Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Severn Valley Touring Caravan And Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Severn Valley Touring Caravan And Camping Site
Awre
Newnham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL14 1EJ
Tel: 01594 516537
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnatthebar 1 review from this member

Just spent five nights here, very rural and quiet. Small site with excellent facilities. Great for exploring the Forest of Dean. No light pollution, good for star gazing. No shop but fresh eggs available to buy. Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pecker 20 reviews from this member

A hidden beauty sat quietly in the middle of nowhere but close enough to the Forest of Dean.

This site is in its second year and has a wonderful toilet and shower block. Each pitch has their own keys to gain entry into the facilities children are required to be supervised ensuring everything is left clean and tidy. The Hardstand touring pitches and perfectly level and generous in size.

Children need to make their own fun as there isn't a park on site or even close by to use. But enough open space to fly a kite.

Entry is thorough a gate that is always shut ensuring no unwanted persons come wandering around your unit. As lighting is kept to a minimum on a clear night you can star gaze. Fields are surrounded by working farm fields and animals which are pleasant to watch a short walk from the site takes you to River Severn banks or an even shorter stroll to a local cider producer.

A truly peaceful site not disturbed by any road traffic noise.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moorepw 4 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights here over the bank holiday. The site is spotlessly clean as are the facilities. In terms of location it is far enough away from 'civilisation' to not be disturbed by traffic/trains but within 10 minutes of a premier shop, pub and fish & chip shop. Within 20 minute drive there are plenty of brown tourist signs. We enjoyed a walk along the Severn from the village. The owners are lovely and really helpful, the farm animals are very well behaved! The only downsides are nowhere to freeze ice packs although not a major issue if you have electric hookup. The other is that this is a small site so if you are expecting to have space to kick balls around, if the site is full it's not really practical. However if you have smaller children that don't kick/throw balls too far or older children who are more likely to play boule it's not a problem as the pitch sizes are generous. If we were to camp in this part if the country again, we would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob blackwell 2 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet well kept site. Very friendly owners. Very clean loos etc, nice and level, would recommend this site, would certainly visit again.

The village is also adjacent to the site, with several very pleasant walks around it.

Forest of Dean has some spectacular scenic drives/walks.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mph818 1 review from this member

Has to be the one of the best sites we have been to (possibly the best). The reasons for both my wife and myself were the cleanliness, the neatness of the site and the superb facilities. Joanne and Robin couldn't do enough to help us enjoy a fantastic week away. We were lucky with the weather but the site really was a gem anyway! I truly loved everything about it. The site was completely secure and we were given keys for the get into the site and the facilities. The site is surrounded by fields on all sides with cows, calves, donkeys, guides fowl, chickens and sheep! Even the animals were well behaved and didn't make too much noise! I think that is what made it perfect for me - the peace and quiet. And, I have to say that not having DOGS on the site was sheer magic. No barking, no yapping, no dog poo to walk in, no brown stains on the grass made the site so perfect. I am reluctant to give a good review on a site that I really love because I always want to be able to book it up if we want a nice break away from the hustle and bustle. But in all fairness to Joanne and Robin I have to because it was perfection personified.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DHAR 2 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a four night stay on this excellent site. Communication during booking and prior to arrival was very good and the owners were friendly and helpful during our stay. The toilet and shower facilities are brand new and extremely clean - one of the best we have used. The pitches are generously sized and attractively divided by hornbeam hedging. Lighting on this site is deliberately minimal to allow you to experience the dark night sky. The only noise comes from the occasional baa of a sheep. It is a hidden gem we would like to keep secret for ourselves, but that wouldn't be fair. The Forest of Dean is within easy travelling distance and we can recommend the Cotswolds Wildlife Park if you're happy to go a bit further afield. Thank you Robin and Joanne for a lovely break x

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilgeeb 1 review from this member

A little piece of earthly heaven with friendly hosts and NO yapping dogs.

Absolutely first class amenities especially the disabled which my wife had to use. Very convenient for regional access as to the forest of Dean.

Good walking and cycling area, except for the A46. Care required as locals seem to forget the are not the only persons on the access road.

From the north take the 1st Awre signed (on left before the climb on A46 and from the South take the 2nd Awre signed on right at bottom of hill AFTER having gone through Blakeney.

CARE needed at this junction due to speed of traffic in both directions.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Saltyseacat 1 review from this member

My Wife and I had a 9 night stay at this site and enjoyed every minute of our it. The site owner had sent us lots of information and directions prior to our visit, which was very helpful. The site is very well maintained grass pitches which are spacious divided by small beach hedging. The toilet/shower block are first class, plenty of hot water, good facilities for pot washing, a high standard at disposal points for chemical toilet waste & grey water. The site is level with beautiful views across the surrounding country side. Nearest shops Blakeney with a good chippie. A good location for visiting the Forest of Dean where we saw Deer wild Boar Badgers and Fox. Good for bird watching better Spring & Autumn.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomelliott 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a weekend of peace and tranquility and we weren't disappointed. This little site is sat in the middle of farm land in the quiet village of Awre. The facilities are newly built to a high specification and immaculately clean. Upon arrival you are given keys to the facilities as they are kept locked for security and safety. The pitches are more than generous in size and easily swallow the whole unit and awning too still leaving enough room for socialising with friends around the BBQ. Although not fully serviced the pitches are only meters away from waste point and water, obviously power is nearer. The owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The main entrance to the site is gated and locked at night which all adds to peace of mind. If you like to relax in beautiful surroundings without the sound of normal day life in your ears then this is the site for you. It would form a perfect base for biking or walking in the Royal Forest of Dean or along the banks of the river Severn. Good luck to Robin and Joanne with this venture, all the hard work will certainly pay off. Try this site, you will love it, it is a Gem!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019