Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Sandown > Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Winford Rd
Newchurch
Sandown
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO36 0LZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 174
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 The site is trialling ANPR barriers which once checked in worked all the time. The wardens are so accommodating and friendly. We had a pitch on the hard standing and was fine.

The facility block was always spotlessly clean at all times. Opposite this block was the laundry and dishwashing rooms. Again these were spotless. The washing and drying was not expensive.

The motorhome point is perfectly accessible with no unnecessary manoeuvring. We hired a car from South Wight Rentals, down the road in Lake.

A reasonable price and the wardens set it up for the ANPR. We travelled all over the island in the hire car and would certainly return and it would be to stay at this site.

It might be remote but well worth staying at.

All in all a good deal booking through CAMC as we had discount on the Lymington ferry. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 56mistygorilla 3 reviews from this member

 The site is kept very clean and tidy as are the facilities, with friendly staff. The main grassed part has hedging to separate areas and this also helps with shelter from wind.

The dog walk could do with being extended and it does get very muddy in inclement weather.

It was a shame we could no longer sit by the nature area with our dog to watch the wonderful sunsets.

A peaceful and enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 This is an update of our 2013 review.

Southlands is set in open countryside with views of the Downs. It was originally a commercial site which was acquired by the Caravan Club some years ago who have extended it. The site is in two sections. The original part where all pitches are divided into sections, some screened by high conifer hedges are all on grass.

The second, newer section, are all on hardstanding and has more of an open aspect. Six of the pitches in this area are serviced with water supply and waste disposal. Electric points are the standard 16-amp CEE17 blue connections. There are several Service Points dotted around the site and near to reception is a motorhome service point which has an open grill waste water facility.

The single toilet block is centrally situated and is modern and the facilities are of a high standard. Across the road from the toilet block is a separate building housing the dishwash area and laundry. There is site wide WiFi although I did find it very slow at times. Both our phones, one on O2 and the other on EE got decent 4G signals and the latter was used for tethering successfully.

This site has a few “Experience Freedom” ready erected tents for hire. For children there is a nice-looking adventure playground but no kick about area. Reception sells ice cream, milk and a few other essentials. Next to reception is an information room with lots of local information. This campsite has four late arrival places with electrics just inside the entrance.

For those with their own transport the whole of the Island is at your disposal to explore although in the main season roads can be busy and parking difficult particularly at the seaside resorts. For those without their own transport the bus services on the Island are pretty good.

There are a couple of services from outside the campsite but one of them is fairly infrequent. The other service called the Island Breezer runs much more frequently but is a pay only service, no bus passes!

A ten-minute walk from the site, along roads without pavements, takes you to Winford Cross where you can take the number 8 bus which runs an hourly service between Newport, Sandown and Ryde. Some bus services can be cancelled if their route takes them close to one of the festivals held on the Island, reception will be able to advise.

For eating out there is a pub in the village called The Pointer Inn and on the main Newport/Sandown Road is the Fighting Cocks which is about a five-minute drive from the site. Most of the large supermarket groups are represented on the Island but the nearest is Morrisons at Lake on the way to Sandown.

For any motorhomers who would prefer to leave their vehicles on site the CMC have an arrangement with Enterprise car hire, where they pick you up from the sites and drop you back once you have returned the car which can be convenient, if not cheap! 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two weeks and had a very enjoyable time. The site has about 150 pitches mostly grass but some hard standings. Southland reminded us of French sites because of the amount of high and low hedging which meant areas were secluded from one another. It rained hard once while we were here but our grass pitch drained very quickly.

We agree with previous reviews the wardens here work very hard to keep the site looking good and the facilities although restricted because of Covid were always very clean.

My only criticism of the site is that the Shower Block is too small for the number of pitches. In the main we use our own facilities in our Motorhome so this does not bother us but those that only use site facilities may find that have to queue at peak times.

We embarked at Fishbourne Ferry Terminal and our recommendation is to follow the CAMC directions and not rely on your SatNav. Driving around the IOW in a Motorhome can be tricky so we hired a car for a while.

There are two pubs within walking distance and we preferred The Pointer Inn in Newchurch. There are no shops within walking distance so you have to go to Sandown, Newport or Ryde.

Overall we had a very nice stay here and would highly recommend it.  


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vario600 14 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, friendly welcome,

Perfectly laid out site with large screened pitches,

Every facility you could think of and the cleanest I've ever seen,

If your staying on the Isle of Wight this is the place to stay, the model site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ourtouruk 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the island and this site. The site has a mixture of high and low hedges creating a lovely sense of seclusion and all the grounds and facilities are always immaculate due to the hard work and enthusiasm of the very friendly team of wardens.

There are a numerous places of interest to visit and are listed on the IOW tourist website. The island is full of great walks and cycling routes.

The Best Dressed Crab, Bembridge Harbour is a great treat and well worth a visit (or two) for lunch. Crab salad fantastic but you do need to book.

Very much looking forward to a return visit to a great CAMC site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4091 3 reviews from this member

 We had a fabulous stay for 16 nights. The wardens here are exceptional, friendly, hard working and with a good sense of humour! The heat was making it difficult for them to work but they continued nontheless. The facilities were spotless and the whole place was a credit to their hard work. Can't wait to return! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed on quite a few sites on the island and I would say this was the best. Top end facilities and very well run.

The site itself has quite a few hard standing pitches, but the majority are grass with sections separated by very well trimmed trees/hedges. There is about 17/18 tent pitches in a row on well looked after flat grass.

Newchurch village is about 10 minute walk (quiet country lane) with a pub that does food. Carry on an extra 5 minutes and you have the main cycle track - 2 miles to Sandown, 6 miles to Newport.

If you head the other way out of the site 15 minutes away (quiet country lane) you have Amazon world, a garden centre and over the road another pub that does food. You also have the bus stops to Newport or Ryde (going through lake - morrissons, Sandown). So no shop in the immediate vicinity to walk to, although reception sells the basics.

There is also wifi on site, signal was very good. Overall a great site. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalkie0456 1 review from this member

 Its the best run site I have been on. We went on a rally with 15 other units. I am used to CL's & CS's so not that happy with the prices. Its a lovely island marred by the fact its so expensive on the ferry. The facilities we first rate. The wash block was very clean, showers were of the lever type (no push buttons) and clean with plenty of hot water. Grass was kept short and constantly mown and seeded. Due to this there wwas a lot of noise from the tractor units my solution would be to use battery units like golf buggies. The pointer in pub was just a 15 minute walk serving good food and dog friendly. I would recommend it. Dog walk is very good except early morning conversations from owners. Paths and cycle tracks are abundant. We had a day out to Portsmouth on the hovercraft if you are into history its a must see but don't take the dog. Don't forget the shopping outlets. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

 Very nice, well maintained, clean site, clean toilets, good choice of pitches.

IOW is beautiful, the site has nice views over the countryside.

The main moan on the site was ferries prices. The caravan club does some good ferry deals which in our case was £63 for an 11am sailing with noon return sailing return trip for a motorhome. I'm sure there are lots of other deals out there. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement