Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ouse Meadow Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > North Chailey > Ouse Meadow Campsite Reviews

Ouse Meadow Campsite
Sheffield Park
North Chailey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN22 3QL
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 14/4 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirsti 1 review from this member

 Great site next to a river, lots of space with toilets in two places.

Lovely showers with lots of hot water.

Nice and quiet will definitely visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Samant 1 review from this member

 The campsite was amazing. Stunning views, lovely clean campsite and toilets.

Loads to do in the area. We had such a lovely time.

Will definitely go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Escapingbrown 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite is brilliant. Spread across three huge fields; one of those is adults only. Flat ground, great washroom and washing facilities. Great rope swings for the kids -

Situated next to Sheffield Park vintage railway and the National Trust park, which is brilliant for walking and dipping in the river.

I'm really looking forward to returning here. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Anthea York 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite was busy but the three large fields accommodated everyone round the perimeter with loads of space in the middle for games.

There were sufficient toilets, some flush in a unit or chemical in a portaloo cubicle. There were 3 open air showers with ample hot water but most people were there for a weekend and managed without.

Neil, the owner, came round frequently with fire pits (£3 for the stay) and bags of wood (£6). He was friendly and helpful.

The situation is great with immediate access to Sheffield Park estate and the children’s play trail in the wood. The start of the Bluebell Railway is immediately opposite the campsite.

I would definitely go there again as would the rest of our party of 14. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Daniel 1 review from this member

 Really friendly owners, easy to find, plenty of space.

Good facilities and flat, well spaced out pitches - everything we look for.

Will use again.

Also, nice and quiet which is also a bonus. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 62 reviews from this member

 Loved this site, back to basics, feels like an proper old school campsite.

Most camping pitches along the edge of the stream, firepits allowed, and great field next door for walking dogs etc

Toilet and outdoor shower perfectly adequate

Would return 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 16 reviews from this member

 A pretty row of pitches along the bank of the Ouse, facing lovely trees.

There are pitches mowed out of the longer grass, big and spacious, and not too close. Fire pits dug out of the ground. The site seemed well cared for.

It is 'back to basics' and is not expensive, as some of these sites can be.

5 'event toilets' (no soap dispensers), one hot shower, open the sky, (very good), one tap badly situated on a slope which became a muddy mess.

I liked it that cars are parked away from the camping field once you have unloaded.

There is a lovely walk through some nice woods if you walk along through the car park.

I really enjoyed our stay, with one proviso. There is some sort of industrial park the other side of some trees adjoining the site and from Friday afternoon until late Saturday morning there was a constant industrial noise, maybe a big generator or other machine, punctuated by a regular high pitched whine every 5 or 7 seconds. This went on all night. I hated this: I like 'wild ' sites for the silence at night. I knew that there would be some traffic noise on this site, and there was, but that was nowhere near as annoying as the industrial noise, which kept me awake.

Until we went for a walk we didn't realise there is a whole second meadow, along through the car park. This was actually prettier, with better views, further away from the road and I suspect further away from the industrial noise. I wish we had camped there. So if you arrive on a Friday night, maybe head that way for more peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Igorsbu 1 review from this member

 Stayed 2 nights at the end of July. Place is nice. Very basic facilities though: 2 relocatable toilets which are too small inside. (Airplane type) but clean and water tap in the field.

Kids enjoyed play with rope and tyre swings. They also found hammock in the woods. There is badminton net with rackets available.

If you take a walk beware of electric fence for horses that is not labeled! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ouse Meadow Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ouse Meadow Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ouse Meadow Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near North Chailey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1008 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement