Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Min Y Don Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Min Y Don Camping Site Reviews

Min Y Don Camping Site
Beach Rd
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2UH
Tel: 01766 780286
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 140
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The site a C&MC affiliate and is just as well kept and run as club sites. Quick check in, despite no booking. Offered our choice of pitches. The pitches all have ehu, water and waste, on hardstanding with grass areas seperating from next van.

Toilets and showers were immaculate and well heated. Push button showers, good hot water and decent pressure. There is a washing up area and a laundry. Drive over motorhome waste point and a chem disp.

Good large dog walk at the end of the site, plenty of room to run the dogs in an enclosed area. There is good wifi across the site but its charged (sorry don't know price).

Its a 5 minute walk long the road to the beach, miles of sandy beach in each direction, absolutely stunning.

We only stayed one night so for us the walk along the beach was enough to fill the afternoon. Its a lovely site and one we would not hesitate to use again. At £24 in low season its not cheap but the facilities and the maintenance of the site do show in the cost.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

Flat site located at the base of Harlech. The 100 touring pitch site (all fully serviced and hardstanding) is located ¼ mile from the Beach Road entrance/reception through the sites static home ‘village’.

The sites toilet/wash-up/laundry facility block is modern spacious and clean – outstanding. Free Wi-Fi, and good TV reception, at £ 22. 00 low season prices very good value for money. Closest shop is the local Premium store located at junction of A495/Beach Road.

From site easy ½ mile walk through golf course/sand dunes takes you to miles of sandy beach, ¾ mile very steep (25⁰ and 38⁰ roads!) takes you to Harlech and its dominating World Heritage 13C castle. The railway station is ½ mile from site and has regular 2 hour service to Porthmadog (£ 2. 90/return with senior pass – excellent value for money), and Barmouth.

Harlech itself is quite disappointing and has clearly had much better and prosperous days, however from the site the views of the castle and distant mountains (when clouds clear!) and wonderful.

Overall very nice site with great facilities and very good value, but not much to do in the immediate area and travelling is required to take in the sites and attractions further afield.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andypsmith 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site and location. Sat next to a beautiful beach and beneath Harlech Castle, with Snowden as a back drop. The site is so clean, neat, tidy and modern. The facilities are fantastic and staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and live on the campsite.

Good pub with food nearby. Harlech Castle is only a short walk and some lovely little cafes, and local, shops around the Castle that are a must visit.

Recommend this site highly. It was a real contrast to the quiet understated sites we had visited during our tour of Wales, but equally as enjoyable, and felt like a real upgrade on our first camping experience.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

A superb site with state of the art facilities (although I wonder whether they will be enough when park is full) The tourers are segregated from the statics and the whole site exudes efficiency. Most impressive! Very well placed between beach and town (half a mile in either direction).

£27 pn. (2 people + electric).

Harlech is a bit of a one horse town. Apart from the castle there is nothing really there.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kokie 12 reviews from this member

This was our first outing in our Motorhome. Staff were friendly at check in - but do not automatically give you the wifi code so ask. Pitches are level hard standing - but ours was not big enough for our motorhome and awning and it was very sandy which we were not impressed with. Also got asked twice to confirm it was an awning (which it was Vango Galli Driveaway). The toilet blocks are the best I have ever seen spotless, warm amazing really. Be aware there is nothing on the site but a well-stocked shop and swimming pool at the end of the road.

Harlech is lovely (very steep hill but worth it!) and it is very easy to get the train to places. Wifi is far from brilliant it gets over subscribed so you can't get on - and there are so many rules about what you can and can't do 4G is much better. Beautiful views overall we enjoyed it very much.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Supernannyjane 1 review from this member

It doesn't get much better than this.

- a perfectly maintained level site

- spotless and plentiful facilities

- the huge shower cubicles are wonderful

- very friendly staff

- surrounded by mountains and sea

- a well stocked convenience store at the end of the road

- and in God's own country!

Faultless! Probably the first time we have given 10/10 in all categories.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roving pair 30 reviews from this member

Excellent site. The staff are helpful and friendly in a lovely location although the walk into harlech whilst its not far is up a very very steep hill and not suitable for motorhome or a caravan ( I did see one attempt only to see them have to back all the way down!) Nothing much in Harlech very few shops which were closed when we went. But back to the site couldn't fault it the showers were spotlessly clean as was the rest of the site. Can recommend.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildvoice 17 reviews from this member

Stayed at min y don for a long weekend, two adults and two dogs in our motorhome. Our pitch was hardstanding with water and waste, the pitch was very clean and well presented, in fact as soon as somebody left the team moved in to prepare it for the next camper.

The site is well kept and the toilet/ shower block was spotless, my only gripe was, when you had a shower it was like being in a huge changing cubicle like the ones in asda, next etc, all grey with no curtain and why they don't have a large shower head instead of something the size of a garden sprinkler with the dreaded push button I really don't know.

Apart from this minor inconvenience Harlech is a pretty little place to visit, the castle is worth a visit and the beach just a 10 minute walk from the site is one of the best beaches you will ever find, also a short walk from the site is a shop for any bits and bobs and for the budding golfer the Royal St David golf course is a must one of the top 100 golf courses to play, and is adjacent to the site.

Overall we will visit the site again - well kept nice and quiet and clean pitches at around £22 a night. You do have to pay a £10 deposit for a pass card for the shower block but this makes sure only the site users use the facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bongoderek 6 reviews from this member

Recommended site. Booked for 3 nights and ended up extending to 6 nights. Flat, well kept site is separate from main holiday caravan area (caravan owners only use, not rented out). Best site utilities block I have come across and I travel extensively in UK. Great location with views of Harlech Castle and ideally situated for day trip visits to many parts of North Wales. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankiejudy 2 reviews from this member

This site is by far the best we've ever stayed at. The toilet/showers are amazingly roomy and in 2 halves so they're never closed for cleaning. The grounds are very well kept, as people were vacating the plots the gardeners moved in to do the borders etc. The staff are very helpful and cheerful.

The walk to the beach takes about 10 minutes walking over the sand dunes and is well worth it, miles and miles of unspoiled sand, and appears quite safe.

The town is also a short walk away as is the castle and again is worth the visit.

All in all it's a beautiful site where I would definitely make a return visit.

Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019