through the winter, which is really good and shows the staff care about the site.

However for this site it should have marked out and hard standing pitches for vans and Motorhomes, as the statics have, to stop the overcrowding that is rampant. We did have at around 8pm a transit van pull up and tried to pull out a motorhome that was stuck in a soft patch in the the field, that went on until dark when he gave up and drove off. The motorhome was pulled out at 8 in the morning by the site tractor and the owner parked so close to ours that if we wanted too we could not have sat outside.

The play (football) area could easily be moved down to the bottom of the field, that is away from campers who do want a hookup and perhaps bit of quiet and not get a ball rammed into there unit and screaming kids enjoying themselves.

Overall I think the site has a lot of potential, if certain areas were addressed, the area is lovely, the facilities for dogs is great, massive field exclusive for walking dogs, Staff are great and could have done no more for you, once again credit to the site, and I realise things don't get done overnight.

I don't want to come across as negative, but I do feel that everyone should be able to enjoy the facilities available and most of all enjoy their stay at Marlie park as we have done in countless other sites, so I hope the comments do go a way to bringing positive results.

So to finalise Thank you Very Much staff.

Kids, enjoy yourself also, but not to the detriment of others around you, if it were not for these few concerns I would have given ten* across the board.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AlanRedk 2 reviews from this member

My kids and I and our friends stayed in Marlie at the beginning of the school holidays.

We thought it was in a great location for visiting Dymchurch and the surrounding areas.

The pitches themselves were in good condition. They were flat and fields well laid out.

We were there at a very busy time and although the fields were busy, the services didn't seem to be straining.

However, the site itself needed a little TLC and needed some better resourcing. The staff that were there did a wonderful job - there was just not enough of them. There was one chap working in the restaurant for instance who was rushed off his feet partially because of the way the restaurant 'worked' but also because he seemed the only soul there. This lead to quite some waiting and queuing and a bit of bad customer vibe.

Overall the site itself was a great little site - they just need to sort themselves out a little.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dongle12 5 reviews from this member

When we arrived at this campsite it was very very busy. We like peace and quiet. However we found it delightful. The toilet block was immaculate. The swimming pool looked popular. There was plenty for young children to do. A great safe play area. There is a wildlife centre outside the camp which is great for children and adults. There was lots to explore. The campsite had its own mini railway station (12 gauge I think)which connected with a mainline station. This site was quiet at night, so all in all a good all rounder. The sea front is quite a walk so not great for kids, but the mini railway reasonable cost.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2830 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019