Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Springhouse Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Springhouse Caravan Park Reviews

Springhouse Caravan Park
Slaley
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE47 0AW
Tel: 01434 673241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sandram9898 40 reviews from this member

Well started off a lovely weekend away, fantastic views driving up to the site, although roads were narrow but nothing too bad. Pulled into site looked really nice, mostly statics but was ok. Girl in reception was very helpful giving loads of information. We were showed to our pitched, 5 brand new pitches, gravel and grass really lovely. Pitched up and then it happened we got out of our van and all I can say is it was like a wall of sewerage hit us. The smell was unearthly. We looked around to see where it was coming from only to discover there was a cesspit (I think that's what you call it, a sewerage holding tank) about a foot behind our pitch, behind a fence. It was a sunny day, so we thought it might just be the sun making it worse. How wrong were we, we were unable to open any windows or sit outside, we did have ideas to have a BBQ but not breathing in sewerage, no way. I went down to reception to ask what could be done but I was told it had just been put in and needed a while to settle, so if I came again it would not be like that. A lot of help for our weekend. There was also a constant banging noise which came from the tank and went on continuously all night. By the next morning we had had enough and packed to go home. On our way out I went back to reception to tell them we were leaving and the only response I got was she would pass on what I had said. What could have been a beautiful weekend was completely ruined. There is no way they did not know there was this smell I only booked a few days prior to visiting and was not told about this, I was told the new gravel might be a little loose but that's all. We will not be returning, I just would not want to risk a repeat. To top it all off, stuck in a van with no windows open in the heat banging noise, no tv reception, so I bought wifi think we would watch something online to drown the noise out, signal strength so weak would not play anything. Thought site might of rang to apologise but not heard anything yet. Such a shame because looked lovely.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacmac61 5 reviews from this member

Visited for a weekend in June - 2 adults in a campervan and 2 adults and a 2 year old in a tent. The owners were very helpful when we booked and said they would make sure we could pitch next to each other, which they did. They also checked internet for us to find nearest gas refill place after ours ran out - was much appreciated.

On arrival the first thing we noticed was how close the hard-standing pitches were to each other - as mentioned in a previous review - which didn't give much space for an awning. There were 5 hardstanding pitches with electric-hook-ups. The area for tents had our small 3 berth tent and one other large tent (and their smaller pop-up tent) which was pitched in the middle of the space so there wouldn't have been room for anyone else. Definitely an occasion where early arrival is essential in order to get a decent space. The site is primarily for statics and long-term caravan pitches.

Shower blocks were spacious and well-equipped - several toilets and washbasins and 2 showers (20p for more than adequate time)- all with working locks in the Ladies but some non-working in the Gents and plenty of loo roll (think previous reviewers must just have been unlucky). They were clean throughout the weekend - no problems at all (and we are quite fussy!). Also well-lit at night.

Lovely area surrounding pitches - plenty of rabbits and 2 deer spotted on early-morning dog walks. Unfortunately weather prevented us exploring more. Well-equipped children's play area and field with football goals.

Short drive to Hexham or Corbridge (both about 5 miles away) with plenty to see and do. Farmers market on Saturday in Hexham well worth a visit. Nice fish and chip shop in Hexham market square also.

Travellers Rest pub about 1.5miles from site - nice atmosphere and lovely food. Children welcome.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T4terrier 3 reviews from this member

Our initial impression was of a very good site in a beautiful area but problems soon became apparent.

The Campervan, caravan and tent area was on a dug out bank and access was down a narrow gravelled path with limited space to pitch with privacy.

The male toilet block had toilet locks either missing or not working and for the whole week we were there only one toilet had a toilet roll in it.

The showers are 20p coin operate, were dirty and again didn't lock properly.

There was no pot wash area except two Belfast sinks in the laundry room which were advertised on the website as 'a Belfast sink for hand washing' which to wash pots in would be far from hygienic.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

We stayed at Springhouse last year before we sold our caravan and purchased a motorhome. Its a very peaceful location which is easy to find off the A68 Darlington to Corbridge Road and the approach is passable to the site down a few lanes. The Reception looks after bookings and then you can choose a pitch out of the available ones. A few are on gravel and face the main campsite green

Springhouse is an up-market development for people who enjoy a quality Static Caravan in a lovely setting next to Slaley Forest. (It has a small area for tourers and tents.) The place is a wildlife haven with squirrels running everywhere. A hugh Forestry Commission Park is next to the campsite and you can walk for miles down the well made roads ( also OK for Biking ). The nearest Pub is in Slaley Village about 4 miles away. Showers and toilets are very good and if you just want a totally peaceful relaxing place to stay for a few days then this is the one for you. It was about 14 a night all in when we stayed.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shouby 12 reviews from this member

Booked in at short notice for Bank holiday week, was worried at first that they had availability at short notice for a bank holiday but shouldn't have been, this site was beautiful.

We visited with 2 boys and it appears a lot has been done to improve the site and the comments left previously are a little out of date.

There is now a hard standing area for caravans, a little tight to manoeuvre onto due to an embankment but once on pitch its like being a million miles away from home.

The remote location was ideal for us as it almost in the middle of nowhere but we found the sign posts directing you to the site were OK. About 5 miles into Hexham where there is a Tesco's and a Waitrose and lots of places of interest also. About an hours drive to Kielder Water but so worth the visit!

Small roads into site made me nervous however we passed no traffic on them so no problems as such.

The site is lovely with a small shop selling basics but you can order items also, new children's play area and ideal bit of forest behind it which all the kids on the site played in and made dens etc!

Chemical disposal point easily accessible. Toilets do still seem a bit outdated and you have to pay 20p for the showers which I didn't mind as we only paid 78 for 6 nights including electric hook up awning and 2 kids, (bank holiday week) so a bargain.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Reds 2 reviews from this member

Our first caravan outing, we live in Newcastle so didnt want to go to far for the first trip.

Following the instructions on the website the site is easy to find and signposted.

The final half mile or so is single carriageway so meeting another caravan would be interesting.

The final sign to the site is hidden until you are right upon it.

Upon arrival we checked in and told we could park anywhere by a hookup. We chose to park nearest the wood actually on an unoccupied static site as it was gravel rather than the grass in the centre.I needed to put blocks under the rear stays to get level.

We should have parked further up the bank though as the high side of the site keeps the sun longer in the evening.

The majority of the site is taken by statics, quite a few of which were new and for sale, so space for touring and camping is quite limited.

We learned that the site has recently been bought and the new owners seem to be set on improving the site. It was clean,tidy and well kept. The toilets are old but clean and serviceable but no doubt will be refitted.

We will go back again as it was great value (12 per night inc hookup).

The travellers rest (1 mile North of Slaley on the B6306), has a good beer garden with childrens area.This is about 2 miles from the site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom61uk 2 reviews from this member

Well signposted from A69. First impression on arrival, beautiful setting & surroundings, pitched on a ski slope, warden was very helpful with chocks of wood to level off the van. Then the visit to toilet block. This has got to be the worst I have encountered in the years we have been camping. Toilets had no paper, paint all over the seats,& the showers were the worst I have ever seen, so dark,dirty, &uncleaned .

As for the chemical waste disposal,, you are given 2 keys to uplift a 'manhole cover' to empty your cassette toilet & waste water down.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheila66 4 reviews from this member

Firstly hard place to find! V. Friendly owner but that's about it really. Site for tents were fine (we had two because it was quiet)
Toilets were clean but bathroom area very outdated. Hot water very scarce both for personal washing and dishes.
I wouldnt call the shop a shop, there was a freezer there but empty, nothing to buy at all there!
I wouldnt call the park a park either, 1 wooden climbing frame with 2 tyres on, not suitable for young ones!
Not a site I would recommend for camping especially if you have kids.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Krakenchops 8 reviews from this member

Was booked in to stay her for two nights September 17th-September 19th.

The site is remote, but well signposted from the main road, and we found it without too much bother. We arrived at around 4pm to find reception closed. Drove around the site and eventually found the site warden, their caravan being right at the very rear of the site. He gave us a toilet key and directed us to the area for tents. I informed him we had requested a hook-up and there was none on the camping area. He directed us to a sloping area and informed us we could pitch wherever we could find a spare hook up point. This whole area was on a slope but we managed to find an area that allowed us to pitch on a lesser but still significant slope. The hook up was a measley 6 amps and constantly tripped out.

The toilet block is truly the most hideous campiste facility I have ever encountered. Whilst they weren't obviously dirty they were really, really really old, dark and dingy. My wife wouldn't use the female block on her own as it was so dingy with many dark out of the way areas in there.

The whole site is on a hillside next to a forest and is really exposed. We had a small storm whilst there and the location really exagerated the effect with the wind whilstling off the hills. The bulk of the site is made up of old looking statics that were about 50% full.We didn't see the site manager at all and the small shop was closed the whole time we were there.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Jobinks 1 review from this member

We've just come back after our first attempt at camping. It's a very peaceful campsite.Warden was helpful if you needed anything. The park was'nt much but the kids enjoyed it anyway.The showers were abit dirty and were shared with dragon fly's i've overcome my fear of them. Midges were out at about 7ish so be prepared. We took our dog & he throughly enjoyed the walks and his freedom when we went for a walk through the forest. I would recommend going to that site.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3557 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019