Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Somers Wood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Somers Wood Caravan Park
Somers Rd
Meriden
Coventry
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV7 7PL
Tel: 01676 522978
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 48
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 120 Reviews
                9/10 from 120 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Very attentive staff on booking and also on the day as we had experienced heavy traffic and were running late. They kept reception open for us. 23pn. WiFi pricy at 2 per day.

Points to note :

Electricity is 10A

The Golf Club stops serving food at 6. 00 pm (bar open till 8. 00)

Only 3 showers and 4 cubicles for all the men on the site

Reception only manned from 10. 00am and closes at 3. 00 pm in Winter and 5. 00 pm in Summer.

We used this site as an overnight en route to North Wales and would do so again. Very convenient to motorway junction. Not much around for a longer stay in our view.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elizabeth James 1 review from this member

First time visit to this lovely little site and I'll be back! So close to the NEC made the Saturday so much easier. Facilities are excellent, lovely showers 5* on my personal rating. The cats and I enjoyed wild life watching on a lazy Sunday. Very helpful staff and a warm welcome even though I was late after being stuck in traffic.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon 75 2 reviews from this member

First time at this fabulous site and it won't be the last.

Helen and William are lovely people who make you feel welcome and the site is beautifully laid out with luxurious showers and toilets.

There are some lovely walks from the site and the towns of Welshpool and Newtown are close to vsit.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ct955 41 reviews from this member

Our 3rd visit to this peaceful adults only site. Facilities are spotless and never had to queue. Very dog friendly as walks available from site. We walked into meriden and enjoyed Sunday lunch in the pub. The staff at the site are friendly and helpful. A perfect place to chill out or use to visit the many attractions within a short drive.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almightyquinn 2 reviews from this member

Very clean campsite, staff and owners are very friendly, good easy access for caravans, excellent dish facilities and there is a small library on site, there are free showers on site as well, also has a passscoded barrier so no random people can get in.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CEW3A 23 reviews from this member

A lovely, clean site, very peaceful & quiet (though our first night I was woken by the birds-at 2:50am -what was that all about?! It is surrounded by trees & the heated toilet/shower block has piped Smooth Radio to sing along to! There were 2 sinks opposite the 4 toilet cubicles but an additional 2 cubicles with a sink & mirror & towel rail (with lots of hooks) so you could get washed in privacy if not having a shower. There were 2 shower cubicles, with a glass inner door in the shower tray. Again, plenty of hooks for hanging clothes, towels etc & a storage tray in the actual shower to put shampoo etc. The indoor washing up/laundry room is lovely. Plenty of work surface (just like ours at home!) and although there were only 2 sinks, it was never busy when we were there.

The village of Meriden is a short walk away, but there's not much there. We had no choice but to walk as we found ourselves stranded as unfortunately our car brake servo unit failed on the journey to the site! We arrived safely but the car had its own expensive holiday at a nearby garage, which Alison & her husband recommended. Thanks to Alison too for allowing us to have the Green Flag mechanics on the site & to tow the car to the garage.

There were no direct recycling bins on site; we were told it all goes in the general waste, to be sorted at the depot.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KeithChesterfield 12 reviews from this member

Well laid out site near two Golf Courses and plenty of walks nearby.

Waste bins are all near the entrance/exit which was a fair walk from our pitch bins central would have been better.

At the Motorhome point it was difficult to get rid of waste water without a long pipe from our waste tap and it is very difficult to park a 7 metre MH anywhere near the grate. Relatively quiet site except for distant aircraft noise as they land and take off.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Colouredcob 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site so we could visit relatives that live nearby. On booking in and paying we were told of the site rules and told firmly that we were not to drive on the grass. Fare enough till you realise that the pitch is rather difficult to get onto as they are opposite one another and caravan cars are often parked across the hitch end of their van as awnings are also not allowed on the grass area. It seems nothing was allowed onto the grass area and on putting up our quest screen house to store my aunts mobility scooter we had to have a photograph sent to the owner who was away for confirmation that we could keep it up. The option was the awning safari room which would not have fitted onto the hard standing and had to go onto the grass which was also not allowed. Every caravan that turned up during our 5 day stay had to unhitch and use a motor mover to get onto the pitch. If you never had one you were pushing the van which was not easy for one elderly couple. The showers on this site are the best I have used, loads of hot water, clean warm and spacious. No timer button to keep pushing and no coin operation either. Pipped music from the radio and use of a hair dryer. The walk from our pitch to the showers was a little difficult as the lighting at night is poor down the very far end of the site and I managed to leave my torch at home! 1 dog is allowed but additional dogs are charged for. I never used the washing up or laundry facilities so cant comment but found the walk to the site entrance in order to dispose of the rubbish from our pitch at the very bottom of the site rather difficult due to mobility problems. A waste bin mid way would have been ideal. I ended up using the mobility scooter! Wifi and satellite TV had to be purchased and I did not do this but had I started to pay for these extras I would be looking at the cost of a Premier Inn and getting my bed made and bin emptied! I loved the fact it was adults only and was peaceful. Would I stay here again? Probably not. But I didn't need all the facilities this place offered and would have gone for a lower budget allowing me to stay longer somewhere for the same budget.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mazzey 4 reviews from this member

This adults only site is ideal for RV's and larger rigs with several pitches in a separate area near the entrance with easy access and good for manoeuvring.

It is within easy walking distance of two golf courses and about a mile away from the local shops and pubs - albeit quite a boring walk along a busy road into Meriden - where you can also catch a bus to the NEC. The lovely site is surrounded by mature trees, so pick your pitch according to sun or shade. The disabled and main facilities are very good. The toilets have a good flush, showers with glass doors (no curtains) and very clean, but take a torch with you if you make nocturnal visits!

Ideal wash up and laundry area in a bright spacious section (not open air) and staff very friendly and helpful. Internet purchase available but only works on one device at a time, extension cable available for electric on deposit and Sky TV lead can be hired or purchased as we could not get a TV signal on our own rig.

Coventry motor museum is a must visit - it is free and had some lovely old exhibits and a decent bistro attached. Waitrose at Solihull - a pleasant drive away near to lots of trendy eateries.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyham648 7 reviews from this member

Nice friendly site, entrance easy to overshoot when arriving for the first time using sat-nav so beware. Nicely laid out and all amenities near by, dog friendly with dog walk nearby. Used as a overnight stop to and from Wales. Easy access to NEC from here.

Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019