Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kestrel Lodge Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Kestrel Lodge Campsite
Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4QX
Tel: 017687 76752
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Countrymouse 5 reviews from this member

The best site I've been on in 30 years of camping. Perfect location and excellently run. A list of lovely things about this site in no particular order:

- it's only a 15 minute drive from Keswick but it's up a mile of private road and there's not a car to be heard when you're on site

- the facilities were immaculately clean all the time including clean hand towels

- all the pitches are large and have a fire pit and if you don't need electric you can choose your own pitch

- great views

- there's always some shade to be found somewhere on site

- there's a space left free of tents for running around playing and it's got a tyre swing

- 4 cats, 3 ponies, 2 dogs and a guinea pig - all quiet and friendly

- little shop with bread and milk, snacks and fire supplies (open 9am-10am and 5pm-6pm)

- the ice pack freezer is accessible all the time, so you can swap them at midnight when you've inevitably forgotten

- excellent recycling facilities

- you can access the cumbria way direct from the site

- there's a washing machine and a hair dryer, the showers are hot and free and have lots of hooks in them.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen41 4 reviews from this member

I really enjoyed my stay - plenty of walks from the site and the owners are very friendly. I would certainly visit again. During my visit I had amazing weather - Keswick was the hottest place in England!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Schokker 1 review from this member

Despite the fact that the campsite was wet we got such a warm welcome that we stayed on this site for are whole holiday. We felt very safe on this site because the father of the owners was present at all times fixing things, giving very useful advice and going out of his way to make your stay a very good one. It was not a very glamorous site but I would swap all the luxury for the 'family feel' of this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amblingswan 4 reviews from this member

This is a great wee site but sadly we were defeated by the mud. The owners were very proactive, offering extra ground sheets to try and help but we'd step onto the middle of ours and muddy water would flow right over the edges the ground was so saturated.

Campfires were great and very impressed at how clean the toilets were, given how muddy the campsite was (and such a stunning view as you walk back). Many pitches are on a slope, I thought this may help with drainage but ultimately just meant the kids kept sliding out of bed.

Loved everything about this site. Except the mud alas.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naich 16 reviews from this member

A well run campsite, nestling in beautiful surroundings. The owners are friendly and always willing to help. Dave seems to be always on the go, sorting something out to make sure the whole site runs like clockwork. The facilities are good and are cleaned twice a day to make sure they are always spotless, whatever the weather is doing - usually raining!

We stayed there during a period of unusually high rainfall and things got pretty soggy. But that's why it is the Lake District, and Dave provided us with boards to stop the ground in front of the tent turning into a quagmire. When the rain stopped the ground dried out in a couple of days, showing the site had better drainage then some other local sites, which had to shut down due to flooding.

My only complaint would be the state of the road leading up to the site. The bumps and potholes made going in and out quite a long and arduous process.

The local pub, The Sun Inn, is well worth a visit. It has a few local ales and excellent food, including a good vegetarian selection. It gets very busy though so book a table.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DHAR 2 reviews from this member

I booked Kestrel Lodge after reading the previous reviews on this site. It didn't disappoint! We booked a regular pitch. There was plenty of room between tents and each had it's own fire pit. The facilities were clean and well maintained and the couple who run the site were very friendly and helpful. We had torrential rain but the covered area with picnic benches meant we could still cook and eat outside. The guy who manages the site made a decking doorstep for each tent to help reduce the mud, which was a very helpful touch. The site is in a stunning location with lots to do nearby and it has a lovely atmosphere. It's a really good find and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JacquiR 6 reviews from this member

Location: This is a scenic location beyond Bassenthwaite but that does mean that it is a bit of a way from local amenities and attractions. The access track is a bit bumpy in places and rough track for a significant length.

Facilities: The toilets and showers were clean but they are quite cramped and there is nowhere even in the disabled/ family room to change or dry a baby. It had undercover washing up sinks and a freezer to refreeze blocks. The wardens sold a few items from their hut during their limited opening hours. There are some undercover picnic tables in the middle of the campsite which are great if you need to eat outside and the weather is inclement.

Child friendliness: Our children loved exploring the wooded area at the corner of the campsite, running and making dens together. It was great to have this area for them to play in. There is also a field for ball games.

Overall: We enjoyed this back to nature campsite and the children loved playing in the woods but we wouldn't stay here if we were trying to visit lots of different parts of the Lake District.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Halfpint78 9 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a wonderful week at this site.

This site ticks all the boxes for us. No bells or whistles just the basics done extremely well: Spacious pitches, clean and warm toilet facilities, small shop for basics, washing up sinks and somewhere to freeze ice packs.

What makes this site stand out is the atmosphere. It's out of the way, so quiet and peaceful. The staff were so accommodating and regularly did the rounds checking in with campers. A relaxed pace and plenty of opportunities for walking. We came home tired from all the fresh air and activities and smelling faintly of smoke.

(Beyond the site we would highly recommend climbing at King Kong in Keswick, Via Ferrata, and kayaking from Nicol's End marina)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsHPresents 3 reviews from this member

Just spent a lovely weekend here at Kestrel Lodge with friends.

The campsite is the perfect size, big enough that you're not on top of one another and small enough that even at the far end of the campsite like we were, it wasn't too far for the midnight loo break!

The toilets and showers were beautifully clean and well appointed, despite the full campsite with many kids on site.

The other facilities were great too; the undercover dining area and fire pits dotted around, plus the bits and bobs in reception in case you forgot something.

The owners were very friendly and happy to help. If you fancy a walk, take a look at the list on their website as the directions are well written and there's a few which go straight from the campsite.

If you fancy eating out, the Sun Inn pub in Bassenthwaite is at the bottom of the road, only a 25 minute walk. The food is good, real ales available and dogs are allowed inside.

In a nutshell, we really enjoyed ourselves and are working out when we can next come back! If only to say hi to Mo the shetland pony, and the guinea pigs!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kathryn Shires 1 review from this member

A massive thank you to everyone at Kestrel Lodge campsite in the Lake District. We'd thoroughly recommend the site to anyone and everyone (although I'd hate for it to get too busy as I'd be cross if we couldn't get in!) The site itself is beautiful and the facilities are spotless. The family who own it are really friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. And its in a beautiful area - near to lots of places but miles from anywhere - just my kind of place! We'll be back !

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2690 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!