Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Northey Lodge

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Northey Lodge Reviews

Northey Lodge
North Bank
Whittlesey Road
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE6 7YZ
Tel: 01733 223 918
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RJ2stay 1 review from this member

 We liked mr andrews with his precise and curteous information and we are grateful he let us arrive after 5pm giving us the gate code, also joe the security guard was very helpful when we first arrived,

We stayed for 1 night, a grass pitch and electric hook up cost a reasonable £20. It was very peaceful,

Loved being amongst the wild life especially the lovely blackbird who we had given a blueberry to ( he took it and flew off to his fledglings or mate i think) and a cheeky robin who perched on the chair outside looking at us inside our motorhome!

A very nice campsite

We will recommend it to our friends and family for sure! 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judy-Richard 1 review from this member

 Good overspill location for the Peterborough motor show

Quiet pleasing location,

Could do with paying with credit card instead of insisting on cash payments, so site rules are displayed on the receipt of payments and out of hours arriving chasing of money’s is not a concern. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lornar 1 review from this member

 Was delighted to find social distancing in operation.

Plenty of room for each unit.

On one of the hottest days of the year was able to shelter beneath the massive hedges and escape direct sunshine completely

Quiet site, well run with friendly, empathetic staff.

As there were Covid restrictions I was unable to appreciate all the facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Emanem 1 review from this member

 Nice site, quite large and mainly grass pitches but mostly level.

Handy for Peterborough which is a nice a nice city to visit.

The entrance to the site a a little unconventional but once you are aware of it there is no problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Northey Lodge as an overnight to break an otherwise long journey. Very suitable as only 5 mins off main A47.

The pitching area is a very large; level & well prepared field which has been divided into areas/bays with closely planted Leylandii trees. This very effectively provides shelter and transforms the perception of a very large field. There is also a separate rally field.

W. C. /shower (free) facility is excellent and conveniently located.

Chem disposal is adjacent to W. C. /shower facility and water points are dotted about the pitching area.

Dog friendly (£1/night). Must be on lead at all times. Rally field designated as dog walking area. An extended dog walk can be had by going out of main gate, along a raised bank next to road for approx. 300 - 400m, then along the river path, which you could follow for 3 miles into Peterborough.

Nothing by way of amenities within walking distance, but Peterborough centre is 10 – 15 mins away by car or 3 mile walk along river.

A personal recommendation: The Brewery Tap in Peterborough. A smart pub serving Oakhams Ales plus a vast variety of other drinks as well as reasonably priced and authentic Thai food.

To sum up: A very comfortable site but without any local amenities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

 Very quiet campsite with lovely flat pitches and hedges all around. Good location about 10 mins from Peterborough. Lovely clean toilets and showers. Great price (£10 per night for tent + 2 people)

Even better if reception was open longer than 9-6 (we arrived at 6. 10pm and had to ring for security number to let us in). Could do with shop selling camping basics as there is nothing in walking distance. It was tricky to pay as we were out both days between 8-6:30 and this made campsite owner twitchy that we would not pay (he rang and asked where we were!) But would have happily paid by credit card over the phone if given the chance. Lastly, there was a door marked 'launderette' but it appeared to be locked. I guess this housed the washing up facilities that sadly we had to miss out on.

In summary, nice cheap and clean site that could be so much better with a little bit more customer service. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 30 reviews from this member

 After our curious night at the previous site in Biggleswade, I was a bit more optimistic about this one and I was proved right.

Friendly voice on the intercom and then the gates swung open. Checked in and got the gate code. Shown to the backpackers and cyclists field, surrounded by big hedges and away from the caravans. Shower in the laundry/dishwashing space (so you lock the whole room to use) but really nice as an instant heat electric, not the push button every 30 secs type.

Clean loos in the end of a building. There was also another loo and shower block, plus washing machine in a portakabin by the caravans but we didn't use it as the others were closer. One minor point I have email the owner with is the lack of a mat to stand on when you get out of the shower, so there is a slip risk as you step down on to a smooth tiled floor. But a minor quibble.

An easy ride back to Whittlesey over the river for dinner and a good undisturbed nights sleep.

Not much we could see for kids to do on site, but very close to Flag Fen for history and activities, plus the local cycle routes along the river, so bring the bikes. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleetwood2002 1 review from this member

 The site is located about four miles east of Peterborough along North Bank near the Millennium Bridge. Entry is through a secure coded gate access. The site is surrounded by high hedges and trees and is surprisingly quiet. However, I did feel as if I could hear some slight background noise at night from the McCain / Whittlesey Factory area some mile or so south of the site, but this was minimal.

The closest attraction is Flag Fen, as well as Peterborough Cathedral and Burghley House – best check tripadvisor or visitpeterborough for a fuller list.

The site facilities, apart from those advertised, were limited. However, the pitches were flat and there was a water point near the far end pitches at the east. The toilet / shower block (although warm) was outdated and located at the western end of the main camping field. There was also a small hut with some information leaflets of the area, but these seemed limited in what was offered. It was possible to get a good TV reception using an Omnidirectional aerial.

Reception was a through a small canopied window on the side of the house at the entrance.

Overall, generally a pleasant site and we are likely to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mambogoddess 11 reviews from this member

 Wow! This site has to be one of the quietest I have ever been to! My husband and I felt like we were the only ones there! Definitely a relaxing experience.

The reception closes at six and they prefer you to pre book.

The site is pretty big with conifer trees dividing up the site making the pitches more private. The pitches were spacious and very flat and the grass was in excellent condition.

The hook up was in good working order. We only used the smaller toilet block, the women's was extremely clean and smelt nice too.

We will be coming here again to chill out. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amy99 1 review from this member

 I highly recommend this campsite. I spent the bank holiday there with my partner and we both had a lovely time. The staff were incredibly helpful and really welcoming. The site itself is situated near a river which is a lovely setting.

I think the site is suitable for people of all ages, we are in our twenties and found things to do, BBQs are allowed and there's access to electricity on each pitch.

The site's very secure and I felt safe coming back late at night.

It's about a £10 taxi from Peterborough town centre with taxis running 24 hours a day. There are super markets no more than 10 minutes drive away.

After reading some of the reviews I was expecting the facilities to be quite poor however they were clean with soap and loo roll constantly stocked up.

I had a great time here and would definitely stay again. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Northey Lodge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Northey Lodge?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Northey Lodge dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement