Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holden Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Alresford > Holden Farm Camping Reviews

Holden Farm Camping
Holden Farm
Cheriton
Alresford
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO24 0NX
Tel: 07599553740
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 03/04/2022 to 27/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: EJR1501 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, spotlessly clean and close to Winchester. The field is large and not crowded at all. There is a small shop on site, selling milk, eggs and other essentials.

We could hear the road from the field, which is only a minor disappointment, as it is not a busy road.

Also, we were unfortunate enough to spend a very wet weekend at Holden Farm, and some parts of the facilities (not the actual field were we pitched) turned into a swamp. I am sure this would not normally be a problem, and the weather is obviously not the farm's fault!

Apart from those two very minor things, we enjoyed the weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sprucy 19 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent campsite astride the South Downs Way. I stayed for three nights with two friends. It is popular with families, cyclists and backpackers. The management couldnít have been more friendly and helpful.

There is plenty of space and you can pick your own pitch, with or without a fire pit. There are plenty of fridges, kettle and ice maker. Only two washing up sinks. Lots of sockets for recharging phones. Signal erratic, as it is in the local area. Extremely clean and Covid-secure.

Lots of space in the central area for kids to play, but the grass can be quite long so welllies or waterproof shoes recommended to keep your feet dry. Very good recycling facilities. You can do some walks straight from the site. The Globe pub at Alresford has a lovely garden overlooking the river with very good food. Not far there is the Long Barn garden centre with an excellent cafe indoors and outdoors.

The site shop has a limited amount of items on sale. Lots of lovely birdsong - you can practise distinguishing between a wren and a chaffinch, not to mention a song throughsh! One evening there was a barn owl flying around - look out for it.

There is a constant sound of traffic from the main road, but it is not intrusive, and with ear plugs at night I couldnít hear it. The only thing I didnít like, and this is purely subjective, the showers and toilets are unisex. But I can see how this would suit families. There is not much space between the wash hand basins and the toilet cubicles. The showers are of the push button variety.

All in all I would recommend this site, particularly on weekdays when it is quieter. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sandy Boardbag 3 reviews from this member

 Backpacking the SDW and this campsite was close enough to the path to avoid a massive detour.

Excellent communication re booking and welcoming and flexible attitude to hikers.

Good vibe all round, kettles and electrical charging points available.

Toilets / showers clean as was site generally.

Saw people who seemed to use this as a relatively local getaway site.

Basic but Very Nice! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rshel1 1 review from this member

 A very clean, toilets showers etc, all modern.

The owner was delightful, nothing was any trouble to her, help with directions etc

I would highly recommend this site which is right on the South Downs way

John 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: M0IAX 1 review from this member

 Really nice site, friendly staff and a warm welcome. Camp ground is in a large field on a working farm.

We stayed for 2 nights and had a fire pit which was great. The site had a few essentials for sale, hot coffee, cold ice cream and firewood as well as the all important marshmallows for toasting.

Pitches were a good size with more than enough room for our car, tent and my amateur radio antenna with room to spare for our dog to run around the pitch (tethered of course).

For any amateur radio operators reading the pitches are far from buildings and there was no background noise on any band.

A great site, we will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jglaz1 1 review from this member

 Excellent chilled site. Clean loos, showers and washing up facilities. Fridge, freezer and ice maker too.

Love the fire pit. Loved watching all the stars. So many lovely walks along nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janet1 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site the first time we camped in our campervan. We chose it as it was late in the evening & we needed to camp before driving home. The site was accommodating for our late arrival.

The field was extremely quiet as it was midweek, but seemed really large regardless. The site is tidy & well maintained, & the lady we dealt with was friendly.

The facilities were very clean, but we didnít use the showers so unable to comment. As this was our first camp we didnít really have anything to compare it to. We have since stayed at another 3 sites.

I believe we paid £30 for 1 night with a 3 year old & 4 year old. This now seems expensive, but the site was very nice, & it may be similar to the going rate for the area (we were a 4 hour drive away from home).

Unfortunately we canít be too subjective on this site, as our stay was very brief due to needing to head off quickly in the morning also. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KTee 1 review from this member

 An excellent little site! Only stayed the one night as we wanted somewhere relatively close to home to test out our equipment after a long break.

Friendly and welcoming staff and a lovely open field with a choice of pitches - worth paying a little extra for a firepit pitch. Facilities are simple but spotlessly clean and well maintained.

There are toilets, sinks and showers next door to a washing up area plus communal fridge/freezer and ice machine. Power points are available for charging your mobile.

The shop in the office is very limited so do try to bring everything you need, although you can pick up firewood and marshmallows for the all important campfire.

Definitely worth a return visit - we'll be back next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eckythump 9 reviews from this member

 What an amazing find, we spent a lovely 4 nights here.

This lovely campsite is a large field on the gentle rolling South Downs, having said that there is plenty of flat ground to camp on.

We were free to choose to pitch where we wanted, fire pits dug into the ground ready for use and regularly cleaned out. Although we don't have young children there was plenty of space for them to enjoy themselves.

The facilities were clean, and hot water readily available everywhere.

We will definitely be back, for a little longer next time! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geojay 1 review from this member

 I arranged a weekend of camping here with a group of friends based on the recommendation of some of the group who had visited before; my positive experience started when I called the campsite with a query about booking for a group and was met with a friendly and helpful response.

I really appreciated their flexibility when I didn't know how exactly how many people would be in my party at the time of booking, this was much appreciated.

I found the camping field to be spacious; we were arranged around the outside of the field with the centre left empty. Even though the site was apparently fully booked, there was plenty of space and good separation from the other pitches. The firepit and short cut grass around it is a good design.

The facilities were simple and well designed. Toilets and showers were always clean and there was never a queue for either. The showers were of a simple design but had lots of hooks and plentiful warm water.

The communal fridge and freezer were a boon considering that we visitied in a heatwave. The small ice maker was also very welcome but probably best to bring ice bags if visiting during hot weather. Dish washing was undercover, clean and with a good supply of hot water. On-site staff were helpful and friendly.

Thanks for helping us to have a great camping trip!

​ 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holden Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holden Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holden Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alresford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement