Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Kite Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes > Red Kite Touring Park Reviews

Red Kite Touring Park
Fan Road
Llanidloes
Powys   (Browse area)
SY18 6NG
Tel: 01686 412122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 66
Open: 01/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 33 Reviews
                10/10 from 33 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Craig381sara 11 reviews from this member

Well what can we say?

This place is immaculate, from the grounds to the toilets. The views from the bottom of the park are amazing as is from middle and top tier. Plenty of room for Dogs to walk along the forest tracks and paths. There are small ponds dotted about and one larger pond to fish in the centre.

The local town is down the hill so a nice walk but coming back up is a bit of a trek. That said the town has all you need from take away to pubs selling some great grub, The Anchor is a fab place to eat and drink as is the Indian restaurant.

Places that you go see is the local Dam. The Elan valley Dams and the Devils Bridge follows the scenic routes to all as there are some breath taking views along the mountain roads

All in all this site is amazing and we will visit again

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babstreefern 26 reviews from this member

Had a great stay at this small adults only site. Lovely layout with plantings. Its a bit hilly, but the pitches are fine, but one or two may need some levelling blocks.

There is one toilet block which houses everything, and is one of the best I've ever come across. Even if they are being cleaned, you can go to the women/mens section (there are 2), which houses a toilet, sink and shower.

We had some rain whilst there, but no problem, there were no puddles. You can walk into the village which is virtually down hill all the way, but its a bit of a climb coming back, so make sure you don't have a lot of shopping.

Although not the fault of the campsite, it annoyed me a bit when people with dogs, although on a lead, the dogs would just cock their leg against a tree and I saw one dog have a number 2, which the owner cleaned up, but for heavens sake, it wasn't more than 20 yards away from the dog walk area, and he was walking away from it.

The wardens do a lot of work to keep this immaculate site looking gorgeous. Shame on those dog walkers. Also when putting in pegs, they will sometimes spring back out because of the hardcore, but persevere, and it will be ok.

The wardens were very helpful with information of the area. I would definitely come back again. Also had some low level aircraft from, I presume, RAF Valley doing their low level flying. The reception also houses some basics, eg, eggs, milk.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 12 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Red Kite touring park. We checked in at reception, issued with our barrier fob (£10 refundable deposit on safe return-stated in information pages on the website), then escorted to our site, given full information regarding pitch facilities, site facilities, provisions for the dog etc.

The site is so efficiently run, and is very well kept by the managers. We decided to make use of the dog shower etc, it was amazing, the dog was showered/dry in minutes!

The town centre was either a five minute drive away, or very pleasant walk accessed via the bottom of the site near the static site (all needs catered for, spar, subway, newsagents, dog friendly pubs, petrol station, fish and chip shop, plus much more).

Walking back up the hill was a bit of a struggle, although it was boiling hot during our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lots of places to visit. The famous red kites seen daily.

This is a beautiful site and would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Where do I start? This is an amazing site! The facilities are first class, clean, modern & free. The pitches are the biggest I have ever seen. We could fit our van, awning & car on there easily.

The pitch bollard has ehu, water, drain & if you use green liquid you can empty you toilet cassette down there. Don't worry if you don't there is an elsan point (the cleanest I have ever seen)Free Wi Fi even a TV aerial connection all free free. The wardens are the most bubbly, friendly and helpful people ever.

There is so much to see & do, the tallest dam in the UK, the Elan Valley & drive past all the dams there that takes you onto a spectacular mountain road with views to die for. Landiloes itself is a lovely place & we can heartily recommend the fish & chip shop & The Raj Mahal restaurant.

We came here to join some friends from the midlands as it was an hour from home & we shall be forever grateful they introduced this site to us. It has just gone to the top of my list. The setting is beautiful with views across the valley & rolling hills.

We loved it so much that for the first time ever in 20 plus years we stayed an extra night. I could go on but I think you get the gist.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carol54 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a week at Red Kite Touring Park, it has five star facilities and large hard standing pitches.

The wardens Ian & Val could not have been more helpful. We would recommend this site and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletts 6 reviews from this member

Just back from an Easter break at Red Kite.

Very efficient site managers and friendly.

Pitch had everything on it, level and plenty of space.

The site is extremely clean. Panoramic views.

Loads of hot water, large showers, underfloor heating. Two private ‘bathrooms’ which is a room with loo, shower wash basin and hair dryer.

Dog wash room. Well, you wont get better. Warm room, ramp for dog to walk up and large dog wash bath. State of the art hair dryer.

Lots of walks. Very dog friendly.

Walk into the village is not far, but there is a hill.

Village has everything. Nice couple of boutique shops for the ladies.

Basically, everything you see on the website is true and correct.

We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dharmadoo 7 reviews from this member

One of the most tranquil, well-kept sites I have ever had the pleasure to stay at.

It was easy to book, easy to find, easy to access and upon arrival the site host even takes you to your pitch which has full hook-up including water and waste disposal.

We chose the site as it was small and adult-only and therefore it was lovely and peaceful, despite being full. My only complaint, and it's a minor one, is that the pitches are too close and you have no privacy of any kind. We do enjoy sitting outdoors when camping and it really was like being in a goldfish bowl. We may as well have been camping with the people pitched next to us as we were that close and could hear every conversation they had, listen to their radio and see every move that they made.

The grounds were immaculate with extensive woodland and lakeside walks for both people and dogs. You can even walk into Llanidloes should you wish to. The facilities were the cleanest I have ever experienced and there was never a queue to use them as there were plenty. A bonus for dog owners was the dog wash room complete with tub and blow dryer.

We had already booked to return in the Autumn and enjoy the surrounding countryside with the vibrant colors of Autumn.

I would recommend this site to anyone. Note - take £10 cash with you for your key deposit as they don't take credit cards for the key deposit.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 16 reviews from this member

Immaculate, well kept site with some of the best facilities I've experienced.

The site is very easily accessed and the booking in process couldn't be easier as the warden shows you to your pitch.

The pitches are very spacious but there is only maybe a foot or two between pitches so they don't offer you a lot of privacy.

Plenty of showers and toilets - all nicely kept.

Lovely area - Llanidloes is only a mile down the road and is nice for a leisurely stroll around. The Elan Valley is maybe 30 minutes drive with it's gorgeous scenery of mountains, reservoirs and dams.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

Can I add anything more. Superb site. Well managed and maintained.

Because the site is so popular there is movement all the time. The pitches do appear close, I like room around the van, felt a little enclosed.

The showers could do with a shower room shelf or basket for your gell/shampoo. Also for people who suffer wearing glasses, could do with a small shelf in the dressing area.

The market town of Llanidloes is excellent, great butchers, bakers and chip shop for that first night. Also I have never seen so many pubs in one small town!

Enjoyed a seven night stay at the site and the surrounding area is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georget64 33 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. The earlier review by Luckyskip is spot on.

We could not get TV but the owners loaned us a cable and we had piped TV (14 channels)

Also the WiFi was a bit hit and miss, but we used our own mobile WE device with no problem.

We will certainly return here.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019