Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kestrel Lodge Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Kestrel Lodge Campsite Reviews

Kestrel Lodge Campsite
Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4QX
Tel: 017687 76752
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mikejd 1 review from this member

 A great quiet site, excellent pitches and clean facilities.

The site owners are lovely and very knowledgeable about the local area and surrounding walking routes, many go directly from the site!

A bonus is the small shop, fire pits and local pub!

I will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helen98 25 reviews from this member

 As we did not have electric hook-up we could pitch where we liked, each fire pit marked out a different pitch. You leave your car in the car park, but can drive it to nearer your pitch for loading. As mentioned in other reviews, the owners could not have been more helpful, especially with hints and tips on local walks.

We visited in coronavirus times, but the site had been organised to reduce the risks as much as possible. It did occasionally mean queuing for the bathroom or for a washing up sink, but I can't see how that could have been avoided while still following social distancing guidelines.

The shop was also shut, but there was a small honesty box arrangement for snacks and essentials, we could still use the freezer for freezer blocks, and we could still buy firewood and kindling for campfires.

The site has a 10pm quiet time and this seemed to be followed by everyone, it was very peaceful. For me the best bits of the site were the views, campfires and space.

In the local area we enjoyed canoeing at Bassenthwaite Lake and Crummock Water, stand up paddle boarding at Derwent Water (we hired the kit from the marina and had a great time)and a few not-too-long walks: lake side in Keswick; Dodd wood; Sale Fell and Latrigg. Apart from that, the Puzzling Place in Keswick was worth a visit on a rainy day.

Overall we had a great time, and would happily stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Moomargaret14 1 review from this member

 We loved every minute of the stay. The campsite was lovely. Very clean facilities and very well set up considering the situation.

Very friendly staff to help with any questions. We were made to feel very at home and welcome. Very enjoyable visit.

Would definitely return and recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Countrymouse 5 reviews from this member

 The best site I've been on in 30 years of camping. Perfect location and excellently run. A list of lovely things about this site in no particular order:

- it's only a 15 minute drive from Keswick but it's up a mile of private road and there's not a car to be heard when you're on site

- the facilities were immaculately clean all the time including clean hand towels

- all the pitches are large and have a fire pit and if you don't need electric you can choose your own pitch

- great views

- there's always some shade to be found somewhere on site

- there's a space left free of tents for running around playing and it's got a tyre swing

- 4 cats, 3 ponies, 2 dogs and a guinea pig - all quiet and friendly

- little shop with bread and milk, snacks and fire supplies (open 9am-10am and 5pm-6pm)

- the ice pack freezer is accessible all the time, so you can swap them at midnight when you've inevitably forgotten

- excellent recycling facilities

- you can access the cumbria way direct from the site

- there's a washing machine and a hair dryer, the showers are hot and free and have lots of hooks in them. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen41 5 reviews from this member

 I really enjoyed my stay - plenty of walks from the site and the owners are very friendly. I would certainly visit again. During my visit I had amazing weather - Keswick was the hottest place in England! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Nelehp 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site.

Facilities clean and smart.

Site lovely. Owners beautiful people and very friendly.

Neat little site and peaceful. But ( road up due to other campsite owner below kestrel lodge destroying it by digging trenches ). Broke our towing system. Disgusting. Behaviour. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schokker 1 review from this member

 Despite the fact that the campsite was wet we got such a warm welcome that we stayed on this site for are whole holiday. We felt very safe on this site because the father of the owners was present at all times fixing things, giving very useful advice and going out of his way to make your stay a very good one. It was not a very glamorous site but I would swap all the luxury for the 'family feel' of this campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amblingswan 4 reviews from this member

 This is a great wee site but sadly we were defeated by the mud. The owners were very proactive, offering extra ground sheets to try and help but we'd step onto the middle of ours and muddy water would flow right over the edges the ground was so saturated.

Campfires were great and very impressed at how clean the toilets were, given how muddy the campsite was (and such a stunning view as you walk back). Many pitches are on a slope, I thought this may help with drainage but ultimately just meant the kids kept sliding out of bed.

Loved everything about this site. Except the mud alas. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naich 17 reviews from this member

 A well run campsite, nestling in beautiful surroundings. The owners are friendly and always willing to help. Dave seems to be always on the go, sorting something out to make sure the whole site runs like clockwork. The facilities are good and are cleaned twice a day to make sure they are always spotless, whatever the weather is doing - usually raining!

We stayed there during a period of unusually high rainfall and things got pretty soggy. But that's why it is the Lake District, and Dave provided us with boards to stop the ground in front of the tent turning into a quagmire. When the rain stopped the ground dried out in a couple of days, showing the site had better drainage then some other local sites, which had to shut down due to flooding.

My only complaint would be the state of the road leading up to the site. The bumps and potholes made going in and out quite a long and arduous process.

The local pub, The Sun Inn, is well worth a visit. It has a few local ales and excellent food, including a good vegetarian selection. It gets very busy though so book a table. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DHAR 2 reviews from this member

 I booked Kestrel Lodge after reading the previous reviews on this site. It didn't disappoint! We booked a regular pitch. There was plenty of room between tents and each had it's own fire pit. The facilities were clean and well maintained and the couple who run the site were very friendly and helpful. We had torrential rain but the covered area with picnic benches meant we could still cook and eat outside. The guy who manages the site made a decking doorstep for each tent to help reduce the mud, which was a very helpful touch. The site is in a stunning location with lots to do nearby and it has a lovely atmosphere. It's a really good find and we will definitely return. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kestrel Lodge Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kestrel Lodge Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Kestrel Lodge Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement