Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Merry Sur Yonne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Merry Sur Yonne > Camping Merry Sur Yonne Reviews

Camping Merry Sur Yonne
5 Impasse Des Sables
Merry Sur Yonne
Burgundy   (Browse area)
89660
Tel: 00 33 386 34 59 55
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliguth 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 17 nights on this lovely site. Nice welcome from the owners got things off to a good start. Got to choose our own pitch which is always good. Site was only about 10% full at the time, so plenty to choose from!. The upgraded showers/toilets are excellent and more upgrades are planned for next year. Restaurant was very good indeed and the wee shop had all the basics. Set in a rural area beside the river and canal, it was the most peaceful site we have ever been on. The site offers free tennis, bikes and canoeing. A rarity these days. All in all another wonderful holiday. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anglais 9 reviews from this member

 Situated in a lovely region with both river and canal in immediate vicinity providing good cycling and walking opportunities.

Reception was prompt, welcoming and genuine.

The camping area is huge with good hardstandings plus grassed areas which are probably more suitable in summer months. Excellent dog walking/play areas.

On our visit the publicised games room was not available apparently due to local planning permission issues which have also accounted for delays in improvements in other areas. We were offered the use of a personal Playstation.

Washing up facilities were basic (in the course of being updated) but showers, toilets and chemical emptying were well fitted out, clean at all times and hot water was plentiful.

The restaurant is well furnished and has a good atmosphere. An evening meal was excellent with OH proclaiming it was one the best meals she had ever had (well done Zak). Chinese themed dishes were quite authentic which was a pleasant surprise as in France we have found they are often too mild in flavour/spices for our English palates.

We didn't use the shop but it seemed well stocked with the essentials and bottled gas is available.

The site is still a work in progress in some areas and once planned improvements are completed should become a first class, all year round, venue. We will visit again soon.

Bon chance Zak and Dave. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oxter 71 reviews from this member

 A decent site with Brit owners. Lovely setting by river and canal and great cycling along the Nivernais Canal. Attractive restaurant with good food. Loos still being refurbished but nice. Wifi throughout is free and and at South of site good line of sight to Astra Satellite for TV viewing.

Good marked pitches - possibly long Cable necessary. Scenic area. ACSI 11 p. N. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kathjag 1 review from this member

 Lovely site in beautiful area with lots of interesting places to visit. Owners very friendly and accommodating. Showers and toilets being updated when we were there but still usable and will be excellent when updates completed. Restaurant very good. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kempsons 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at this lovely site. The area is really beautiful with lovely old buildings and stunning scenery.

The owners are only to happy to help with any queries, helping to find a gym for my son to go to even offering to phone them to make sure he could just go for a few days.

There were 3 toilet/showers plus the disabled one & two separate toilets. The separate sinks were connected when we were there. They were spotless at all times & constantly being cleaned. The men's showers were being worked on but there had been a delay in french building regs.

There were two sinks for washing up and also two in the campers kitchen.

The restaurant is not cheap but we did eat there one night, we had homemade pizza & burgers and it was really delicious, no different to what you would pay in Uk for good quality food. The only negative was that I thought the shop was a bit expensive.

Our two teenagers were happy playing tennis, there was giant chess & a circus skills club. The games room is due to be completed in the autumn. They also plan to have an indoor swimming pool in the next couple of years. Cycling is great with cycle paths at the end of the village. We went for walks & saw people free climbing the amazing rocks nearby.

Auxerre is full of so many lovely old buildings you are spoilt for choice. We can highly recommend the waffles with Nutella from the cart in the centre. We also went to the Sunday market at Chablis which goes right through the centre of the town.

Our favourite place to visit was Vezelay, it was quaint & stunning with amazing views from the top behind the church.

For the price of 18 per pitch per night it was fantastic value and comparing it to the pristine popular site near St Omer that we went to on our way back to Calais we can guarantee that it will be camping merry sur yonne that we will be returning to as we all preferred it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jandegodfrey 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site with plenty of shade & open pitches. New(ish) enthusiastic owners very keen to make our stay pleasant & memorable. Facilities being updated, including superb shower/toilet block, campers' kitchen with microwave etc. Which is a first for us, new washing machine & dryer. Bar, restaurant, shop, tennis court, children's play area on site, River Yonne across the field, cycle paths, rock climbing on the Roches de Saussois opposite, Plenty of interesting places to visit locally, Clamesy, Guedelon, Vezeley etc.

Cannot agree with review of Smithard, who appears to have been here at the same time as us!

Will certainly book again. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithard 11 reviews from this member

 The setting is well worth the visit with riverside/canalside walks and cycle routes. And the area generally is lovely. The site has great potential, is large, airy, peaceful and the only constraint on where you park is the length of your electric lead. Sunny and shady pitches available. BUT. The owners have prioritised the restaurant, bar and shop which are money spinners and have neglected to provide what, in my experience, most campers want. Decent showers, toilets and washing up facilities. Those at this site are the worst I have seen in 40 years of touring in the UK, FRANCE and SPAIN. There are three showers, unisex. Insufficient provision in itself but the problems is compounded by the fact that the toilets are contained within the shower cubicle. Three people showering means no toilets available, and vice versa. Also, anyone using the cubicle for the toilet alone, in wet weather leaves the floors filthy for anyone then wanting to shower. There is a sink in each shower cubicle but only one is actually connected to the water supply. Nowhere else to wash one's hands. There are no other sinks and no provision for shaving. Sink, warm water, mirrors. Only one shower unit has a mirror, two have pegs for clothing, none have shelving for toiletries. The owners claim to be providing more showers but there was no sign of any such work while we were there. The washing up facilities are one double basin, very small, with one hot water tap to supply both. And this broke after a few days and took several days to be repaired. Quite simply, until the owners face up to their professional responsibility to consider their camping clients this remains only a site with potential but not currently one that can be recommended to others 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anna Camper 9 reviews from this member

 Having read the website we were looking forward to luxury toilets and showers. These did not exist, there was only 1 toilet that had a wash hand basin to use after using the toilet. The floors were awash with mud and water. After getting a shower which I had to queue for, my feet were wet and dirty. I needed a bath for my aching limbs but found that was another non existent facility. At times the showers were cold. Fellow campers were having the same experience. My children were so let down that the gamesroom and computer did not exist. It was very boring for teenagers. Children did not seem welcome. The main emphasis on the site was the restaurant which was far too expensive for familes on a budget to use. There were no bikes to hire and no giant chess either. I promised with other campers to submit an honest review to help others making the same mistake my family had. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Merry Sur Yonne child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Merry Sur Yonne?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Merry Sur Yonne dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Merry Sur Yonne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement