Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wilton Farm Campsite And Working Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Wilton Farm Campsite And Working Farm Reviews

Wilton Farm Campsite And Working Farm
South Pool
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2RR
Tel: 01548 511431  or  07813 790651
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 26/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Buffal 1 review from this member

 Great place to stay for a couple of nights, good location. Kept clean and tidy with nice hot showers.

Plenty of space and I was able to chose my own pitch, took my dog too so meant I could park away from other people to give him room on his long lead. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianwd 7 reviews from this member

 Great location as others have mentioned. Friendly and helpful owners.

Facilities are basic but cleaned daily. 4 showers and 5 toilets (1 added whilst we were there). 2 water taps.

The composting toilets were fine when we were there, but I think everyone was using them properly.

Honesty boxes in place for the shop and showers (handy if you don't have the right change etc).

They will empty camping toilets for you, but no place for you to do it yourself (so you rely on them doing it, which was ok for us).

Basic shop, but has the essentials (ie bread, milk, matches, eggs etc). Big freezer for the ice packs and there is power for a few devices to be charged (not that we needed it).

But if you ask the chaps, they'll sort you out with whatever you need.

2 fields (although a 3rd overflow was used when we were there), the one with the view to Salcombe has a bit of slope on it. But the other field has a good view too and is flatter!

Dark skies great for star gazing, well off any main roads, so really quiet too (maybe too quiet as we get to hear all the snorers in the field!).

No hookups.

Some rope-swings for the kids, but they all end up playing in the middle of the field anyway, so didn't miss a play area.

Narrow lanes getting there with a few tight bends and squeezes but nothing insurmountable.

Phone signal and 4G was good in the site, but go into the coombes (ie Southpool) then don't expect to get anything!

No washing up sinks and no hot water to the 'Powder Room' but we didn't use it anyway.

Overall a great site to get away from it all. I would happily return.

It was very busy the last weekend we were there, so word is out!

Kingsbridge is about 15-20 mins away by car (depends on how many times you need to go backwards). 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Person 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a week on this campsite. This is a great basic campsite with lovely views of Salcombe and the Kingsbridge estuary in the distance from some pitches. We paid 18 a night for 2 persons in a large tent which is reasonable for Devon and Cornwall in peak season. There is plenty of space across 2 large fields. The campsite had some of the prettiest compost loos with fairy lights at night in any campsite I've ever been to. They were also emptied twice a day and had plenty of loo paper and were kept clean. The showers did the job and were quite sufficient. I guess it depends on how basic you like your camping but the only improvement I would love to have seen was an outdoor washing up sink for dishes and rinsing swimming costumes as the only two sinks on site were in the powder room - we used a tap and a washing up bowl.

The farm shop was excellent and provided most basic food necessities. There is a good bakery in Frogmore and a garage/convenience store on the road towards Kingsbridge which also has a camping/outdoor shop where you can get camping equipment and gas cylinders. It is within easy walking distance from the local pub (the Millbrook) in South Pool. It was about 20 for a main course in the evening with seafood specialities and busy with boaters who'd motored in on the tide from Salcombe, however there are also excellent pubs in East Prawle (Pig's Nose) and another (the Globe) in Frogmore which are within reasonable driving distance. You can also get the ferry to Salcombe from East Portlemouth.

It should be noted that once you get off the main roads, a lot of the driving locally is down narrow lanes with passing places.

All in all, it's an excellent place to base yourself for exploring the South Devon coast and countryside. 


Date of Visit: June 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Ratty 252 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful farm site and is quite easy to find and offers stunning views over the Kingsbridge / Salcombe estuary.

We emailed initially our enquiry and they came straight back with a phone call and email advising they had space and to just turn up and settle in and see them in the morning, as we were arriving late.

Upon arrival there is a small shop selling fresh produce, milk, eggs, bacon, tinned food, BBQ and fire pit hire, logs for sale, etc. This was all very well priced and perfect for any of those small items you may have forgotten.

The site is made up of two fields both with stunning views of rolling countryside and the estuary.

Each field has fresh water points and a toilet and a shower. We stayed in the top field and the toilet was a compost toilet and the shower (x2) was warm and functional and did the job perfectly.

Nearby is the village of South Pool with a small pub, although we didn't try it, but Kingsbridge is only a 15 minute drive away which is a stunning town with walks along the estuary and plenty of shops from touristy ones to a Tesco and more.

Also nearby is Salcombe, Dartmouth and so much more. Walking is plentiful from the site too.

For 12 a night for two adults and a dog this site is great value for money and I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ekingwell 1 review from this member

 Fantastic open space with no chance of feeling too squashed. Friendly welcome and well stocked little farm shop. Eco toilets and showers available. Don't expect anything fancy; this is a lovely, basic campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eggyteapot 2 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site in the heart of the countryside. This is a very basic site a field with toilets and showers. The toilet is a compost toilet in a shed and wash facilities in a shed next door. There's also two shower rooms. All seem well kept but basic. The tent field is slightly tilted down so not all pitches are flat. But you are surrounded by gorges farmland you have to travel down very narrow windy roads to get to field. But because of this its not near any busy roads the only thing you will hear is the sound of sheep.

This site is perfect if your looking for basic and away from the traffic. Just beautiful countryside and villages to look at. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilton Farm Campsite And Working Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilton Farm Campsite And Working Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilton Farm Campsite And Working Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4715 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement