Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sparkhayes Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Sparkhayes Camping Site Reviews

Sparkhayes Camping Site
Sparkhayes Lane
Porlock
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 8NE
Tel: 01643 862470  or  07721 045123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fletch132497obg 1 review from this member

 15 miles from home. Feel like we have been away on holiday.

No fuss chilled out owner.

Good facilities. Seen parts of Porlock we do not see when we havenít stayed.

Will definitely use again for longer short breaks.

Great location for all. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Emste76 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely, clean, quiet well kept campsite, though it is basic but suits us as we like these type of campsites. Had a lovely few days. Perfect location for walking and visiting the surrounding area. Porlock is a lovely village and the campsite owner is very friendly. Would recommend and will be back next year. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 39 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite.

It's located in the centre of the lovely village of Porlock which has a selection of 3 pubs, several tea rooms, cafes/restaurants and various other quirky shops.

Access to the site is narrow and might be a problem to bigger units and caravans.

The pitches are all on grass and most have a sea view. EHUs are available. Pitch where you like. The facilities were a bit tired but ok and there was a room with a microwave and facilities for backpackers etc to prepare food with a few seats out side.

The owner was very friendly and helpful and we loved the laid back feel of the site.

The site is just off the South West coast path and there are lovely walks nearby.

Can't wait to return when the weather is better. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 Our third visit here (see review from March 2015) but only three nights this time. Doors have appeared on the shower cubicles, so you can begin to dry yourself off a bit without the curtain expressing its love. The Austin Princess carcass has gone, and Porlock's disappointing hardware shop is under new management. There's an excellent new pizza gaff called the Mandala. Other than that nothing much has changed.

Still my favourite site: quiet, relaxed, friendly, convenient, beautiful, just busy enough, good ground and good EHU in a fab location. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazwils 1 review from this member

 Having visited Porlock before, I knew the surrounding area would be perfectly substantial for the type of holiday my husband and I enjoy - that being walking the dog to local pubs for the afternoon and generally meandering around.

Our position, on the corner, with EHU and facing the owner's house, was ideal for people watching, as out beagle loves to do. We did feel exposed somewhat, as we were facing the whole park, but this was easily rectified with a couple of wind-breakers.

The site's facilities are basic. The showers are awkward, mainly as there is nowhere to undress / dry / redress. I found a solution of wearing loose shorts and dressing again the shower - some women were happy with undressing wholly in the sink area - be warned when you fling open the door as you might accidentally expose someone!

Furthermore, although cleaned daily, the toilets are tired. They suit their purpose, but I suspect the growing nature of the site has meant extra-use has affected the quality of the toilets. There is a wealth of information by the toilets too, along with benches/left over oil/pans etc. To cook from - presumably for those back-packing or travelling light.

The owner circulated regularly, which I find reassuring and welcoming. He has excellent local knowledge of walks, where to buy items left behind and if anything, will make you feel like you've known him forever even when buying one 'use' of the washing machine.

We walked a lot, mainly on the coastal path, during our holiday and I would recommend a meander down to Porlock Weir, and across to Bossington for afternoon tea! Yum!

Download the very useful Porlock App for directions on key walks, with photos to refer to to ensure you haven't gotten lost! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 This is the fourth or fifth time I have stayed at Sparkhayes and it never fails to remind me what a truly great site it is, for what I like out of a site, it is possibly the best I have stayed at.

Previously I have camped in a small group or on my own, however, this time there were 19 of us on a Stag Weekend, a mature Stag Weekend I might add but the owner could not have done more for us, providing us an area out of the way from all other campers and very politely asking us to keep the noise down late at night when we may have been a little over excited.

The site is just wonderful, the sea in the distance, Exmoor behind and a large grass, pitch where you like site, that helps create a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The facilities are maybe a bit old and ramshackle but they were always clean and fine with me, and whilst the showers may not appear particularly welcoming they were powerful and very warm and it was difficult to prize oneself out.

Porlock is a delight, quaint and picturesque but with a few goods pubs to keep things lively enough to enjoy a night out. A walk to Porlock Weir along the coast path is worth it for the bottom Ship pub which is a proper traditional coastal pub. In the village the Royal Oak appears to be the local's choice and does good traditional pub grub, the top Ship is just a really nice pub and the Castle is a little more upmarket and lacked atmosphere.

Although it was a tough walk at times, especially after the night before, walking to the top of Dunkery Beacon was well worth it, we trekked onto Minehead which is not far and has more facilities but lacks the charm of Porlock.

I will definitely be back at Sparkhayes fairly soon, but maybe for a quieter, more relaxing stay this time round. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 I spent two weeks of the Easter holidays here with my 6yo daughter; it was our second visit. The pitches are good: flat, well drained with mown grass, although with a few sheep droppings - if that sort of thing upsets you. Pegs go in easily. It's fairly well sheltered from westerlies, although we did feel the big blow just before Easter. The EHU area filled up for the bank holiday week end, but it wasn't cramped.

The location is superb: right in the heart of Porlock with plenty of smaller shops, an excellent butcher, a Post Office which does hiking and some camping gear, a disappointing hardware shop and more than its fair share of pubs and restaurants, most of which will do breakfast if you can't face it.

Access to the site can be a bit tight, not helped by some weird parking on the approach. Once you're there though, the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. Children play quite freely but without being a pain; ditto a rather boozy but well behaved group. Lots of Duke of Edinburgh-ists passed through whilst we were there, but as has been mentioned elsewhere, they're gone by 07:30 and didn't stress the facilities.

The facilities are a bit basic - no changing rooms, and the showers are few and a bit feeble, but they are cleaned promptly and to a standard I'd be happy with in a hotel. The washing machine and drier work well. The kettle and microwave in the washing up area are really useful. There are also fridges and freezers in a rather forbidding shed, where many tents are in storage.

Phil the warden is very helpful and clearly puts a lot into this site. The laid back atmosphere obviously takes a considerable amount of work! Don't be put off by the rotting Austin Princess. The prices are excellent, you're not bombarded with rules and everyone seems to enjoy staying here. I rather wish all sites were more like this one. Highly recommended.

Mobile signals are variable. Best bet for mobile broadband is 3. I couldn't tell you about TV reception, but there were plenty of units with aerials out. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WalkandCamp 9 reviews from this member

 Good relaxed site - recommend!

I arrived after 8pm on a Friday so just pitched up which the owner didn't mind and he sort me out once I'd pitched.

Single tent with car no EHU with free showers - £7pn which is great value. Pretty relaxed about arrival and departure. 2 big fields both flat and well maintained, showers dated but water hot so no complaints here.

20p charge for ice pack freezer which is useful when tourer and not using electric.

Location is good. A stroll to the village and its pubs, restaurants etc - Top Ship is the best pub. Easy walk along the marsh to Porlock Weir from the lane at the site entrance and no problem walking up to Dunkerly Beacon through Horner Woods from the site.

The owner is a friendly chap who makes himself visible in the morning and evening. Also, happy to have a chat in the pub when I saw him there.

The site seems to get a lot of colleges doing the Duke of Edinburgh thing. Don't let this put you off as the kids are shattered and are soon fast asleep and were very quiet on their early starts.

Will return soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kurt the van 6 reviews from this member

 Have been coming to this site for a few years now and it's lovely. Friendly guy who runs it who has a relatively relaxed attitude and comes round in the evenings for a quick chat and his site fees (£7 per person) Bottom field can get a bit busy with orienteering school visits but although we were initially put off by their presence we found them to be no trouble and they're generally gone by 7am the next morning! Our only request to the owner is to alter the showers so there's more privacy as it's just a curtain and no-where to get dried and dressed without frightening your fellow campers! They are included in the site fees though. Porlock (couple of minutes walk) is a lovely town/village and some fab walk all around. Some great sunsets over the sea too. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tinah 6 reviews from this member

 I can only confirm what other reviewers have said about this site.

We planned to stay for one night but stayed for five. The toilet block is old and the 2 showers in the ladies only have curtains, not doors to maintain privacy but hot water was plentiful and all facilities were cleaned regularly. A kettle and microwave is available for use in the wash-up room which is a nice touch.

We were blessed with wonderful weather but we also enjoyed the laid-back ambiance and the friendliness of fellow campers. The owner pops around each evening to collect the site fees (we paid £7 per person + £4 for the nights we used electricity).

Porlock is delightful with excellent walks and cycle rides, despite some steep gradients all around. Porlock Weir is very picturesque and we caught the bus to Lynton and Lynmouth rather than take our large motorhome up the notorious Porlock Hill.

An ideal site for motorhomers who like a laid-back campsite close to village facilities. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sparkhayes Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sparkhayes Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sparkhayes Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement