Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Falkirk > The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite
Rough Castle Farm
Bonnyhill Road
Falkirk
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK1 4RR
Tel: 07872 574164
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jennlol 6 reviews from this member

 Do NOT approach his camp site on the B816 through High Bonnybridge. There is a low bridge (10ft3in clearance) on a you bend.

Much easier and less stressful to approach from the Falkirk end.

Idiosyncratic and laid back site. Hard standing means that there is no mud.

Lots of good walks in the area 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fidibury 39 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 3 nights at The Wheel Caravan site. Mixed thoughts about the site. We were fully prepared for the car park appearance of the site and were happy about that.

Facilities were basic. Each pitch had access to water and drainage. It just wasnít clear where pitches were and it felt that vans seemed to squash in a gap not leaving the necessary 6metres from one unit to another.

We couldnít get our friends car in next to our van on the last night we were there. At £28 a night felt that it was slightly over priced.

The site is in an ideal location for the Falkirk Wheel but itís a good 1 1/2 hour walk to the Kelpies - 4 miles and not the 45 mins as stated on the website. Luckily we had our dog buggy with us as our eldest dog is 14 and struggled to do the full walk.

Itís not a site that we would come back to but it worked well for us to meet friends and to visit the Wheel and the Kelpies. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pxh382 1 review from this member

 Likes was available at short notice.

Dislikes. It was just one massive hardcore standing area, no grass or plants etc.

It was quiet at night and everybody we met were friendly.

You need to drive about 800 yards down a cart path to get to the site, I cannot tell you anything about the facilities as we arrived late and were gone in the early hours so never used them. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hrhpar 1 review from this member

 Friendly owner who offered horse carriage rides around the farm track.

Masses of cycle tracks to enjoy around the Calendar Estate.

Facilities clean on arrival but didn't seem to be cleaned daily. Ladies toilets had nowhere to hang or lay down towel / clothes / toiletry bags ie no hooks or shelves.

Expensive at £28 per night 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tanya3 1 review from this member

 Hoggi was very welcoming, unfortunately we missed the horse and cart ride and couldn't wait for the next day as we need to set off early and the ceilidh wasn't on.

Quiet site, great location for the wheel.

Would recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franpickard 1 review from this member

 It is our third visit to the Wheel campsite. Hoggi was very charming and the site was very clean.

Only a short walk to the Falkirk wheel and there are lots of walks from the site which my dog loved.

Itís a 4 mile walk or drive to the Kelpies. We will definitely stay at this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Patwil 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our 2 nights stay

Excellent location for the Falkirk Wheel and an easy walk to the Kelpies along the Forth and Clyde canal, lots of fabulous walks direct from the site over the Callander estate

The breakfast at Canada Wood cafe was delicious, and the carriage ride with Hoggi pulled by Tommy around the (magic circle) was great

We will be going back when live sessions in the ceilidh are back on 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SallyB68 3 reviews from this member

 Adequate but expensive. Convienient for the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies.

Washrooms are basic but clean.

Nice local walks. Overpriced at £28/pitch for what it is. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham 1 review from this member

 It was ok, a bit out of the way good walks near by. Hoggi was very friendly.

Was a bit disappointed with the facilities unfortunately.

No campsite lights were on so very dark 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynng2 1 review from this member

 Good site. walking distance to the Falkirk wheel and canals

Facilities were adequate

Hoggi took us on a horse and cart ride very nice chap

Would visit again 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falkirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement