Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Dalesbridge Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > The Dalesbridge Campsite Reviews

The Dalesbridge Campsite
Austwick
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA2 8AZ
Tel: 01524 251021
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 100 Reviews
                7/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Phoennixxs11 4 reviews from this member

 We have just got home from a wonderful 4 nights stay here. First time I have been back in over 10 years. I must say what a pleasure it was to revisit.

The COVID-19 restrictions meant the showers were limited in number and times were 3 hrs per day 4pm-7pm But the measures the staff had gone to to keep everything clean and safe were impressive,

The owners were so friendly and helpful. Very strict regarding noise after 11pm, staff would walk around asking people to keep the noise down politely.

I wouldn’t hesitate to return or recommend this place. Beautiful scenery and close to Malham cove/tarn and ingleton. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nessmanuk 12 reviews from this member

 I stayed here 3 nights outwith the normal season unlike most of the recent reviewers. I agree with the comments about the toilets being a bit dated BUT the site has been taken over 18 months ago by Amy and Ross with whom I had various conversations and they are aware of the shortcomings and are addressing these.

It was a delight to stay here helped in no small way by the enthusiasm of Amy and Ross who were helpful and willing to impart their knowledge of the local area - a part of the world I knew nothing about but their suggestions of what to do were spot on (The Courtyard Dairy Cheese Shop just along the road being one).

The bar was open on the Saturday night which was a pleasant place to while away some time especially as the weather during the day was not of the best (well it was November!)

I fully intend to return to this area and will have no hesitation in returning to this site. I wish them both the very best in their endeavours to improve the site and stamp their own personalities on it.

Cheers a very happy client 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dieselcowboy 3 reviews from this member

 In November of this year I visited Dalesbridge campsite in my Motorhome. As you may know, November in the Yorkshire Dales can be very wet indeed, so when I made my booking online at the site, I specifically booked a hardstanding pitch, not only to ensure that my motorhome would have no trouble getting on and off the pitch, but so I wouldn’t have to cope with bring mud and dirt into the motorhome from the grass on a normal pitch.

Imagine my surprise to be directed to a grass pitch by the owner. He informed me that there were two small areas of plastic buried in the grass that the rear wheels of the motorhome would sit on when parked. As my van is front wheel drive, the instant the vehicle left the track it got stuck. After shouting at me for “ruining the grass” the owner fetched his Land Rover and dragged my motorhome sideways and splattered it with mud.

He site has NO full hardstand areas as I imagine them, at least a gravel type area if not full tarmac. To charge for hardstand without actually having any I think is misleading.

The charges are also expensive for limited, outdated and grubby facilities. The roof on the toilet blocks is lifting off due to age and water damage. There is NO greywater disposal area at all for motorhomes. The on site bar is very expensive with limited choice.

There is no dog walking area, or dog waste disposal point, despite a charge being levied for dogs.

In short, until considerable money and effort is spent to bring the facilities up to an acceptable standard, I could not recommend anyone to stay here. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ironox 3 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to book and pay for. On arrival (Easter weekend) the reception staff were friendly and helpful. As we were on a grass pitch without ETU we could choose our own pitch.

The smaller top field was full so we selected a pitch on the larger main field, there were a good mix of campers and tourers and there were loads of space for kids to play. The field was well drained and ideal for tent pitching, a mallet may be need to fully drive in tent pegs.

Although it was quite close to the main road it wasn't noisy at night.

The facilities were adequate but tired and in need of modernisation, the toilets/showers were clean considering the amount of people using them. Washing up facilities consisted of four sinks in two separate rooms but during busy time hot water was not available. On the website it advertised that a freezer would be available for freezing cool blocks, however this was located in the reception and only available during reception hours.

The views from the site were nice, given the location I would return but improvements to the facilities would improve the experience. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Dalesbridge is located just off the very busy A65 which you can see from the site and although we could hear it, it did not disturb us. There are lovely views from the site.

We chose to do Whernside on our full day there, followed by Ingleborough which is about a 20 min drive away.

Booked our pitch online, although other than the limited EHU spaces we were told on arrival to pitch where we wanted. Site map was provided so we knew where to find everything. Other than checking in at reception, we did not see any of the staff during our stay.

We did ask if there was food available on our last morning, but was told they did not serve breakfast to campers but that this was something they were considering for the future.

Did not have small children with us but the ones that were on site looked like they were having a great time enjoying the space on the field, even though there is no play park.

The MASSIVE downside to this site are the facilities. I could only describe them as grim; not enough of them for the size of the site, not cleaned regularly enough and poorly designed with no separate toilet area - there is a shower, toilet & sink in each cubicle which meant queuing on each visit.

We visited Easter weekend & did not have any hot water (there are signs saying the hot water may run out during peak times due to being run on cylinders but each time I went to use the facilities the water was cold). A couple of covered washing up areas are provided with only one plug socket accessible in one of these should you need it if you are non EHU. Improvements are desperately needed for the facilities on this site.

Would only choose to stay here again if nowhere else was available due to the facilities. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: YorkshireBlue 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the weekend, and as there are no recent reviews I thought I'd add one.

The site is under new management - in fact they only recent taken over in the last month or so.

Firstly, great location - just of the A65, near Settle. Austwick is a short walk away. The location lends itself to fantastic views - particularly within the large field.

Considering it was a Bank Holiday weekend, and we booked late and was told there were only two spots left - there was a lot of room. I'm not sure if people cancelled due to the weather, but if not then it possibly the roomiest site I have been to.

Facilities - toilets/showers are individual stalls. Not the most modern, but certainly clean. There is also a bar, which served pizzas over the weekend in the evening. Although stock is limited so get there early if you want to get in. Also offer barista coffee, and breakfast sandwiches. Not sure if this is just a weekend thing. No children's facilities like a play area

Noise – The site is helpfully split between the family field, group field and ‘the rest’ – mainly couples. This meant the noise levels were well respected by everyone, which I appreciated. As someone who has camped in all three types (families, couple and group) it was great to be with like minded people.

Pricing – I would say it was at the high end, and to be honest in it’s current state it doesn’t live up to the price. That being said, the owners have big plans – especially in regards to modernising the facilities, so I would go back once these redevelopments have taken place – because the view is worth it. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paspa2 6 reviews from this member

 Very flat pitches, and well drained, (even during the thunderstorms we had there). Good views. There was some noise from the nearby road. Friendly staff and helpful wardens.

Good facilities, wash-up rooms very good. Plenty of showers in separate cubicles, but these were a bit scruffy. A good site for a few days stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne F 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in Aug as we are keen walkers and cyclists. The site is in a good spot, although very close to the main road. In keeping with other reviews the facilities are outdated and quite grubby.

However, the main issue for us was with the noise. Despite notices all around the site saying noise was to cease at 10pm this was roundly ignored by residents and staff. Sat night we were kept awake until after midnight by loud music. Sun night we were disturbed by a large group playing games around the tents again until after midnight. We spoke to reception on Monday and they assured us the wardens would deal with it.

Things got worse on Tuesday when a group of youngster got disgustingly drunk and proceeded to take branches from trees for a fire and generally ran amok. We felt unable to speak to them for fear of the violence being directed towards us. The wardens, despite sleeping in a Winnebago on site, never came to our aid. They must have heard the commotion! We have never had this experience in over 30 years of camping.

We spoke to the manager on Wednesday morning who, quite frankly, wasn't interested and left as early as we could. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swicky 8 reviews from this member

 This site is let down by the toilet block - this consists of separate small rooms each comprising a toilet, washbasin and shower. These weren't dirty as such, but very old and tired, so an unpleasant experience - the block badly needs to be knocked down and replaced entirely. Also, the water in the shower was barely luke warm - not good enough!

The charge was £29 for one night incl electric, (£24 per night if 2 nights or more), which I think is exorbitant given the state of the toilet block.

Don't go on the hardstandings unless you have no choice - they're right next to the bunkhouse etc buildings and you don't really feel like you're on a campsite. We asked to be moved to the camping field, and the husband and wife staff, who were lovely throughout our stay, always smiling and helpful, kindly allowed us to.

They'd only been there 10 weeks or so, but were doing a great job. They recommended and printed out for us for free a route description of a 5 mile walk from Austwick to Fiezor and then back via Wharfe and Oxenber Woods - it was tremendous, great views to the Bowland Fells, Ingleborough and Pen-y-Ghent, and the primroses and bluebells were out in force. We even saw a stoat!

However, to get to Austwick you need to cross the A65, which makes it not the best situated site in Austwick (there are 2 others better situated, in my view, near the hamlet of Wharfe).

Note there is TV and (maybe) wi-fi is you go on the hardstandings, but not on the field.

The field itself is lovely, kept nicely mown and with good views. However, and despite the pleasant staff, until the toilet block is upgraded, we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jancar50 2 reviews from this member

 We gathered here for a family 2 night stay with 4 tents, 6 adults and 6 children under 4. Generous pitches with plenty of space for the children to play and explore. Very helpful booking and reception staff. It was ideal for our purposes but have to agree with a previous review that toilets and showers need a deep clean or new toilet seats at least.

Well situated for exploring Iots of beautiful villages and countryside with a nearby beck which kept the children very happy. Noise from the very nearby A65 is pretty constant but not a problem and we enjoyed 2 excellent nights sleep. 


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Dalesbridge Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Dalesbridge Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Dalesbridge Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement