Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newberry Valley Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Newberry Valley Park
Woodlands
Combe Martin
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 0AT
Tel: 01271 882334
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: March 14th To October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 150 Reviews
                9/10 from 150 Reviews

Photos (20) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  150 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gibsoneerja 13 reviews from this member

Having chosen the site based on a combination of its' location, excellent environmental credentials and the universally acclaimed bathroom facilities, it was a real shame that we were deprived of making full use of the latter by a problem with the hot water for the last 3 days of our stay. At times, there was no hot water at all and we resorted to boiling the kettle on our camp stove in order to do the washing up. Arguably we were unlucky but it's not the sort of service you expect when paying premium rates.

Personally, I'm also not a fan of allocated pitches unless the site is genuinely full or sold out which it definitely wasn't. Particularly annoying when a flatter and larger pitch in the same section of the site remains empty for the entire duration of your stay.

That aside, the site is generally well maintained and the location itself is excellent. It's just a few minutes walk to the beach and into Combe Martin with almost direct access onto the South West Coast Path. Handy bus service to Ilfracombe which is a lovely resort and well worth a visit. Very small shop on site and a convenience store in the village - nearest supermarket is Tesco in Ilfracombe.

Loads to do in the surrounding area - walks on Exmoor, beautiful Lynton / Lymouth and its' extraordinary water-powered railway, great beaches and coves, plenty of activities (kayaks, coasteering, wake-boarding etc. ) and we'd definitely come back, just not to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two plus dog 6 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we have stayed on. A Premier site so it's expensive but well worth paying for the facilities and location. We've stayed at sites just a few pounds a night less and had no real facilities to speak of.

It's a 10 minute walk into Combe Martin via a footpath that avoids the main road. The site manager advised this. It's a large site spread out in sections in three tiers. The facilities were first class, two newish blocks with private toilet and washrooms, and shower rooms, there are no communal toilets/showers so you have complete privacy. However hubby tells me there is a communal urinal. The washing up and laundry facilities are excellent, spacious areas. But we are finding that campsites are charging quite a bit for use of washing machines and driers and this was no exception.

We chose a Premier hardstanding pitch which was in a section with just a handful of other campers so it felt quite private. However there are other parts of the site which had larger capacity so it would seem busier if you were located there.

The only negative that I can mention is that the tier just above us was primarily for tents and due to the close proximity they overlooked our pitch and unfortunately we were kept awake each night by a very loud snorer.

Combe Martin is a lovely little coastal village with beautiful bays, one beach is dog friendly.

Highly recommend the Dolphin Inn, excellent food and very friendly staff. Dog friendly downstairs and there is also a bistro upstairs if you prefer quieter area. There are regular buses to Ilfracombre which is about 4 miles away.

We will definitely come back to this site for all it offers on site and in the surrounding area. Maybe not in the school holidays.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michelm 3 reviews from this member

A great site with the best shower/toilet block I've come across in any campsite. It's in a wonderful setting tucked away in the valley with sheep for company. It was a bit disappointing we couldn't be located near our friends who had a camper van; we had both booked months in advance.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kbanner 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at Newberry with friends and the site is a little gem. The staff can't do enough to help you. So friendly. We were catching the bus into Ilfracombe and they rang the bus company to check prices for us. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The bathroom facilities are like nothing I've ever seen in 30 years of camping. There are no communal areas just large individual rooms with shower, toilet and sink. Complete privacy, fantastic idea. Easy to get bus to Ilfracombe or short walk to Combe Martin which is a great little place. Great lake for fishing and plenty of walking in the adjacent woods. Pitches are huge and the site is in a lovely little valley. There is also a great public footpaths from the site if you like walking. Our kids loved it. I can't praise this place enough. If you are touring the route down the New Barnstaple Road and then the costal road worked well for us. Finally, don't leave without buying a box of their eggs. Amazing

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paintermac 7 reviews from this member

On arrival we were given a very friendly welcome and we quickly relaxed after a long and somewhat fraught drive.

We were shown to our quiet spacious pitch which initially seemed close enough to the facilities but due to my personal inability to walk far eventually needed a short drive to use them. This was in no way the fault of the staff as I was initially offered a pitch change but stupidly declined.

The site is set in a lovely valley and during our stay was very quiet and peaceful. The pitch was quite big and had a useful picnic table provided, which was great as we enjoyed a continuous 10 days hot weather in 'MAY!'.

The facilities are quite different from anywhere else we have used. They consist of separate good sized individual rooms with a hand basin, toilet and shower, with NO HATED 20 SECOND PUSH BUTTON but a constant flow of hot water, amazing!

The surrounding area offered some interesting days out and unusually very few narrow Devon lanes.

Overall we had a lovely holiday based in a well kept, quiet and peaceful Newberry Valley Park.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alitextiles 1 review from this member

Really lovely site. Peaceful (even over Easter) which to be honest may have been to do with the weather, but the layout didn't make it seem crowded in anyway. Adorable alpacas on site, herbs you can pick for cooking, beautiful walks on site and straight down to Combe Martin beach and village. I was most impressed with having shower rooms complete with toilet and sink. Made showering a whole lot easier and more private. There is even a bathroom.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikecollier 9 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site! The staff were friendly and helpful, the modern facilities were kept spotlessly over a wet Easter weekend. The site is set in a pretty valley, with short walks on site. The village is a ten minute walk (downhill) with several pubs and a beach. We will definitely return!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ppickin1 1 review from this member

Excellent site with own fishing lake. Very helpful and friendly staff. With in walking distance of shop's, pubs, places to eat and the beach. Bus service to local town Ilfracombe and main town Barnstaple. Thoroughly enjoyed are stay.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mary16170 1 review from this member

We've just had the most wonderful 2 night with our dogs at Newberry Valley, such a beautiful peaceful location and a very comfortable and well kept site. The staff were lovely and so helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out of our van at 7. 15am (luckily we managed to break back in and avert a drama). Just a short walk to the beach and town of Combe Martin. We were touring the south and north coasts of Dorset and Devon and stayed on five different sites and agreed that Newberry Valley was our favourite. Would love to go back there sometime.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

This is a very nice terraced site in an excellent location, just a ten minute walk from the beach, shops, pubs, cafťs etc.

We had booked a large hard standing pitch which was indeed a good size and to our surprise contained a water tap. We really liked the pitch which had a great view, but felt that in a wet county like Devon a gravel area would be better for awnings.

The main facility block is excellent. There are four washing machines at a reasonable price and four tumble dryers, a free iron and one of the best laundry sinks I have used. My husband told me the dishwashing area was good too! There are 11 shower rooms with washbasin and toilet (includes 1 disabled), 6 private washrooms with toilet, 1 bathroom and 1 gents. The facilities were kept very clean but unfortunately most of them are not very well lit and I am reliably informed it is difficult to see when shaving. The only other comment I would make is that the shower flow isnít very good in some of the showers. We were lucky that we were near the main block as the facilities at the other end of the site looked quite meagre.

There is a facility to order bread, scones and other pastries plus various meats which I appreciated and can recommend the lamb & mint burgers.

The wardens were ever present and although it is difficult to get a smile from the lady wardens, the men were friendly and helpful and I would like to give a special mention to Chris who went out of his way to help us.

There are some alpacas and hens and a fantastic woodland walk which we particularly enjoyed and made the effort to walk as far as we could uphill and were rewarded with some lovely views.

The only downside to this lovely site was the noise. I appreciate the fact the site has to be maintained, but so do all sites and Iíve stayed on many well maintained sites. However this has to be the noisiest Iíve experienced with strimming nearly every day and constant zooming up and down by the wardens in buggies.

That said, the pros outweigh the cons and I would gladly return.

Previous     150 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2950 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019