Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High Moor Farm Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > High Moor Farm Park > Reviews

High Moor Farm Park
Skipton Road
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 2LZ
Tel: 01423 563637
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 254
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 80 Reviews
                7/10 from 80 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GMC1958 48 reviews from this member

 As we drove past reception and on to the site, my first thought was 'oh what have I done', it was far too commercial, straight lines on a field with very little space and no privacy between pitches.

Kids even rode bikes between our awning and car. The site rules of no ball games, no driving across grasses areas, dog fouling were totally ignored.

Very little respect shown by the majority of site users, a lot were seasonal. Our caravan was hit twice by a football.

On a plus side the toilet block and facilities were really nice and clean.

This site would benefit from an adult only area. Would we visit again, NO. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LINDOPS 4 reviews from this member

 A disappointing site. Arrived hopeful - website looked great & leaflet we were given on arrival seemed promising. However, rules rules rules.

Told at the bar by an abrupt gentleman my son couldn’t stand by his dad, kids have to give their seats up in the bar after 9pm for adults, asked us to move our family van from our pitch due to fire regulations when in fact most of the caravans & awnings are nearly on top of their neighbours.

Asked about fishing lake (which doesn’t look like it’s been fished in for years), told we couldn’t walk round it, dogs weren’t allowed & no one could spectate! Ate in the bar, food mediocre.

The music was catered for the “older generation”. The shop not overly stocked, toilets need updating. Touring pitches very tight & not a lot of room to manoeuvre.

In all, the site needs a complete overhaul, old statics need removing (parts of the site look like a junk yard). I wouldn’t recommend it for families I’m afraid and we weren’t made to feel very welcome. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tinbobtina 1 review from this member

 It's been a dream of mine for years to buy a little caravan and find a retreat. High Moor Farm was recommended to me by a friend. My husband and I put a deposit on the pitch before we had even bought our first caravan as we fell in love with the site.

Kimberley showed us around the site and she was so helpful and friendly. There are other members of the team who run the site and are amazing. Sharon, Janet, Jane, Brian, I'm learning their names as I intend to be here for a long time, Oliver the pool attendant and Kirsty, all multitasking I've noticed.

We feel well looked after. The regular people who stay on the site are very nice and we've met quite a few. The swimming pool is great and I use it for keeping fit. I will be riding my bike around the site, it's all flat, I'm 60 this year but I love to cycle.

My husband has health problems and needs a place where he can relax and this place is ideal as it is so peaceful. I read the reviews some were quite negative regarding kids. That actually helped me make up my mind. I'm glad that the site doesn't tolerate unruly kids.

I like to see happy kids playing and behaving like most of us, they shouldn't be allowed to spoil everyone's fun with bad behaviour. The meals on an evening are lovely.

The club is nice and a very warm atmosphere. The toilet blocks are clean. I love the washing room, So convenient and spacious. I don't want to go home after I've spent time there but I feel happy when I'm on my way back.

My husband and I are hoping to spend a lot more time here when we retire. I could go on and on, I've only been up and running for a couple of weeks but I rate the place very highly. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kristinamann 1 review from this member

 On my first visit came away so impressed. From the moment I spoke to Kimberly she made me feel so at ease as she answered all my questions and was so friendly.

I arrived on the Friday was astounded by the cleanliness everywhere, toilets and showers spotless, washing sinks for cooking items spotless, even down to walking my dog they had the grass cut showing different pathways NO dog poo everywhere poo bins provided.

Swimming pool, bar, served meals it was all outstanding. Very quite by 9pm everyone friendly and helpful. I could go on and on. Family business started by parents now run by 2daughters who go far beyond what they should do. I cannot recommend coming here highly enough.

In fact it's my third weekend on the run I'm so impressed. I would give it 6 out of 5 stars as never yet found anywhere so friendly, pristine, excellent facilities and good value for money.

My number 1 place to come so far. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roger hills 1 review from this member

 We have just stayed on this site for the BH weekend with our tourer with 3 kids. Having read some other reviews on various sites we were unsure how it was going to be but thought we would give it a go anyway.

The site is well set out with a park in a big field in the centre of all the caravans which is great to just let the kids run wild. The use of the heated indoor swimming pool with no charge was great and kept them entertained for a few hrs each day There's a bar/ clubhouse which We did not go to as we were happy just relaxing in the caravan.

We were told on site that kids could go in the bar but could not run about and dance to the music which is a first but it didn't bother us as we don't go away to sit in a club house getting smashed all day!

I would definitely come back to this site and I think some of the other reviews are not fair to the site as overall there's nothing bad about it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daimob 1 review from this member

 On arrival the site seems very clean and well kept. The staff seemed friendly to start with but once we were set up with awning and car was parked in our allocated spot we struggled to even open the car door as the pitches are so cramped. I paid £116 for a 3 night stay and now feel this is overpriced.

The showers were constantly cold (I wouldn't mind the small charge if they were hot) the swimming pool was cold also. The club house was very clean and tidy but this is NOT a child friendly site! Children are not allowed to be anywhere near the bar at all. The staff were constantly telling children off for the smallest of things.

As well as they must give their seats up adults that have just arrived regardless of how long they have been in the club house themselves. The clubhouse doesn't open until 7pm so a tea time family lunch is out of the question, and once it did open there was bingo on so silence had to obeyed and god help anyone that wasn't !

The swimming pool was so over chlorinated my kids managed an hour before they had to get out due to stinging eyes, and the attendant is way too strict to the point where kids are not allowed to jump in the pool! The arcades are a nice touch for the kids but half the machines weren't working and no change machine was on site.

There are pool tables but once again cues are not readily available as they are kept behind the bar which children cannot approach and doesn't open until 7pm!

The rule of no scooters, hover board (Segway) and skateboards is a little outdated as I thought this was supposed to be a family site although this rule seems to be ignored by everyone.

Overall the site itself is lovely and well kept but do feel would benefit from an overhaul of the rules regarding children. For the money I paid to stay here I expected it to be a little bit more family friendly but sadly was left feeling disappointed and will not be returning here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mistylou 1 review from this member

 Wont be returning here! Overflow field was a boggy mess. They advertise free showers. They're 20p for a few minutes. They advertise best toilet/shower facilities. Well if that's the best I would hate to see the worst, cold, dirty & ancient is more like it, shower doors open outwards & soak your belongings, no where to hang your things & the coin boxes are on the outside of the cubicle so you can't 'top up' without getting at the least towel covered.

Very noisy, kept awake until 2. 30am fri & sat night, not good when you have kids that get up at 6. 30. Saturday night was so loud it actually woke the kids! Pool was cold & so over chlorinated the kids couldn't stop coughing when they came out. Staff very surly & inattentive. Not at all impressed. The only thing I can be positive about is the maintained dog walk in the woods. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blin1973 1 review from this member

 Easter break, arrived good Friday after a last minute booking, was told on arrival that the pool was closed as they had a problem with the heating, but would be open Saturday. Also told kitchen was closed Friday night because the refurb hadn't been finished but would be open Saturday. The pitch was large with 16amp electric (so no chance of tripping)the pitches are concrete egg box covered in grass. The overflow field was closed due to the bad weather expected.

Taken our pug puppy for his first caravan trip and was impressed by the dog walking area and the fact that all dogs must be on leads.

Toilets were very clean and tidy, showers were hot, the hand dryer didn't work in the men's but told them about it and it was fixed the next day. Could do with a bench or more hooks in the shower changing area.

The rain was persistent all weekend and it did get muddy, however the grassed areas of the site were extremely muddy and had it not been for the egg box concrete we'd have been flooded.

Had food in the bar Saturday night and was excellent, very cheap and more than large enough portions. Drinks are slighter more expensive than pub prices but still cheaper than a lot of on site clubs. Good policy of not allowing kids to the bar.

Used the pool Sunday which was warmish, (this was due to a boiler problem i believe) as under 14's need adult supervision was not full of unruly kids.

As we were there for 9 days we made use of the laundry facilities, large washers and dryers. Quick drying time.

On site shop is a bit sparsely stocked but have fresh bread and milk etc

Ideal for visiting harrogate, knaresborough, ripon, skipton all within 30 minute drive.

Pricing reasonable with the same price all year round, no price hike in peak periods.

Would recommend this site to families with children of all ages. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edmonds101 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site having spent Easter bank holiday there. This was the opening weekend of the season and I think it's fair to say the site wasn't fully prepared for it. This is a large site with 2 fields of which one was shut. Caravans were crammed into the one field with not much room between. We were lucky enough to have a corner pitch allowing us more space. I'd booked a hard standing pitch but was given a grass pitch when we arrived. Seeing the hard standing pitches though we were pleased

Our kids (age 11 and 9) liked the park which is in the centre of the field.

Toilets are advertised as award winning heated toilet block and although clean they're outdated. Showers were cold as was the toilet block. Hand dryers don't won't in either men's or ladies block. Showers have shower doors which I prefer to curtains but other than a hook there is no where to put your stuff

Pub on site was freezing cold and everyone sat with their coats on. We only had a quick drink which was overpriced (£8 for a pint and glass of wine. ) Food looked to have big portion sizes but we didn't eat.

Signs up outside the bar warn that kids must give their seats up to adults after 9pm! My son went to help his dad carry the drinks over to the table and was told he must not approach the bar. Kids are not allowed on the tiled area around the bar! We had the feeling kids were not welcome in there at all.

Amusements next to the bar have pool tables which the kids enjoyed. Change machine didn't work and neither did some of the machines.

We booked this site due to the pool for the kids but it was shut when we arrived. It opened the next day but was freezing cold. Staff said they were trying to get the temperature up.

I've no doubt the heating in the toilets bar and pool will be better later in the season but these should have been warm for opening.

Site is ideally situated for Harrogate, Ripon, Pately Bridge etc and kids loved Brimham Ricks which is close by.

This site was full of people who obviously returned regularly and all seem to know each other but for us there are other better sites around the same area which we prefer so won't be back here. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Postcardlil 7 reviews from this member

 Well we do keep coming back to this place, just spent a fantastic three weeks, normally we only visit at the weekends. A great site, clean, tidy and the staff are very friendly. Bins are cleared before you get up, the toilet block is done mid morning so as not to cause much disturbance if you need to use them. The grass is cut and cleared away unlike some sites that leave it. So fantastic for children to run about and play and not bring grass back into the caravan. Pitches are a little small if you do not tell them in advance that you have an awning, but they do have plenty of pitches to take awnings with spaces for cars so can be re-adjusted. They also have secure parking if you have an extra vehicle. We have a dog that is scared of other dogs especially other's that are off lead, as this is a place where dogs must be on leads, with plenty of walking paths, nice and flat for those of us with breathing problems. The only thing I can fault on the main site is the Elsan point, the water pressure to clean out is very poor. On the plus side, is that pitches on the main site are semi-grass-concrete, which is great for our poor UK summers we are having, you do not pay extra for these, like on some sites. Would love the extra side to be a full serviced site as I would be here all the time. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is High Moor Farm Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does High Moor Farm Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to High Moor Farm Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is High Moor Farm Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrogate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement