Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Harrys Field Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Harrys Field Campsite
Abbotswell Road
Frogham
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2JA
Tel: 07476 988855
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: Bhs And Summer Weekends

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BelleSurrey 1 review from this member

We loved this place and literally didnít want to leave our weekend behind. Vivien, Ian and their family were so welcoming, funny and helpful, and that set the tone for everyone arriving. They were good at bringing out the best in people. They felt like friends by the time we left as did our neighbours on the row.

I liked the feel and special thoughtful touches created: an old fashioned record player, gently played Brazilian Jazz in the communal area ( arm chairs, a table the shop and the charming VWCampervan office), while campers came to use the kettles (tea and coffee were laid on part of the package, lovely touch), wash up, sit on the arm chairs, up have a chat or sit and enjoy the sun with a cuppa and a hot croissant or baguette as they arrived for sale. There were pens and paper on the table to doodle away too and fresh flowers. We experienced spotless bathing and washing up facilities any time of day, showers are hoter and more powerful than we usually find at top end sites whilst small cubical, but I will take that compromise :-)

The site was virtually full the whole weekend, so could have felt cramped and noisy, but strangely the site was so calm and peaceful. Several people commented on that. It did not feel crammed but we were in an outside pitch, and it would have been great to put the car somewhere else. We were placed on a row with other families with children (2-12) which worked so well and the kids played beautifully and everyone looked after the group. I got the impression many other campers were v happy and surprised by the place.

My children even got Ďjobsí with Vivien (roughly translated to being interested but ultimately unhelpful of course) but she was game and they loved her.

I know one reviewer didnít like the gate closing but we did as the donkeys would be in the tents in no time. Didnít see any probs with dogs either.

We will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Campingfamly 2 reviews from this member

My family and I have just booked again for Harrys Field which is a delightful campsite in the small village of Frogam in the New Forest. We loved it so much we are coming back again for our 3rd visit.

The campsite is well run and its refreshing that Vivienne and her family are on hand all the time to help with directing us on walks to the local streams and pubs!

It is definitely not wild camping and the pitches are mown in the field but they are plenty big enough and we found there was enough space for our family to spread out and enjoy the great outdoors.

Porta loos were always spotless as were the flushing loos. The showers were hot and powerful which is more than can be said for some campsites. Its not cheap but we thought it was well worth it.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tanya07 1 review from this member

We had a lovely stay at Harrys Field and will definitely be returning. The campsite owners were very friendly, it was a lovely relaxed site, we felt very safe and secure, toilets/showers were very clean, fresh pastries/bread in the Morning, rental of fire pits, there was plenty of room on our pitch & lots of field space for the children to play and at night it was very quiet. A big thank you from the Millers for such an enjoyable stay!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barneydunstan 1 review from this member

Well, what do you want from a campsite? If you need a heated toilet block and entertainment laid on, go somewhere else!

If you like a site with easy access to great walks, friendly and helpful staff, firepits and a great pub next door you should give Harry's Field a try!

Facilities are fine but if you can't cope with a portaloo there are only two flushing loos. Showers warm. Oh, and there are teapots and free tea! Highly recommended by our criteria.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy Reavill 4 reviews from this member

There are two sides to this campsite and two different ways of looking at it. Is it cool camping or is it an entrepreneurial farmer making a quick buck.

When you first get to Harry's Field you're not sure where the entrance is. There is a gate with a small sign that says Harry's Field on the gate, the gate will probably be shut. Open the gate and drive through, you will see reception ie an orange campervan with a gazebo and flags flying on the left hand side. Someone will come out and check you in.

Pitches are rather small, we have a six berth tent, a car and trailer and two dogs that needed to go on a long line. The pitch was not big enough to accommodate us and we ended up parking outside our pitch, although no-one seemed to mind this.

We went on a Thursday night over the school summer holidays (August) and left on Monday morning. The Thursday night and the Sunday night were quite peaceful however Friday night and Saturday night the campsite was rammed and was the noisiest I've ever experienced on any campsite and we have been camping in the forest for a number of years.

The toilets are portaloos, the type you find on building sites, there are an additional two toilets with swing wooden doors in a communal washing area (men & women). The washing-up facilities are original(!), there is a long table with a row of washing up bowls. You select your washing up bowl, take it to the sink, fill it with water and return to the table with your bowl to do your wash up. There are facilities here to make yourself a hot drink and points to charge phones etc.

The showers are either Portaloo type showers or there are two for each sex which are in a proper block these showers are very small, literally only big enough to actually have your shower with a curtain across, dry and dress in the changing area.

There is a small area with a fridge selling local meat, ice cream and a few other things. In the mornings you can buy croissant's or pan au chocolate. On a Thursday night and Saturday night the pizza oven comes to site.

Whilst the website says well-behaved dogs are welcome on leads, there were dogs running all over the place all weekend without a member of staff blinking an eye. Thursday and Sunday night were relatively peaceful, Friday and Saturday night got to the stage where the noise was almost unbearable with people still talking at 1:40 in the morning. This is also the most expensive site we have stayed on in the forest whilst, others charge £27 a night during peak times that includes the dogs, at Harry's Field it's £27 a night + £2 per dog, with two dogs that brings it to £31 a night which is expensive camping.

There are fire pits available to hire, how much I don't know but many people had them. The wood appeared to be unseasoned and the field was full of smoke.

The pub next door, The Foresters, does food which isn't too bad and average price for pub food. There are many walks this side of the forest and it is beautiful, if you fancy a different pub a 4 mile walk across the forest takes you to the high corner inn.

For all that we have said, we can't quite work out whether Harry's Field is trying to relive a hippy 70s campsite (without the drugs) or if it's an entrepreneurial farmer making a quick buck but most people seem to be enjoying themselves and whilst this review may sound negative, it was just a totally different experience from the peace and tranquil campsite that we had imagined, we didn't dislike it but would only return during the week and not a weekend in August.

And whilst the staff are very friendly and helpful it pretty much appears that on this campsite you can do whatever you like. Any rules put in place to make everybody's camping experiences enjoyable don't appear to need to be adhered to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Manglemender 6 reviews from this member

This could be a really great site but.

I estimate that there were 300+ people on the site for August bank holiday but there aren't enough facilities to support that occupation level.

There were 10 toilets, only two were the flushing kind and the rest were port-a-loos. There were only 2 wash basins and only 4 Port-a-loo type showers.

We originally asked to book 2 adjacent pitches with ourselves on one pitch and my son/grandson on the other. We were told that we could have an extra large pitch which, was 'nearly the size of two pitches' so booking two pitches wasn't necessary. On arrival, our extra large pitch turned out to be 10M x 10M. This highlights the biggest problem with this site in that they prioritised profit over customer comfort which I take a particularly dim view of.

The location is excellent and this could be a really great site with some better facilities and limiting the occupancy level by spacing out the pitches more; As it stands, I wouldn't go back and I couldn't recommend it to anyone else.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camperpip 1 review from this member

I stayed at Harry's Field with my 2 kids (5 and 6 yrs old) mid week in August 2016. The location is great, on the edge of the New Forest and next door to a lovely pub, which serves good food. It appealed to me as it is a no frills site not far from where we live. We like basic, chilled out campsites where our kids can run around and play freely.

However, having read all the wonderful reviews I was a bit disappointed. The campsite is one, not very big, level field with no views. (Although there was a nicer, very small field off to the side, not sure who got to camp there). The photos I'd viewed online were a bit misleading as I was expecting the tents to be pitched around the edge of the field, leaving the middle area free for children to play games. This is my family's favourite type of set up, allowing kids to play together in front of the tents whilst parents can sit back with a bottle of wine. However, the marked out pitches cover the whole field, and even though not full, it felt crammed. There is no space for children to play. My two found some empty pitches to play in but it was necessary to keep a constant eye on them due to campers' cars passing by very closely (campers can park on their pitches).

You are shown to your allocated pitch on arrival. We were given a pitch in the middle of the field, despite there being far better located pitches available on the edge of the field (these were still unoccupied when we departed). We had only booked for one night so didn't use the showers or the washing up area. The toilets were fine and clean, no complaints.

Most importantly, my kids enjoyed their stay and made some friends as there were lots of other families, and there was a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Just don't expect much pitch space or to sit back and let your children run free in open areas, as we've experienced at some other small sites. Difficult to comment on customer service as check in was quite rushed and we only stayed one night.

I hope people find this review helpful. From my experience, the reviewers on ukcampsite. Co. Uk give the most realistic and objective descriptions of campsites, unlike some of the 'cool' reviewers on other websites!


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0928