Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Red Kite Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes > Red Kite Touring Park Reviews

Red Kite Touring Park
Fan Road
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6NG
Tel: 01686 412122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 66
Open: 01/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 39 Reviews
                10/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 13/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 Definitely a 5 star site. Can only echo all the previous good reviews.

Lovely facilities block, nice dog walk with fenced off lead area. Pleasant walk into town but steep on the way back. Lots to see in the area but you will need transport.

We were very disappointed with Aberystwyth, not worth the drive in our opinion.

Would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 What a great caravan site!

Everything has already been said in previous reviews about the site.

Just a couple of points to add:

The site is on three terraces on one side, and a slope on the other side. Many units have to be pitched job end into the pitch, so a motor mover is pretty well essential. It also makes getting off the pitches awkward on the sloping section.

The refuse and recycling bins are in a compound next door to the reception - on the top level of the site. Due to its terraced and sloping nature, this gives quite a slog up these facilities. Would be useful to have similar facilities at the lower levels as well.

TV reception is non-existent. However reception will supply you with a cable to plug into the co-axial socket on the stanchion at each pitch. Plugged directly into your TV (it wouldn't work via an external aerial socket on the 'van) this gives about 10 cable channels. These are tuned to London regional TV.

Didn't see any Red Kites from the site (just one buzzard!), but there is a feeding station about 10 miles down the main road at Ponterwyd; we also saw several at Capel Bangor.

No major shops in Llanidloes, but the Co-op and local shops do provide most needs. Evans fish and chip shop also have s 'sit down' area at the back. Can recommend.

Limited bus services from Llanidloes, so you do need a car to explore the area.

However all in all we would go back if we wanted to visit central Wales again. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 37 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at this site previously so opted for an overnight stay on our travels to South Wales. The site is easy to find and the location to the town is ideal - be prepared for an uphill walk on return though.

We had previously been advised that the dogs were to be kept on the lead around all of the site other than in the enclosed (very small) dog walk - it seemed however that many other dog owners were letting the dogs run free around the ponds and fishing lakes - not sure if the rules have changed but we weren’t advised of this ?

Facilities were clean and modern and the staff were more than helpful - a very lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie18 13 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews of this campsite I had great expectations and don't get me wrong you wont be disappointed.

This camp is in a great location with good views, although how good your view will be will depend on your pitch.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The reception area is lovely and the toilet block is clean and well maintained. A couple of things I didn't like with the toilet block is,

1. The electric hand dryer (i hate hand blowers they are noisy and leave a mess around them. )

2. Lack of and finishing touches, the things that make the place feel a bit more cosy! ie pictures, nice soaps, towels (even paper ones). There is some planting of flowers around these areas.

The rest of the site is left for wild growth which I feel leaves the camp with a bit of a car park feel, again it's the finishing touches.

The local town has plenty of shops and pubs, you will be spoilt for choice.

If you like walking this is a stunning area of Wales.

So to sum up, this is a good site with great staff and the negatives I have with it is purely my personal opinion.

I would recommend and we would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: User19360o31 1 review from this member

 We found this site ideal for an older couple plus small dog, It was well set out, not packed in and over regulated. The views were delightful.

The pitch well equipped, with 16 amp electrics water and waste facilities, the toilets immaculate, the wash room perfect for cleaning dishes, with a lot of information exchange books and videos.

The reception area clean and full of info including good clear walking maps. The staff very helpful and pleasant, and not in your way. The area had plenty of shops within walking distance

And there were interesting places nearby to visit. A very good site to visit. Only one suggestion for future possibly a larger shop area for essentials on site, therefore give it 9. 5 score

Thankyou all John & Anita Puckett.



Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SalStrawbs 4 reviews from this member

 I was a little unsure as we set our caravan up at Red Kite Touring Park. I say this being our fourth summer caravanning, having camped for many years before, and this is the first time we have stayed on a fully hard standing pitch. It just felt a bit odd as we set our table and chairs up on to gravel!

Being an adult only site is a definite plus offering peace and quite which is great for our two young rescue dogs, who are relatively new to staying in the van, but I did spend the first evening whilst sat outside with one dog sat on my lap as he wouldn’t settle on the hard gravel surface despite a blanket and bed on on it. Previously I’ve always chosen grass pitches and generally prefer more basic farm sites, however this site was right on our route up to Snowdonia and the reviews swayed me to give it a try.

There appears to be comparatively more concrete on site than grass, but a within minutes you can walk off site to a fantastic area where dogs can run free, including a dog swimming pond and a specially fenced dog play area for those four legged friends with less reliable recall which was a fantastic plus point.

Many areas have been left for wild flowers and grasses to grow and the site is terraced to make the best of a pretty view. When booking I chose a pitch by looking at the online maps and was given my choice on arrival offering an uninterrupted view the which was absolutely lovely.

The site is purpose built, is only 3 years old and has very high spec facilities. You can see why the site has 5 stars and was nearly full so clearly has a good reputation and is in a great location with shops pubs and takeaways only a short waking distance away.

Despite my initial reservations about the gravel which we overcame with more padding for the dogs to lay on, this really is a fabulous site which I cannot fault and will surely stay at again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Craig381sara 11 reviews from this member

 Well what can we say?

This place is immaculate, from the grounds to the toilets. The views from the bottom of the park are amazing as is from middle and top tier. Plenty of room for Dogs to walk along the forest tracks and paths. There are small ponds dotted about and one larger pond to fish in the centre.

The local town is down the hill so a nice walk but coming back up is a bit of a trek. That said the town has all you need from take away to pubs selling some great grub, The Anchor is a fab place to eat and drink as is the Indian restaurant.

Places that you go see is the local Dam. The Elan valley Dams and the Devils Bridge follows the scenic routes to all as there are some breath taking views along the mountain roads

All in all this site is amazing and we will visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babstreefern 26 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay at this small adults only site. Lovely layout with plantings. Its a bit hilly, but the pitches are fine, but one or two may need some levelling blocks.

There is one toilet block which houses everything, and is one of the best I've ever come across. Even if they are being cleaned, you can go to the women/mens section (there are 2), which houses a toilet, sink and shower.

We had some rain whilst there, but no problem, there were no puddles. You can walk into the village which is virtually down hill all the way, but its a bit of a climb coming back, so make sure you don't have a lot of shopping.

Although not the fault of the campsite, it annoyed me a bit when people with dogs, although on a lead, the dogs would just cock their leg against a tree and I saw one dog have a number 2, which the owner cleaned up, but for heavens sake, it wasn't more than 20 yards away from the dog walk area, and he was walking away from it.

The wardens do a lot of work to keep this immaculate site looking gorgeous. Shame on those dog walkers. Also when putting in pegs, they will sometimes spring back out because of the hardcore, but persevere, and it will be ok.

The wardens were very helpful with information of the area. I would definitely come back again. Also had some low level aircraft from, I presume, RAF Valley doing their low level flying. The reception also houses some basics, eg, eggs, milk. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 18 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Red Kite touring park. We checked in at reception, issued with our barrier fob (£10 refundable deposit on safe return-stated in information pages on the website), then escorted to our site, given full information regarding pitch facilities, site facilities, provisions for the dog etc.

The site is so efficiently run, and is very well kept by the managers. We decided to make use of the dog shower etc, it was amazing, the dog was showered/dry in minutes!

The town centre was either a five minute drive away, or very pleasant walk accessed via the bottom of the site near the static site (all needs catered for, spar, subway, newsagents, dog friendly pubs, petrol station, fish and chip shop, plus much more).

Walking back up the hill was a bit of a struggle, although it was boiling hot during our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lots of places to visit. The famous red kites seen daily.

This is a beautiful site and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynm 84 reviews from this member

 Where do I start? This is an amazing site! The facilities are first class, clean, modern & free. The pitches are the biggest I have ever seen. We could fit our van, awning & car on there easily.

The pitch bollard has ehu, water, drain & if you use green liquid you can empty you toilet cassette down there. Don't worry if you don't there is an elsan point (the cleanest I have ever seen)Free Wi Fi even a TV aerial connection all free free. The wardens are the most bubbly, friendly and helpful people ever.

There is so much to see & do, the tallest dam in the UK, the Elan Valley & drive past all the dams there that takes you onto a spectacular mountain road with views to die for. Landiloes itself is a lovely place & we can heartily recommend the fish & chip shop & The Raj Mahal restaurant.

We came here to join some friends from the midlands as it was an hour from home & we shall be forever grateful they introduced this site to us. It has just gone to the top of my list. The setting is beautiful with views across the valley & rolling hills.

We loved it so much that for the first time ever in 20 plus years we stayed an extra night. I could go on but I think you get the gist. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Red Kite Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Red Kite Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Red Kite Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanidloes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020