Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sparkhayes Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Minehead > Sparkhayes Camping Site > Reviews

Sparkhayes Camping Site
Sparkhayes Lane
Porlock
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 8NE
Tel: 01643 862470  or  07721 045123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dumbrill 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely simple campsite.

Right in the centre of Porlock with it's two food shops and three pubs.

Very peaceful location.

All level pitches.

Limited showers and washing up facilities, but we never had to wait.

Very helpful owner.

Really enjoyed our stay and will come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lipsco 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this campsite approximately 30 years ago in a tent.

We went back in our motorhome and it was a beautiful experience this basic no frills campsite is excellent value for money at £12 per person per night the fields are very flat with lots of freshwater taps dotted around.

The toilet and shower block are clean and well stocked. There is a microwave and kettle plus washing machine and freezers all with no charge just an honesty box.

The village of porlock has many pubs restaurants and a chippy and is well situated for touring Somerset and Devon.

There is an hourly bus which travels the coast from minehead to lynton and lynmouth.

This site appeals to campers motorhomers and hikers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey31 4 reviews from this member

 Spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at Sparkhayes. We had electric in the tent and price was reasonable.

Toilets are clean and there are 6 ladies loos and 2 showers. Water is boiling! There is a microwave, kettle, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dryer. All for a donation of 20p a day each.

The owner is laid back and very friendly. Porlock has a few Pubs, Cafes and a chip shop.

Lovely walk, rocky in places, along the coastal path to Porlock Weir for a Pub lunch and a bus back.

We go every year and love it here.

I don't have kids but the teens doing Duke of Edinborough seemed to be having fun. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Buxted 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite just off the High Street, with views of the sea. Very laid back, like camping used to be - and should be!

We've visited this site many times over the years, and are booked in again for several mights next month.

The own lives on site and runs the site well.

Plenty of space and no "rules' about where one can pitch.


via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Drifter10 15 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome from Phil on arrival and able to pitch more or less where you like which we liked. Good ehu connection. Its a lovely open flat field which gets sun all day, although we had some heavy rain too!

Excellent location in the centre of Porlock with its local shops and pubs. Good access to the coastal path via Sparkhayes Lane and great walks to Porlock Weir and Bossington.

Site seems popular for those walking the coastal path.

Didnt experience the shower block as we had our own facilities. Overall the site has a very relaxed atmosphere which we loved. It is rather like a large CL. It felt like camping and motorhoming should be without all the modern day trappings of some sites.

It was very peaceful on our visit as most people were walkers who went to bed early and set off early. It might be noisier in school holidays but children would love it here as lots of space to run around and play.

We loved it and hope to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kmawds 11 reviews from this member

 Great site. Visited on a cycling tour soon after lockdown ended. Amazing value for money, especially taking into account the location.

Lush grass, like sleeping on a mattress!

Polock is a lovely village surrounded by tough cycling climbs and great walking routes.

The owner is a great character who runs a tight station.

Will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fletch 1 review from this member

 15 miles from home. Feel like we have been away on holiday.

No fuss chilled out owner.

Good facilities. Seen parts of Porlock we do not see when we havenít stayed.

Will definitely use again for longer short breaks.

Great location for all. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Emste76 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely, clean, quiet well kept campsite, though it is basic but suits us as we like these type of campsites. Had a lovely few days. Perfect location for walking and visiting the surrounding area. Porlock is a lovely village and the campsite owner is very friendly. Would recommend and will be back next year. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite.

It's located in the centre of the lovely village of Porlock which has a selection of 3 pubs, several tea rooms, cafes/restaurants and various other quirky shops.

Access to the site is narrow and might be a problem to bigger units and caravans.

The pitches are all on grass and most have a sea view. EHUs are available. Pitch where you like. The facilities were a bit tired but ok and there was a room with a microwave and facilities for backpackers etc to prepare food with a few seats out side.

The owner was very friendly and helpful and we loved the laid back feel of the site.

The site is just off the South West coast path and there are lovely walks nearby.

Can't wait to return when the weather is better. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 72 reviews from this member

 Our third visit here (see review from March 2015) but only three nights this time. Doors have appeared on the shower cubicles, so you can begin to dry yourself off a bit without the curtain expressing its love. The Austin Princess carcass has gone, and Porlock's disappointing hardware shop is under new management. There's an excellent new pizza gaff called the Mandala. Other than that nothing much has changed.

Still my favourite site: quiet, relaxed, friendly, convenient, beautiful, just busy enough, good ground and good EHU in a fab location. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sparkhayes Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sparkhayes Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sparkhayes Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3337 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement