Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Dragon Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Welshpool > Green Dragon Inn Reviews

Green Dragon Inn
Buttington
Welshpool
Powys   (Browse area)
SY21 8SS
Tel: 01938 553076
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 6 Reviews
                5/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PaulV70 1 review from this member

 The hard standing pitches are very good, level and of a good size. The down side is the site is very close to a busy A road and railway line (not so busy).

It has one shower (water plenty hot enough) and one uni sex toilet, basic but functional except the light in the shower room (10 seconds and its off until you can activate the sensor.

We had 2 nights here in mid-November 2021 and was charged 25 per night, too expensive for this site. 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daz196 1 review from this member

 Friendly and welcoming staff.

Nice food and a warm welcome nothing was too much trouble,

Pitch was hard standing with Ehu,

Site near main road but wasn't to noisy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 27 reviews from this member

 We wanted to visit Powys castle and this campsite was reasonably close. Easy cycle to the town and castle. The food in the pub was very good and the staff are very Covid -aware. We were impressed with the precautions.

Toilet and shower (only one) were basic but plenty of cleaning materials. Just be careful as we found them locked during the day on one occasion.

As people have said - the road is very noisy. The railway has occasional trains - quite close too.

Good size pitches on grass.

Great walks nearby (the site runs by Offa's Dyke) and the town has decent cafes and pubs. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pipster1 1 review from this member

 VERY noisy site! A main road less than 30yds away and a main railway line 50yds behind you! 😣. The first night was horrendous with no sleep, the second night was better when we brought some ear plugs. 😊.

Facilities are free and ok I suppose but a bit tired.

The food at the pub was good and prices reasonable but I don't think we'd be returning because of the sheer noise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AngusR 1 review from this member

 Stayed here in campervan with my father whilst completing in the Welsh Rally (motorcycle event). We stayed on a Friday and Saturday and the site was almost empty so choosing a spot was easy. The electric hookups are located in one position so you would need a long cable if it was busier and you required electric.


The grass had been cut and there were plenty of picnic tables to use if you wanted to eat/drink outside. These tables can also be moved easily as there are wheels at one end. The toilets are basic but very clean. Electric showers are free to use.

The owner greeted me on my arrival and was very friendly. He also gave us some old metal signs to place the motorcycle side stands on to prevent them sinking into the grass. I brought my motorcycle on a trailer and there was no problem with this or storing the trailer close to the van.

The road adjacent to the site is quite busy so road noise maybe a problem if you are in a tent but should be ok in a van or caravan. Otherwise bring some good earplugs. The pub is nice and cosy and was very warm on first night as it was quite cold outside. The beer is very good and food looked nice.

The site is 7 miles from Castle Caereinion so is ideal for making the 07. 30 start for the rally on the Saturday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffreyI 21 reviews from this member

 On arrival we found the grass on site hadn't been cut and was at least 4' high. The site Is situated on a very busy road and it was extremely noisy with traffic.

The road is the main view and is approx 45 yards from site. There is also at the rear the main train line to Shrewsbury. There are showers/ toilets etc which the owners did inform us will be upgraded next year. We chose to use our own in our caravan. I searched the site for waste disposal points which I couldn't find.

I asked the owner where it was and he told me they didn't have one and I can dispose of the toilet waste down the camping site toilet. I informed him that I would need to flush the cassette with water, he told me to use the tap outside which by the way is the only drinking water tap on site.

The waste water from the caravan he told me to tip it over the hedge! I have never experienced facilities like this in all my caravanning days. I wonder what the local authority would make of this! On a positive note the pub has friendly staff and they serve a variety of food.

We didn't eat there but it appeared to be busy with people eating. There is also free Wifi in the pub and a bus stop outside for Shrewsbury.

We did think that 18 per night (with electric) was a bit expensive for this site. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Dragon Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Dragon Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Green Dragon Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Welshpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement