Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Island Meadow Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Stratford Upon Avon > Island Meadow Caravan Park Reviews

Island Meadow Caravan Park
Mill House
Aston Cantlow
Stratford Upon Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
B95 6JP
Tel: 01789 488273
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 34
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Anne Bedder 5 reviews from this member

Spent may bank holiday site full

Chickens run about and their droppings walk into the toilet block, !

Facilities were very outdated and not cleaned everyday.

The womens block had a horrible smell.

Old towels to wipe your hands certainly not hygienic.

Washing up area very dirty. Sinks left dirty.

Noisey one night with nobody on patrol to ask for the loud music to be turned down

Not value for the cost

Certainly would not recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leclartie 2 reviews from this member

Have visited this beautiful site several times now. Owners are tremendously welcoming, friendly and helpful. The facilities are immaculately clean. We have never visited to find them dirty. Rubbish bins dotted around the site are emptied several times a day.

It is somewhere we will always come back to.

I have never experienced rowdy or noisy neighbours, on the contrary I have always found it to be restful and tranquil.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2discover 3 reviews from this member

The site is in a peaceful and quiet location with a friendly welcoming owner. Lovely walk to the nearby village with a good foodie pub. On the site the shop is well stocked, the local baker supplied croissants and Cornish pasties.

The main caravan field is surrounded by an outer perimeter of statics with grass touring and tent pitches on the inner perimeter without any borders between pitches. The site was full over the bank holiday weekend with family groups.

The central area is effectively the play area with no restrictions on ball games such that balls were hitting the awning (fortunately not the caravan), The noise went on unchecked until after 11pm, adult campers chasing each other with water almost running through our awning, loud music until midnight, basically unchecked mayhem and no respect for other campers.

The grey water point requires the waste lifting over a low brick wall and the toilet block is out of the 1950ís. Clean but old fashioned, basic facilities with tatty mats on the floor ; a trip and health hazard. A single hand towel was provided for all to use in the facilities ! That is simply not acceptable !

Unfortunately we cannot recommend the site; for the money charged we could have stayed on a full serviced pitch with modern up to date facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ByTheSea 2 reviews from this member

This site is a little gem and I'm so glad we chose it for our main holiday of the year as the location is seemingly rural, yet within minutes by car you're able to visit Statford-upon-Avon and Warwick.

We received a warm welcome from Katharine who showed us to our plot and around the site and was around for most of the week, she was accessible and very helpful.

We camped as a family of 4 (2 kids under 10) with electric hook-up. Our plot was on the main meadow and was nice and flat, with plenty of space to either side to give us privacy. All the plots were in a 'circle' with the central area being free for families to play in. The site has many static homes placed around the edge of the island, some with pretty gardens and the owners were really friendly, as were the other campers. More informal camping areas were in front of the house and in the rear meadow.

The site has a really relaxed rural feel and was pretty on the eye. The site has a David Bellamy award for conservation. As the site is on an island there are a few foot bridges and the weir area. It felt safe to let the kids play freely, but if you had toddlers you'd want to watch they don't roam near the water. There was a small tree house and a football goal for the kids to use. Chickens and geese roamed freely around, which isn't for everyone but we really enjoyed them (yes there was a little mess but not an issue for us).

The shop on site is a gold mine - loads of provisions, milk, fresh bakery bread and pastries, alcohol, books, toys, etc.

The 'facilities' were in a block. The ladies included 6 toilets, 4 sinks and two showers (long and narrow). It was all functioning and was regularly cleaned. There was a hairdryer in the ladies. Despite the site being full, I never had to queue for the facilities but I did notice that on wet days the floors can look messy if people don't wipe their boots as they walk in. Mops and buckets are left around to enable people to clean-up - although it is high time the hop heads were changed and as the facilities are 'open' they do attract bugs on the ceilings.

The Gents showers are separated from the toilets and open to the outside. There is a disabled shower there too.

There is a small wash-up area (2 stainless steel sink units) which was kept clean with washing-up bowls. Next to it was a washing machine and tumble dryer - both work on tokens (£2. 50 each) and worked well, with baskets available to carry your washing.

The chemical disposal area was close to the wash-up area - not ideal, but separated enough not to be a health issue. There were also leaflets on 'what's going on' in the area.

There were 'service points' dotted regularly around the site, so you never had to walk far for fresh water or for bins/recycling bins (the bins were emptied daily).

Activity wise there is a lot to do in the region, from Warwick Castle (look for deals & buy online to save money) to the full Shakespeare experience around Stratford. There are stables near by too and lots of walks to take from the site and a good pub near by (we didn't go there but everyone else we met raved about it). Rides on the river and up the canals.

The site is a hidden gem and I look forward to going back sometime in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggie fry 1 review from this member

Excellent site, excellent facilities, with lots of little extras like soap in the washrooms, washing machine and tumble dryer.

Well stocked shop, very kind and helpful owner who rented us a static caravan when our tent decided to let water in.

Lovely surroundings with geese, ducks and hens roaming around, and also the rabbits and squirrels.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PipskiMaripski 1 review from this member

What a lovely site! We found this gem and booked in two caravans for the weekend of which we were blessed with the weather. It was a lovely drive in, site is flat and greeted with geese wandering around everywhere.

We had four large dogs between us and there was more than enough room for them on long leads in the lovely grassy area around the caravans. The walks straight off site are particularly lovely and dog friendly, pleas look out for livestock though before letting off the lead. The lady who runs this was lovely and the shop is just like Dr Who's Tardis, incredible!

This is a very quite site, no road noise, just sat in deckchairs listening to sheep and pheasants. You are surrounded by a ring of static caravans but we didn't mind this as everyone is going about their business. We had a very relaxing weekend and hoping to go back next month for another weekend.

Please note, the toilets and showers, which seemed fine to me but I never expect state of the art toilets when caravanning are being redone next Winter. Any mud on the floor the owner explained is sometimes left by walkers who come in and use the toilets but aren't actually staying at the site. We found the toilets and showers clean and had no problems!

Will definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slowroad 49 reviews from this member

Thanks to Island Meadow for finding space for me and my little tent on a busy Bank Holiday weekend! The site was busy and lively but the space given to me was quiet and peaceful.

There's a main area where there are many static caravans, some with lovely gardens, and in the middle is a central area where large tents can go. Then there are several hedged areas near the house which presumably used to be garden and orchards, which is where smaller tents were.

The facilities were under some pressure as the site was so full, but I never had to queue, and apart from a bit of mud on the floor, everything stayed clean. There is a very well-stocked site shop - I was sorry that I'd been shopping before I arrived!

Aston Cantlow is a very pretty village with two pubs which each had an event that weekend. Nearby there are lovely canal walks and cycle rides on the Stratford Canal. Alcester is a lovely little town with some great shops.

I've every intention of coming back here, I'd spend longer next time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 45 reviews from this member

A very pleasant and unexpected find! We were travelling down from Scotland and wanted a stopover near Birmingham, and were squeezed in as a last-minute booking.

In fact this would be a good site for a longer stay.

The site is unregimented, and the owner understands the needs and interests of campers. They have a little shop in the back of reception and seemed to have a very wide range of products on offer, including reasonably-priced wines.

It is fairly convenient to the motorway but far enough away from any major road to guarantee a quiet and peaceful stay. Lots of birdlife as well as resident geese and ducks. Our only suggestion is that the toilet, shower and washing-up facilities are given a major overhaul and more space. Although clean, they seem to be a left-over from the 60s.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

Lovely site. One of the best we've visited. Owners are very friendly and helpful.

Ground quite flat, not much levelling needed when you arrive.

The shop is small but has a huge range of stock - just about everything you might need.

Downsides - just a couple. The toilet block could do with a hand dryer, the communal towel isn't good. And the roads have immense potholes that need filling in.

But overall, a 9 out of 10 here. It's a great site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ockie 4 reviews from this member

Island meadow brought back fond memories of how much fun camping used to be. We only got to stay one night here as a stop over on our way back home, but we will definitely be back again for longer next time.

Reasonably close to the motorway network it is well worth a short detour to find this hidden gem. The owner couldn't have been more accomadating finding us a pleasant little nook in which to pitch up and then went to the trouble to check that our nieghbours were ok before she left.

The kids all seemed to be having fun in a safe supervised environment, but not being an open plan layout meant the noise was never an issue as it is at some sites.

The toilet block facilities were kept clean and other than the cubicle being rather cramped and a bit dated they did the job without any cause to complain.

The little shop at the back of the house is simply a cornucopia of goodies ready for all ages to spend their pocket money, so be warned, you will buy something.

We would certainly recommend Island meadow if you are looking for a traditional camping at a reasonable price run by people who clearly take pride in their site.

Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4215 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019