Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Scourie Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Scourie Caravan & Camping Park
Harbour Rd
Scourie
Lairg
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4TG
Tel: 01971 502060
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: No bookings taken, just turn up!
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pwhitefo 1 review from this member

Lovely site with excellent views and a bar! An easy walk to the headland for dogs - be mindful of sheep though.

The beach is a mixture of sand and stones but looks lovely and sheltered.

Did not try a swim in the hail though!

Facilities are clean and in good condition.

My only comment is that the showers have only one hook for clothes and no stool/chair or shield from the shower.

We had a great weekend despite the weather.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Greenman14 1 review from this member

Great views over the loch across to Handa island and a white sand/pebble beach.

Spotlessly clean well equipped toilet and shower block, level pitches, hard standing with electric, or grass for tents.

Shop and cafe/bar/restaurant at the site entrance and other hotels/restaurants within a short walk.

Friendly and helpful reception.

We only stayed one night but could have stayed longer and done some coastal walks.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stephentwist 3 reviews from this member

A delightful site set just seaward off the A894, comprising hard and grass pitches, most with recently installed electric points. The views from Scourie are magnificent and justify a trip to this site.

Enter via the cafe and when reception is unattended, simply select a free pitch. Out of season booking in takes place at 5. 00pm daily. The facilities are spotless and plentiful, although tend to be dated compared with luxury sites.

However, site fees are reasonable and reflect this fact. There are a number of walking options for both the energetic and the strollers.

The latter should walk the beach at low tide to access the headland just beyond the bay for stunning sunset views, or to the pier for a different aspect.

Tip: stock up on the basics before reaching Scourie. Whilst the village boasts a store, choice there is rather limited.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

Lovely setting especially if you get a pitch right on the water. Facilities nice and clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

WiFi only available around the office.

Great for exploring the area or just chilling out and watching the sunsets.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 77 reviews from this member

Another NC500 stop and we are still surprised by the standard of the Sites. We found this Site to be very friendly and welcoming with an something of an informal atmosphere but don't try not to follow the rules set out on the noticeboard.

We had a pitch next to the edge with a great view out to sea and spotted divers as well as cormorants. The facilities block is clean and well kept with good wifi reception -it didn't reach across to our van.

Scourie itself has fuel and a good shop which stocks most necessities. We had a very good meal in the Hotel Bar - locally caught fish. We walked the 5 or 6 miles over the hills to Tarbet in the hope of going across to Handa Island but the ferry wasn't running due to bad weather.

The restaurant was closed too so, for both, check before you go.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 25 reviews from this member

Lovely site with the added extra of a bar and restaurant on site. The facilities are excellent and the views over the sea are fantastic.

Shower and toilet block immaculate. The walks from the site are good and a brochure from the office explains the various sites to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 9 reviews from this member

This is quite a large site with a range of levels, but not regimented which I like. The views out to sea are lovely.

The facilities were large and clean, however they did have a drainage problem in the morning which was unpleasant, but entirely due to some numpty having put a plastic bag down the toilet, so not at all the site's fault.

I had a meal in the on site restaurant, selected from a limited menu, so I wasn't hopeful, but it was late and I was feeling lazy. The meal was fabulous, good portion, excellent value for money, and my dog was allowed in too.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MandH Tea 1 review from this member

My husband and I have visited this site before and are really impressed with the cleanliness of the site and facilities.

This family run site is welcoming and always helpful.

They made our stay memorable and we are looking forward to visiting again!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Haz053 5 reviews from this member

Very warm welcome to a site in a lovely situation overlooking Scourie Bay.

We chose a wonderful pitch on the edge of the cliff with fantastic views. Good, clean facilities.

I love Scourie, one of my favourite places on the NC 500.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordonmull 3 reviews from this member

A second visit to Scourie campsite this time in pretty awful weather. Ground held my pegs well, although everything was double and triple secured. Ground is fairly soft and in the really, exceptionally, heavy rain some standing water occurred in my back right corner.

I like the informal site without designated pitches and they allowed hookups in tents, which, given the temps this visit, we'd have been miserable without.

Didn't get much of a chance to do much although the Gala was on over our holiday and I have to hand it to the resolute residents of Scourie for their perseverance. A walk out over Scourie headland is worth it, although this year views were somewhat greyed. Tarbet is a nice place to visit, too, a couple of miles north and down a wee back road. I'll not say what's there, so's not to spoil things.

Facilities are nice and tidy, modern and a new addition this year was a freezer in the facilities block. Absolute godsend in a tent. The whole site is well structured so that everyone gets a good view of the very beautiful Scourie bay. Pitch for a 3mx5m tent with hookup in Aug 2016 was 20/night for two people.

The local hotel is worth a visit for a bit of local banter but found the on site pub a little cliquey without much craic.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1614 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019