Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lothian Bridge Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Lothian Bridge Caravan Park
Craigesk
Newtongrange
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH22 4TP
Tel: 0131 663 6120
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 46
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trident666 1 review from this member

Not for tents ! Whereas the lady in reception was very friendly and helpful her husband, the owner, made it very clear his distaste towards tent users.

Comments of they (tent users)'damage the grass', 'light fires' and 'leave rubbish' really made me feel welcome. He even stated that they were thinking of stopping tents using the site. In my opinion the quicker he does this the better then tent users can end up in a place they are welcome.

His last comment to me, as I was packing up, was to make sure I left no rubbish behind !

I just hope the £15 I paid would cover any damage to his precious grass my 17 hours stay might have caused !

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessie28 6 reviews from this member

Felt lucky to get a site this close to Edinburgh during the Festival and at short notice. The fact it was such a nice place was a bonus. The viaduct is a striking feature too.

Edinburgh was easy to reach by bus from Newtongrange and only £3. 50 for an all-day pass.

The pitches are well laid out and roomy and the facilities are clean. On the first night in the Ladies, one of the two showers had no hot water; on the second night it wasn't working at all. However, it was in use the next morning, so had obviously been fixed. Even two working showers is a bit on the low side for the number of vans and tents on the site.

This was the most expensive site we stayed at during our tour of Scotland, but considering the proximity to Edinburgh, it was well worth the price.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

We found this site after a recommendation from another site which could not take us for three nights as we needed, great recommendation.

The site owner booked us in and showed us our site on the computer which was ideal. She managed to get us fitted in for the number of nights we needed with electric hook up which was good of her.

The site was right under the viaduct which was getting some work done, but this was okay.

The slot we got was great with a nice piece grass at the side for the drive away awning.

The access to the town centre was great there was bus stop just up the road and it cost the four of us £11 for an all day ticket for the buses.

This site was very busy with visitors from all over Europe, I felt a bit like the visitor from another country.

The toilet block was good and clean with hot water a plenty and kept clean also.

There was not much on site for the kids, but as ours are older this was fine for us.

We will visit here again that for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rod Pudney 10 reviews from this member

This campsite is very handy for Edinburgh, however there is traffic noise as it is next to the A7, especially for tents as they are located nearest the road, next to or even under the landmark viaduct.

We had a very friendly welcome and the lady in reception gave us details of local eateries without prompting and looked up details of a local kennel for us when we asked.

Toilet, shower and washing-up facilities all kept very clean. They have a freezer for icepacks if like us you didn't use an electrical hookup.

Local facilities we used -

Turkish kebab shop – good shish kebabs. Apparently they will deliver but it’s a very short drive up the road. (campsite reception will give you a leaflet).

Cockatoo pub – friendly service, good food.

Candidicasa kennels – we used both day care and an overnight stay, so we could visit attractions that didn’t allow dogs eg Edinburgh Castle and Zoo. Very friendly staff and my dog was very happy to go back.

Tip – check if your membership of English organisations gives free or reduced entry to Scottish attractions e. G. English Heritage members visit Historic Scotland properties for free, including Edinburgh Castle.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pattisons 1 review from this member

Visited this site for one week. Site in great location for visiting Edinburgh bus stop 10 min walk from site with kids then only 30min into city centre.

Had to make own entertainment for kids as no playground on site but plenty space to kick football about. Turn right out of site and ten min walk brings you to large park for kids with great equipment including zip-line.

Toilet block always spotless and sparkling clean. Never had to wait for shower even though only 2 in each block.

Owner of site very helpful and pleasant would definitely return. Wish we stopped for a fortnight as so much to do roundabout.

Star fish shop at newtongrange did lovely fish supper! and fantastic chinese takeaway at bonnyrigg called hong kong.

Price for stay was very reasonable at only £22 per night including awning and electric showers were free and lovely and hot

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hezbert 3 reviews from this member

This site was recommended by another site which was had phoned last minute and thank goodness they did. This is a gem of a site located on the outskirts of Edinburgh City Centre. It's in a great location, well maintained and good sized pitches, which are individually marked out with electric hook up if required.

We stayed here for 2 nights and the staff were helpful in guiding us in the right direction for the bus to take us into the City Centre (7 miles away) around 40 minutes travel time (£3. 50 return ticket).

Didn't see any swings for children but there was a large trampoline.

The toilet block seemed relatively new, very clean, soap and hand dryers. Showers were quite clean but perhaps could have done with another one or two given the size of the site. However that said I never had to queue!

There was a pub directly opposite the site but as we headed into the city didn't visit here.

The site was located right under/next to an old unused viaduct and a main road which did make the night a little noisy and I would say this was the only fault I could find with the campsite. Oh yeah, take insect repellent/candles as there are midges!

Would definitely recommend it and would stay again if in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CaltonMonument 6 reviews from this member

I spent one night at this site, as I particularly wanted to visit the excellent Scottish Mining Museum, which is just up the road.

I found the site delightful. The pitches were really nicely laid out with lots of grass and picnic tables between the hard standing pitches. The toilets were spotless. I must mention the showers in particular, which unusually project downwards from the ceiling, rather than out from the wall. As a tall person, who is fed up having to stoop under showers to get my hair wet, I was delighted with this.

The owners were pleasant and helpful, and working away keeping the site clean and tidy. The price for me on my own was £16 a night, which I found very reasonable.

The highlight of the site for me is the lothianbridge viaduct, which spans the site. If, like me, you are a fan of railway architecture, you will certainly enjoy the view.

I agree with other reviewers that there is some noise from the road (thought it certainly did not keep me awake) and the lack of play facilities may make the site less attractive to those with small children.

However, for those visiting Edinburgh, or the local attractions, the site is a very good choice, easily reached, and with eating, drinking and shopping facilities within close walking distance.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle17 1 review from this member

We stopped here for 4 nights last year in our tent. The location suited us, a short drive to the park and ride.

As to be expected the site was busy in August so we were virtually underneath the viaduct near the road, all that was left. Whilst it didn't bother my children I found the traffic noise very intrusive through the night. It was maybe just me but something to bear in mind. Those in vans or further from the road probably weren't affected the same. Decent sized pitches but not a lot of other space.

Facilities were great, plenty of hot water, washing, microwave and kettle to use.

Not brilliant if you want something to keep the children amused, but if you are out most of the time and make your own entertainment then shouldn't be a problem.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brians dad 9 reviews from this member

A very good site for visiting Edinburgh by bus - as long as you do not want to return after 7.00 when the last bus runs. The site was quiet in September, but well maintained and the toilets were exceptionally clean.

This is the only site I have been to where I have had to comment that the showers were too hot! Apparently they go back to average temperature at popular times.

Proximity to main road did not worry us too much - we have been on much noisier sites.Our main memory is the excellent pub / restaurant across the road - not cheap but fantastic cooking.

Certainly a site to consider if you are visiting Edinburgh, and deserves to have more custom.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SallyAndIan 3 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site - heartily recommended. Booking was easy, the welcome was warm. A lovely flat pitch with toilet block, water & wash-up facilities close by.

The loos / showers must be the best presented of any campsite I've ever used. Clean & well supplied. The bus to Edinburgh is close & very good value (£3.00 all day rover), but finding a driver who knows which bus will get you back to the campsite is a challenge! 24hr supermarket (with petrol)within 1/2 mile.

Takeaways in the village & a couple of pubs serving good food nearby. The noise from the road may be an issue for some, and if you want the feeling of being back to nature, roughing it in the back of beyond, this probably isn't the place for you. But the traffic was less intrusive than many church bells, cockerels & donkeys I've been subjected to in more remote locations.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


951 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019