Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Modbury > Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park
Modbury
Modbury
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SB
Tel: 01548 830542
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 15 March - 15 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adejoy140427tnb 1 review from this member

 Brilliant camp site lovely location and hosts.

Definitely go back.

Facilities were first class and very clean.

Very nice pub close by with great food and garden. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bluevw 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site for a young family,

The facilities and playpark were very clean,

The shop/cafe were fantastic and the couple who ran it were very friendly and accommodating,

We will certainly be returning to this site, had a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: TimFell 1 review from this member

 This site is the go-to site in the area for my scuba diving club. There's plenty of space, and the facilities are excellent.

Paul the manager is very helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PhilthyPhil 1 review from this member

 8th visit to Pennymoor & we never want to go home! Lovely & quiet site which is absolutely spotless!

Very friendly staff too who always give you a warm welcome. See you next year! 😉 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs mouse 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely stay at this campsite. The warden and also the couple running the cafe/shop were all helpful and so friendly as were the couple doing the cleaning of the facilities. The grounds are well kept with flower beds, there is a children's play area and a dedicated dog walk. The site is on a slight slope but it didn't present any problems for us as it is a gradual slope in the touring area and the steeper part is where the static vans are (with views across to Dartmoor).

Only one facilities block, near to the entrance, was open while we stayed as it was not too busy on site, there was a laundry, a dish washing room, a disabled shower room and the showers/toilets. The ladies had three showers (push button which did need pushing quite frequently but the temp was ideal and I prefer push button to having to pay), there wasn't a seat in the cubicles to make it easier to change. There was a bucket and mop and a squeegee to clean the floor after your shower. There aren't any privacy cubicles for washing, there is a free to use hairdryer in the ladies (don't know about the gents as my husband is lacking in the hair department!). The whole block was kept spotless (bit of grass on the floor at times but with rain that is unavoidable).

The cafe/shop was run by a lovely couple and it is well stocked, there is a freezer for ice packs available (small charity donations welcome), a charity book shelf and also take-away meals. We had the curry one evening and a pizza another night, both were very tasty and a reasonable price. We could chose what time we wanted the meal as you pre-order it. They also serve refreshments during the day.

The site is a short drive away from some beautiful locations but be aware the lanes are typical narrow Devon lanes but with plenty of passing places. We live in Devon so are used to it. It does seem further to travel than it actually is in miles because of the roads but is worth the journey. Bigbury on sea and Burgh island has a great beach, Salcombe is great for crab fishing and a wander around, Overbecks (national trust) was beautiful. Plymouth isn't far with a good aquarium if weather is not good, Kingsbridge and lots of other beaches and walks.

We found what we love at this site. Peace and quiet, birds singing, a fox somewhere in the fields barking.

Only one little criticism. The groundsman could have cut the grass around the touring area more as it was kept shorter around the entrance but didn't appear as well cut further down in the field. Not a big issue though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Acting_strange 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first time staying on this site and I can't really praise it enough. From the onset the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, including the loan of an additional power lead when ours wasn't up to it. The toilet facilities were exceptional clean, the pitch areas well looked after, with easy access to the drinking water, grey waste and black waste.

The little Pennymoor Cafe & Store on site was well stocked, again with friendly staff, and their little cafe supplied very nice home cooked foods, teas, coffees etc. We had the Fish and Chips on the Friday night and they were lovely.

It is worth taking note of the sites warning regarding ignoring your Satnav approach route and using the one advised, for the lanes down to it were the usual Devonshire, narrow, high hedged and worth avoiding.

Finally the views from the site were excellent, with easy access to many of the local beaches and attractions. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trailertubbies 2 reviews from this member

 We had a fabulous week and a bit at Pennymoor last year. It seems to have been a couple of years since anyone added a review, but we are delighted to report that the campsite is still spacious, affordable and spotlessly clean, and the owners still wonderfully welcoming.

We are hoping to go back this year for more of the same. There are warnings on their website about not trusting to satnav, we disregarded this advice at first and ventured down some very interesting roads as a result, some almost as wide as our car.

We really cannot recommend this site highly enough, ideal for a fairly quiet family holiday. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping 2005 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with nice clean facilities. Plenty to do in the area and the staff were very accommodating.

Spacious and not over-crowded. Plenty to do in area and some very nice pubs serving excellent food locally. Will definitely be back and highly recommend 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Johnadams63 1 review from this member

 Perfect campsite, whether you have a tent, caravan, touring motorhome or like us hired 1 one of the site's static caravans. Good clean toilet and shower block and the grounds were immaculate.

Great location to use as a base to visit all the great beaches and attractions in Devon. The shop on site was well stocked and we ate a couple of pubs in the area, The White Hart in Modbury and The Cott Inn near Dartington, both highly recommended. Great family run site, we will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kershaw m 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant campsite, showers, toilets and all facilities are spotless. There is a good shop on site with very helpful staff.

The cost was 15 per night for our tent with 2 people. Would recommend this campsite to everyone. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pennymoor Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Modbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2536 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement