Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Falkirk > The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite
Rough Castle Farm
Bonnyhill Road
Falkirk
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK1 4RR
Tel: 07872 574164
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paujan 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in ideal location for The Falkirk Wheel 10mins walk through Roughcastle Tunnel which is lit up with multi colour lights that change as you walk through.

The Kelpies are 30 mins cycling or 1. 5 hours walk along the canal. The site owner Hoggi is a great guy and has plenty of local knowledge.

The site itself is basic but the showers toilets and the kitchen area are immaculate.

I would not hesitate in staying here again apart from it being 659 miles from home. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bernie Newton 1 review from this member

 Bloody excellent site what a friendly welcome we had from Hoogie, the Falkirk wheel is a short walk away with access to canal walks.

If adventurous a walk or bike ride to the Kelpies is do'able. Plenty woodland walks around the area.

A lovely little cafe nearby "the Canada cafe" with a bike shop again with walks and bike trails for everyone.

We loved the horse drawn ride around the "magic circle" 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Belljo 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed our stay for its location, only a short distance from The Falkirk Wheel. Good cycling opportunities, we cycled along the Forth and Clyde canal to see The Kelpies.

The site itself had a rustic feel to it as it was on a farm, we looked out on to open fields with horses, sheep and a donkey to look at.

Dont expect club sites standards there is no grass just an open gravel area, but the facilities are clean and you get water to your pitch.

The highlight of our stay was a Horse and trap ride with the owner and his Lady driver around the surrounding countryside. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DOTTY566 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay so much, no it's not the Ritz but it has everything you need is spotlessly clean and a very unique location.

Our host Hoggie was lovely he took us out in a pony and trap around his farm and on our last evening we had a musical evening with several other guests and Hoggie played the pipes, an evening never to forget.

We saw Hare's rabbits deer as well as the resident sheep, ponies cattle and donkey. Also privileged to listen to bird song all day long including a cuckoo.

We will certainly return when we get the chance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 2 reviews from this member

 Helpful staff and clean facilities

Near to Falkirk Town, Kelpies, Falkirk Wheel etc.  
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MR JACK 1 review from this member

 Lovely views, good facility's and owner very kind and helpful,

Could do with a drinking water tap at the camping section as we had get it from the campervan section

Otherwise very good,

Would definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Moblac 1 review from this member

 On behalf of our owners' club we organised a meet/rally for 18 motorhomes.

The site was in a very good location for local sightseeing. Site was mainly flat but to accommodate the 18 units some were pitched on a slope.

Facilities were basic but clean. Water and drainage on each site. £28. 00 per night was a bit overcharged.

When I went to the office to pay, the owner couldn't take it as his machine was not set-up, he then met me in the middle of the site with his 'machine' and was a bit derogatory when I couldn't tell him off the top of my head how much I owed and now four weeks later I am still begging him to send a receipt.

We will not be revisiting. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulet 4 reviews from this member

 The campsite owner Hoggie was friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The site is very quiet and in a fantastic position for the Wheel and the Kelpies.

The showers and toilets are quite basic and could do with a refit.

The site was expensive regarding the facilities but location was brilliant. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BzaGza 2 reviews from this member

 Yes the site is a bit basic but it does have all the facilities we have come to expect albeit somewhat aged.

It is ideally situated for visiting the Falkirk Wheel and almost surrounded in very nice woodland walks.

If you get the chance to go with Hoggi on his horse and carriage ride then take it, it is great fun.

All in all would we go back,

The answer is yes, definitely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hocumm 1 review from this member

 Rural, peaceful setting, Convenient location to the Falkirk wheel via a path (wear wellies if itís been raining).

Site is levelled hardcore with individual power and water outlets. Toilet block is clean but aged, Chemical toilet point is basic and could do with some attention, grey water drain also needs attention and is impossible to place van directly above for draining.

Ideal for a few night stay just donít expect club standard facilities 
via mobile


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Wheel Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falkirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45983 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement