Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sligachan Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Isle Of Skye > Sligachan Campsite Reviews

Sligachan Campsite
Sligachan Carbost
Isle Of Skye
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV47 8SW
Tel: 077864 35294
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 01/01/2021
           29/03/2022 to 20/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 53 Reviews
                7/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lynnco 1 review from this member

 Nice, tidy site, well appointed, with everything you could need.

Had a small well stocked shop, short walk to local restaurant.

Weather was shocking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gld73 1 review from this member

 I stayed 2 nights at the Sligachan campsite, travelling solo, staying in a wee tent. I didn't have any complaints, though I was there in brilliant weather, and just early enough to miss the onslaught of midge season

In the women's toilet block, there are 4 showers (reviews here complain about them being push button operated, but that didn't bother me, I was just happy to get showered after hiking all day!), 5 toilets and 6 sinks.

Soap dispensers have been fitted since some of the reviews here. There are also good hand dryers and 2 hair dryers (1 not working). It was all kept clean whilst I was there, so no complaints.

Despite the brilliant weather, it was out of school holidays and not at a weekend, so although it certainly wasn't dead, it wasn't as packed as it'll be at the height of summer - this meant tents were nice and spaced out, and most people staying were adults who were there for hiking/ outdoors/ touring, so getting up reasonably early and hence not drinking or being loud late at night. I slept well both nights.

The main selling point for the site is its stunning setting with the mountains so close. For me, that was worth the 8/person/night. For a couple of the mountains I went up, I didn't need to drive, I just did them from the campsite.

But I wouldn't want to stay when it was packed! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CALUM1 3 reviews from this member

 Camped here for one night, basic facilities but a lovely location for one night.

Very close to hotel for food and drink - if that wasn't so close would be too isolated for me.

Cheap and cheerful! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingfamily2018 6 reviews from this member

 Other than the stunning backdrop of the cuillins, I struggle to find many positives with this site.

The toilets and showers are very outdated and pretty dirty. Mouldy shower curtains and the floor gets so wet there is nowhere to get dry. Shower just stopped working for a few minutes midway through one morning! One of the push buttons in the ladies only lasts 8 seconds! There is no soap for handwashing, sanitary bins were full. It's a shame because they'd obviously thought about some things - good hand dryers and hair dryers installed.

People staying on site don't respect the rules about noise and there is nobody enforcing the 10pm quiet time. Next to main road so traffic is noisy.

Handy to have pub opposite which does nice food for reasonable price. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Digby13 10 reviews from this member

 This campsite has fantastic views, easy access to the Cuillins, and there is excellent beer from the brewery located in the adjacent hotel which has a large and welcoming bar and food. Trouble is it gets overcrowded and there are a lot of noisy inconsiderate campers, and apparently no noise enforcement.

In a tent you could probably get to the edge of the large site and avoid them but if you need a hookup and a hardstanding you may get people pitching up only feet away. There is no pitch delineation so campervans, caravans and motorhomes cram in any old how.

On the two nights I was there in July (Fri and Sat) one campervan had loud music playing until late, and people standing around outside the facilities talking and laughing until the early hours. At least the turnover is very high so there is the chance of relief, but more likely just some other kind of annoyance.

The recycling consists of a bin for glass and very large bins with an X against all conceivable types of material. Baffling. So everything goes into them. The warden appears to pick out heaven knows what and separate it into bin bags.

The facilities have been slightly upgraded with new loos but are still pretty basic and with wet weather and the huge numbers of campers not very appealing. There are no soap dispensers. They are kept as clean as possible given the large numbers though. The showers are hot & powerful but cramped and don't even have a wee shelf for your shampoo etc. Push buttons don't bother me - you get them on the best sites too. It's not expensive (though the hookup is not cheap).

Go off season is my advice! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shuttersister 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night the beginning of July when we arrived the wardens office was closed so we drove round the site found a space and parked up. The site is in a beautiful location and ideal for walkers and photographers. The facilities are pretty basic but were clean showers were operated by pushing the button so you had to keep pressing it for which is slightly annoying in this day and age but here was ample hot water. We ate out at the hotel which was a short walk from the campsite. As we left early in the morning and still ha not seen a warden we just popped the fee under the wardens door and left. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silverfox1584 4 reviews from this member

 An amazing location but unfortunately the facilities on site can only be described as poor.

Although the showers and toilets are clean, pushbutton showers are poor quality and unless you hold the shower on with your back to the button, you will have a very poor shower !

There is no dedicated toilet waste facility and the accepted method is to discharge your toilet waste container down a toilet, possibly splashing the walls and floor if you have a slip. You cannot wash out the container.

Sorry, you can wash out the toilet waste container but only with the fresh water hose, we witnessed it happen ! How disgusting and this practice will result in the transmission of waterborne disease at some point.

The grey water disposal is within 2 feet of the fresh water hose, the only fresh water hose !

Very poor facilities in general, considering the overnight charge of 20.

We will not be visiting or recommending this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

 This site seems to exist because of its location and the views, which are superb. Other than that, there is not too much to commend it.

Having made a booking some time earlier we were lucky that there was EHP available on arrival. Do not expect organisation on arrival. Just pitch up and the Warden will collect your money during the evening.

The toilet and showers are clean. I cannot comment whether the gents is used for cooking when the midges arrive. We were there in May. There are dishwashing facilities to the rear of the toilet block.

This site is like my old school report. 'could do better'. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ET14 2 reviews from this member

 Having read all the reviews prior to going to this site I was prepared for the midges, the spiders webs and the facilities not being of a high standard, but what I was not prepared for was 23 young people taking over the ladies toilet block with what I would describe as a galley kitchen, they had gas burners on and we're cooking up a storm, mainly onions, potatoes, broccoli. They took over 4 of the 6 sinks and this was because they were in tents and did not like all the midges! They were right next to the showers. I went to the warden and had to go back again as he did not want to miss the end of his programme, when he finally went they still did not come out and when I asked them they said that the warden said they could continue on with their potatoes! This site has brilliant views of the mountains and we used it as we found it to be central for all the island, we paid for a whole week so were unable to move the van when we realised that the warden seemed to allow unacceptable behaviour by the campers. There was no chemical disposal, we did not need it, but there was a steady stream of people coming for the night and taking their cassette toilet into the toilets to empty, not very hygienic. There is a lot of water collects on the site. There is only 1 washer and 1 dryer and this gets very busy considering the size of the site, every day there is a large movement of people coming on and off the site. We would not go back to this site and it is a shame as for location and view this could be the best site on Skye if only they would invest it some more facilities and cater for all. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 11 reviews from this member

 Having stayed in the Sligachan hotel and always been made very welcome hundreds of times through work over the last ten years or so, I thought that we would give the camp site a try on our way back from the western isles. OH DEAR. When we arrived I knocked on the door of the wardens caravan & the response I received was a foul mouthed chuntering from within about not being allowed to sleep-given that it was early afternoon this was not what I expected to hear. When he finally emerged he was taciturn and unhelpful and it took some minutes to elicit from him just where we could pitch up.

The location of the site is superb. With a river running by and the Cuillins on your doorstep plus the hotel with its own brewery (excellent beers) what more could you want. Well a self closing outer door to the ablutions would be a good start because people failed to close the door the place was permanently infested with the dreaded midges. This part of Skye is particularly bad for midges and it would be nice to go about ones toilet without being eaten alive (our brand of repellent seemed to have the opposite effect). The limited facilities were reasonably clean but very tatty. It is a shame because there is the potential here for a brilliant site that we could all enjoy despite the midges. We only stayed the one night any longer would have been unbearable. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sligachan Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sligachan Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sligachan Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Skye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement