Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ninham Country Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Ninham Country Holidays Reviews

Ninham Country Holidays
Ninham
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7PL
Tel: 01983 864243
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soobie 3 reviews from this member

Lovely big site but it doesn't feel huge. Pitches are large. Nice pool which does get very busy but is kept clean and tidy. Nice walk into Shanklin and to the beach, lots of lovely pubs and restaurants. Staff at the site are friendly and very low-key. Toilets and showers are kept clean and never had to queue even when the site was full. Would recommend for a peaceful break.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shacar 3 reviews from this member

For our third camping adventure we chose Ninham. Previous campsites have been truly excellent so a lot was expected from Ninham Country holidays and they delivered.
From the moment we spoke with Ann on the phone we felt confident that we could expect a good holiday as she was very friendly and helpful.
The site is accessed via a fairly long single track taking you well away from the main road, not an issue for us, but could be problematic for large caravans and motorhomes.
The pitches are level and huge! with stunning views. The site is very large and while we were there a TVR rally was held which was well attended, but you would hardly have known it was going on. Even over the weekend there were plenty of tents, campervans and caravans, but it never felt crowded.
The toilet and shower facilities are fabulous - very clean, very modern and hot water in abundance.
We did not use the lovely swimming pool or the games room, but they looked well maintained and attractive.
The only issue we had was the lack of a basic provisions shop. Due to the site being very extensive the walk to nearby supermarkets is considerable so necessitates driving, which rather defeats the environmental ethos of the site. The main road outside the camp site is a typical IOW road - no footpath and fairly high speed limit. However this did not detract from our enjoyment of such a beautiful campsite. We will definitely return to Ninham.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kemurf 6 reviews from this member

Best campsite in the UK?!

Spacious pitches with so much room for the children to play

The cleanest showers and toilets (despite the rain) with plenty of hot water

Very good washing up facilities,

Exceptionally well maintained and pretty

Great play areas

Lovely pool, although we only used it once because the weather was poor

Very family friendly where children can play and meet happily

We stayed in the top field where there are a handful of statics. Great sunsets here. This field was exposed though so we felt we were getting the full blast of the wind and rain. I would choose a more sheltered pitch next time.

I cannot fault this site, We loved it and it reminded me of the lovely, spacious 'RCN' campsites we have stayed at in France. Wish we could have stayed longer to see more of the IOW but the weather was foul!

The site was not full, hopefully more people will visit it and discover what a find it is amongst all the naff, commercial holiday parks.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizeeknight 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. We stayed here with my brother and his family for 2 weeks. We were in the Orchard field. They offer different sized pitches we chose the XL as we had a Colman 15 x 15 shelter as well as our very large tents. The pitches were enormous. We had room for shelter in front and between our tents and a wee tennis court and then some space!

The campsite is eco friendly and situated near a little place called Lake. The approach is down a long track. There are fishing lakes and walks all around. There are a couple of paths from the campsite to Morrisons at Lake, it's approx a mile quite a pleasant walk you come virtually on top of the shop. Another path takes you to Shanklin approx 1. 5 miles.

The campsite has first class showers. Never had to wait they are free and push button type which has been pretty standard where ever I've stayed. Extremely clean. Loads of sinks and loos. There are also three sink cubicles and a baby change/washing room. They have a hairdryer which cost 20p but was long enough to dry mine and my sister in laws hair. There are also two sockets for your own appliances. There is a shelf which runs full length along with the mirror.

The campsite is Eco friendly as previously stated and they have no lighting at night however the lights do come on as you approach the shower block. Outside there are sinks (5) under shelter on the men's side and 6 on the ladies for washing up. No bins though but on the plus side it means no wasps! There is a laundry room with two washers and two dryers, there is also an ironing board but you either have to use your own iron or hire it.

For the kids there is a mini play area with swings an out doe table tennis table and two badminton nets/areas. Then there is another play area on the way to the pool. The pool is outdoors surrounded by sun loungers there's no lifeguard but that's not a problem we always went down with the kids anyway. The pool was never as warm as stated but it was fine once you were in, loads of fun. There's also a wee paddling pool for real littles. The pool is enclosed by fencing. Nearby there is a games room with two pool tables, table tennis and air hockey and specially for the nerds in the family a separate room with comfy sofas from ikea in bright colours with free wifi! It's actually advertised as a tv room. Decent sized tv with now tv. It was usually on but everyone would be plugged in to their devices lol. There's also loos down there and a couple of benches outside.

The campsite are very security conscious and they do patrol on mopeds not noisily though. At one point there were a couple of guys whizzing round semi suspiciously and they were stopped by the warded and asked very nicely to leave. They weren't staying the campsite but had met with some family the day before. However at this point the family had gone out for the day.

I thought the campsite to be one of the best I've ever stayed on as did my brother. Isle of Wight best beach as far as we were concerned was Compton, great sand, great for skimming on boards. We went fossil hunting and visited the Dinosaur Museum a teeny tiny place but totally brilliant with a fab knowledgable fun guy named Oliver who made everything really interesting. He also did the fossil walk. We did paragliding 20mins flight from the cliffs near Compton. Totally brilliant. We had adventure days with Isle of Wight adventures mountain boarding, kids adventures archery kayaking wall climbing, very good. Horse riding with Sally's riding at Nodes Point was gorgeous. Carries brook Castle Joust totally fab day out, garlic festival was also wonderful.

The kids ages were 10 12 14 and 25! There's definitely enough to do for everyone.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moriartyw 15 reviews from this member

Big site pleasantly located not too far from the sea (is anywhere on the Isle of Wight?) but it had one major fault for me and that was the long rough uneven up and down driveway approach to the site! Dragging a car along it was bad news even in my 4 x 4 but dragging a caravan behind was worse. You can expect caravans to scrape the floor on some of the inclines if you van is quite long and you cop a pothole wrongly!

Amenities were very good on the main field but it was a hilly site with some steep slopes. Bare this in mind if you have old, or, infirm/disabled people in your party.

The children loved the swimming pool! Toilets were more than adequate and very clean for such a busy period. Well done to the site staff!

We stopped in the quieter smaller field which I was thankful of as I had recently hurt my knee in a fall and we had friends with us, two of whom had slight disabilities and as it was a lot flatter we were suitably pleased.

This site is not a modern site by any means and it was a long way to the water taps with a heavy barrel to drag back across grass. Roads could have been better.

Would we go again?

Well, yes. But, there are other better looking sites nearby that I might be tempted to try first!

Happy camping, Moriarty.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pinkperil 3 reviews from this member

WOW! What a fantastic campsite. Surrounded by beautiful countryside. Peaceful and quiet. Lovely clean toilets and shower block. Never had to wait. Games room and leisure facilities brilliant. 2 pool tables, indoor and outdoor table tennis, outdoor badminton net and volleyball net. Small kids playground. Clean swimming pool with lots of loungers for parents. NOW TV available in TV room and free WiFi in games room only. Pay elsewhere on campsite - we didn't bother - just popped to the games room. Lovely large pitch - we booked extra large. Pitches set up in small areas with trees and bushes separating for extra privacy. Will definitely go back. Kids aged 16 & 13 loved it too. Short walk through bridleways to Morrisons, Lidl and Shanklin town.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Micky55 3 reviews from this member

Our third time here and again had a wonderful time made new friends and dogs made some of their own. This site never fails to please. ONE downside, I paid 28 for 2 weeks internet for 2 people, this was absolutely disgusting, no internet nearly all of the time and despite 3 long phone calls it remained the same, stay clear of SPARK4 or 5. Site again is lovely

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aldersv 5 reviews from this member

We have just spent over a week on a family holiday at Ninham, having been looking for several years for a site to match our criteria on the island. We had a lovely time and booking was fairly easy and ferry booking also done by Ninham. On arrival we checked in, they request you park in a field by the entrance then walk to the reception through one of the campsites which is a little bit strange but I guess its cause they have limited parking at reception. I checked and was provided with a couple of bin bags one for recycling and the other for general, I was told that we were here over a week so we could come back and get another later in the week. I have given a brochure which contained a map and shown where the pitch we had booked was, as well as the toilets and rules etc all very efficient. Arrived at our pitch and one of the site staff for a short chat and rule reminder on pitching.

Showers/Toilets - I have to honestly say these were the cleanest facilities I have ever seen on a campsite, they were cleaned throughly daily by a team of two people. The facilities look quite new still which also makes a difference. There are a number of showers with one larger shower for families which had a baby bath in it. All the ladies showers had a couple of hooks and a bench to put things on. I have to say the water pressure I thought was pretty low but they were always warm. There wasn't any mop of bucket though to clean out the shower after use so they did get a little grubby on the floor from use as the day went on. The toilets are rainwater feed and as such again the water pressure was a little limited and when flushed didn't really get rid of the loo paper on first flush. I also got a text just before we left to say that there had been bad behaviour in the toilet block and therefore all children had to be taken to the toilet or shower by an adult. The text grated me a little (maybe me), its sad they that I presume something happened that bad to do send this, but I felt it spoilt it if the children (older children) had to come back to me to take them to the toilet.

Pool/Games area - It looked like they had just updated the games area. There was a area is a L shaped climbing wall, a games area with table tennis table/badminton court and swings, another one with a playground for small children near the pool and another area with just swings. All looked pretty new and well kept.

Swimming pool - two pools one small baby paddling pool and one other pool, both were heated although still felt a little cold to me, which I guess was why it was full of children ( who were having a great time) and no adults! There a limited number of chairs and sun beds provided and inflatables were allowed between 4 to 6pm. No lifeguard on duty however the pool is gated off and shut up at night.

Location- The site is quite away from sea, but also away from the main road so not much traffic noise, however there is a small airport just across the road light aircrafts fly over. Morrison is pretty much at the end of the long driveway and there is a walking path and bike path to cut through and also Lidl although a bit further you can cut through a pathway too. I would say the site can be quite exposed when the wind is up, it wasn't too bad when we were there but our neighbours said they hadn't slept for a couple of nights as they were worried the tent would blow away.

Pitches - I think were of a good size larger than normal standard pitches which held I noticed 8 man tents, so no need for an xl pitch for most tents. Pitches 49 and 50 had a cut through on them which everyone used to get to the loo block so maybe avoid those ones. Some pitches did have a bit of a slope on them.

Washing - As part of the new toilet block there were 5 sinks for washing up on each side, all very clean and well kept but some of the sinks were a little shallow, there is no bin by the sinks is I found unusual. There was also a laundry room in the block which had two washers and two dryers 3 for approx a 20 mins wash or tumble dry (not tokens like the booklet says)

They were quite busy and they provided washing baskets to help. I found people left there things in the washer and didn't come back for ages to empty them, there were two electric points which people seem to use to charge things up e. G. Phone etc. Also an ironing board was provided but didn't see an iron.

Rubbish - It is nice to see a place that actually does have recycling which we have find missing on other sites. They are very specific about this and got a text message half way through the week to say some people were not recycling properly and for everyone to consider this as it was part of your booking T&C's. The problem as I saw it was that the bins were full and that people were probably putting things in other bins so not to leave them out for animals to get - but who knows.

Games room - There is a games room with table tennis and pool and a few other things in one room then tv room which played movies from Now TV, it also had wifi access and was warm and had some comfy seats so was always quite popular, particularly with teens.

Noise levels - The sites asks for minimal noise between 9pm and 9am, generally it was very quiet after 10pm but 9pm perhaps a little early in the summer months while still light. However I have no issue with this.

Overall a nice site, lovely facilities, may return in the future. I just felt that the text message system felt a little intrusive, and they could have mentioned that this is what they were going to use your number for (then you would have expected it), I think things often come across badly in text messages even when sent with good intent,

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BethanAndJon 2 reviews from this member

This was my first time camping, but any concerns I had about the experience were quickly dispelled by this site.

The reception was warm and friendly, explaining the site in a lot of detail. We were in 'Willow' field and had a huge pitch compared to the size of our tiny tent! Our request for a quiet pitch had been acknowledged as we were on the end of a row, with no-one behind or opposite us.

We were travelling by bike, and there were bike-racks by reception where we were able to lock them up.

The games room was great.

The showers were nice and hot.

It was well connected by trails to get around the island without using the roads.

A happy first camping experience, I would come again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dafodil2919 2 reviews from this member

Lovely child friendly site my children enjoyed fishing using the swimming pool, TV room and the play areas. The toilets/showers were the most up to date and cleanest that we have encountered whilst camping and will be hard to beat for next years camping trip. We will be returning. The pitch size was enormous but we did book an XL one but in hindsight a regular one would have been fine. Only one downside we were in an open position and it was quite windy at times.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019