Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ninham Country Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Ninham Country Holidays Reviews

Ninham Country Holidays
Ninham
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7PL
Tel: 01983 864243
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lilyle11624xy 1 review from this member

 Thorougly enjoyed our first camping, which was a lovely surprise, as we were prepared for the worst.

You never know what it could be like.

Very friendly campsite and nice clean facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Thedeedar 3 reviews from this member

 Been to Ninham once before and have already booked for 3 weeks next year. Great site good pitches and amenities block very clean.

Exceptional outdoor pool, small games room and children's play area.

Loads of nice walks close by and very near to supermarkets also only close to shanklin and Sandown beaches.

We found the cost extremely competitive including the ferry and staff very friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Slapcabbage66 9 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Ninham, and we were delighted with it. We were in the Orchard area on a fully serviced pitch, and had requested to be as near as we could to the disabled facilities for showers etc. We were allocated pitch 94 which was perfect.

We loved the peace and quiet, the site was very well kept and the toilets etc. Were all very clean. The pool is great too. We love Shanklin and Sandown and Ninham is perfectly placed to get to both with ease.

The staff were all extremely pleasant and efficient. We had a wonderful 2 weeks and the weather was sunny 95% of the time. BUT. The day we left, as we'd just hooked up to drive off we had a mishap and the caravan came unhitched.

The braking cable did its job well, too well in fact as we pulled up so sharply that the electrics were pulled out of the car socket and broke. The staff at reception could not have been more helpful to us at this very stressful time, and advised on mobile mechanics.

None could get to us that day so we were allowed to store the 'van in the nearby storage area until they could come then they sorted us out another ferry crossing so we could at least get the car home.

The mechanic was also great, fixed the problem within a few days and we paid by phone. We returned today, almost 2 weeks later and collected the 'van successfully. I can't praise the staff enough, they really eased a worrying situation for us.

We were so impressed we will definitely go back next year. Thank you again Ninham :) 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soobie 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely big site but it doesn't feel huge. Pitches are large. Nice pool which does get very busy but is kept clean and tidy.

Nice walk into Shanklin and to the beach, lots of lovely pubs and restaurants. Staff at the site are friendly and very low-key.

Toilets and showers are kept clean and never had to queue even when the site was full. Would recommend for a peaceful break. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shacar 3 reviews from this member

 For our third camping adventure we chose Ninham. Previous campsites have been truly excellent so a lot was expected from Ninham Country holidays and they delivered.

From the moment we spoke with Ann on the phone we felt confident that we could expect a good holiday as she was very friendly and helpful.
The site is accessed via a fairly long single track taking you well away from the main road, not an issue for us, but could be problematic for large caravans and motorhomes.

The pitches are level and huge! with stunning views. The site is very large and while we were there a TVR rally was held which was well attended, but you would hardly have known it was going on. Even over the weekend there were plenty of tents, campervans and caravans, but it never felt crowded.

The toilet and shower facilities are fabulous - very clean, very modern and hot water in abundance.

We did not use the lovely swimming pool or the games room, but they looked well maintained and attractive.

The only issue we had was the lack of a basic provisions shop. Due to the site being very extensive the walk to nearby supermarkets is considerable so necessitates driving, which rather defeats the environmental ethos of the site.

The main road outside the camp site is a typical IOW road - no footpath and fairly high speed limit. However this did not detract from our enjoyment of such a beautiful campsite.

We will definitely return to Ninham. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kemurf 7 reviews from this member

 Best campsite in the UK?!

Spacious pitches with so much room for the children to play

The cleanest showers and toilets (despite the rain) with plenty of hot water

Very good washing up facilities,

Exceptionally well maintained and pretty

Great play areas

Lovely pool, although we only used it once because the weather was poor

Very family friendly where children can play and meet happily

We stayed in the top field where there are a handful of statics. Great sunsets here. This field was exposed though so we felt we were getting the full blast of the wind and rain. I would choose a more sheltered pitch next time.

I cannot fault this site, We loved it and it reminded me of the lovely, spacious 'RCN' campsites we have stayed at in France. Wish we could have stayed longer to see more of the IOW but the weather was foul!

The site was not full, hopefully more people will visit it and discover what a find it is amongst all the naff, commercial holiday parks. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizeeknight 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. We stayed here with my brother and his family for 2 weeks. We were in the Orchard field. They offer different sized pitches we chose the XL as we had a Colman 15 x 15 shelter as well as our very large tents. The pitches were enormous. We had room for shelter in front and between our tents and a wee tennis court and then some space!

The campsite is eco friendly and situated near a little place called Lake. The approach is down a long track. There are fishing lakes and walks all around. There are a couple of paths from the campsite to Morrisons at Lake, it's approx a mile quite a pleasant walk you come virtually on top of the shop. Another path takes you to Shanklin approx 1. 5 miles.

The campsite has first class showers. Never had to wait they are free and push button type which has been pretty standard where ever I've stayed. Extremely clean. Loads of sinks and loos. There are also three sink cubicles and a baby change/washing room. They have a hairdryer which cost 20p but was long enough to dry mine and my sister in laws hair. There are also two sockets for your own appliances. There is a shelf which runs full length along with the mirror.

The campsite is Eco friendly as previously stated and they have no lighting at night however the lights do come on as you approach the shower block. Outside there are sinks (5) under shelter on the men's side and 6 on the ladies for washing up. No bins though but on the plus side it means no wasps! There is a laundry room with two washers and two dryers, there is also an ironing board but you either have to use your own iron or hire it.

For the kids there is a mini play area with swings an out doe table tennis table and two badminton nets/areas. Then there is another play area on the way to the pool. The pool is outdoors surrounded by sun loungers there's no lifeguard but that's not a problem we always went down with the kids anyway. The pool was never as warm as stated but it was fine once you were in, loads of fun. There's also a wee paddling pool for real littles. The pool is enclosed by fencing. Nearby there is a games room with two pool tables, table tennis and air hockey and specially for the nerds in the family a separate room with comfy sofas from ikea in bright colours with free wifi! It's actually advertised as a tv room. Decent sized tv with now tv. It was usually on but everyone would be plugged in to their devices lol. There's also loos down there and a couple of benches outside.

The campsite are very security conscious and they do patrol on mopeds not noisily though. At one point there were a couple of guys whizzing round semi suspiciously and they were stopped by the warded and asked very nicely to leave. They weren't staying the campsite but had met with some family the day before. However at this point the family had gone out for the day.

I thought the campsite to be one of the best I've ever stayed on as did my brother. Isle of Wight best beach as far as we were concerned was Compton, great sand, great for skimming on boards. We went fossil hunting and visited the Dinosaur Museum a teeny tiny place but totally brilliant with a fab knowledgable fun guy named Oliver who made everything really interesting. He also did the fossil walk. We did paragliding 20mins flight from the cliffs near Compton. Totally brilliant. We had adventure days with Isle of Wight adventures mountain boarding, kids adventures archery kayaking wall climbing, very good. Horse riding with Sally's riding at Nodes Point was gorgeous. Carries brook Castle Joust totally fab day out, garlic festival was also wonderful.

The kids ages were 10 12 14 and 25! There's definitely enough to do for everyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moriartyw 15 reviews from this member

 Big site pleasantly located not too far from the sea (is anywhere on the Isle of Wight?) but it had one major fault for me and that was the long rough uneven up and down driveway approach to the site! Dragging a car along it was bad news even in my 4 x 4 but dragging a caravan behind was worse. You can expect caravans to scrape the floor on some of the inclines if you van is quite long and you cop a pothole wrongly!

Amenities were very good on the main field but it was a hilly site with some steep slopes. Bare this in mind if you have old, or, infirm/disabled people in your party.

The children loved the swimming pool! Toilets were more than adequate and very clean for such a busy period. Well done to the site staff!

We stopped in the quieter smaller field which I was thankful of as I had recently hurt my knee in a fall and we had friends with us, two of whom had slight disabilities and as it was a lot flatter we were suitably pleased.

This site is not a modern site by any means and it was a long way to the water taps with a heavy barrel to drag back across grass. Roads could have been better.

Would we go again?

Well, yes. But, there are other better looking sites nearby that I might be tempted to try first!

Happy camping, Moriarty. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkperil 3 reviews from this member

 WOW! What a fantastic campsite. Surrounded by beautiful countryside. Peaceful and quiet. Lovely clean toilets and shower block. Never had to wait. Games room and leisure facilities brilliant.

2 pool tables, indoor and outdoor table tennis, outdoor badminton net and volleyball net. Small kids playground. Clean swimming pool with lots of loungers for parents.

NOW TV available in TV room and free WiFi in games room only. Pay elsewhere on campsite - we didn't bother - just popped to the games room. Lovely large pitch - we booked extra large.

Pitches set up in small areas with trees and bushes separating for extra privacy. Will definitely go back. Kids aged 16 & 13 loved it too.

Short walk through bridleways to Morrisons, Lidl and Shanklin town. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Micky55 3 reviews from this member

 Our third time here and again had a wonderful time made new friends and dogs made some of their own. This site never fails to please. ONE downside, I paid 28 for 2 weeks internet for 2 people, this was absolutely disgusting, no internet nearly all of the time and despite 3 long phone calls it remained the same, stay clear of SPARK4 or 5. Site again is lovely 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ninham Country Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ninham Country Holidays have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ninham Country Holidays?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ninham Country Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shanklin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement