Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Sandown > Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Southland Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Winford Rd
Newchurch
Sandown
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO36 0LZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 174
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 4091 3 reviews from this member

We had a fabulous stay for 16 nights. The wardens here are exceptional, friendly, hard working and with a good sense of humour! The heat was making it difficult for them to work but they continued nontheless. The facilities were spotless and the whole place was a credit to their hard work. Can't wait to return!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

Stayed on quite a few sites on the island and I would say this was the best. Top end facilities and very well run.

The site itself has quite a few hard standing pitches, but the majority are grass with sections separated by very well trimmed trees/hedges. There is about 17/18 tent pitches in a row on well looked after flat grass.

Newchurch village is about 10 minute walk (quiet country lane) with a pub that does food. Carry on an extra 5 minutes and you have the main cycle track - 2 miles to Sandown, 6 miles to Newport.

If you head the other way out of the site 15 minutes away (quiet country lane) you have Amazon world, a garden centre and over the road another pub that does food. You also have the bus stops to Newport or Ryde (going through lake - morrissons, Sandown). So no shop in the immediate vicinity to walk to, although reception sells the basics.

There is also wifi on site, signal was very good. Overall a great site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkie0456 1 review from this member

Its the best run site I have been on. We went on a rally with 15 other units. I am used to CL's & CS's so not that happy with the prices. Its a lovely island marred by the fact its so expensive on the ferry. The facilities we first rate. The wash block was very clean, showers were of the lever type (no push buttons) and clean with plenty of hot water. Grass was kept short and constantly mown and seeded. Due to this there wwas a lot of noise from the tractor units my solution would be to use battery units like golf buggies. The pointer in pub was just a 15 minute walk serving good food and dog friendly. I would recommend it. Dog walk is very good except early morning conversations from owners. Paths and cycle tracks are abundant. We had a day out to Portsmouth on the hovercraft if you are into history its a must see but don't take the dog. Don't forget the shopping outlets.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

Very nice, well maintained, clean site, clean toilets, good choice of pitches.

IOW is beautiful, the site has nice views over the countryside.

The main moan on the site was ferries prices. The caravan club does some good ferry deals which in our case was £63 for an 11am sailing with noon return sailing return trip for a motorhome. I'm sure there are lots of other deals out there.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skeggie28 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this beautiful park for 5 nights

Very well maintained by the caravan club

Everything you need on your doorstep

Handy for all areas on Isle of Wight but site made

The holiday with lovely setting and all aspects of a caravan holiday being perfect

Many thanks

Will return

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

First the campsite

This is without doubt the cleanest and best run site I have ever stayed on. (Even the gravel on site looked like it had been scrubbed). The shower\toilet block was spotless and would even satisfy the push button whingers as they had an on\off control but to illustrate a point a shower had stupidly been left running which would have probably drained all the hot water. (Why do people whinge). There is a fine pub (The Pointer) about a mile up the road with well kept real ale. The food looked good but wasn't tried.

Secondly the Island.

I have read a few negative reports about the island but pay no attention to them. What a charming place it is. A bit tatty at some edges but that is part of the charm. Life is lived at a slow pace. If you want St Tropez then go to St Tropez.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vforbes 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site this is. We arrived very late (nearly 2am!) after finishing work on Friday night and found all the facilities we needed in the Late Arrivals area. There is Electric Hook-Up and Water, and the toilet block is an easy walk away. Itís all hard standing too.

In the morning, we were greeted by the very friendly wardens, who allowed us to pick a pitch we liked and start setting up from 9am. This was great as it meant we could set up and then nip down to Sandown (just minutes away by car) for a proper brunch.

The site is very clean and neat. There are a lot of tall hedges which create little alcoves, making it feel more secluded. The toilet block and other amenities were spotless.

At the bottom of the site there is a nature reserve area, with a fantastic view of the Island scenery.

As we were only staying the weekend, we wanted to make the most of our time and the wardens kindly let us stay until 4pm. They really couldnít do enough for us.

The site is ideally situated for exploring the island, and there are bus stops directly outside if you want to leave the car behind. If I had one complaint, there isnít a pub very nearby, but thatís not the siteís fault. Other than that, it is in such a quiet country location, you really couldnít find any better. A superb site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazavanman 2 reviews from this member

This is by far one of the best campsites we have ever stayed at! If you've never been. GO! People seem put off by the ferry crossing - book it through the Caravan Club Overseas Travel Team and halve the price. ! A standard caravan crossing is £104.

AND. If you book before May, the site pitch fee is £2. So a family of four go for less than £140 for a week. So add the two together and even with the ferry crossing, it's less than £250 for a week for a family of four!

Fabulous site, fantastic facilities, brilliant wardens, superb location. There is really nothing that let's it down.

There are two areas - one of hardstandings, well laid out, big pitches, lovely aspect. The other is a selection of grass cul de sacs and areas with more mature trees and landscaping. There really is no poor pitch on this site.

The children's play area is ace and there's a cracking dog walk.

The Isle of Wight is a hidden gem with so many different things to do.

We really can't promote it enough!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From East Cowes take A3021/A3054 to Newport. From Newport take A 3056 towards Sandown. About three miles past Arreton watch out for the Fighting Cocks public house on the right and take the second left (Brown Caravan Sign) towards Newchurch. The site is on the left in just over a mile. Take care on this final section as whilst it is two way it is narrow in places.

Southlands is set in open countryside with views of the Downs. It was originally a commercial site which was acquired by the Caravan Club a few years ago who have extended it. The site is in two sections. The original part where all pitches are divided into sections, some screened by high conifer hedges are all on grass. The second, newer section, are all on hardstanding and has more of an open aspect. Six of the pitches in this area are serviced with water supply and waste disposal. Electric points are the standard 16 amp CEE17 blue connections. There are several Service Points dotted around the site and near to reception is a motorhome service point. The single toilet block is centrally situated and is modern and the facilities are of a high standard. Across the road from the toilet block is a separate building housing the dishwash area and laundry. There is site wide WiFi although I did find it very slow at times. Likewise the mobile signal on my Virgin mobile was also fairly weak. For children there is a nice looking adventure playground but no kick about area. Reception sells ice cream, milk and a few other essentials. Next to reception is an information room with lots of local information. This campsite has four late arrival places with electrics just inside the entrance.

For those with their own transport the whole of the Island is at your disposal to explore. For those without their own transport the bus services on the Island are pretty good. There are a couple of services from outside the campsite but one of them is fairly infrequent. The other service called the Island Breezer runs much more frequently but is a pay only service, no bus passes! A ten minute walk from the site, along roads without pavements, takes you to Winford Cross where you can take the number 8 bus which runs an hourly service between Newport, Sandown and Ryde. Some bus services can be cancelled if their route takes them close to one of the festivals held on the Island, reception will be able to advise. For eating out there is a pub in the village called The Pointer Inn and on the main Newport/Sandown road is the Fighting Cocks which is about a five minute drive from the site. Most of the large supermarket groups are represented on the Island but the nearest is Morrisons at Lake on the way to Sandown.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barkerbunch 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this site.

It is a lovely site, very well laid out and well maintained, the wardens were all very friendly.

The pitches are big. Ours was on a corner and was huge, we had enough room for 4 of us to play badminton beside the car, full awning and caravan. Me and my husband slept in the awning and unfortunately I was woken every morning about 6ish by the people on the pitch behind when they rather noisily got up to feed and walk their dogs. But that was just unfortunate.

The toilet block was amazing, lovely big shower cubicles with a bench area, plenty of hooks to hang clothes up and trays for soap etc in the shower half. They are proper showers not push button. There are 9 showers and I never had to wait for one in the morning despite the site being very busy on the first week.

It was just a shame that inconsiderate campers left hair all round the sinks everyday as soon as they were cleaned, despite a specific notice asking for it to be cleared away.

The washing machines were often busy as there were only 2, but I only used them once and didn't have to wait long.

The play area was excellent even though my children are older the youngest went there a lot and the equipment was really good.

The dog walk was also good. It is 2 sides of a square at the edge of the site, which is plenty for a short walk to do their business but not enough for a good run to burn off their energy. However there was a fabulous park/recreation ground with parking by a pond just down the road in Shanklin, we used this a lot to throw the ball and wear our dogs out.

Also if you drive to Newchurch and park in the signposted parking (free) opp the school there is an open recreation ground leading to a network of lovely walks through newly planted woods.

The one thing we thought the site was lacking was a shop. They do sell basics like ice creams and milk but had often run out. There is a Morrisons about 5 mins away, a large Sainsburys in Newport and a Tesco's Extra in Ryde but it would have been nice to have had a slightly bigger site shop.

We didn't visit the attractions that were nearest, Amazon World or The Garlic Shop. We went to a Steam Fair at Havenstreet but weren't that impressed, it was very expensive and there wasn't much there. We did enjoy the IOW zoo which although it isn't very big has some impressive big cats, and kept us entertained for hours.

Also Blackgang Chine is always a favourite, it is dog friendly too which was a bonus for us, however if, like us you have a dog who loves party poppers, and cap gun noises it's probably best to avoid Frontier Land, we got some very strange looks due to our large collie bouncing like mad all the way round.

We had a fabulous time, no doubt helped by the fantastic weather, and would thoroughly recommend this site.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019