Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwent View Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Edmundbyers > Derwent View Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Derwent View Caravan And Camping Site
Pow Hill Cottage
Pow Hill
Edmundbyers
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH8 9NU
Tel: 01207 255117  or  07785 797748
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/02/2024 to 02/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Whimag 1 review from this member

 Lovely site dog friendly.

Very clean would return in a heart beat.

Excellent dog walks. Can walk to pub.

Pitch excellent and owners very friendly.

You can walk around Derwent water or in the woods. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sanjo9 1 review from this member

 Really friendly owner on arrival, beautiful views,

Good facilities clean just remember to take a hand towel as no hand drier or paper towels.

Overall a really relaxing place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jumping jack13 4 reviews from this member

 ( caught tab to say they did not reply by mistake, really fast response thank you )

Stop over on way up to Northumberland wonderful small really friendly and helpful owners and helper.

View of water was outstanding and lovely to see the animals up close to pitch

We both said we wished we could stay longer and had planned to stay on way back but the joys of motorhomin broke down in Edinburgh and had to be hauled straight home hope to return one day 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julieb 1 review from this member

 Just stayed at this beautiful campsite for 2 nights, even though the site is undergoing some work this didnít spoil our weekend.

If youíre looking for a beautiful quiet site with fabulous views of the reservoir then this is the perfect place.

The toilets and showers were immaculate at all times.

The family are fantastic, so friendly and helpful.

Cannot wait to see how the site looks once the work is finished.

Will definitely return in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GWTE 25 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site despite it being reasonably close to home and my verdict would be Ė if you like quiet peaceful sites this could be the one for you. It is expected that all music should stop at 8. 30 pm and no noise after 10. 30 pm. We didnít experience any noise at any time. The views of the reservoir from all pitches are excellent.

At present there are 10 pitches on site. The caravan site is on a slope although pitches 2, 3, 4, 5, 7 and 8 have been terraced. You will need chocks for all pitches. We were on one of the pitches that were not terraced but it was not too much of a chore to level the caravan.

The site had two showers/toilets, which are kept spotless, although you do need to remember to take a towel with you, as there are no paper towels supplied Ė good for the environment!

At present no meals are being cooked due to high energy prices. There are however teas, coffees, cakes and ice-creams on offer when the shop is open.

There is no wifi on site but the mobile signal was excellent so it was easy to tether the phone to our devices. The television signal was also excellent.

Blanchland is within 3 miles and Hexham is just over Ĺ hour away. Beamish museum is not too far away.

We would definitely stay at this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Secondedition11 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived only to be told no restaurant, bar or cafe. The amenities are being refurbished.

We had to drive over a field to reach a "hardstanding". We were assured the ground was solid there had been several motorhomes on it over the weekend.

It rained overnight with strong winds. On leaving the site it was obvious it was boggy. We got a call later in the day offering a pitch in the car park. Unfortunately it turned out expensive £90 for one night.

We ended up with the motorhome at a garage due to the mud clogging a sensor.

Sadly on this occasion it was a bad experience. The only thing going for it was the view. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shorey-Life 1 review from this member

 We stayed there in our campervan for a weekend. We had a fantastic time.

All the staff are very nice, friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The location is amazing and you can see a lot of work has been done to make this place special.

The food is delicious and so is the Boat Shack lager. The milkshakes are awesome.

I had the biscoff one and need more haha.

We will be back ASAP. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dinkydoblo 1 review from this member

 This place is just stunning, This is our second visit and wonít be the last by far,

Paul, His Family, And staff are the most friendly welcoming people you could ever wish to meet,

The Boat shack serves the finest quality food and drinks to suit everyone at really reasonable prices,

The facilities are spotless and everything exceeded our expectations,

This loving caring family even make time to rescue animals and provide them with a safe caring environment,

The views on site of the Derwent reservoir and surrounding hills are just perfect,

Very peaceful and quiet, The rules on site here mean everyone can expect a brilliant relaxing time without worrying who is gunna turn up next to you,

The only thing my wife and I dislike about this place is having to leave it to go home,

We canít recommend this place enough to people who love a bit of quality in a beautiful place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bry111 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting, very family orientated with the site quiet hours from 8pm.

The staff were very helpful, professional and family orientated in their approach and chatting to my son about the animals on site, which all have been rescued animals.

The site is well presented and clean, the food in the cafe was of high standard and the milkshakes have the approval from a 9 year old as exceptional.

Staff 10/10

Site 10/10

Food is 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Greynomads 1 review from this member

 Very clean, tidy and quiet site with great views of the nearby Derwent Reservoir, all this with superb woodland walks which are well signposted.

To hear and see an abundance of curlew, lapwings and skylarks was an unexpected delight.

Will definitely return. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Derwent View Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Derwent View Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Derwent View Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edmundbyers      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement