Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Site Reviews

Burford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bradwell Grove
Burford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX18 4JJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 121
Open: 02/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff48 23 reviews from this member

Used as a one night stop over from Dover heading home. The site has all the attributes that are associated with the Caravan and Motorhome club. Friendly reception, well maintained site. Clean and tidy toilet blocks. Didn't hear the lions roar, but I was tired. Supermarkets at nearby Carterton, no pub in safe walking distance. Plenty of attractions nearby and a spacious play area for children. Would use again if in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 29 reviews from this member

First time on a caravan club site.

Greeted very nicely by the reception staff and given directions on where and how to pitch. Being given the opportunity to pick our own pitch was very new to me. Settled in nicely in very hot weather.

The site itself sadly was a victim of the nice weather and subsequently the grass had almost died. A shame because didn't really see the site at it's full potential.

A central toilet and shower block housed very clean and well maintained facilities, though I did find the separation of the male and female toilets rather odd. Washing up area and laundry area also housed in this block. Sadly I did not see any microwave, maybe I just didn't see it. Our van is relatively old and doesn't house one, would have been nice to have had access to one though.

This is a fairly large site and got very busy at times, and my only gripe is that the number of children speeding past the caravan on the roadway on their bikes is not only a risk to safety but also spoiled the tranquility within the site as it often caused dogs to bark as they passed in their numerous cycles around the park roadways. ( This I believe has been commented by other reviewers, but doesn't seem to have been actioned. )

Club wifi was very reasonably priced at 10 for the week, with good reception.

TV via connection point on the hookup bollard.

The park itself is opposite the Cotswold wildlife park- this was the main reason for our visit. Discounted tickets are available from reception and in my opinion a must for anyone visiting the area- dogs are able to visit too. Local supermarkets Aldi, Asda and Morrisons in the local town of Carterton about 10 minutes drive away. Lots of places to visit in the area, some beautiful chocolate box villages. Burford is not too far away with shops and eateries. Don't think anyone could be bored here.

All in all a great site and one to visit again in the future. Would have got 10 stars but sadly the constant annoyance of cycles passing the van has lowered it's rating a little.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Westward 1 review from this member

To begin with the conclusion, we found no significant problems with this site, and a great deal to like. Would we visit again? Definitely. This is likely to become our default base for Oxfordshire and that part of England in future.

Our visit was our first camping experience, so please keep that in mind when you read; more experienced campers might have few things differently. We stayed in a tent on a generous pitch near the entry lodge, on a site populated mostly by motorhomes and caravans. Entry and exit is via an electronic card, which works well and must help security.

The only slight drawback we found during our stay was the distance from the nearest village of Burford, which is a mile away along a fast A-road without a footpath or pavement, and really is not walkable for anybody who does not have their wits about them and an appetite for risk. The noise from that road can be heard from the campsite, but it did not keep us awake, although we are quite sensitive to noise given that we live a very rural location.

Burford itself is a pretty place with a Co-op minimarket, a good butcher (try their excellent 'mid-spot' sausages), a newsagent and several other shops. I was able to park on the main street without problems before 9 AM. There are apparently two supermarkets in nearby Carterton but we did not visit those.

The campsite facilities, and indeed the entire campsite, were clean and tidy. The showers and toilet facilities were spick-and-span, with private cubicles for shaving and washing your face in addition to the usual shower stalls. Hot water was free. I had no qualms at all about me or my family using any of these facilities. We used an electrical hookup which worked fine and did not trip.

The whole site is landscaped with trees and lawns and looks very pleasant. Ground staff were working on and off during the time of our visit to keep everything looking good, but did not create any noticeable noise. The entry lodge sells basic necessities, sweets and papers. I was a little disappointed that they only had semi-skimmed milk and no whole milk, but I suppose that reflects the demand from others on site. It was still a handy little shop to have on site.

The campsite was quiet, despite the presence of a few children, including our own, and there was no loud music or noisy socialising. We had some people talking loudly and cheerfully near the entry lodge on the first evening at about 10 PM, but they gradually moved away, and were gone within 10 minutes. That was the only time we noticed other campers.

Overall, given that it is a quiet site, I suspect that rowdy youngsters would not be welcome, so I have marked the site down for that slightly, but it is not a criticism, more a reflection of the nature of the place.

The Cotswold Wildlife Park is, as mentioned in other reviews, literally the other side of the road from the campsite. We spent most of the day there and both we and the children enjoyed it a great deal and will probably return.

Finally, the staff in the entry lodge were polite, friendly and extremely helpful both in person and on the phone. We paid just over 55 for two adults and two children for two nights, which we thought was excellent value.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daneellard 4 reviews from this member

Our first ever touring caravanning experience. Couldn't have chosen a more friendly and helpful site. Had some trouble pitching up (my fault) but was helped out by another caravanner; thanks. Very please with the on site facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

This is a well laid out site, very, very clean and tidy as expected from a cc site. There is a nice mix of grass and hardstanding pitches.

The facilities are very good and showers were among the best I've had. Although it was half term and there were a lot of children it was incredibly quiet in the mornings.

Just one thing I would say is there is a one way system for most of the site but there were children on bikes cycling quite fast the wrong way and I think this should be looked at for safety reasons.

There are two dog walks and a large play area.

The wildlife park next door is a must, Burford is a short drive, would be walkable but for the fact there is no foot path which is a shame.

We will probably visit again in the future

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

Return visit at SBH (see main review April 2015)and site continues to be fantastic. This time we visited Sudeley Castle where Katherine Parr (the last of Henry VIII's 6 wives) is buried. We used Tesco vouchers for a cheap day out and it was most enjoyable with actors dressed in Tudor costumes and lots of activities for kids including a good adventure playground. It is very educational and we learned things we didn't know. Return visit again to the brilliant Cotswold Wildlife Park which our son keeps talking about.

I didn't mention in my last review that this site has aerial points on the EHU bollards and TV reception using a cable bought on site for 15 was even better than we get at home - well worth the investment as we will keep using it whenever possible.

Fabulous holiday again and we will definitely return again, possibly in a couple of years.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daneellard 4 reviews from this member

As caravan virgins we chose this nearby site for our first (autumnal) outing to try and get the hang of things (Lots & lots to learn, that's 1/2 the fun. )

We were very pleasantly surprised; the wardens were friendly, understanding of beginners worries and very helpful. The site itself was very pleasantly laid out and the toilet block was spotless. The Tawny owl calling most of the night was very pleasing as were the distant roars of the lions - YES really!

This site gave us an excellent introduction to caravanning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom sally 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful site very well kept with excellent facilities. The showers were hot and the cubicles have plenty of room. Very dog friendly with two dog walks on site although these are not fenced in. It was pleasant to walk around the site in the evening as it is so pretty. Visited Bourton on the water (very busy) and Bibury which is well worth a visit. Also had a lovely drive round the Rissingtons and some of the smaller Cotswold villages. Close to Brize Norton so you can get some aircraft noise but we love C130 transport planes so not a problem for us. The only downside for us was there wasn't a village or pub close enough for us to walk to. Overall though a very good site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

We arrived on Easter Sunday for a 6 night stay having left our booking too late for the whole easter weekend and we're not surprised to have very little choice of pitches on this busy site. We plumped for pitch 80 which was a grass pitch as no hardstandings were available. The very helpful wardens said we could move the next day when they were expecting lots of departures but we decided to stay put as the pitch was large, well drained and near the water, waste & elsan point.

We were lucky to have fabulous warm & sunny weather to enjoy this lovely area. The Cotswold Wildlife park opposite is an absolute must - well kept animals who visitors can get really close to. The lemur enclosure where the animals wander freely amongst visitors was a superb experience and the giraffes viewed from a raised platform so close you could have stroked their heads as they grazed from hay baskets (although signs tell you not to touch so we didn't).

Bourton-On-The-Water and Stow-On-the-Wold are both lovely and Oxford is well worth a visit but parking there is very expensive.

The site itself is one of the best we've been to with beautiful, clean facilities and powerful showers with plenty of hot water. Very friendly wardens and a well kept site with a good children's playground suitable for a variety of ages.

We had a nice meal at Wetherspoons in Witney (Mr Cameron's constituency) and some excellent fish & chips from 'The Harbour' in nearby Carterton where there are several other takeaways to chose from.

The only negative I could say about the site is that the traffic around is sometimes slow moving due to visitors to the wildlife park.

All in all a superb site - so wonderful that we've cancelled our planned trip to Cambridge at Spring Bank Holiday in favour of another trip to Burford. Excellent!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 47 reviews from this member

We had a great time on this site. It is a level green site with plenty of trees.

The toilet and shower block were super clean and warm and had plenty of hot water.

The wildlife park is opposite and you can buy discounted tickets from the site office.

We cycled from the site every day and were able to find quiet country lanes nearby.

Took advantage of the Wi-Fi which is a bargain if you intend to use other Caravan Club sites as it is valid on them all.

Only reservation is that you cannot really walk into the town of Burford because it is a busy road with no foot paths.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Oxfordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019