Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park
Modbury
(near Plymouth)
Ivybridge,
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SB
Tel: 01548 830542
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 15 March - 15 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Acting_strange 6 reviews from this member

This was our first time staying on this site and I can't really praise it enough. From the onset the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, including the loan of an additional power lead when ours wasn't up to it. The toilet facilities were exceptional clean, the pitch areas well looked after, with easy access to the drinking water, grey waste and black waste.

The little Pennymoor Cafe & Store on site was well stocked, again with friendly staff, and their little cafe supplied very nice home cooked foods, teas, coffees etc. We had the Fish and Chips on the Friday night and they were lovely.

It is worth taking note of the sites warning regarding ignoring your Satnav approach route and using the one advised, for the lanes down to it were the usual Devonshire, narrow, high hedged and worth avoiding.

Finally the views from the site were excellent, with easy access to many of the local beaches and attractions.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trailertubbies 2 reviews from this member

We had a fabulous week and a bit at Pennymoor last year. It seems to have been a couple of years since anyone added a review, but we are delighted to report that the campsite is still spacious, affordable and spotlessly clean, and the owners still wonderfully welcoming. We are hoping to go back this year for more of the same. There are warnings on their website about not trusting to satnav, we disregarded this advice at first and ventured down some very interesting roads as a result, some almost as wide as our car.

We really cannot recommend this site highly enough, ideal for a fairly quiet family holiday.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping 2005 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site with nice clean facilities. Plenty to do in the area and the staff were very accommodating. Spacious and not over-crowded. Plenty to do in area and some very nice pubs serving excellent food locally. Will definitely be back and highly recommend

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Johnadams63 1 review from this member

Perfect campsite, whether you have a tent, caravan, touring motorhome or like us hired 1 one of the site's static caravans. Good clean toilet and shower block and the grounds were immaculate. Great location to use as a base to visit all the great beaches and attractions in Devon. The shop on site was well stocked and we ate a couple of pubs in the area, The White Hart in Modbury and The Cott Inn near Dartington, both highly recommended. Great family run site, we will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kershaw m 3 reviews from this member

Brilliant campsite, showers, toilets and all facilities are spotless. There is a good shop on site with very helpful staff. The cost was 15 per night for our tent with 2 people. Would recommend this campsite to everyone.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KDF1 1 review from this member

We have just returned from another lovely stay at Pennymoor and actually stayed on longer than originally planned as the weather was so good. Although we are relatively new to camping, this is, in my opinion an excellent site.

As mentioned by others, the facilities are spotlessly clean and there are two toilet blocks open during busier periods. Both have washing up facilities, with the upper block having indoor washing up and the lower block having our door but sheltered washing up areas. The showers are not limited and are free.

We haven't visited for 2 years but the new warden is very helpful, as were all the staff in the reception. The couple who run the small on site shop are cheerful and friendly, especially with children and it is stocked with all the basic essentials you need along with some toys for children to buy at reasonable prices. There are laundry facilities if needed.

Lots of children gather near the playground and have a great time playing. We opted to be on the lower field which is more peaceful and there is plenty of space for children to play there. Fresh water was close by and on arrival when we spotted a dip in our pitch, the warden told us we could overlap the pitch as we were on an end pitch or even offered to relocate us. We were also told we didn't need to rush off on the day we were leaving as our pitch would be vacant after us.

Yes the Devonshire lanes are narrow but you do become accustomed to driving on them and other drivers are generally courteous. There is a small Co-op nearly at Modbury along with Tescos and Morrisons at nearby Kingsbridge. Mothercombe beach is one of our favourites (private beach open Sat, Sun and Weds) but the neighbouring estuary beach open everyday. There is a nice tearoom in the car park field selling very reasonably priced refreshments. Salcombe is lovely visit and this time we also enjoyed Dittisham with its fabulous crabbing and lovely Anchorstone cafe.

There are so many lovely beaches and estuaries to visit in the area, you will be spoilt for choice.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Harrison17 2 reviews from this member

We stayed a week in a static van. Lovely clean modern two bed van. The kids loved the play area. The shop seemed well stocked and also did fish and chips a few evenings a week. They also had hot pasties available. The staff in the shop were very friendly, as was the warden Paul who showed us to our van.

The site is clean and tidy.

The site is about 5 miles drive to Bigbury on Sea, which is a lovely beach. If the tide is in, then there is a tractor to take you across to Burgh Island, which is nice for a walk/views. It costs about 2. 00 each. Also visited Bantham beach which was good for body boarding. Dartmouth and Salcombe are not too far away either.

It's a very beautiful part of Devon.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kanes002 1 review from this member

This campsite is fantastic.

The site is well kept and it is lovely and clean. The shop is really good and serves hot food.

I took 30 teenagers for the Duke of Edinburgh Award, they loved the spacious site, which was quiet.

However, the best part of this campsite is the warden who is incredibly helpful.

We would definitely use it again and recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Kay alice123 1 review from this member

My family and I have been coming back to Pennymoor for over 50yrs. We first discovered this site when we were newly weds and have been coming ever since first camping with our children then with our grandchildren. We now hire a static caravan and I can assure you that the standards in this site are first class and rate a 5star.

The toilet blocks are immaculate as are the showers and laundry facilities the whole site is clean and tidy, with the children's play area always in use.

The static caravans are in exellent condition and always clean, tidy and well equipped.

I recommend this site as the best I have ever stayed in.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pecker 20 reviews from this member

A perfect haven in South Devon something I feel should be kept as a secret its that lovely.

Located off A379 up a minor road is this lovely campsite hidden away in Devon yet its very handy to get around the area to expolre the many coves and beaches.

The site does gently slope but don't let this be a negative for it as its very gentle and its not hard to get a caravan level on here. If you want all singing all dancing site with endless noise then this is not for you. If you want a site where you feel safe your children are safe and everyone is welcoming to you then this is the place.

The hot water is plentyfll never had any issues with it and the showers were always hot and powerful none of this silly 2 seconds for a dribble of water here. A mop bucket if provided to clean your shower with afterwards which most people did use. The only problem is the electric hook up is a distance behind your van so you may want to ensure you have a long enough lead to reach it. A bulk head light is on each hook up point and around the toilet blocks and other then a few lights around the static area its a dark site so perfect to enjoy the stars of an evening. Pricing is spot on charging for a family unit with just a small charge if you have a larger family unit and small charge for awnning.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019